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APPLICATION FOR INDIVIDUAL ADJUSTER LICENSE

Applicant General Information Guide begins on Page 8. 
This application form is to be used by individuals who are: 

• not required to complete a TDI- approved course or pass a qualifying examination through Pearson VUE

• individuals applying for an Adjuster Trainee registration

• a military service member, veteran, or military spouse

• reinstating an individual license that has been expired for more than 90 days but less than one year.

The application must be typed or printed in ink.  

Emergency adjuster applicants and those required to complete a TDI- approved course or take a qualifying examination must 

apply electronically through www.sircon.com/texas. 

All applications are subject to further review. Any affirmative response to a screening question may extend processing 

times.  Failure to disclose criminal history information may result in denial of license. 

Part I–To be completed by all individual applicants - Applicants must choose only one license type. 
Those who wish to apply for more than one license type must submit a separate application and fee for each type. 

License Types - ONLY check ONE BOX per application submission: 

Adjuster – All Lines Adjuster – All Lines Designated Home State Texas 

Adjuster – Property & Casualty Adjuster – P&C Designated Home State Texas 

Adjuster – Workers’ Compensation Adjuster – Workers’ Compensation Designated Home State Texas 

Public Insurance Adjuster Adjuster – Trainee (no fee) 

License Fees:  Unless otherwise indicated, fees are $50.00 per license type. A $75 fee is required to reinstate a 

license that has been expired for more than 90 days but less than one year (TIC §4003.007). Make check or money order 

payable to the Texas Department of Insurance. All license fees are nonrefundable and nontransferable. (TIC §4001.006) 

Applicant Information - Please read carefully and provide all requested information. 

1. Applicant’s Full Legal Name–nicknames and abbreviations are not acceptable.

________________________________    _______________________________ ____________________ __________ 

LAST NAME  FIRST NAME  MIDDLE NAME  SUFFIX 

2. Applicant’s Social Security Number, Date of Birth, and Daytime Phone Number– The application cannot be processed

without this information. Disclosure of Social Security Number is required by Texas Family Code §231.302.

_____________________________ _________________________ ________________________ __________ 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER DATE OF BIRTH (MM/DD/YY) DAY TIME PHONE NUMBER  EXT 

3. Mailing Address (required–This is the address of record with TDI; TDI correspondence will be mailed to this address) 

______________________________________________________ ________________________ 
STREET, PHYSICAL LOCATION, ROUTE OR P.O. BOX  APT, STE, ETC. 

__________________________________________  _________________________ ________________________ 
CITY STATE   ZIP CODE 

4. Legal Resident Address (required–This is the address where you live and establishes state of residency)

____________________________________________________________  ________________________ 
STREET, PHYSICAL LOCATION (P.O. BOX IS NOT ACCEPTED) APT, STE, ETC. 

__________________________________________  _________________________  ________________________ 
CITY STATE   ZIP CODE 

http://www.sircon.com/texas
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5. Official Business Address (required–This must be your primary office address where you will maintain business

records of Texas insurance transactions)

___________________________________________________________   ________________________ 
STREET, PHYSICAL LOCATION (P.O. BOX NOT ACCEPTED) APT, STE, ETC. 

__________________________________________  _________________________  ________________________ 
CITY    STATE   ZIP CODE 

6. Applicant’s E-mail Address (required–E-mail will be used only for TDI communications)

________________________________________________________________
E-MAIL ADDRESS

Applications will not be processed until proper documentation or details are received and a review is completed.

All applications are subject to further review. Any affirmative response to a screening question may extend processing times. Failure to disclose

criminal history information may result in denial of license.

7. Excluding traffic violations and first offense DWI:

a. Do you currently have any pending misdemeanor or felony charges (by indictment, information, or any other

instrument) filed against you in Texas, in any other state or by the federal government?

   No    Yes 

b. Have you ever been convicted of any misdemeanor or felony offense in Texas, in any other state or by the federal

government?

   No    Yes 

c. Have you ever had adjudication deferred on any misdemeanor or felony charge or offense in Texas, in any

other state or by the federal government?

   No    Yes 

d. Have you ever served any period of probation for any misdemeanor or felony offense in Texas, in any other state or

by the federal government?

   No    Yes 

If you answer “Yes” to any of questions 7 a–d, you must submit original certified copies of the charging document, indictment, 

information, or any other charging document, judgment of conviction, and/or deferred adjudication order, probation order, order 

terminating probation, community supervision and/or parole certificate for each and every crime or offense. If the court states they 

no longer have the records, please have the court provide us with a letter on their letterhead stating that fact. If you were arrested 

only and not prosecuted, please provide a records search from the appropriate jurisdiction indicating a final disposition. You 

must submit a statement describing the circumstances leading to the offenses. You must include your age at the times of the 

offenses. You may provide letters of recommendations from any persons in contact with you that are aware of your criminal past. 

8. Have you ever applied for a letter of consent, as required under section 18 U.S.C. 1033(e), from any insurance

regulatory official from Texas or any other state?

   No    Yes 

If you answer “Yes”, the application will not be processed until you provide full details of the outcome of that proceeding and all 

supporting documents to the department. 

If you answer “No”, and you have been convicted of any criminal felony involving dishonesty or breach of trust, or an offense under 

section 18 U.S.C. 1033, the application will not be processed until you submit a signed and notarized request for written consent 

with all supporting documentation to the department. 

9. Have you or has any corporation, partnership, association or firm in which you were a director, officer, shareholder,

manager, member or partner, ever been the subject of an administrative or legal action filed by Texas or any other

insurance department, or financial regulatory agency, or of an action filed on behalf of Texas or any other state or

by the federal government based on alleged violations of state or federal insurance, securities or financial regulatory

laws that you have not previously reported to the Texas Department of Insurance?

If you answer “Yes”, a license will not be issued until full details of the administrative or legal action are provided. 

   No    Yes 

10. Are you indebted to any policyholder, insurance or reinsurance company, insurance agency, general agent, managing

general agency, premium finance company or court appointed liquidator for premiums collected or commissions

retained, or have any claims or judgments been filed against you for retaining premiums or commissions?

   No    Yes 

If you answer “Yes”, a license will not be issued until full details of the indebtedness are provided. 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/
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11. Have you ever had an agency contract or company appointment cancelled for cause (e.g., misrepresentation,

misappropriation, etc.)?

   No    Yes 

If you answer “Yes”, a license will not be issued until full details are provided. Cancellation for cause does not include cancellations due 

to license expiration (nonrenewal). 

12. Do you currently hold any insurance agent license, adjuster or public insurance adjuster license in any state other than

Texas or have you held any insurance agent license, adjuster or public insurance adjuster license in any state other

than Texas within the last five years?

   No    Yes 

If you answer “Yes”, you must provide the following: 

Applicants who have held a resident license in another state within the previous five years from the date of this application 

must attach a Clearance Letter from the Insurance Commission in the states in which the applicant was previously licensed. A NIPR 

Producer Database printout showing the termination of the license in the applicant’s previous resident states can take the place of a 

Clearance Letter. 

Applicants holding a current resident license in another state must attach an original Certificate of Good Standing from the 

Insurance Commission in the applicant’s state of residence. The Certificate of Good Standing must be dated within 90 days of receipt 

of the completed application. A NIPR Producer Database print out showing that a current license is held in the applicant’s resident 

state with the same license type that you are applying for can take the place of a Letter of Certification. 

13. This application is for a license I previously held that is expired for more than 90 days but less than one year. I

will attach the required $75 license fee. (TIC §4003.007)

   No    Yes Previous License Number 

14. Do you qualify as any of the following? (attach proof of military identification to this application)

a. “Military service member” – means a person who is currently serving in the armed forces of the United States, or in a

reserve component of the armed forces including the National Guard, or in a state military service of any state.

   No    Yes 

b. “Military spouse” – means a person who is married to a military service member who is currently on active duty.

   No    Yes 

c. “Military veteran” – means a person who has served in the Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, or Coast Guard of

the United States, or in an auxiliary service of one of those branches of the armed forces.

   No    Yes 

d. Are you requesting a non-resident military fee waiver?

   No    Yes 

If you answer “Yes” to a, b, or c in question 14, please mark the top of Page 1 of this application with a highlighted “M”. 

15. Do you have a child support obligation in arrearage?

   No    Yes 

If you answered “Yes”, you must answer a, b, and c of question 15: 

a. How many months are you in arrearage? ____________

b. Are you currently subject to and in compliance with any repayment agreement?

   No    Yes 

c. Are you the subject of a child support related subpoena or warrant?

   No    Yes 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/
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Part II–Adjusters and Adjuster Trainees (Public Insurance Adjusters use Part III) 

(All Lines Adjusters, Property & Casualty Adjusters, and Workers’ Compensation Adjusters Only) 

1. Adjuster Applicants – Must be completed with the name of the firm or insurer with whom they will be employed or; if

self-employed, with the applicant’s name.

____________________________________________________________________________________ 
NAME OF FIRM OR INSURER (OR APPLICANT NAME, IF SELF-EMPLOYED) 

2. I have qualified for the adjuster license selected on Page 1 and have:

(Applies to military adjuster applicants only)

  attached a course Certificate of Completion certifying that within the past 12 months I completed a Texas adjuster 

pre-licensing education program and passed its examination, or 

  a current similar resident adjuster license or qualified with a current similar license as designated home state 

in good standing in the state of ________________________ as reflected in the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioner’s Producer Database or by the attached Letter of Certification from the licensing state, or 

 attached my CPCU designation or Associate in Claims (AIC) certification. 

3. Nonresident Adjuster Designated Home State Texas Applicants Only – I am a resident of another state that does

not license adjusters for the line of authority sought. I reside in a state that permits residents of Texas to act as an

adjuster in that state, and I request that Texas be the designated home state of the adjuster license for which I am applying

(TIC §4101). I have qualified for the Texas adjuster designated home state Texas license selected on Page 1 and have:

  attached a course Certificate of Completion certifying that within the past 12 months, I  have  completed a 

Texas certified adjuster pre-licensing education program and passed an examination, or 

  attached my CPCU designation or Associate in Claims (AIC) certification. 

I understand that by designating Texas as the home state, I am subject to a Texas license qualifying examination and 

compliance with Texas’ adjuster continuing education and fingerprinting requirements (TIC §4101.054, §4101.059, 

§4001.103 and 28 TAC §§19.1001-19.1020).    No     Yes 

4. Adjuster Trainee Registration: An Adjuster Trainee is required to undergo education and training as an adjuster under

the direction and supervision of a licensed sponsoring adjuster. Authorization to act as an Adjuster Trainee may not

exceed 12 months. The Adjuster Trainee registration may not be renewed. An Adjuster Trainee must be sponsored by a

licensed adjuster.

The sponsoring licensed adjuster must complete the following certification:

This is to certify that the applicant will undergo education and training as an adjuster under my direction and 

supervision as required in TIC §4101.003. 

_______________________________________________________ ____________________________________ 

SIGNATURE OF SPONSORING LICENSED ADJUSTER DATE SIGNED (MM /DD/YY) 

_______________________________________________________________ ________________________________________________ 

PRINT LEGAL NAME OF SPONSORING LICENSED ADJUSTER TDI LICENSE NUMBER OF SPONSORING ADJUSTER 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/
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Part III–Public Insurance Adjusters (Public Insurance Adjusters Only) 
Public Insurance Adjuster (PIA) license applicants must complete this part of this application. 

1. Licensed Sponsor or Applicant - Provide the name of the currently licensed firm or person for whom you will be

performing services as a PIA, or if self-employed, enter your name.

_______________________________________________________________________  __________________________________ 

NAME OF FIRM PERFORMING SERVICES FOR (OR APPLICANT NAME, IF SELF-EMPLOYED) TEXAS PIA LICENSE NUMBER 

2. Financial Responsibility – Each P I A  license applicant must demonstrate proof of financial responsibility with a surety

bond executed with the applicant as sole principal in the amount of not less than $10,000 payable to the Texas

Department of Insurance on a F IN50 9  bond form available at www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form11apps.html. See TIC

§4102.105 and 28 TAC §§19.705–19.707. The original bond must be attached to this application.

I have attached my original PIA Bond.    No    Yes 

3. Fingerprints – All resident and nonresident PIA insurance adjuster license applicants must file with this application an

I d e n t o G O  b y  M o r p h o T r u s t  U S A  fingerprint receipt. If fingerprints were previously submitted to TDI for another

application and the applicant continues to hold an active license, then a fingerprint receipt is not required. For complete

information regarding fingerprinting, see Fingerprint Requirements and Instructions.

Fingerprint receipt from I d e n t o G O  b y  MorphoTrust USA is attached (see Fingerprint Requirements and 

Instructions for complete fingerprinting instructions), or 

I hold active TDI license number ________________________, and previously submitted fingerprints to TDI. 

Fingerprints provided for this application will be used to check criminal history records of the Texas 

Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation in accordance with applicable statutes. 

4. PIA Contract Requirements – Effective January 1, 2014, contract requirements under amended TAC §19.701, §19.708

and §19.713 apply to all applicants for a PIA license. The contract you propose to use must be submitted with the original

PIA license application. Please review your contract to ensure compliance with all contract requirements as outlined in

the TAC. TDI has developed the Public Insurance Adjuster Contract (TDI Form FIN535) that  contains the required

standard contract language. This form may be viewed at www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form11apps.html

The failure by a PIA to use a properly authorized and approved contract may result in suspension, nonrenewal, 

revocation of the PIA’s license, or other administrative penalty (TAC §19.708(f)). 

a. I have reviewed the Public Insurance Adjuster Contract (TDI Form FIN535), and I will be using that contract

form with my clients once licensed.

 No If no, answer 5b below  Yes 

b. I have developed my own contract form that meets all requirements as outlined in TAC §19.701 and §19.708. I

have attached a copy of my proposed contract form for TDI’s review and approval.

   No       Yes 

Note: Your application for a PIA license cannot be approved until you have registered an approved contract with TDI. 

5. Agent for Service of Process – All nonresident applicants for a PIA license must provide the name and address of their

agent for service of process in the state of Texas as required in TIC §4102.107.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

NAME OF TEXAS AGENT FOR SERVICE OF PROCESS

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

TEXAS ADDRESS OF AGENT FOR SERVICE OF PROCESS

__________________________________  ________________________ ___________________

CITY         STATE           ZIP CODE

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form11apps.html
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/agent/documents/fpinstructions.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/agent/documents/fpinstructions.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/agent/documents/fpinstructions.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/finagentlicense/FIN535.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form11apps.html
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/finagentlicense/FIN535.pdf


Texas Department of Insurance | www.tdi.texas.gov 6 of 10 

FIN602 | 0520 

Part IV–Background Information and Fingerprints 

(PIA license applicants must complete Part III and skip this part.) 

This part must be completed by all applicants except Public Insurance Adjuster. 

1. I am a resident of Texas and:

a.  I have attached a copy of my fingerprint receipt from IdentoGo by MorphoTrust USA evidencing that my fingerprints 

have been submitted to the Texas Department of Public Safety (see Fingerprint Requirements and Instructions for 

complete fingerprinting instructions) or, 

b.  I have an active TDI agent/adjuster license and I have already submitted fingerprints to TDI or, 

c.  I have an active TDI license or registration, other than an agent/adjuster license, and I have already submitted my 

fingerprints to TDI with a: 

_______________________________________________________, on ____________________________________ 
TYPE OF APPLICATION OR FILING  DATE FINGERPRINTS SUBMITTED TO TDI 

  (MM/DD/YY) 

Resident applicants must include a copy of their fingerprint receipt unless the applicant (1) has an active TDI license or 

registration and (2) submitted fingerprints to TDI with another license application or TDI filing. Fingerprints will be used to 

check criminal history records of the Texas Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation 

in accordance with applicable statutes. 

2. I am a nonresident of Texas, and I meet the background information requirement as follows:

(Adjuster Designated Home State applicants skip to #3.)

a.  I hold an active license in good standing in my resident state as reflected on the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioner’s Producer Database or, 

b.  I am not a PIA applicant and have attached my criminal history records that I have acquired from my resident state’s 

law enforcement agency or, 

c.  I have attached a current Certificate of Good Standing from my resident state or, 

d.  I have attached a copy of my fingerprint receipt from IdentoGo by MorphoTrust USA evidencing that my fingerprints 

have been submitted to the Texas Department of Public Safety. 

e.  I hold a designated home state license in good standing in the following state:  ___________________________. 

All nonresident license applicants, except PIAs, who do not hold a current insurance license in good standing in the 

applicant’s state of residence shall, through the law enforcement agency of the state of residence, submit a copy of 

the applicant’s criminal history records. If the resident state will not provide a criminal history record for licensing 

purposes, the applicant must provide a fingerprint receipt from IdentoGo by MorphoTrust USA evidencing that fingerprints 

have been submitted to the Texas Department of Public Safety (see Fingerprint Requirements and Instructions for 

complete fingerprinting instructions). 

3. I am a nonresident of Texas applying for a Designated Home State Adjuster License, and I am a resident of another

state that does not license adjusters for the line of authority sought on Page 1. I meet the Texas fingerprint requirement by

either a, or b, or c, as I have indicated below.

a.  I have attached a copy of my fingerprint receipt from IdentoGo by MorphoTrust USA evidencing that my fingerprints

have been submitted to the Texas Department of Public Safety (see Fingerprint Requirements and Instructions for

complete fingerprinting instructions) or,

b.  I have an active TDI agent/adjuster license and I have already submitted fingerprints to TDI or, 

c.  I have an active TDI license or registration, other than an agent/adjuster license, and I have already submitted my 

fingerprints to TDI with a: 

__________________________________________________________, on ____________________________________. 
TYPE OF APPLICATION OR FILING DATE FINGERPRINTS SUBMITTED TO TDI 

 (MM/DD/YY) 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/agent/documents/fpinstructions.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/agent/documents/fpinstructions.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/agent/documents/fpinstructions.pdf
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Part V–Individual Applicant Signature Page (to be completed by all applicants) 

All Applicants must read, sign, and have this section notarized before submitting the license application. 

I hereby certify that I have personally answered each of the questions herein and that the answers are true and correct to the 

best of my knowledge and belief. I further certify that I am aware of the provisions of the Texas Insurance Code and the 

rules and regulations promulgated by the Texas Department of Insurance which relate to the issuance of the license for 

which I am applying and the grounds under which such license may be denied, suspended, revoked or non-renewed, and 

that I meet the requirements for the license type applied for herein. I further acknowledge that I am subject to both 

disciplinary action and criminal prosecution if my application contains a false, fictitious, or fraudulent statement or entry with 

regard to any material fact. 

I understand that fingerprints provided with this application shall be used to check criminal history records of the Texas 

Department of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investigation in accordance with applicable statutes. 

I acknowledge and understand that I have the duty to inform the commissioner of insurance of any disciplinary action 

taken against me in any other state in which I may be licensed within thirty (30) days of the happening of such disciplinary 

action. 

I further acknowledge that I have the duty to update the information contained on this application, including a change of 

my address, and that failure to do so may constitute grounds for revocation or suspension of my insurance licenses. 

I understand all applications are subject to further review. Any affirmative response to a screening question may extend 

processing times. Failure to disclose criminal history information may result in denial of license. 

SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 

(PRINT OR TYPE BELOW) 

FULL LEGAL NAME OF APPLICANT   LAST NAME FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME SUFFIX 

The State of, County of , 

Before me,  , on this day personally appeared 

(PRINTED NAME OF NOTARY PUBLIC) 

, known to me or proved to me 

(PRINTED FULL LEGAL NAME OF APPLICANT) 

on the oath of or through 

(PRINTED NAME OF WITNESS KNOWN TO NOTARY PUBLIC)   (DESCRIPTION OF IDENTITY CARD OR OTHER DOCUMENT) 

to be the person whose name is subscribed to the foregoing instrument and acknowledged to me that he or she executed the same for 

the purposes and consideration therein expressed. 

Given under my hand and seal of office this  day of , A.D. 20 . 

(NOTARY SEAL) 

(NOTARY PUBLIC SIGNATURE) 

Notary Public, State of   ______________________ 

Send completed application and any other required documents with a check or money order made payable to the 

Texas Department of Insurance. 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/
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General Information Guide 

▪ Required parts

LICENSE TYPE Part I Part II Part III Part IV Part V 

Public Insurance Adjuster (chapter 4102) ▪ ▪ ▪

Adjuster – All Lines (Chapter4101) ▪ ▪ ▪ ▪

Adjuster – P&C (Chapter 4101) ▪ ▪ ▪ ▪

Adjuster – Workers’ Comp (Chapter 4101) ▪ ▪ ▪ ▪

Adjuster – Trainee (§§ 4101.003) ▪ ▪ ▪ ▪

Adjuster – All Lines Designated Home State (Chapter 4101) ▪ ▪ ▪ ▪

Adjuster – P&C Designated Home State Texas (Chapter 4101) ▪ ▪ ▪ ▪

Adjuster – Workers’ Comp Designated Home State (Chapter 4101) ▪ ▪ ▪ ▪

License type  information  and  descriptions,  including  examination  requirements  and  exemptions,  may  be  found  at 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/agent/index.html.  

This application with fee and required attachments must be mailed to: 

Texas Department of Insurance 

Agent and Adjuster Licensing, MC 107-1A 

P.O. Box 12069 

Austin, TX 78711-2069 

Obtaining a Printed License: A printed Texas Department of Insurance license may be obtained for free, within 30 days from 

when an application is approved and a license issued, if you applied through Compliance Express or if you have obtained a no 

cost ProducerEDGE account at: www.sircon.com/Texas.  After 30 days, a $5.00 fee will be required, unless you maintain a no 

cost ProducerEDGE account. You will need your license number to access a printable license; your license number may be 

obtained via a search at: https://txapps.texas.gov/NASApp/tdi/TdiARManager. 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/agent/index.html
http://www.sircon.com/Texas
https://txapps.texas.gov/NASApp/tdi/TdiARManager
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NOTICE ABOUT CERTAIN INFORMATION LAWS AND PRACTICES 
With few exceptions, you are entitled to be informed about the information that the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) collects about you. Under sections 

552.021 and 552.023 of the Texas Government Code, you have a right to review or receive copies of information about yourself, including private information. 

However, TDI may withhold information for reasons other than to protect your right to privacy. Under section 559.004 of the Texas Government Code, you are 

entitled to request that TDI correct information that TDI has about you that is incorrect. For more information about the procedure and costs for obtaining 

information from TDI or about the procedure for correcting information kept by TDI, please contact the Agency Counsel Section of TDI’s General Counsel 

Division at (512) 676-6551 or visit the Corrections Procedure section of TDI’s website at www.tdi.texas.gov. 

Fees: 28 TAC §§ 19.801–19.802:  All application fees are nonrefundable and nontransferable as authorized by the Texas 

Insurance Code. Make check or money order payable to the Texas Department of Insurance. 

Nonresident Military Applicants: A military service member, veteran, or spouse with a license in another state doesn’t have 

to pay an application fee for a similar Texas license. Candidates should include their military identification along with a request 

for a fee waiver when they apply. This waiver only applies to new applications, not license renewals. See Part 1, question #14. 

Applicants with Expired Licenses: If a person’s license has been expired for more than 90 days but less than one year, the 

person may not renew the license, but is entitled to a new license without taking the applicable examination if the person 

submits to TDI a new application, the license fee, and an additional fee equal to one-half of the license fee. If a person’s 

license has been expired for one year or more, the person may obtain a new license by submitting to reexamination, if 

examination is required for original issuance of the license, and b y  complying with the requirements and procedures for 

obtaining an original license. 

Nonresident Adjuster Designating Texas as Resident State: Some states do not license adjusters. A resident of one of 

those states may obtain a Texas adjuster license by meeting all Texas resident license requirements and then designating Texas 

as the home state for the adjuster license only. Nonresident Adjuster Designating Texas as Resident State must comply 

with the continuing education requirements as outlined in TIC §4101 and 28 TAC §§19.1001- 19.1020. 

Additional Qualifications for Adjusters: Adjusters may add additional qualifications without completing a new application by 

submitting to TDI a copy of the existing adjuster license along with a copy of the approved course certificate, or by passing 

the Texas examination provided by Pearson VUE. The Certificate of Completion must show that within the past 12 months 

the adjuster has completed a certified adjuster pre-licensing education program and passed an examination. 

Names: Applicants must provide their full legal name, and not a nickname. For instance, a “Christopher” may not apply as 

“Chris”. 

Addresses: The Mailing Address provided in Part I, number 4 must be your permanent mailing address and is the address of 

record to which official correspondence, forms, notices and other information will be sent. The applicant's current Mailing 

Address is presumed to be the address on the most recent license renewal for an existing license or on this license application 

form, whichever is latest. This address will be considered the applicant's or  agent ’ s  last known address for the purposes 

of notice to the applicant or agent by TDI. The Legal Resident Address is the address where you currently live. The Legal 

Resident Address is used to determine the state of residence for licensing purposes.  

Address Changes: Address changes must be reported to TDI within 30 days as required in the TIC §4001.252 and 

§4003.009.  Individual licensees who wish to submit an address change within the same state should submit the request

online through NIPR Contact Change Request  or Producer Edge Account. All other change requests should be

submitted on the Licensee Name/Address Change Request (TDI Form FIN533) to TDI. There is no fee for this change

request. Please review the instructions on the form carefully to ensure all necessary information is included, and that any

delivery or mailing instructions are followed.

Texas Licensed Nonresident Individuals Changing Residency to Texas: 

Processing a change from a nonresident licensee status to a resident licensee status requires a completed 

Application for Residency Change to Texas (TDI Form FIN594). 

All address change request forms MUST be dated and signed by the license holder; and MUST include any of the 

required items listed in the appropriate form. 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/
http://www.nipr.com/
https://www.sircon.com/produceredge/texas/
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/finagentlicense/fin533.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/finagentlicense/fin594.pdf
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Public Insurance Adjuster Contracts: Effective January 1, 2014, contract requirements under amended TAC §19.701, 

§19.708 and §19.713 apply to licensure of PIAs. PIA contracts must be submitted to TDI’s Agent and Adjuster Licensing 
office for approval with an original application for license or application for renewal of PIA license. Also, contracts with any 
modifications or amendment of terms or conditions must be submitted to TDI between license renewals. A PIA license may 
not be issued or renewed until the applicant confirms that either a form FIN535, Public Insurance Adjuster Contract, or another 
approved contract form will be used once licensed. The contract you propose to use, once licensed, must be submitted with 
the original PIA license application.

The failure by a Public Insurance Adjuster to use a properly authorized and approved contract may result in suspension, nonrenewal, revocation 
of the Public Insurance Adjuster’s license, or other administrative penalty (ref. TAC§19.708(f)).

Fingerprint Requirements and Instructions: 

Fingerprinting: The fingerprint requirement is authorized in TIC §801.056, §4001.103, and by 28 TAC §1.501 and §§1.503 – 

1.509. 

Applicants claiming exemption from the fingerprint requirement based on 28 TAC §1.504(b) must provide information on 

the type of license application or TDI filing with which the fingerprints were submitted and the date the fingerprints were 

submitted to TDI. 

The department strongly encourages applicants to utilize electronic fingerprinting through approved vendors, as 

authorized under the rule. Electronic fingerprinting is fast and accurate, and in most cases will avoid potential delays in the 

processing of your submission. 

Fingerprint cards are no longer accepted by TDI. 

For detailed information about fee requirements and about Fingerprint Requirements and Instructions, please click on the 

link here or visit: www.tdi.texas.gov/agent/documents/fpinstructions.pdf 

TDI cannot complete processing an application until it receives a criminal history report from the DPS and the FBI for 

applicants required to provide a fingerprint receipt. 

References: You may view the Texas Insurance Code at https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/?link=INand the Texas 

Administrative Code at http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.viewtac. 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/agent/documents/fpinstructions.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/agent/documents/fpinstructions.pdf
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/?link=IN
http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac%24ext.viewtac
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