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ABBREVIATED GUIDE TO OBTAIN A LICENSE AND REGISTRATION
TO INSTALL FIRE SPRINKLERS IN A ONE- or TWO- FAMILY DWELLING

GENERAL

In order to install a fire sprinkler system in a one- or two- family dwelling, the firm must (1) obtain a
“registration” (SCR) from the State Fire Marshal’s Office (SFMO) and must (2) employ at least one full-time
employee who holds an “RME-Dwelling License”, (RME). The RME is the person designated by the firm to be
responsible to assure the sprinkler system is planned and installed according to all adopted codes and
standards and signs the certification papers.

TO OBTAIN A “CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION” (SCR) FOR A FIRM

1. submit SFMO application for firm’s registration;

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/sfmfireindustry/SFO37sprcofrapp.pdf

2. provide a “Certificate of Insurance” to SFMO; (signed by Texas agent)

a. for general liability coverage including products and completed operations;

b. $100,000 for bodily injury & property damage;

c. $300,000 aggregate; and

d. indicating coverage is for “installation of fire sprinkler systems”
Franchise Tax Account Status must be ACTIVE with the TX Comptroller’s Office
provide copy of “Corporate Charter” or “Certificate of Partnership”; (firm’s legal documents)
provide copy of Assumed Name Certificate; (usually from Secretary of State)
employ one full time employee who holds an “RME-DWELLING” license; and
submit a 15t year registration fee of $350. ($300 for registration + $50 for application)

Nousw

TO OBTAIN AN “RME DWELLING LICENSE” FOR AN INDIVIDUAL
1. submit application for RME License. (no pre-requisite experience is required) OF
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/sfmfireindustry/SF036sprindapp.pdf
2. submit a copy of the letter from NICET indicating passing elements for NICET level 2 in “Automatic
Sprinkler System Layout”;
e testinformation can be found at: http://www.nicet.org/
e testadministered by NICET
e NICET does not provide training courses. Knowledge through on-the-job training.
3. pass SFMO sprinkler statute & rules test, “Texas Insurance Code, Chapter 6003, and the Fire Sprinkler
Rules”; (70%)
e sprinkler statute & rules can be downloaded at:
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/fire/documents/fmstatsprinkler.pdf
e administered by PSI www.psiexams.com
4. be employed by a firm holding an SCR; and
5. submita 15t year license fee of 5150 (5200 for every two years thereafter)
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