Skip to Top Main Navigation Skip to Content Area Skip to Footer
Texas Department of Insurance
Topics:   A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z All

Adjuster: workers' compensation

Manage your license

License renewal

You must complete these two steps before we will renew your license:

  1. Be fully compliant with Continuing Education (CE) requirements for your license.

    • Complete your CE hours.
    • Pay any CE fines you have. We will fine you $50 for each hour you don’t complete before midnight Central Time (CT) on your expiration date, no exceptions.
    • Paying fines doesn’t relieve you of any CE requirements. You need to pay fines in addition to completing your CE hours.
    • Find out about exemptions, extensions, ethics requirements, fines, requirements for non-residents, and more in the Continuing education credits section.
  2. Pay the renewal fee.

Continuing education credits

To keep your license in good standing, you must take 24 hours of continuing education (CE) every two years. You can take CE courses at any time during each two-year term, but you must complete them before midnight Central Time (CT) on your license expiration date to avoid fines and delays in your license renewal.

CE Hours

  • To ensure there is no delay, complete CE hours at least 30 days before your license expires. This will allow time for the CE providers to report the successful completion of the course to us.
  • At least 12 hours must be “classroom” or “classroom equivalent” courses.
  • Three hours must be in ethics. If your license expired on August 31, 2022 or before, you need only two hours of ethics.
  • To see how many hours you’ve taken, go the Sircon website and click on “Continuing Education Transcript Inquiry.”
  • To find approved courses, go to the Sircon website and click on “Approved Courses Inquiry.”

CE Fines

  • Fines of $50 will apply automatically for every hour you don’t complete before midnight CT on your expiration date, no exceptions.
  • If your license expired after June 1, 2018, there is a maximum fine of $500 per license type. There is no cap on fines for terms that expired before this date.
  • If you do have fines, you must pay these in addition to completing your CE hours before you can become CE compliant.
  • Paid CE fines are non-refundable, no exceptions. An exemption or extension granted after fines have been paid will not be reason for a refund.

CE Exceptions

  • Non-residents: In most cases, you don’t need to take CE courses through the state of Texas. To find out, go to the Sircon website and click on “Continuing Education Transcript Inquiry” to view your transcript.
    • You must follow your home state’s rules.
    • If your state doesn’t require continuing education, you must follow Texas rules.
    • If you have a Texas designated home state (DHS) license, you must follow Texas rules.
  • Extensions: To ask for an extension of time to complete your hours, click on “Services” under Education Services on the Sircon website. You must submit your request at least two weeks before your license expires.
  • 20-year exemptions: You may not need to complete CE if you have been continuously licensed in Texas for at least 20 years without interruption. To apply, go to Sircon and click on "Request CE Exemption." You must do this two weeks before your license expires.

More information

Cancel license

To cancel your license, complete the Voluntary Surrender form and send it to CE@tdi.texas.gov.

Letter of certification

You can ask for a letter of certification (proof you have a license in Texas) by going to Sircon. You will need to pay $11, plus any additional fees Sircon might charge.

Question? Email us at license@tdi.texas.gov.

Last updated: 6/13/2024