Skip to Top Main Navigation Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content Area Skip to Footer
Texas Department of Insurance
Topics:   A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z All

Get help with a TWIA complaint


Get help or file a complaint following these steps:

Step 1: Work with TWIA

If you think TWIA’s estimate of your damage is too low, call TWIA at 800-788-8247. Have your policy number and claim number. It’s a good idea to also make your request in writing and keep a copy.

You have one year from the date of loss to file a claim with the Texas Windstorm Insurance Association (TWIA).

Ask TWIA for a copy of its estimate if you didn’t get one with the payment. Tell TWIA about damaged items missing from its estimate, where amounts are lower than your contractor’s estimate, newly discovered damage, and any other unmet needs. Send copies of any contractor estimates and other items supporting your request to TWIA.

Step 2: Ask for an appraisal

Appraisal is a formal process to handle disputes over the amount of a covered loss. It’s important to know the deadline to ask for an appraisal to protect your right to challenge TWIA’s decision.

  • You have 60 days to demand appraisal from the date of the notice from TWIA stating it accepted your claim.
  • For certain catastrophic circumstances (like hurricanes) you may have extra time to demand appraisal.

How to ask for an appraisal

  • Use TWIA’s form, write a letter, or send an email to with your claim number and say that you want an appraisal. Keep a copy of what you send.
  • Make notes of any conversations you have with TWIA about your claim or appraisal.
  • You’ll split the cost of appraisal with TWIA. Check your policy for more details.
  • Appraisers have 90 days to agree on the amount of damages TWIA should pay for your claim. It’s 120 days for commercial claims.
  • If the appraisers can’t agree on an amount, they can choose a new umpire.

Why you might want to do both

If you don’t ask for appraisal before the deadline, you will lose the right to challenge TWIA’s decision about the amount of your loss.

You can ask TWIA to review your claim and continue to work with them after you get your first payment from them. If your appraisal deadline is getting close and you still aren’t happy with the amount TWIA is offering, you can ask for appraisal.

Step 3: File a complaint with us

We can help with complaints against the insurance companies, agents, and adjusters we regulate.

We can't help with complaints about service providers, including mortgage companies, building contractors, and roofers. If you have a complaint against a service provider, send it to the licensing or enforcement agency that regulates the provider.

We also can’t:

  • Make a company pay a claim unless its failure to pay violates a law or the terms of your policy.
  • Settle disputes when you and the company disagree about the facts. For example, we can’t determine if damage was caused by a storm or normal wear and tear.
  • Help with complaints against another person’s insurance company.

File your complaint

Use our online complaint system to tell us about your complaint and upload any documents you think we need. This can be pictures or letters to and from the company. If we need more information, we’ll let you know.

Step 4: TDI contacts the company

TDI will contact the company and ask for a response to your complaint. Companies have 15 days to respond to us and can ask for a 10-day extension. When a company responds, we’ll look at their response and tell you what it means for your complaint.

It takes 40 days on average to resolve a complaint. There are occasions when we can resolve a complaint in less time.

Step 5: Get legal help

If TWIA denied your claim, you may file a lawsuit. You must notify TWIA before filing the lawsuit. You have two years to give notice and file the suit. TWIA may require you to go to mediation or another dispute resolution process before you can file suit.

If you’re still not happy with the outcome of your claim and you want to sue, use these resources to find legal help.


Questions? Call us at 800-252-3439.

Last updated: 2/21/2024