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TITLE 28.  INSURANCE 

PART 2.  TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE,  
DIVISION OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION 

CHAPTER 132: DEATH BENEFITS--DEATH AND BURIAL BENEFITS  

Title 28 TAC §132.7 and §132.13 

 

1.  INTRODUCTION.  The Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation 

(division) adopts amendments to 28 TAC §132.7, concerning duration of death benefits for eligible 

spouse, and §132.13, concerning burial benefits. An informal working draft of the rule text was 

published on the division’s website on August 12, 2015, and the division received six comments. The 

proposal was published in the December 4, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 8729) and 

the division received no comments. Amended §132.7 and §132.13 are adopted without changes to 

the proposed text. There was not a request for public hearing submitted to the division.   

 In accordance with Government Code §2001.033, the division's reasoned justification for the 

sections is set out in this order, which includes the preamble. The following paragraphs include a 

detailed section-by section description and reasoned justification for all amendments to §132.7 and 

§132.13.  

 

2. REASONED JUSTIFICATION. The Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ 

Compensation (division) adopts amendments to §132.7, concerning duration of death benefits for 

eligible spouse, and §132.13, concerning burial benefits. The purpose of amended §132.7 is to align 

existing §132.7 with House Bill (HB) 1094, 84th Legislature, Regular Session (2015). HB 1094 

amended Labor Code §408.183 to allow eligible spouses of first responders to remarry and remain 

eligible for death benefits, if the first responder suffered death in the course and scope of employment 
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or while providing services as a volunteer. The purpose of amended §132.13 is to align existing 

§132.13 with Senate Bill (SB) 653, 84th Legislature, Regular Session (2015). SB 653 amended Labor 

Code §408.186 to increase the maximum amount of reimbursement for burial benefits payable in the 

workers’ compensation system from $6,000 to $10,000 for a compensable injury that occurs on or 

after September 1, 2015.  

 The division also adopts non-substantive changes to amended §132.7 and §132.13 including 

adding the word “insurance” before the word “carrier” in §132.7(a) and (c) - (e), replacing 

“commission” with “division” in §132.7(c) and (e) and §132.13(d), replacing “rule” with “section” in 

§132.7(a) and (e), and replacing “common law” with “informal” in §132.7(b).  

 Section 132.7 addresses Duration of Death Benefits for Eligible Spouse. Amended 

§132.7(a) adds the word “insurance” before the word “carrier” and replaces "rule" with "section" to 

conform to current agency style. Amended §132.7(a) also exempts subsection (f) from the 

requirements in §132.7(a). The purpose of amended §132.7(a) is to align existing §132.7 with HB 

1094, which amended Labor Code §408.183 to allow eligible spouses of first responders to remarry 

and remain eligible for death benefits. 

 Amended §132.7(b) replaces “common law” with “informal” to align with Family Code §2.401. 

The division clarifies that the alignment with Family Code §2.401 will not change any requirements in 

existing §132.7. HB 53, 61st Legislature, Regular Session (1969) codified common law marriage into 

statute as informal marriage. The purpose of the non-substantive amendment is solely to conform 

§132.7(b) with current statutory language. 

 Amended §132.7(c) replaces “commission” with “division” and adds the word “insurance” 

before the word “carrier” to conform to current agency style. 
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 Amended §132.7(d) adds the word “insurance” before the word “carrier” to conform to current 

agency style. 

 Amended §132.7(e) replaces “commission” with “division,” adds the word “insurance” before 

the word “carrier,” and replaces “rule” with “section" to conform to current agency style. Amended 

§132.7(e) deletes the reference to Texas Workers’ Compensation Act §10.04 because HB 752, 73rd 

Legislature, Regular Session (1993) repealed Vernon’s Texas Civil Statutes Article 8308 §10.04, and 

readopted the statutes as the Labor Code. 

 New §132.7(f) states that an eligible spouse who remarries is eligible for death benefits for life 

if the employee was a first responder, as defined by Labor Code §504.055, who suffered death in the 

course and scope of employment or while providing services as a volunteer. Amended §132.7(b) - (e) 

do not apply to an eligible spouse under new §132.7(f). New §132.7(f) applies to claims based on a 

compensable injury that occurs on or after September 1, 2015. The purpose of amended §132.7(f) is 

to align existing §132.7 with HB 1094. HB 1094 amended Labor Code §408.183 to allow eligible 

spouses of first responders to remarry and remain eligible for death benefits for life, if the first 

responder suffered death in the course and scope of employment or while providing services as a 

volunteer. HB 1094 applies to claims based on a compensable injury that occurs on or after 

September 1, 2015. 

 The division clarifies that new §132.7(f) does not alter the distribution of death benefits under 

§132.11 or the redistribution of death benefits under §132.12. If there is an eligible child or grandchild 

and an eligible spouse, death benefits continue to be divided between the beneficiaries, with half paid 

to the eligible spouse and half paid in equal shares to the eligible children. The division also clarifies 

that although new §132.7(f) does not affect the redistribution of death benefits under §132.12, an 
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eligible spouse under new §132.7(f) will remain eligible for death benefits after remarriage and the 

spouse’s share of benefits will not be redistributed. 

 Section 132.13 addresses Burial Benefits. Amended §132.13(b)(3) modifies the effective date 

for the $6,000 maximum reimbursement for burial benefits paid based on a compensable injury that 

occurs “on or after September 1, 1999” to “on or after September 1, 1999 and before September 1, 

2015.” The purpose of amended §132.13(b)(3) is to align existing §132.13 with SB 653. SB 653 

amended Labor Code §408.186 to increase the maximum amount of reimbursement for burial 

benefits payable in the workers’ compensation system from $6,000 to $10,000 for a compensable 

injury that occurs on or after September 1, 2015. 

 New §132.13(b)(4) increases the amount of maximum reimbursement for burial benefits 

payable in the workers’ compensation system from $6,000 to $10,000 if the burial benefits are paid 

based on a compensable injury that occurs on or after September 1, 2015. The purpose of amended 

§132.13(b)(4) is to align existing §132.13 with SB 653, which amended Labor Code §408.186 to 

increase the maximum amount of reimbursement for burial benefits payable in the workers’ 

compensation system from $6,000 to $10,000 for a compensable injury that occurs on or after 

September 1, 2015. 

 Amended §132.13(d) replaces “commission” with “division” to conform to current agency style.  

 

3. SUMMARY OF COMMENTS. The division did not receive any comments on the proposed 

amendments to §132.7 and §132.13.  
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4. STATUTORY AUTHORITY.  The amendments are adopted under Labor Code §§408.183, 

408.186, 408.181, 408.182, 408.184, 401.011(13), 401.011(29), 402.021(a)(1), 402.021(b)(5), 

415.002(a)(11), 415.002(a)(12), 415.002(a)(13), 402.00111, and 402.061. 

 Labor Code §408.183 outlines the duration of death benefits for legal beneficiaries. Labor 

Code §408.186 outlines the requirements for burial benefits in the workers’ compensation system. 

Labor Code §408.181 requires an insurance carrier to pay death benefits to a legal beneficiary if a 

compensable injury to the employee results in death. Labor Code §408.182 outlines the requirements 

for distribution of death benefits. Labor Code §408.184 outlines the requirements for redistribution of 

death benefits. Labor Code §401.011(13) defines death benefits. Labor Code §401.011(29) defines 

legal beneficiary. Labor Code §402.021(a)(1) states that one of the basic goals of the workers’ 

compensation system is that each employee be treated with dignity and respect when injured on the 

job. Labor Code §402.021(b)(5) states that one of the goals of the workers’ compensation system is 

to minimize the likelihood of disputes and resolve them promptly and fairly when identified. Labor 

Code §415.002(a)(11) states that an insurance carrier or its representative commits an administrative 

violation if they fail to process claims promptly in a reasonable and prudent manner. Labor Code 

§415.002(a)(12) states that an insurance carrier or its representative commits an administrative 

violation if they fail to initiate or reinstate benefits when due if a legitimate dispute does not exist as to 

the liability of the insurance carrier. Labor Code §402.00111 provides that the commissioner of 

workers' compensation shall exercise all executive authority, including rulemaking authority under 

Title 5 of the Labor Code. Labor Code §402.061 provides that the commissioner of workers' 

compensation shall adopt rules as necessary for the implementation and enforcement of the Texas 

Workers' Compensation Act. 
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5. TEXT. 

§132.7. Duration of Death Benefits for Eligible Spouse. 

 (a) Except as provided in subsection (f) of this section, a spouse who is determined eligible for 

death benefits is entitled to receive benefits until the date of the spouse's death or until remarriage. 

The insurance carrier shall notify the eligible spouse of the requirements of this section within 60 days 

of initiating benefits to that spouse. 

 (b) An eligible spouse who enters into a ceremonial or informal marriage is entitled to receive a 

lump-sum payment of 104 weeks of death benefits. 

 (c) An eligible spouse shall notify the division and the insurance carrier in writing within 30 

days of the date of remarriage. The notice shall include the name and social security number of the 

deceased employee, the date of death, the workers' compensation claim file number, and the date of 

remarriage.  

 (d) The amount of the lump-sum payment shall be calculated by multiplying the amount paid to 

the spouse the week prior to the remarriage by 104. If the insurance carrier paid any weekly benefits 

to the eligible spouse after the remarriage, the total amount of such payments shall be deducted from 

the amount of the commuted payment.  

 (e) An eligible spouse who knowingly accepts death benefits after remarriage in excess of the 

amount allowed by this section, and who does not notify the division or the insurance carrier of 

remarriage, may be subject to administrative penalties. 

 (f) An eligible spouse who remarries is eligible for death benefits for life if the employee was a 

first responder, as defined by Labor Code §504.055, who suffered death in the course and scope of 

employment or while providing services as a volunteer. Subsections (b) - (e) of this section do not 
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apply to an eligible spouse under this subsection. This subsection only applies to claims based on a 

compensable injury that occurs on or after September 1, 2015. 

§132.13. Burial Benefits. 

 (a) When an employee has died as the result of a compensable injury, a person claiming burial 

benefits shall file a request for payment of burial benefits and the bills showing the amount of burial 

and transportation costs incurred. The request and the documentation shall be filed with the 

insurance carrier within 12 months of the date of death of the employee. 

 (b) The person who incurred liability for the costs of burial is entitled to receive the lesser of:  

  (1) the actual costs incurred for reasonable burial expenses; or  

  (2) $2,500--if burial benefits are paid based on a compensable injury that occurs before 

September 1, 1999; or  

  (3) $6,000--if burial benefits are paid based on a compensable injury that occurs on or 

after September 1, 1999 and before September 1, 2015; or 

  (4) $10,000--if burial benefits are paid based on a compensable injury that occurs on or 

after September 1, 2015. 

 (c) The person who incurred liability for the costs of transporting the body of the employee is 

entitled to be reimbursed for the reasonable cost of transportation if the employee died away from the 

usual place of employment. The insurance carrier's liability for transportation costs under this 

subsection shall not exceed the cost equivalent to transporting the body from the place the employee 

died to the employee's usual place of employment. 

 (d) The insurance carrier shall review each claim for burial benefits. The insurance carrier must 

either pay or deny the claim within seven days of the date the claim was received by the carrier. If the 
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claim is denied, the insurance carrier must notify the person claiming burial benefits and the division 

in writing of its denial and the facts supporting the denial. 

 

10. CERTIFICATION. This agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adoption and found it 

to be a valid exercise of the agency’s legal authority.  

Issued at Austin, Texas, on _________________, 2016. 

 

 

      ____________________________ 

      Marisa Lopez Wagley 
      Acting General Counsel 
      Texas Department of Insurance, Division of  

Workers' Compensation 
 

The commissioner adopts amendments to §132.7 and §132.13. 

 

 

      ____________________________ 

      W. Ryan Brannan 
      Commissioner of Workers' Compensation 
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COMMISSIONER’S ORDER NO.__________  

 

 

ATTEST:  

 

Marisa Lopez Wagley 

Acting General Counsel 

Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation 
  

COMMISSIONER’S ORDER NO.__________  

 

X
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