
SAFETY VIOLATIONS HOTLINE — Information for Texas Employees

What is the Safety Violations Hotline?
The Safety Violations Hotline is a confidential, bilingual, 24-hour reporting service, accessible by toll-free telephone 
line or online submission. The Hotline allows Texas employees to report unsafe working conditions to the Texas 
Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (TDI-DWC).

Every year, workplace hazards result in injuries, illnesses, and fatalities involving Texas employees. One of the goals 
of the TDI-DWC is to promote safe and healthy work environments.

By law, your employer is responsible for providing a safe work environment for you. While working you may 
recognize safety and health hazards that could cause injury, illness, or death. You can report such workplace hazards 
to the Safety Violations Hotline by calling 1-800-452-9595 or completing the form online at http://www.tdi.texas.
gov/wc/safety/hotline.html.

You can report hazards without fear of retribution from your employer. The Safety Violations Hotline allows you, the 
employee, to take an active role in preventing workplace injuries, illnesses, and fatalities. After a report is received, 
the TDI-DWC works with employers and workers’ compensation insurance carriers (if applicable) to help eliminate 
workplace safety and health hazards.

How does the Safety Violations Hotline work?
The hazard investigation process begins with a report from you. When calling, e-mailing, or submitting your report 
online, you will need to provide the following information:

•	 your employer’s name, address, city, zip code, telephone number, and owner or responsible head 
of the organization; 

•	 a detailed description of hazard(s); and
•	 if you choose, your name and contact information, such as telephone number or address. This enables the 

TDI-DWC to contact you to gather additional information to update you on the status of your report.

After a safety or health hazard report is received, the following steps are taken to address the report.
•	 The TDI-DWC contacts the employer and, if applicable, its workers’ compensation insurance carrier.
•	 The hazardous situation is investigated by the employer and, if applicable, the insurance carrier.
•	 The employer corrects the hazard.
•	 The employer or insurance carrier notifies the TDI-DWC that the hazard has been corrected.
•	 If requested to do so, the TDI-DWC notifies the person who reported the hazard of the final results 

of the report investigation.
•	 The case is closed.

There are several important facts you should know about the Safety Violations Hotline.
•	 Each report is investigated as fully as possible based on the information provided by the employee.
•	 Reports of safety and health hazards are taken in English or Spanish.
•	 It is against the law for your employer to engage in any form of disciplinary action against you, such 

as demotion, harassment, or termination, as a result of your report of an occupational hazard to the Hotline.
•	 If your employment is terminated or suspended, you are entitled to reinstatement to your former 

position, compensation for the wages lost during the period of termination or suspension, and 
reinstatement of fringe benefits or seniority rights.

•	 Employees that are terminated or suspended by an employer in retaliation for making a report have 
90 days to file suit after the alleged retaliation occurred or was discovered.

•	 However, you do not have to provide your name to report a hazard.
•	 Your name and contact information is confidential and will not be released for any reason.

Safety Violations Hotline 
1-800-452-9595 • safetyhotline@tdi.texas.gov
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