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ABBREVIATED GUIDE TO OBTAIN A LICENSE AND REGISTRATION 
TO INSTALL FIRE SPRINKLERS IN A ONE- or TWO- FAMILY DWELLING 

 

GENERAL 
In order to install a fire sprinkler system in a one- or two- family dwelling, the firm must (1) obtain a 
“registration” (SCR) from the State Fire Marshal’s Office (SFMO) and must (2) employ at least one full-time 
employee who holds an “RME-Dwelling License”, (RME).  The RME is the person designated by the firm to be 
responsible to assure the sprinkler system is planned and installed according to all adopted codes and 
standards and signs the certification papers.     
 
TO OBTAIN A “CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION” (SCR) FOR A FIRM  

1. submit SFMO application for firm’s registration;   
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/sfmfireindustry/SF037sprcofrapp.pdf 

2. provide a “Certificate of Insurance” to SFMO; (signed by Texas agent) 
a. for general liability coverage including products and completed operations;  
b. $100,000 for bodily injury & property damage; 
c. $300,000 aggregate; and 
d. indicating coverage is for “installation of fire sprinkler systems” 

3. Franchise Tax Account Status must be ACTIVE with the TX Comptroller’s Office 
4. provide copy of “Corporate Charter” or “Certificate of Partnership”; (firm’s legal documents) 
5. provide copy of Assumed Name Certificate; (usually from Secretary of State)  
6. employ one full time employee who holds an “RME-DWELLING” license; and 
7. submit a 1st year registration fee of $350. ($300 for registration + $50 for application) 

 
TO OBTAIN AN “RME DWELLING LICENSE” FOR AN INDIVIDUAL 

1. submit application for RME License. (no pre-requisite experience is required)   or 
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/sfmfireindustry/SF036sprindapp.pdf 

2. submit a copy of the letter from NICET indicating passing elements for NICET level 2 in “Automatic 
Sprinkler System Layout”;   

 test information can be found at: http://www.nicet.org/ 

 test administered by NICET 

 NICET does not provide training courses.  Knowledge through on-the-job training.   
3. pass SFMO sprinkler statute & rules test, “Texas Insurance Code, Chapter 6003, and the Fire Sprinkler 

Rules”; (70%) 

 sprinkler statute & rules can be downloaded at: 
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/fire/documents/fmstatsprinkler.pdf 

 administered by PSI  www.psiexams.com 

4. be employed by a firm holding an SCR; and  
5. submit a 1st year license fee of $150 ($200 for every two years thereafter) 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/sfmfireindustry/SF037sprcofrapp.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/sfmfireindustry/SF036sprindapp.pdf
http://www.nicet.org/
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/fire/documents/fmstatsprinkler.pdf
http://www.psiexams.com/

