Skip to Top Main Navigation Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content Area Skip to Footer
Topics:   A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z All

Small employer health benefit plans specialty certification

If you are an agent looking to acquire a specialty certification for Small Employer Health Benefit Plans, review the guidelines below:

To be eligible to receive a specialty certification an individual must hold a general life, accident, and health license under Chapter 4054 of the Texas Insurance Code and complete training in the law, including Department rules applicable to small employer health benefit plans offered under Chapter 1501 of the Texas Insurance Code.

An individual may qualify by one of the following criteria:

An individual must complete a course at least 8 hours in length applicable to Small Employer Health Benefit Plans under Chapter 1501 of the Texas Insurance Code as prescribed and approved by the Commissioner and pass the examination testing the individual's knowledge and qualification.

To find qualifying certified courses which meet the criteria listed above, please view the Course Inquiry on the Compliance Express / Sircon.

or

An individual seeking this specialty certification is not required to complete the course and examination required if the individual demonstrates to the department, in the manner prescribed by the department, that the individual holds a designation as a:

  • Registered Health Underwriter (RHU)
  • Certified Employee Benefit Specialist (CEBS)
  • Registered Employee Benefits Consultant (REBC)

If an individual holds one of the above designations, submit a certification of the designation containing a date and full legal name of individual to the following address:

Pearson VUE
Attn: TX CE
PO Box 8588
Philadelphia, PA 19101-8588

Continuing education requirements - 5 hours:

To retain your specialty certification for Small Employer Health Benefit Plans, an individual must complete in each reporting period following the reporting period in which the licensee completed the certification course or qualified by designation, at least 5 hours of department certified Small Employer Health Benefit Plans continuing education. To find courses which qualify, please view the Course Inquiry on the Compliance Express / Sircon.

List of agents

List of agents as of 1/19/2018: Small employer health benefit plans certification agents (Excel)

This list:

  • Is updated quarterly.
  • Includes only agents who have completed the certification course.
  • Does not reflect whether or not agents have completed the continuing education requirements to retain their certification.

For more information, contact:

Last updated: 1/30/2018