Official Order of the Texas Commissioner of Insurance

Date: <u>07/21/2020</u>

Subject Considered:

Mile High Adjusters, LLC Denver, CO 80212-7421

Consent Order
TDI Enforcement File No. 23368

General remarks and official action taken:

This is a consent order with Mile High Adjusters, LLC (Mile High Adjusters). The department alleges that Mile High Adjusters provided an adjuster pre-licensing course after the course certification had expired. Mile High Adjusters has agreed to pay a \$6,300 administrative penalty for these violations.

Waiver

Mile High Adjusters acknowledges that the Texas Insurance Code and other applicable law provide certain rights. Mile High Adjusters waives all of these rights, and any other applicable procedural rights, in consideration of the entry of this consent order.

Findings of Fact

Registered Continuing Education Course Provider

1. Mile High Adjusters is registered as a continuing education and pre-licensing education provider by the department under provider ID number is 43757.

2020-6398

Commissioner's Order Mile High Adjusters, LLC Page 2 of 4

Administration of Expired Adjuster Pre-Licensing Course

- 2. Pursuant to 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 19.1007(d), course certifications are valid for two years. The course certification then expires and the provider must resubmit the course for certification.
- 3. On January 22, 2015, adjuster pre-licensing course ID 90515 expired and Mile High Adjusters failed to take note of the expiration.
- 4. Course ID 90515 is an adjuster pre-licensing course that attendees complete as an alternative to the state licensing exam.
- 5. After Mile High Adjusters became aware of course ID 90515 expiration, Mile High Adjusters offered the course four times, to a total of 70 attendees.
- 6. TDI is honoring course ID 90515 when an application is submitted and therefore the attendees will have an acceptable exemption from the state licensing exam.
- 7. Mile High is no longer offering course ID 90515 and has cooperated with TDI in this matter.

Conclusions of Law

- 1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to Tex. Ins. Code §§ 82.051 82.055, 84.021 84.044, and 4004.101 4004.105; 28 Tex. ADMIN. Code §§ 19.1007, 19.1015, and 19.1016; and Tex. Gov't Code §§ 2001.051-2001.178.
- 2. The commissioner has the authority to informally dispose of this matter as set forth in Tex. Gov't Code § 2001.056; Tex. Ins. Code §§ 36.104 and 82.055; and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 1.47.
- 3. Mile High Adjusters has knowingly and voluntarily waived all procedural rights to which it may have been entitled regarding the entry of this order, including, but not limited to, issuance and service of notice of intention to institute disciplinary action, notice of hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision, rehearing by the commissioner, and judicial review.

2020-6398Commissioner's Order Mile High Adjusters, LLC Page 3 of 4

4. Mile High Adjusters violated 28 Tex. ADMIN. CODE § 19.1007(d) by failing to renew its course certification after the two-year expiration.

Order

It is ordered that Mile High Adjusters, LLC pay an administrative penalty of \$6,300 within 90 days from the date of this order. The administrative penalty must be paid by cashier's check or money order made payable to the "State of Texas" and transmitted to the Texas Department of Insurance, Attn: Enforcement, Division 60851, MC 9999, P.O. Box 149104, Austin, Texas 78714-9104.

Kent C. Sullivan
Commissioner of Insurance

By: Down Slape

C77A87C8C21B43

Doug Slape Chief Deputy Commissioner Commissioner's Order No. 2018-5528

Recommended and reviewed by:

Leah Gillum, Deputy Commissioner

Enforcement Division

Sarah White, Staff Attorney Enforcement Division

2020-6398 Commissioner's Order Mile High Adjusters, LLC Page 4 of 4

Affidavit

STATE OF Colorado &
COUNTY OF SEFFERSON S
Before me, the undersigned authority, personally appeared Michael Populary School who being by me duly sworn, deposed as follows:
"My name is Michael Poperoy SR. I am of sound mind, capable of making this statement, and have personal knowledge of these facts which are true and correct.
I hold the office of <u>President</u> , and am the authorized representative of Mile High Adjusters, LLC. I am duly authorized by said organization to execute this statement.
Mile High Adjusters, LLC has knowingly and voluntarily entered into the foregoing consent order and agrees with and consents to the issuance and service of the same by the commissioner of insurance of the state of Texas."
Affiant
SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me on June 22, 2020.
(NOTARY SEAL)
NOTARY PUBLIC - STATE OF COLORADO
Notary ID #20184005388 Signature of Notary Public My Commission Expires 2/1/2022

Printed Name of Notary Public