On March 13, 2020, Governor Greg Abbott declared COVID-19 a statewide public health disaster. The Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) is working diligently to help system participants and protect the health and safety of the public in our response to COVID-19.
Governor Abbott suspended Health and Safety Code Section 81.050(j) and 28 Texas Administrative Code Section 122.3(c) regarding 10-day testing requirements. As symptoms of COVID-19 exposure may take over 10 days to manifest, strict compliance with these laws could prevent, hinder, or delay state efforts to provide workers’ compensation coverage for emergency responders
This bulletin is in effect for the duration of the governor’s COVID-19 declaration, or until further notice from DWC.
Commissioner of Workers’ Compensation
Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation