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MEDICAL FEE DISPUTE RESOLUTION FINDINGS AND DECISION 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

Requestor Name 

Susan Van De Water, M.D. 

Respondent Name 

New Hampshire Insurance Company 

MFDR Tracking Number 

M4-17-0966-01 

MFDR Date Received 

December 7, 2016 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 

Box Number 19 

REQUESTOR’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Requestor’s Position Summary:  “DESIGNATED DOCTOR EXAMINATION NO PAYMENT RECEIVED TO DATE” 

Amount in Dispute: $865.00 

RESPONDENT’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Respondent’s Position Summary:  Submitted documentation does not include a position statement from the 
respondent. 

SUMMARY OF FINDINGS 

Dates of Service Disputed Services 
Amount In 

Dispute 
Amount Due 

February 25, 2016 Designated Doctor Examination (99456-W5-NM) $350.00 $350.00 

February 25, 2016 Designated Doctor Examination (99456-W8-RE) $500.00 $500.00 

February 25, 2016 Work Status Report (99080-73) $15.00 $0.00 

FINDINGS AND DECISION 

This medical fee dispute is decided pursuant to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and applicable rules of the Texas 
Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation. 

Background  

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes. 
2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §102.4 sets out the procedures for communications that do not include the 

division. 
3. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.240 sets out the procedures for payment or denial of a medical bill. 
4. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.204 sets out the fee guidelines for division-specific services provided 

from March 1, 2008 until September 1, 2016. 
5. The submitted documentation does not include explanations of benefits. 
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Issues 

1. Did New Hampshire Insurance Company respond to the medical fee dispute? 
2. Did New Hampshire Insurance Company take final action to pay, reduce, or deny the disputed services not 

later than the 45th day after receiving the medical bill? 
3. Is Susan Van De Water, M.D. eligible for reimbursement of the services in question? 

Findings 

1. The Austin carrier representative for New Hampshire Insurance Company is Flahive, Ogden & Latson. Flahive, 
Ogden & Latson acknowledged receipt of the copy of this medical fee dispute on December 14, 2016. 

28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307 states, in relevant part: 

(d) Responses. Responses to a request for MFDR shall be legible and submitted to the division and to 
the requestor in the form and manner prescribed by the division. 
(1) Timeliness. The response will be deemed timely if received by the division via mail service, 

personal delivery, or facsimile within 14 calendar days after the date the respondent received 
the copy of the requestor's dispute [emphasis added]. If the division does not receive the 
response information within 14 calendar days of the dispute notification, then the division may 
base its decision on the available information. 

Review of the documentation finds that no response has been received on behalf of New Hampshire 
Insurance Company from Flahive, Ogden & Latson to date. The division concludes that New Hampshire 
Insurance Company failed to respond within the timeframe required by §133.307(d)(1). For that reason the 
division will base its decision on the information available. 

2. Dr. Van De Water argued in her position statement that “The carrier did not timely reimburse on the first 
receipt of this claim. The carrier failed to timely respond or reimburse for the Request of Reconsideration for 
this claim.” Submitted documentation finds no explanations of benefits were submitted by either party.  

According to Texas Labor Code Sec. 408.027(b), New Hampshire Insurance Company was required to pay, 
reduce, or deny the disputed services not later than the 45th day after it received the medical bill from Dr. 
Van De Water. Corresponding 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.240(a) also required New Hampshire 
Insurance Company to take final action by issuing an explanation of benefits not later than the statutorily-
required 45th day. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.2(6) defines final action as follows: 

(6) Final action on a medical bill— 
(A) sending a payment that makes the total reimbursement for that bill a fair and reasonable 

reimbursement in accordance with §134.1 of this title (relating to Medical Reimbursement); 
and/or 

(B) denying a charge on the medical bill. 

Dr. Van De Water submitted a copy of a CMS 1500 indicating that the medical bill for the services in dispute 
were submitted by fax on or about February 29, 2016. 28 Texas Administrative Code §102.4(p) states: 

For purposes of determining the date of receipt for non-commission written communications, unless the 
great weight of evidence indicates otherwise, the Commission shall deem the received date to be five 
days after the date mailed via United States Postal Service regular mail; or the date faxed or 
electronically transmitted. 

New Hampshire Insurance Company was, therefore, not relieved of its requirement to pay, reduce, or deny 
the disputed services not later than the 45th day after it received the medical bill from Dr. Van De Water, in 
accordance with Texas Labor Code Sec. 408.027(b). When the insurance carrier receives a medical bill, it is 
obligated to take the following actions pursuant to 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.240: 

(a) An insurance carrier shall take final action [emphasis added] after conducting bill review on a 
complete medical bill…not later than the 45th day [emphasis added] after the insurance carrier 
received a complete medical bill… 
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(e) The insurance carrier shall send the explanation of benefits [emphasis added] in accordance with 
the elements required by §133.500 and §133.501 of this title…The explanation of benefits shall be 
sent to: 
(1) the health care provider when the insurance carrier makes payment or denies payment on a 

medical bill… 

All workers’ compensation insurance carriers are expected to fulfill their duty to take final action as required 
by the division’s statutes and adopted administrative rules. The division finds that: 

 no evidence was presented to the division to support that New Hampshire Insurance Company took 
final action by paying, reducing, or denying the services in dispute within 45 days; and 

 no evidence was presented to the division to support that New Hampshire Insurance Company 
timely presented any defenses to Dr. Van De Water on an explanation of benefits as required under 
28 Texas Administrative Code §133.240 prior to the request for medical fee dispute resolution. 

Absent any evidence that New Hampshire Insurance Company raised any defenses that conform to the 
requirements of Title 28, Part 2, Chapter 133, Subchapter C, the division finds that the services in question 
will be reviewed in accordance with applicable fee guidelines. 

3. Per 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.204(j)(2)(A),  

If the examining doctor, other than the treating doctor, determines MMI has not been reached, the 
MMI evaluation portion of the examination shall be billed and reimbursed in accordance with paragraph 
(3) of this subsection. Modifier "NM" shall be added.  

Paragraph (3) states, “The following applies for billing and reimbursement of an MMI evaluation… (C) An 
examining doctor, other than the treating doctor, shall bill using CPT Code 99456. Reimbursement shall be 
$350.” The submitted documentation supports that Dr. Van De Water performed an evaluation of MMI and 
found that the injured employee was not at MMI. Therefore, the maximum allowable reimbursement (MAR) 
for this examination is $350.00. 

Per 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.204(k),  

The following shall apply to Return to Work (RTW) and/or Evaluation of Medical Care (EMC) 
Examinations. When conducting a Division or insurance carrier requested RTW/EMC examination, the 
examining doctor shall bill and be reimbursed using CPT Code 99456 with modifier ‘RE.’ In either 
instance of whether MMI/IR is performed or not, the reimbursement shall be $500 in accordance with 
subsection (i) of this section and shall include Division-required reports. Testing that is required shall be 
billed using the appropriate CPT codes and reimbursed in addition to the examination fee. 

The submitted documentation indicates that Dr. Van De Water performed an examination to determine the 
ability of the injured employee to return to work. Therefore, the correct MAR for this examination is 
$500.00. 

Per 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.204(l), “The following shall apply to Work Status Reports. When 
billing for a Work Status Report that is not conducted as a part of the examinations outlined in subsections 
(i) and (j) of this section [emphasis added], refer to §129.5 of this title (relating to Work Status Reports)”. 
Therefore, the filing of the DWC-073 is not separately payable when provided in conjunction with a 
Designated Doctor Examination performed according to 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.204(i). 

The total MAR for the services in question is $850.00. This amount is recommended. 

Conclusion 

For the reasons stated above, the Division finds that the requestor has established that additional 
reimbursement is due.  As a result, the amount ordered is $850.00. 
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ORDER 

Based on the submitted information, pursuant to Texas Labor Code Sec. 413.031 and 413.019 (if applicable), the 
Division has determined that the requestor is entitled to additional reimbursement for the services in dispute.  
The Division hereby ORDERS the respondent to remit to the requestor the amount of $850.00, plus applicable 
accrued interest per 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.130, due within 30 days of receipt of this Order. 

Authorized Signature 

 
 
 
   
Signature 

 Laurie Garnes  
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

 March 31, 2017  
Date 

YOUR RIGHT TO APPEAL 

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision in accordance with 28 Texas 
Administrative Code §133.307, 37 Texas Register 3833, applicable to disputes filed on or after June 1, 2012. 

A party seeking review must submit a Request to Schedule a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee 
Dispute Decision (form DWC045M) in accordance with the instructions on the form.  The request must be received 
by the Division within twenty days of your receipt of this decision.  The request may be faxed, mailed or personally 
delivered to the Division using the contact information listed on the form or to the field office handling the claim. 

The party seeking review of the MFDR decision shall deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in 
the dispute at the same time the request is filed with the Division.  Please include a copy of the Medical Fee 
Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision together with any other required information specified in 28 Texas 
Administrative Code §141.1(d). 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 512-804-4812. 

 


