Skip to Top Main Navigation Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content Area Skip to Footer
Texas Department of Insurance
Topics:   A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z All

Agent and Adjuster Licensing Notices

Recent notices

Escrow and title insurance updates

  • TDI has converted all escrow officer licenses to a single license which shows all appointments to each title insurance agent or direct operation.
  • Title education providers must register and certify courses with TDI every two years.

For more information, see these updates to the Title Basic Manual of Rules:

No more paper

You can also find the following services and documents online at Sircon:

New title reports available

Three new or updated external title reports are available on our reports page under the title / escrow licensing menu:

  • Individual escrow officer information.
  • Title agent information.
  • Licensed escrow officers – includes new license numbers and expiration dates.

Previous notices

License expiration dates are changing

The expiration date for your license is changing to the last day of your birth month. You should see the new date online starting April 17. This does not affect continuing education credits or other requirements.

License printing

Individuals have the ability to print their own license via the internet. Licensees may utilize Compliance Express or Sircon to print a copy of their license. For more information, refer to Commissioner's Bulletin #B-0002-15.

Licenses are no longer sent via postal mail.

Additional instruction is available in the Agent / Adjuster FAQ page.

Public insurance adjusters are required to be licensed in Texas

The Public Insurance Adjuster Law (SB127 of the 78th Legislative Session) became effective June 11, 2003. Article 21.07-5 Section 3 (a) requires that: "A person may not act as a public insurance adjuster in this state or hold himself or herself out to be a public insurance adjuster in this state, unless the person holds a license or certificate issued by the commissioner under Section 5, 15, or 16 of this article."

  • Examination: There is no provision in statute that would allow a Public Insurance Adjuster (PIA) to qualify for a license by taking a prelicense course. Such courses may or may not be useful to prepare for the PIA License Qualifying test. Get information about testing, get a license application, or schedule an examination by contacting Pearson VUE. Visit their website or call them toll free at 888-754-7667.
  • Bond Form: A Public Insurance Adjuster must have a $10,000 Public Insurance Adjuster's bond. The FIN509, Public Insurance Adjuster Bond form can be downloaded from our website.
  • The statute: Review Senate Bill 127.
  • The rule: Review the Public Insurance Adjuster rule.
  • Public insurance adjusters charge fees to insureds to help negotiate claim settlements with insurance companies. The public insurance adjuster fee is normally a percentage of the claim settlement and therefore is paid out of settlement monies received from an insurer.
  • If a claim is settled within 72 hours of the date the loss is reported to the insurance company, the public insurance adjuster is entitled only to reasonable compensation for time and expenses.
  • The public insurance adjuster's fee may not exceed 10 percent of a claim settlement and must be disclosed in the public insurance adjuster's written contract.
  • Public insurance adjusters may not give legal advice.

The public insurance adjuster may not participate, either directly or indirectly, in the reconstruction or repair of damaged property that is the subject of a claim adjusted by the public insurance adjuster.

National Insurance Producer Registry on-line address change

The Texas Department of Insurance now accepts contact information (address) changes through the National Insurance Producer Registry’s website using the Contact Change Request application (CCR).

Nonresident - electronic licensing resources

Texas is the 28th state to begin accepting electronic nonresident Licensing (eNRL) applications through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR), an affiliate of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.

Some of the reasons for insurers and individuals to use electronic nonresident Licensing (eNRL) are:

  • Certification is done automatically by NIPR.
  • Ability to file in multiple states with one application.
  • Application is pre-screened against data in NIPR's PDB database.
  • Is usually up to 6 days faster than non-electronic filing.
  • NIPR sends automatic email when Texas issues license.

The Texas Department of Insurance provides examination services through Pearson VUE, a TDI vendor.
Examination scheduling, examination administration, and fingerprinting services for all agent and adjuster license exams may be obtained from Pearson VUE. You may also retrieve exam service information, as well as the Candidate Handbook, exam content outlines, contact phone numbers, testing locations, scheduling information, and fees from their website, Pearson VUE, or by telephone at 888-754-7667.

The Texas Department of Insurance provides continuing education services through Pearson VUE, a TDI vendor.
The Texas Department of Insurance provides continuing education services through Pearson VUE.

Providers must report all Texas CE credits earned to the department's Continuing Education Compliance Contractor, Pearson VUE. Providers must enter roster reports on-line through Sircon Compliance Express. Compliance Express automatically generates completion certificates for providers; the hours submitted are recorded in a system that tracks each individual licensee's progress toward meeting the department's CE requirements. Providers can also enter new and revised courses online and register new providers. Providers are able to post information about actual course offerings each time a classroom course is given. This posting shows addresses, dates, and provider contact information. The Sircon system also reports all non-compliant individuals to the department for administrative action.

Two important links for providers and licensees:

Fingerprint Requirements and Instructions MUST be followed for all license types requiring a background check.

NOTE: The fingerprint receipt will contain either a TCN# or UE ID#. The current electronic application requires the TCN#. If your Fingerprint Receipt contains a UE ID#, you may obtain your TCN# at and check the status of your fingerprint process.


Review TDI’s Fingerprint Requirements and Instructions: Fingerprint Requirements and Instructions.

Review the Commissioner's Bulletin: Commissioner’s Bulletin No. B-0030-15.

Pre-paid Legal Services registrations are handled by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation.
Insurance licensees are not authorized to sell for-profit prepaid legal services contracts under their insurance agent's license.

Senate Bill 597, 78th Regular Texas Legislative Session, transferred the regulation of for-profit prepaid legal services contracts from the Texas Department of Insurance to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. The bill did not transfer or cancel any insurance agent's license. An insurance agent license that was used for selling pre-paid legal insurance contracts continued in force until it expired, was canceled on request of the agent, or is/was revoked by TDI. A person wishing to keep an insurance agent license should renew it to avoid expiration.

Any prepaid legal services contract issued by an insurance company prior to March 1, 2004, remains in effect until its expiration date. Insurance companies may renew such a contract only if the insurer has registered with TDLR.

For more information about the new registration requirements, please visit TDLR's web site.

Questions regarding the new registration requirements should be directed to TDLR at

A note about returned checks

The Agent and Adjuster Licensing Office has a procedure to handle returned checks submitted for payment of various licensing filing fees.

Fees are a mandatory part of some licensing filings. When a check is returned to TDI, the filing is incomplete. When this occurs, the customer will be notified by a certified letter that a money order or cashier's check in the amount of the original check, plus a $30.00 returned check fee must be returned to the department. If the filing fee was submitted for a new application for a license or renewal of an existing license and the check was returned, the customer will have 45 days to respond and submit the appropriate fees or the license may be canceled. If the returned check makes the renewal late, then a late fee must be added to the total.

The replacement money order or cashier's check must be received within 90 days from the expiration date of the license for the license to be renewed.

Texas Insurance Code § 4003.007 states that, "If a person's license has been expired for more than 90 days but less than one year, the person may not renew the license, but is entitled to a new license without taking the applicable examination if the person submits to the department a new application, the license fee, and an additional fee equal to one-half of the license fee.

Public information - open record requests

If you would like to view or get copies of our records, send a open records request.

In-state address changes

Effective September 1, 2017, all individual licensee address changes, within the same state, must be submitted to Texas by submitting the change request online.

You can do that through either of these websites:

If you have trouble submitting an individual address change online, contact the Texas Department of Insurance at 512-676-6500 or

Agent / adjuster FAQ

The Agent / Adjuster FAQ page is a handy resource, addressing many of the most common questions asked.

Contact us:

Phone number: 512-676-6500

Question? Email us at

Last updated: 2/9/2024