[Recommended: Insert letterhead here]

Notice of First Temporary Income Benefit Payment

Date:	[Date]
To:	[Name of injured employee]
	[Address]
[City, state, zip]
Re:	Date of injury: [Date of injury]
	Nature of injury: [Nature of injury]
	Part of body injured: [Part of body injured]
	DWC claim #: [DWC claim #]
	Carrier name/TPA name: [Carrier name/TPA name]
	Carrier claim #: [Carrier claim #]
	Employer name: [Employer name]
	Employer address, city, state, zip: [Employer address, city, state, zip]


We, [Name of carrier], issued your first workers’ compensation benefits check.
· You are able to get these income benefits, called temporary income benefits, because you lost money from a job for more than 7 days because of your injury. The date you were able to start getting income benefits is [Date of eighth day of disability] (eighth day of disability). 
· Your payment will be [$$$] each week. This is based on the average amount of money your employer said you get each week from your work [$$$]. 
· [bookmark: _GoBack]The first payment covers [First day of period] to [Last day of period]. These are temporary income benefits that are paid weekly. The number of weeks you are paid depends on many things, such as your ability to work.
· If you haven’t already gotten your first check, you should get it soon.
· If you get these payments for 8 weeks or more, you can ask us to set up direct deposit into your bank account. You also can ask for payments once a month instead of every week. 
[Insurance carrier comments] 


Find out if you can return to work. 
Your employer might have work that your doctor allows. Contact your employer to find out if there is work you can do.
You should contact me, the adjuster, if:
· You start earning money from any work, including a new job.
· You are offered a job for any amount of money.
· The amount of money you get from your job changes.  

[image: ]


Contact me if you: (1) have questions, (2) need to give more facts about your claim, or (3) disagree with any of this information.
           	Adjuster’s name:	_____________________________________________________________
	Phone (toll-free):	_____________________________________________________________
             	Fax / email:	_____________________________________________________________
	  If you would like to get letters by fax or email, send your fax number or email address to me.
If we are not able to resolve an issue after you contact me:  
Call the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation at 1-800-252-7031, Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Central time.
You have the right to ask for a benefit review conference. If you ask for a conference, you will meet with: (1) someone from [Name of insurance carrier], and (2) a benefit review officer with the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation. The conference will take place at a Division of Workers’ Compensation office. To ask for a conference, fill out a “Request to Schedule, Reschedule, or Cancel a Benefit Review Conference” form (DWC045) - www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/dwc/dwc045brc.pdf.
If you don’t have an attorney, the Office of Injured Employee Counsel can help you prepare for the conference. To learn more, go to www.OIEC.texas.gov or call 1-866-393-6432, ext. 44186, Monday to Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Central time.
Making a false workers’ compensation claim is a crime that may result in fines or going to prison.
A copy of this notice was sent to:
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Instructions for the insurance carrier:

Notice of First Temporary Income Benefit Payment (PLN-2) 28 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §124.2 

This is the notification of first payment for temporary income benefits (TIBs).  This notice should only be used to report to the injured employee/representative the initial payment of TIBs on a claim.

· Include the start and end dates for the period being paid.
· Include the date income benefits began to accrue (8th day of disability).
· Include the TIBs rate.
· Include the Average Weekly Wage that payment of income benefits is based on.

Format requirements

· Must use font size of 12-point or larger (28 TAC §124.2(s)).

Format recommendations

Information sent to injured employees must be written in plain language. Along with clear writing, it is helpful to the reader when information is in a clean, easy-to-read format. Using easy-to-understand words and clean formatting might increase the length of your letter, but it also might greatly reduce customer service calls. Here are recommendations for formatting letters to injured employees:

· Print only information that applies to the reader: (1) Remove the section “Instructions to the insurance carrier,” and (2) if this letter has more than one option, remove the option that doesn’t apply to the injured employee. 
· Choose a clean font style: Avoid highly stylized fonts. Fonts like Verdana and Times New Roman are known to be the easiest to read.
· Avoid italics and underlines: If you want to emphasize text, it’s often better to use bold or a bigger font size.
· Use sufficient and consistent spacing: DWC suggests using 6 pts between paragraphs and bullets and 12 pts between sections.

File the appropriate Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) transaction with DWC
	and do not send this notice to DWC.
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