Skip to Top Main Navigation Skip to Content Area Skip to Footer
Texas Department of Insurance
Topics:   A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z All

May 18, 2022

Federal loans available to Texas homeowners, businesses, renters hit by March storms, tornadoes

Map of Texas with disaster counties highlighted

Click on image to enlarge

Residents and businesses in more than 40 Texas counties hit hard by storms and tornadoes on March 21 can now apply for low-interest disaster loans.

Assistance through the Small Business Administration (SBA) is available in these counties: Anderson, Angelina, Archer, Bastrop, Bell, Burnet, Caldwell, Camp, Cherokee, Clay, Collin, Cooke, Denton, Fannin, Fayette, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Houston, Jack, Lee, Leon, Madison, Marion, Milam, Montague, Morris, Nacogdoches, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rusk, San Augustine, Shelby, Smith, Travis, Trinity, Upshur, Walker, Williamson, Wise, Wood, and Young.

Loans are available to homeowners, businesses of all sizes, most private nonprofit organizations, and renters whose property was damaged or destroyed by the storms or tornadoes.

Five Disaster Loan Outreach Centers are open with SBA customer service representative to help answer questions. No appointment is necessary.

Bastrop County
Disaster Loan Outreach Center
Bastrop County Tax Annex
1125 Dildy Drive
Elgin, TX  78621
Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Closes at 4:30 p.m. Thursday, May 26

Houston County
Disaster Loan Outreach Center
Crockett Civic Center
Crockett Economic & Industrial Development Board Room
1100 Edmiston Drive
Crockett, TX  75835
Monday - Friday, 9 a.m. – 6 p.m.
Closes at 6 p.m. Thursday, May 26

Montague County
Disaster Loan Outreach Center
Montague County Courthouse
Old County Courthouse – Third Floor
11339 State Highway 59 N
Montague, TX  76251
Monday – Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Closes at 5 p.m. Thursday, May 26

Nacogdoches County
Disaster Loan Outreach Center
Cushing Volunteer Fire Department
783 Walnut Ave.
Cushing, TX  75760
Monday – Friday, 9 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.
Closes at 5:30 p.m. Thursday, May 26

Upshur County
Disaster Loan Outreach Center
Upshur County Courthouse
100 West Tyler St.
Old Commissioners Meeting Room – Third Floor
Gilmer, TX  75644
Monday – Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Closes at 5 p.m. Thursday, May 26

SBA representatives are also available to meet with residents in Jacksboro (Jack County) and Jarrell (Williamson County).

Jack County
Disaster Loan Outreach Center
Jack County Courthouse
100 North Main St.
Jacksboro, TX  76458
Monday - Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Close date to be determined. 

Williamson County
Disaster Loan Outreach Center
Wayfinders Church
508 North Fifth St.
Jarrell, TX  76537
Monday - Friday, 9:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Close date to be determined.

Loan applicants can apply online, get more disaster assistance information, and download applications on the U.S. Small Business Administration’s website. Applicants can also contact SBA’s Customer Service Center for more information at 800-659-2955 or

People who are deaf, hard of hearing, or have a speech disability should dial 7-1-1 to access relay services.

For more detail, including possible loan amounts, read the SBA’s press release.