Skip to Top Main Navigation Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content Area Skip to Footer
Texas Department of Insurance
Topics:   A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z All

Lone Star Safety Program

Safety at Work Banner

The Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) Lone Star Safety Program recognizes Texas employers with exemplary safety programs which can serve as models for other employers. To qualify for the program, employers must have a proven safety program, injury incidence rates below the national average for three years prior to application, and no work-related fatalities within the prior 12 months.

Lone Star Safety Award recipients may be asked to give presentations to appropriate industry associations, mentor other organizations, serve on a panel for safety and health issues, or participate in the Texas Workers' Compensation Conference.

Who is eligible to apply for the Lone Star Safety Program?

  • any Texas employer with workers’ compensation coverage; and
  • employers without workers’ compensation coverage that have five or more employees.

The Lone Star Safety Program automatically considers companies who are participants in the Safety and Health Achievement Recognition Program (SHARP) eligible for the Lone Star Award.

Who can nominate an employer for the Lone Star Safety Program?

  • an eligible employer for itself;
  • a workers’ compensation insurance carrier;
  • industry trade associations, labor organizations, or similar entities; or
  • staff members of DWC

A representative of DWC will visit the company to validate information on the application. If approved, the recognition will be valid for two years from the date of acceptance and may be renewed by the submission of updated injury data and safety program information.

Lone Star Safety Award recipients are:

  • publicly recognized at DWC’s annual Workers’ Compensation Conference and given two complimentary admissions to the annual event, and three complimentary admissions to a OSHA 30-hour construction class; and
  • presented the Lone Star Safety Award certificate and banner at their place of employment by a DWC representative.

An employer may not be approved for the Lone Star Safety Program if the employer:

  • experienced a work-related fatality within the last 12 months;
  • exceeded the Bureau of Labor Statistics national injury rate for their North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code;
  • experienced an increasing trend in injury rates over three reportable years;
  • is a Rejected Risk employer who has failed an inspection (applies only to certain policyholders of Texas Mutual Insurance Company). DWC will evaluate employers awaiting inspection or released from the program to determine circumstances; or
  • experienced other negative events leading to the injury or death of a customer, vendor, contractor, or the general public.

* DWC will evaluate employers awaiting inspection or released from the program to determine circumstances.

To apply, download, complete, and return the Lone Star Safety Program application or contact DWC at 512-804-4622 with any questions

For more information, contact:

Last updated: 5/4/2023