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Fire Alarm Training School Approval Application 

• Application fee: $500 (TDI code572)

• Please print or type your answers.

• Include all required documents and information listed in the table on Page 7.

• All fees are nonrefundable, except for overpayments from mistakes of law or fact.

• Send only one payment to cover all fees. Fee payments for various applications
need to be combined.

• Answer questions completely and truthfully. We may deny, suspend, or revoke
your certificate of registration if you misrepresent or knowingly give wrong
information on this application.

1. Applicant information (Use your full name as it appears on your driver’s license.)

First name Middle name Last name Suffix 

Mailing address City State ZIP County 

Phone Fax Email (required) 

Name of company responsible for conducting the training school 

2. Questions

1. Does the company responsible for the training have a certificate of registration
issued by the Texas State Fire Marshal’s Office (SFMO)?  Yes  No 
If yes, you do not meet the requirements for this approval.
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2. Is the responsible company a business affiliate of a company registered with
SFMO?  Yes  No
If yes, you do not meet the requirements for this approval.

3. Has your company or any company owner or officer ever or been investigated by
a regulatory agency for a violation in the conduct of a business?

 Yes  No  
If yes, give details on a separate sheet and attach it to this application. 

4. What type of company is this?

 Sole proprietorship 

Name of individual owner 

 General partnership 

Names of individual partners 

 Limited liability partnership (LLP) or limited partnership (LP) 

Full legal name of partnership 

Full legal name of general partner 

 Corporation 

Full legal name of corporation 

 Limited liability company (LLC) 

Full legal name of LLC 
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5. What is the IRS tax ID / Employer’s Identification Number (EIN)?

IRS Tax ID / Employer’s identification number (EIN) 

6. What is the filing number assigned by the Texas Secretary of State? (For
corporations, limited liability companies, and limited partnerships.)

Texas Secretary of State filing number (For corporations, limited liability companies, and limited 
partnerships.) 

3. Small-business information

• Small-business requirements can be found in Government Code, Section
2006.002.

 Yes  No 

 Yes  No 

1. Does your company have fewer than 100 employees?

2. If yes, does your company have fewer than 20 employees?

3. Is your company independently owned and operated?  Yes  No 
(Answer no if your company is a subsidiary, subject to control by another entity, 
or is publicly traded.) 

4. Does your company regularly generate less than $6 million in annual gross
revenue?   Yes  No

4. Fire alarm school training course information

Attach an outline of the course that includes a detailed description of each subject
and the time allotted. The course must comply with Texas Insurance Code, Section
6002.158.

Course location and schedule 

• Classes must be open to the public and conducted within 125 miles of each Texas
county that has a population of more than 500,000 people. Classes must be held
at least twice each year.

• Instructors must have an instructor approval number issued by the Texas State
Fire Marshal’s Office.



SF246 | 1020 

4/7 

Counties 
with 

populations 
over 500,000 

Class location 

Street address, city, and 
county 

Date of 
first class 

Date of 
second 

class 

Name of 
approved 
instructor 

Instructor’s 
SFMO approval 

number 

Bexar 

Collin 

Dallas 

Denton 

El Paso 

Fort Bend 

Harris 

Hidalgo 

Montgomery 

Tarrant 

Travis 

Williamson 

5. Authorized signatures

The people listed below are authorized by your company to sign SFMO licensing
documents, including renewal applications, transfer applications, termination notices,
and new individual applications. If these people change, submit form SF227 to
SFMO within 14 days.

Signature Date 

Print name Title 

Signature Date 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/sfmfireindustry/sf227fileupdate.pdf


SF246 | 1020 

5/7 

Print name Title 

6. Certification

• I authorize the Texas State Fire Marshal or its representative to enter, examine,
and inspect any premises, building, room, or establishment used by the company
while engaged in the business to determine compliance with Chapter 6002 of the
Texas Insurance Code and Section 34.600 of Texas Administrative Code, Title 28,
the Fire Alarm Rules.

• I am familiar with and will comply with Chapter 6002 of the Texas Insurance Code
and Section 34.600 of Texas Administrative Code, Title 28, the Fire Alarm Rules.

• I verify that the information on this application and its attachments are true and
correct.

• I understand that knowingly providing a false answer to any question or
submitting false information or documents with this application may be
tampering with a governmental record, which is punishable under the Texas
Penal Code, Section 37.10.

Signature Date 

Print name Title 

Important: 

Depending on the type of company, applications must be signed by: 

• An officer of a corporation.

• The sole proprietor.

• Each partner of a general partnership.

• The general partner of a limited liability partnership.

• An officer or member of a limited liability company.

If a partnership, complete the section below. 

Signature Date 
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Print name Title 

Signature Date 

Print name Title 

 You must keep SFMO informed of your current mailing address and designated
instructors. If your school’s address changes, please complete the Company File
Update form (SF227). We will issue a revised approval after we get written
notification and the required fee.

7. Payment

Pay by check or money order payable to the Texas Department of Insurance. Mail
your application, additional documents, and payment to:

Mailing address  
State Fire Marshal’s Office 
P.O. Box 149221  
Austin, Texas 78714-9221 

Street address 
State Fire Marshal’s Office 
333 Guadalupe St. 
Austin, Texas 78701 

Your rights: You can request information we have about you by emailing 
OpenRecords@tdi.texas.gov or writing to: Public Information Coordinator, Texas 
Department of Insurance, PO Box 149104 (mail code 112-1C) Austin, Texas 78714-9104. 
You also have the right to ask that we fix information we have about you that is wrong. 
To ask for a correction, send (1) your name, mailing address, and your phone number, 
(2) details about what needs to be fixed, and (3) the reason or proof showing why the
information is wrong. Send this by email to RecordCorrections@tdi.texas.gov or by mail
to: Record Correction Request, Texas Department of Insurance, PO Box 149104 (mail
code 113-1C), Austin, Texas 78714-9104. There is a different process to change or
update information you submitted to the State Fire Marshal’s Office (SFMO). To update
information submitted to SFMO, email FMLicensing@tdi.texas.gov. There may be a fee
to update information held by SFMO.

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/sfmfireindustry/sf227fileupdate.pdf
mailto:OpenRecords@tdi.texas.gov
mailto:RecordCorrections@tdi.texas.gov
mailto:FMLicensing@tdi.texas.gov
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Additional information required 

If you are a Texas or 
foreign corporation, 
submit the following: 

If you are a sole 
proprietorship or 

general partnership, 
submit the following: 

If you are a Texas or 
foreign limited 

partnership, submit the 
following: 

If you are a Texas or 
foreign limited 

liability company, 
submit the following: 

Corporate charter, 
Certificate of Existence, 

or Certificate of 
Authority issued by the 

Texas Secretary of 
State 

N/A 

Certificate of Limited 
Partnership, or 

Registration Application 
for Foreign Limited 

Partnership issued by the 
Texas Secretary of State 

Certificate of 
Organization, or 

Certificate of Authority 
issued by the Texas 
Secretary of State 

Franchise tax account 
status must be active 

with the Texas 
Comptroller of Public 

Accounts 

N/A 

Franchise tax account 
status must be active with 

the Texas Comptroller 
of Public Accounts 

Franchise tax account 
status must be active 

with the Texas 
Comptroller of Public 

Accounts 

Assumed Name 
Certificate from the 
Texas Secretary of 

State (if using a DBA) 

Assumed Name 
Certificate from your 

County clerk (if using a 
DBA) 

Assumed Name 
Certificate from the Texas 

Secretary of State (if 
using a DBA) 

Assumed Name 
Certificate from the 
Texas Secretary of 

State (if using a DBA) 

The additional information and documents listed in this table are required by Texas 
Insurance Code, Chapter 6002, and Texas Administrative Code, Title 28, Section 
34.600, Fire Alarm Rules. 

Resources: 

• Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, 1-800-252-1386 | comptroller.texas.gov

• Texas Secretary of State, www.sos.state.tx.us

https://comptroller.texas.gov/
https://www.sos.state.tx.us/
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