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No.  2022-7501  

Official Order  
of the  

Texas Commissioner  of Workers’ Compensation 

Date:   9/14/2022 

Subject Considered:  

New Hampshire Insurance Company  
175 Water Street, Floor 18  

New York, New York   10038-4976  

Consent Order  
DWC Enforcement File Nos.  29422,  29424, 29632, & 29694  

General remarks and  official action taken:  

This is a  consent order with New Hampshire Insurance Company  (Respondent). The  
commissioner of the Texas  Department of Insurance, Division of  Workers’ Compensation  
(DWC) considers whether DWC should take disciplinary action against Respondent.  

Waiver  

Respondent acknowledges that the  Texas Labor Code and other applicable laws provide  
certain rights. Respondent waives all of these  rights, and any other procedural rights that 
apply, in consideration of the entry of this consent order.  

Findings of Fact  

1. New Hampshire holds a certificate of authority issued by the  Texas  Department of 
Insurance to transact  the business of insurance pursuant to Tex. Ins. Code  §§ 
801.051-801.053 and is licensed to write workers’ compensation/employers’ 
liability  insurance in Texas. 
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2. Respondent was classified as "poor" tier in the 2007 Performance Based Oversight

(PBO) assessment. Respondent was classified as "average" tier in years 2009, 2010,

2012, 2014, 2016, 2018, and 2020 PBO assessments.

Failure to Pay Accrued Income Benefits Based on a Designated Doctor Re12ort 

File No. 29422 

3. On an employee suffered an injury during the course and scope 

of employment.

4. On Respondent issued a notice of dispute of the existence, 

duration, or extent of injury.

5. On Respondent filed another notice of dispute of the extent of injury. 

6. On the injured employee attended a designated doctor (DD) exam 

which determined the injured employee's maximum medical improvement (MMI) 

and impairment rating (IR). 

7. On Respondent received a report from the DD determining that
the injured employee's inability to work, or earn pre-injury wages, was the direct

result of the compensable injury.

8. As disability was the issue in dispute, Respondent was required to pay accrued

income benefits no later than five da s after receiving the DD's report. The deadline

to pay benefits was

9. Respondent issued payment of accrued income benefits on

which was 18 days late.

Failure to Timely Act on a Medical Bill 

File No. 29424 

10. On a health care provider provided medical services to an injured 

Respondent received a completed medical bill in the 

from the health care provider. 

Rev. 1/11/22 
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11. Respondent was re-he bill within 45 days of receiving it. The 
deadline to act was-

12. On Respondent issued payment in the amount of-
which was 83 days late. 

File No. 29632 

13. On a health care provider provided medical services to an injured
employee. On Respondent received a completed medical bill in 
the amount of from the health care provider. 

14. Respondent was re uired to act on the bill within 45 days of receiving it. The 
deadline to act was 

15. Respondent issued payment, including accrued interest, in
which was 132 days late. 

File No. 29694 

16. On rovider provided medical services to an 
injured employee. On Respondent received a completed
medical bill in the amount of from the health care provider. 

17. Respondent was re ired to act on the bill within 45 days of receiving it. The 
-deadline to act was 

18. On Respondent issued payment, which was six days late. 
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Assessment of Sanction  

1. Failure to provide income benefits  in a timely  and cost-effective manner is harmful 
to injured employees and the Texas  workers’  compensation system. 

2. Failure to pay health benefits  in a timely and cost-effective manner is harmful to 
injured employees and the Texas workers’ compensation system. Prompt payment 
of medical bills  is imperative to DWC’s goal of ensuring that injured employees 
have access to prompt, high-quality medical  care. 

3. In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC fully considered the  following factors 
in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e): 

• the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, 
consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act; 

• the history and extent of previous administrative violations; 
• the violator’s demonstration of good faith, including actions it took to rectify 

the consequences of the prohibited act; 
• the penalty necessary to deter future violations; 
• whether the administrative violation had a negative impact on the  delivery 

of benefits to an injured employee; 
• the history of compliance with  electronic data interchange requirements; 
• to the extent reasonable, the economic benefit resulting  from the prohibited 

act; and 
• other matters that justice may require, including, but not limited to: 

o PBO assessments; 
o prompt and earnest actions to prevent future violations; 
o self-report of the violation; 
o the size of the company or practice; 
o the effect of a sanction on the availability of health care; and 
o evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with 

the Texas  Workers’ Compensation Act and DWC rules. 

4. DWC found the following factors in  Tex. Lab.  Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. 
Code § 180.26(e) to be  aggravating: the seriousness of the violation, including the 
nature, circumstances,  consequences, extent,  and gravity of the prohibited act; the 
history and extent of previous administrative violations; the penalty necessary to 
deter future violations; and whether the administrative violation had a negative 
impact on the delivery  of benefits to an injured employee. 

 Rev. 1/11/22 
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5. DWC found the following factors in  Tex. Lab.  Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. 
Code § 180.26(e) to be  mitigating:  other matters that justice may require, 
specifically  Respondent has committed to conducting trainings to  promote future 
compliance. 

6. Respondent acknowledges communicating with DWC about the relevant statute 
and rule violations alleged; that the facts establish that the administrative 
violation(s) occurred; and that the proposed sanction is appropriate, including the 
factors DWC considered under Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. 
Code § 180.26(e). 

7. Respondent acknowledges that, in assessing the sanction, DWC considered the 
factors in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e). 

Conclusions of Law  

1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this  matter pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code 
§§ 402.001, 402.00114,  402.00116, 402.00128,  414.002, and 414.003. 

2. The commissioner has  the authority to dispose of this  case informally pursuant to 
Tex. Gov’t Code § 2001.056, Tex.  Lab. Code §§  401.021 and 402.00128(b)(6)-(7), and 
28 Tex. Admin. Code §  180.26(h) and (i). 

3. Respondent has knowingly and voluntarily waived all procedural rights to  which it 
may have been entitled regarding the entry of  this order, including, but not limited 
to, issuance and service of notice of intent to institute disciplinary action, notice of 
hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision, a rehearing by the commissioner, 
and judicial review. 

4. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021,  the commissioner may assess an 
administrative penalty  against a person who commits an administrative violation. 

5. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.002(a)(20), an insurance  carrier or its 
representative commits an administrative violation each time  it violates a DWC rule. 

6. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.002(a)(22), an insurance  carrier or its 
representative commits an administrative  violation each time it fails to comply with 
a provision of the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act. 
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Failure to Pay  Accrued  Income Benefits  Based on  a Designated Doctor Report  

7. Pursuant to Tex. Lab.  Code §§ 408.081, 409.023, and 415.002(a)(16), an insurance 
carrier must pay benefits weekly, as and when the benefits accrue, without order 
from the commissioner. 

8. Pursuant to Tex. Lab.  Code § 408.0041(f),  an  insurance carrier must pay benefits 
based on the opinion of the DD during any pending  dispute. 

9. Pursuant  Tex. Lab. Code  §  408.041(e), the report of the designated doctor has 
presumptive weight unless the preponderance of the evidence is to  the contrary. 

10. Pursuant to 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 127.10(h), an insurance carrier must pay all 
benefits  in accordance  with the DD’s report for the issues  in dispute  no later than 
five days after receiving the report. 

11. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code  §§ 409.023; 415.002(a)(16),  (20), and (22); and 
28 Tex. Admin. Code §  127.10(h)  by failing to timely pay accrued  income benefits 
in accordance with  a  DD report no later than five days after receiving the report. 

Failure to Timely Act on a Medical Bill  

12. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 408.027 and 28 Tex. Admin. Code  § 133.240, an 
insurance carrier  is required to timely process  and take final action on a completed 
medical bill within 45 days of receiving the bill. 

13. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§  408.027; 415.002(a)(20) and (22); and 28 
Tex. Admin. Code § 133.240  each time Respondent  failed to  pay, reduce, deny, or 
determine to audit a completed medical bill  within 45 days of receiving the bill. 

Information Redacted 
Texas Labor Code §§402.083 and 402.092 



__________________________________________  
Jeff Nelson  
Commissioner  
TDI, Division of  Workers’ Compensation  
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Order  

It is ordered that New  Hampshire Insurance Company  must pay an administrative penalty  
of $17,500  within 30 days from the date of this  order.  New Hampshire Insurance Company  
must pay the administrative penalty by  company check, cashier’s  check, or money order  
and make it payable to the “State of Texas.”  Mail the administrative penalty to the Texas  
Department of Insurance, Attn: DWC Enforcement Section, MC AO-9999, P.O. Box 12030,  
Austin, Texas 78711-2030.  

Approved Form and Content:  

________________________________________  
Daniel Garcia  
Staff Attorney, Enforcement  
Compliance and Investigations  
TDI, Division of  Workers’ Compensation  

Rev. 1/11/22 Information Redacted 
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Unsworn Declaration 

STATE OF Connecticut § 
§ 

COUNTY OF Hartford § 

Pursuant to the Tex. Civ. Prac. and Rem. Code § 132.001 (a), (b), and (d), my name is 
Peter Macdonald . I hold the position of Vice President and am the 

authorized representative of New Hampshire Insurance Company. My business address 
is: 

 _ 3 0H  u d  son   S  ee   t J i_ tr _____ d� ersey C ty , Hu son , NJ 07302 

(Street) (City) (County) (State) (ZIP Code) 

I am executi dng this declaration as part of my assigned duties and responsibilities. I eclare 

under penalty of perjury that the facts stated in this document are true and correct. 

r-:DocuSigned by: 

��EA���J 

Declarant 

eptembeE S r 13 xecuted on ______ _, 2022_ 

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _
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