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OFFICIAL ORDER
of the
TEXAS COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE

Date: DEC 1 2 2018

Subject Considered:

TRIPOINTE ASSURANCE, INC.
16340 Park Ten Place, Suite 325
Houston, Texas 77084-5196

CONSENT ORDER
TDI ENFORCEMENT FILE NO. 13305

General remarks and official action taken:

The subject of this order is whether disciplinary action should be taken against Tri Pointe
Assurance, Inc. (Tri Pointe Assurance).

WAIVER
Tri Pointe Assurance acknowledges that the Texas Insurance Code and other applicable laws
provide certain rights. Tri Pointe Assurance waives all of these rights, and any other applicable
procedural rights, in consideration of the entry of this consent order.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Tri Pointe Assurance holds title insurance agent license no. 1975523, issued by the Texas
Department of Insurance (TDI).

2. TDI requires escrow officers to complete 10 continuing education hours during each
reporting period.

3. Tina Renee Samuel (Samuel) is employed as an escrow officer for Tri Pointe Assurance.

4. An audit of records revealed that Samuel failed to complete 10 hours of continuing

education during the February 1, 2015, through February 1, 2017, reporting period.

5 Tri Pointe Assurance failed to maintain proper evidence of Samuel’s continuing education
compliance.
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6. Samuel completed the outstanding credit hours and fulfilled the continuing education
requirement for the February 1, 2015, through February 1, 2017, reporting period.

L Tri Pointe Assurance established internal procedures to assure accuracy when verifying the
fulfillment of the escrow officers’ continuing education requirement.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The commissioner of insurance has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to TEX. INS. CODE
§§ 82.051-82.056, 84.021-84.044, 2651.001, 2651.301, 2652.002, 2652.058, and
4005.102-4005.104; 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 9.1, which adopts by reference the Texas
Title Insurance Basic Manual, Procedural Rule P-28 (Basic Manual, Rule P-28); and TEX.
Gov’T CODE §§ 2001.051-2001.178.

2. The commissioner of insurance has authority to informally dispose of this matter under
TEX. GOV’T CODE § 2001.056, TEX. INS. CODE § 82.055, and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 1.47.

3. Tri Pointe Assurance violated Basic Manual, Rule P-28, by failing to maintain all
continuing education records and evidence of compliance of its licensees.

It is ordered that Tri Pointe Assurance, Inc., pay an administrative penalty of $3,000. The
administrative penalty must be paid within 30 days from the date of this order. The administrative
penalty must be paid by cashier’s check or money order made payable to the “State of Texas.”
Mail the administrative penalty to the Texas Department of Insurance, Attn: Enforcement Section,
Division 60851, MC 9999, P.O. Box 149104, Austin, Texas 78714-9104. TDI is taking appropriate
regulatory action against the escrow officer discussed in this order to address the failure to comply
with the continuing education requirement.

Kent C. Sullivan
Commissioner of Insurance

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND CONTENT:

éw Z() _S’}L//)C/d;/(/

Beverly Rosendahl, Director
Texas Department of Insurance
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STATE OF Q&LJO«M.L_,
COUNTY OF 4@,@_,5%

Before me, the undersigned authority, personally appeared the affiant, who being by me duly
sworn, deposed as follows:

AFFIDAVIT

L O O

"My name is CHRISTOPHER J. MARTIN . I'am of sound mind, capable of
making this statement, and have personal knowledge of these facts, which are true and correct.

I am the representative of Tri Pointe Assurance, Inc. I hold the position of
vice PReSIOENT , and I am authorized to make this statement on behalf of
the company:

I waive rights provided by the Texas Insurance Code and other applicable law and acknowledge
the jurisdiction of the commissioner.

I have knowingly and voluntarily entered into this consent order. I consent to the issuance and
service of this consent order."

C/*/\,W\/\//

Affiant

SWO! O AND SUBSCRIBED before me on

‘(Notary Stamp)

Signature of Notary Public

See Quaad- (i ekl
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CALIFORNIA JURAT WITH AFFIANT STATEMENT

A notary public or other officer completing this
certificate verifies only the identity of the
individual who signed the document to which this
certificate is attached, and not the truthfulness,
accuracy, or validity of that document.

State of California )
) ss.
County of Orange )

Subscribed and sworn to (or affirmed) before me on this 17th day of September 2018,
by Christopher J. Martin, proved to me based on satisfactory evidence to be the person who
appeared before me.

(Seal) % ' &/WM’M/\

v )|
Signature of Notary
1 K. SAMPSON E
52\ NOTARY PUBLIC - CALIFORNIA K. Sampson
COMMISSION # 2097002 Print Name

My commission expires: _ 02/09/19

1206088.



