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TITLE 28.  INSURANCE 
 

PART 2.  TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE, 
DIVISION OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION 

 
CHAPTER 129:  INCOME BENEFITS--TEMPORARY INCOME BENEFITS 

AMEND:  §§129.3 and 129.11 
 
 

1.  INTRODUCTION.  The Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation 

(division) adopts amendments to 28 TAC §129.3 and §129.11, concerning temporary income 

benefits (TIBs). The amended sections are adopted without changes to the proposed text as 

published in the October 9, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 7043). No request for a 

public hearing was submitted to the division. An informal working draft of amended 28 TAC §129.3 

and §129.11 was posted on the division’s website on June 8, 2015.  

The public comment period closed on November 9, 2015. The division made no changes in 

response to public comments.  

The division adopts non-substantive amendments throughout the rule text to conform to 

agency style. The division deleted the word “Commission”, added the word “division” and added 

the word “insurance” before the word “carrier(s).” The division also relettered and renumbered rule 

text.   

In accordance with Government Code §2001.033, the division’s reasoned justification for 

these rules is set out in this order, which includes the preamble. The following paragraphs include 

a detailed section-by-section description and reasoned justification of all amendments to 28 TAC 

§129.3 and §129.11. 
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2.  REASONED JUSTIFICATION.  Amendments to §129.3 and §129.11 are necessary to 

implement Senate Bill (SB) 901, 84th Legislature, Regular Session (2015), which amends Labor 

Code §408.103. Labor Code §408.103 provides the method for calculating the amount of TIBs an 

injured employee is entitled to receive. SB 901 increased the hourly wage that qualifies an injured 

employee to be paid TIBs at 75% of the employee’s pre-injury average weekly wage for the first 

26 weeks of the injured employee’s disability. SB 901 increased the qualifying wage from less 

than $8.50 an hour to less than $10 an hour for workers' compensation claims with a date of injury 

on or after September 1, 2015 under Labor Code §408.103(a)(2). Before SB 901, in order to be 

eligible for the higher TIBs rate of 75% of the pre-injury average weekly wage for the first 26 

weeks of disability, an injured employee had to earn less than $8.50 an hour.  Under SB 901, an 

injured employee has to earn less than $10.00 an hour in order to qualify for the higher TIBs rate 

of 75% of the pre-injury average weekly wage for the first 26 weeks of the injured employee’s 

disability. Amended §129.3 and §129.11 only reflect the amount of statutory TIBs provided by the 

SB 901 amendments to Labor Code §408.103(a) and do not add any new requirements.   

 The division also deleted §129.11(f) because the “January 1, 2000” applicability date is no 

longer relevant.  At this point in time all agreements made under §129.11 for monthly payment of 

TIBs under the provisions of the Act would automatically be entered into after January 1, 2000.  

Further, any injured employees whose benefits began to accrue prior to January 1, 2000 would no 

longer be eligible for TIBs under Labor Code §408.083. 

Amended §129.3. 

Amended §129.3(b) and §129.3(f)(2) increase the hourly wage that qualifies an injured 

employee to be paid the higher TIBs rate of 75% of the employee’s pre-injury average weekly 
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wage for the first 26 weeks of disability. The qualifying wage increased from less than $8.50 an 

hour to less than $10 an hour for workers' compensation claims with a date of injury on or after 

September 1, 2015. The amendments align the division’s rules regarding the calculation and 

payment of TIBs with statutory changes provided in Labor Code §408.103(a). 

 Amended §129.3(b) and §129.3(f)(1) clarify that the $8.50 an hour wage rate still applies to 

workers' compensation claims with a date of injury before September 1, 2015. The amendments 

reflect the effective date of Labor Code §408.103(a) as amended by SB 901 and are necessary 

for ease of stakeholder compliance. Claims that have not yet been brought with dates of injury 

before September 1, 2015, and claims that were already receiving TIBs before September 1, 

2015, will continue to use the $8.50 an hour wage rate to calculate TIBs. 

Amended §129.11. 

Amended §129.11(b)(2) increases the hourly wage that qualifies an injured employee to be 

paid at the higher TIBs rate of 75% of the employee’s pre-injury average weekly wage for the first 

26 weeks of disability. The qualifying wage increased from less than $8.50 an hour to less than 

$10 an hour for workers' compensation claims with a date of injury on or after September 1, 2015. 

The amendment aligns the division’s rules regarding the calculation and payment of TIBs with 

statutory changes provided by Labor Code §408.103(a). 

 Amended §129.11(b)(1) clarifies that the $8.50 an hour wage rate still applies to workers' 

compensation claims with a date of injury before September 1, 2015. The amendments reflect the 

effective date of Labor Code §408.103(a) as amended by SB 901 and are necessary for ease of 

stakeholder compliance. Claims that have not yet been brought with dates of injury before 
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September 1, 2015, and claims that were already receiving TIBs before September 1, 2015, will 

continue to use the $8.50 an hour wage rate to calculate TIBs. 

 The division deleted §129.11(f), which stated that §129.11 only applied to agreements 

entered into on or after January 1, 2000, for payment of TIBs under the provisions of the Act. 

Section 129.11(f) implemented House Bill 2510, 76th Legislature, Regular Session (1999), which 

amended Section Labor Code 408.081 to allow monthly payments of income benefits by 

agreement.  The “January 1, 2000” date was relevant when §129.11 was adopted because 

§129.11 became effective December 26, 1999.  However, at this point in time, all agreements 

made under §129.11 for monthly payment of TIBs under the provisions of the Act would 

automatically be entered into after January 1, 2000.  Further, any injured employees whose 

benefits began to accrue prior to January 1, 2000 would no longer be eligible for TIBs under Labor 

Code §408.083. 

 
3.  SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND AGENCY RESPONSE. 
 
Comment:  Commenter expresses its support for the proposed amendments. 
 
Division Response:  The division appreciates the supportive comment. 

 

4.  NAMES OF THOSE COMMENTING FOR AND AGAINST THE PROPOSAL. 

 For: The Office of Injured Employee Counsel 

 For with changes:  None 

 Against:  None 
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5.  STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendments are adopted under Labor Code §§402.00128, 

402.021, 402.061, and 408.103. Section 402.00128 lists the general powers of the commissioner, 

including the power to hold hearings. Section 402.021 establishes the basic goals and legislative 

intent of the workers’ compensation system, including the goal that the system must provide 

appropriate income benefits and medical benefits in a manner that is timely and cost-effective. 

Section 402.061 requires the division to adopt rules necessary for the implementation and 

enforcement of the Texas Workers' Compensation Act. Section 408.103 provides that the amount 

of TIBs is equal to: (1) 70% of the amount computed by subtracting the employee's weekly 

earnings after the injury from the employee's average weekly wage; or (2) for the first 26 weeks, 

75% of the amount computed by subtracting the employee's weekly earnings after the injury from 

the employee's average weekly wage if the employee earns less than $10 an hour. 

 

6.  TEXT. 

§129.3.  Amount of Temporary Income Benefits 

(a) The insurance carrier (carrier) shall pay an injured employee (employee) the 

temporary income benefits (TIBs) the employee is entitled to in accordance with this chapter. 

(b) The carrier shall determine whether the employee earns less than $8.50 per hour 

for a workers' compensation claim with a date of injury before September 1, 2015, or less 

than $10 per hour for a workers' compensation claim with a date of injury on or after 

September 1, 2015, as follows: 

(1) Once the carrier has received the Wage Statement required by this title, the 

carrier shall divide the average weekly wage (AWW) calculated from the Wage Statement by 

 
 
 

 



 
TITLE 28.  INSURANCE Adopted Sections 
Part I.  Texas Department of Insurance, Page 6 of 11 
Division of Workers’ Compensation 
Chapter 129 - Income Benefits--Temporary Income Benefits 

 
 

the average number of hours worked.  The average hours worked is the total gross hours 

reported worked on the Wage Statement divided by the period in which the hours were 

worked; 

(2) If the carrier has not received the Wage Statement, but has received the 

Employer's First Report of Injury, the carrier shall use the wage information provided by the 

employer through the first report; or 

(3) If the carrier has not received the information necessary to perform the 

calculations required by subsection (b)(1) or (2) of this section, the carrier shall use wage 

information provided by the employee until the necessary information is obtained from the 

employer. 

(c) The carrier shall calculate the AWW in accordance with Chapter 128 of this title 

(relating to Calculation of Average Weekly Wage) and shall calculate the Post-Injury Earnings 

(PIE) in accordance with §129.2 of this title (relating to Entitlement to Temporary Income 

Benefits). In determining the PIE, the carrier shall base its calculations on specific wage 

information reported by the employer and/or the employee. A generic statement by the 

employer indicating the employer is "continuing full salary" or "the employee is earning full 

salary" is not adequate documentation to be considered PIE. 

(d) The carrier shall calculate the employee's lost wages by subtracting the PIE from 

the AWW (or AWW - PIE). 

(e) The amount of TIBs an employee is entitled to is based on the lost wages. If the 

employee's PIE equals or exceeds the employee's AWW, the employee has no lost wages 

and the carrier shall not pay TIBs. 
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(f) Subject to the minimum and maximum TIBs rates as provided in subsection (g) of 

this section, an employee is entitled to TIBs as follows: 

(1) for a workers' compensation claim with a date of injury before September 1, 

2015, 

(A) an employee who earns $8.50 or more per hour is entitled to TIBs in 

the amount of 70% of the lost wages; or 

(B) an employee who earns less than $8.50 per hour is entitled to TIBs as 

follows: 

(i) 75% of the lost wages for the first 26 weeks of TIBs due; and 

(ii) 70% of the lost wages for all TIBs payments thereafter; and 

(2) for a workers' compensation claim with a date of injury on or after September 

1, 2015, 

(A) an employee who earns $10 or more per hour is entitled to TIBs in the 

amount of 70% of the lost wages; or 

(B) an employee who earns less than $10 per hour is entitled to TIBs as 

follows: 

(i) 75% of the lost wages for the first 26 weeks of TIBs due; and 

(ii) 70% of the lost wages for all TIBs payments thereafter. 

(g) The carrier shall pay the TIBs in the amount calculated in subsection (f) of this 

section, unless: 
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(1) this amount is greater than the maximum weekly TIBs rate computed in 

accordance with Texas Labor Code, §408.061, in which case the carrier shall pay the 

maximum weekly TIBs rate; or 

(2) this amount, when added to the employee's PIE, is less than the minimum 

weekly TIBs rate computed in accordance with Texas Labor Code, §408.062, in which case 

the carrier shall pay the minimum weekly TIBs rate. 

§129.11.  Agreement for Monthly Payment of Temporary Income Benefits 

(a) Upon the request of an injured employee, the insurance carrier and an injured 

employee entitled to temporary income benefits (TIBs) may agree to change the frequency of 

TIBs payments from the standard weekly period to a monthly period.  The agreement to 

change the payment frequency must be in writing and is only required to be filed with the 

division if the division requests a copy. To relieve the insurance carrier of the responsibility to 

pay TIBs weekly, a valid written agreement must include the following terms and conditions: 

(1) the agreement for the monthly payment of TIBs shall be effective the first 

calendar day of the month following the month in which the written agreement was entered 

into by the insurance carrier and the injured employee;  

 (2) monthly TIBs payment shall be issued on or before the seventh day of the 

month following the month for which benefits are due; 

 (3) weekly TIBs payments shall continue through the end of the month in 

which the agreement was signed; 
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 (4) payment of the last week of TIBs to transition from weekly payment of TIBs to 

monthly payments shall be prorated to the end of the month to ensure the injured employee 

receives TIBs through the last day of the month; and 

(5) if less than the maximum weekly compensation rate in effect on the date of 

the compensable injury is being paid, a completed Employer's Wage Statement must be 

included with the injured employee's copy of the written agreement. 

(b) To calculate the amount of monthly TIBs to pay, the carrier shall determine the 

average monthly wage by multiplying the average weekly wage by 4.34821 and subtracting 

any Post-Injury Earnings the employee earned during the month for which the employee was 

entitled to TIBs to determine the lost wages. The carrier shall then pay the employee in 

monthly TIBs as follows: 

(1) for a workers' compensation claim with a date of injury before September 1, 

2015, 

(A) if the employee earns $8.50 per hour or more, the carrier shall pay 

70% of the lost wages; or 

(B) if the employee earns less than $8.50 per hour, the carrier shall pay: 

(i) 75% of the lost wages for the first 26 weeks of TIBs due; and  

(ii) 70% of the lost wages for all TIBs payments thereafter; and 

 (2) for a workers' compensation claim with a date of injury on or after September 

1, 2015, 

  (A) if the employee earns $10 per hour or more, the carrier shall pay 70% 

of the lost wages; or  
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  (B) if the employee earns less than $10 per hour, the carrier shall pay: 

   (i) 75% of the lost wages for the first 26 weeks of TIBs due; and  

   (ii) 70% of the lost wages for all TIBs payments thereafter.  

(c) Entering into an agreement under this section does not prohibit any party to the 

claim from raising disputes over periods, amounts of, or entitlement to TIBs.  Disputes must 

be raised as and when they arise. 

(d) The agreement for the monthly payment of TIBs shall expire upon the suspension 

or termination of TIBs in accordance with the Act and division rules. The last monthly payment 

shall be prorated to ensure the insurance carrier pays the appropriate amount of TIBs. 

(e) At any time after signing the agreement for the monthly payment of TIBs, the injured 

employee or the insurance carrier may notify the other party in writing that it no longer agrees 

to the monthly payment of TIBs. In this case, the insurance carrier shall pay all accrued but 

unpaid TIBs at the end of the current monthly cycle and shall continue to pay TIBs weekly as 

and when they accrue and are due. 

 

CERTIFICATION.  This agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adoption and found it 

to be a valid exercise of the agency’s legal authority.  

Issued at Austin, Texas, on _________________, 2016. 

 

 

      ____________________________ 
      Marisa Lopez Wagley 
      Acting General Counsel 
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      Texas Department of Insurance, Division of  
Workers' Compensation 

 

The commissioner adopts amendments to 28 TAC §129.3 and §129.11. 

 

 

      ____________________________ 
      W. Ryan Brannan 
      Commissioner of Workers' Compensation 
 

 

COMMISSIONER’S ORDER NO.__________  

 
 

ATTEST: 
 

 

 

 

 

   

   

Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation 
 

 

 

COMMISSIONER’S ORDER NO.__________ 
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	Issued at Austin, Texas, on _________________, 2016.
	Marisa Lopez Wagley
	W. Ryan Brannan
	Commissioner of Workers' Compensation
	COMMISSIONER’S ORDER NO.__________

