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The end of summer signals a change of 
season and the start of a new school year. 
It also brings more students and school 

buses to area roads, and the need for drivers 
to use extra caution in school zones. 

More than a million Texas children and teens 
depend on school buses to get to and from 
school each day.1 In 2017, 811 vehicle crashes 
occurred in school zones statewide, resulting in 
two deaths and 30 serious injuries.2 Accidents 
like these can be prevented when motorists 
drive safely and follow Texas school bus and 
school zone laws. 

Texas School 
Bus Laws 

In Texas, drivers must stop for flashing red lights on a school 
bus, regardless of which direction the vehicle is traveling, 
unless a physical barrier divides the road lanes. Violators can 
receive up to a $1,000 fine, driver’s license suspension, and 
even jail time, depending on the number of convictions and 
the seriousness of the incident. Knowing the flashing-light 
system that school bus drivers use to signal their intentions to 
motorists can save lives. 

•  Yellow flashing lights. Yellow flashing lights mean the bus 
is getting ready to stop to load or unload students. Drivers 
should slow down and prepare to stop. 

•  Red flashing lights. Red flashing lights with an extended 
stop sign mean the bus is stopped and students are getting 
on or off. Drivers approaching the school bus from either 
direction must stop, even if the road is divided by a turning 
lane, unless a median or other physical barrier such as a 
wall or fence, separates the road lanes. Vehicles may not 
pass the school bus until the red lights stop flashing, the 
extended stop sign is pulled back into place, the school bus 
has started to move, and the bus driver signals for vehicles 
to proceed. 
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Watch 
for Students 

Each year, about 13% of the students returning to the 9,000-
plus schools across Texas3 walk or ride bikes to class.4 The 
following recommendations can help motorists remain alert 
and keep students safe before and after school hours. 

•  Reverse responsibly. When backing a vehicle, go slowly and 
watch for students walking or riding their bikes to school. 
Every vehicle has blind spots. Check for walking and biking 
students on the sidewalk, in the driveway, and around 
vehicles. Look around and use all mirrors and a backup 
camera when the vehicle is equipped with one. 

•  Slow down and stay alert. Look for students walking in the 
street, especially in neighborhoods without sidewalks. Speed 
limits in school zones are slower for a reason. A pedestrian 
struck by a vehicle traveling at 25 mph is nearly two-thirds 
less likely to be killed compared to a pedestrian struck by a 
vehicle traveling 10 mph faster.5  

•  Come to a complete stop. According to the American 
Automobile Association, more than one-third of drivers 
roll through stop signs in school zones or neighborhoods. 
Always come to a complete stop, check for students in 
crosswalks, and watch for students who may dart into the 
street or between vehicles when trying to catch their bus. 

•  Watch for bicycles. Students on bikes are often 
inexperienced, unsteady, and unpredictable. Slow down and 
give bicyclists three feet of passing distance. 

Texas School 
Zone Laws 

Knowing Texas school zone laws can help motorists keep 
students safe and avoid traffic fines. 

•  Follow the speed limit. Obey the posted speed limit in 
active school zones. School zone speed limits are usually set 
at 25 mph; however, local municipalities have the option to 
change the speed limit to meet local needs. In fact, a school 
zone speed limit can be as low as 15 mph to help protect 
students. Fines usually double in school zones. 

•  E  Do not use a cell phone while 
driving. In Texas, handheld cell phone use is banned in 
all active school zones. Violators face fines up to $200. 

liminate distractions.

Research shows that when drivers take their eyes off the 
road for just two seconds, it doubles their chances of 
crashing. Reduce risk by not using electronic devices or 
eating while driving. 
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Texas School 
Zone Laws 

• Remain alert at intersections and crosswalks. School 
campuses are active at all hours with before- and after-
school activities. Always watch for students rushing to and 
from pick-up and drop-off locations, who might not use the 
school’s designated area. Slow down. In addition to Texas 
doubling fines in school zones, it imposes an extra $25 court 
cost onto the cost of the ticket. These extra funds go back 
to the school system’s crossing guard program and other 
student safety plans.6 

Regardless of the fine, the life of a child is priceless. Stay alert, 
obey the speed limit, and avoid distractions. The few seconds it 
takes to slow down in a school zone can save the life of child. 
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Safety Violations Hotline 
1-800-452-9595 

safetyhotline@tdi.texas.gov 

The Texas Department of Insurance,
Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC)
E-mail resourcecenter@tdi.texas.gov

or call 1-800-687-7080 for more information. 

Disclaimer: Unless otherwise noted, this document was produced by the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation 
(DWC)-Workplace Safety using information from staff subject specialists, government entities, or other authoritative sources. Information 
contained in this fact sheet is considered accurate at the time of publication. For more free DWC publications on this and other safety topics and 
for free occupational safety and health audiovisual loans, visit www.txsafetyatwork.com, call 800-252-7031, option 2, or email resourcecenter@ 
tdi.texas.gov. 
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