Skip to Top Main Navigation Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content Area Skip to Footer
Texas Department of Insurance
Topics:   A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z All

Notices: SFMO codes and standards

Standards of inspection

The State Fire Marshal's Office uses the 2021 Editions of the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) 101 Life Safety Code and NFPA 1 Fire Code as its standards of inspection with an effective date of September 1, 2023.

The National Fire Protection Association Life Safety Code® (NFPA 101) is the adopted inspection standard of the State Fire Marshal's Office. The Life Safety Code® determines the design, construction, and operation of occupied buildings.

When other codes are utilized for building design elements, the standards of the Life Safety Code® prevail. Any deviation from this standard must be approved by the State Fire Marshal as the Authority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ). Otherwise, the deviation will be considered a deficiency.

The State Fire Marshal uses additional NFPA fire codes and standards for guidance in assessing and directing the remediation of fire hazards in other than occupied buildings. This action is taken under the authority of the Texas Government Code, § 417.008 and § 417.0081, and the Texas Administrative Code, 28 TAC § 34.301 ff.

NFPA 1 is used by the State Fire Marshal’s Office staff when conducting inspections within their authority.

NFPA resources

NFPA’s Hot Work Certification: A certification program from NFPA designed to help those in the construction industry develop awareness and understanding of dangers and safety procedures to promote safety on the work site where hot work occurs.

SFMO directives and resources

For more information, contact:

Last updated: 11/16/2023