Skip to Top Main Navigation Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content Area Skip to Footer
Texas Department of Insurance
Topics:   A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z All

News releases

Sign up for updatesStay connected!

October 09, 2018
DWC names Debra Knight Deputy Commissioner of Compliance and Investigations
Today, Commissioner of Workers’ Compensation Cassie Brown announces Debra Knight as the new Deputy Commissioner of Compliance and Investigations. This program area at the Division of Workers’ Compensation monitors compliance and investigates fraud and administrative violations. It is also responsible for enforcement efforts, and criminal prosecutions through DWC’s embedded prosecutor unit in the Travis County District Attorney’s office.

October 08, 2018
TDI fines Humana over network adequacy
The Texas Department of Insurance today fined Humana $700,000 for putting consumers at risk of paying higher bills because of an inadequate number of anesthesiologists in Harris, Bexar, and Travis counties. The problem meant consumers couldn’t get in-network anesthesia services at more than 20 hospitals and surgical centers in three of the state’s largest metro areas.

September 21, 2018
Workers’ Compensation Weekly Benefit Rates Set for October 1, 2018, Through September 30, 2019
The workers’ compensation state average weekly wage for dates of injury from October 1, 2018, through September 30, 2019, is set at $937.70. The maximum weekly benefit rates for workers’ compensation income benefits is set at $938 and the minimum weekly benefit rate is set at $141 for that period.

September 18, 2018
New agent licensing rules take effect October 1
The Texas Department of Insurance has updated some of its agent and adjuster licensing rules to bring them more in line with Texas law and best industry practices.

September 17, 2018
Injured employees finding better access to healthcare
Access to medical care has improved for injured employees in Texas according to an September 2018 study from the Division of Workers’ Compensation’s Research and Evaluation Group. The annual study measures the effectiveness of the workers’ compensation system to deliver timely and appropriate medical care to injured employees.

September 06, 2018
Workers’ comp seminar offered in Midland-Odessa for health care providers and staff
The Division of Workers’ Compensation and the University of Texas of the Permian Basin Small Business Development Center (UTPB-SBDC) will offer a seminar on October 24, 2018 for health care providers and staff who provide care to injured employees in the Texas workers’ compensation system.

August 30, 2018
A new era in DWC claims processing
This week, Texas Workers’ Compensation Commissioner Cassie Brown turned in the keys to a secure warehouse that the Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) has used since 1992 to store injured employee claims. The 24,000-square-foot building that housed rows and rows of floor to ceiling racks, filled to the brim with claim files, now sits empty.

August 27, 2018
Hernandez named interim state fire marshal
Orlando Hernandez, a 28-year veteran of the fire and emergency services professions, has been selected to serve as the interim state fire marshal.

August 22, 2018
Workers’ comp seminar offered in San Antonio for health care providers and staff
The Division of Workers’ Compensation and the University of Texas San Antonio (UTSA) Small Business Development Center will offer a seminar on September 19, 2018, for health care providers and staff that provide care to injured employees in the Texas workers’ compensation system.

August 13, 2018
Deadline approaching to report Harvey claims
As the anniversary of Hurricane Harvey approaches, the Texas Department of Insurance is reminding Texans that some insurance policies have a one-year deadline to file claims.

Archives | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015



For more information, contact: