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No. 2022-7544 

Official Order 

of the 

Texas Commissioner of Workers’ Compensation  

Date:  10/3/2022 

Subject  Considered:  

Ace American  Insurance  Company  

115 Wild  Basin  Road,  Suite  207  

West  Lake Hills,   Texas  78746-3347  

Consent  Order  

DWC  Enforcement  File No.  24915, 28532,  and  28118  

General  remarks and  official  action taken:  

This  is  a  consent  order  with  Ace  American  Insurance Company  (Respondent).  The  

commissioner  of  the  Texas  Department  of  Insurance,  Division  of  Workers’ Compensation  
(DWC)  considers  whether  DWC  should  take disciplinary  action  against  Respondent.  

Waiver  

Respondent  acknowledges  that  the Texas  Labor  Code and  other  applicable laws  provide 

certain  rights.  Respondent  waives  all  of  these rights,  and  any  other p rocedural  rights  that  

apply,  in  consideration  of  the entry  of  this  consent  order.  

Findings of  Fact  

1. Respondent  holds  a  certificate  of  authority  issued  by  the Texas  Department  of 

Insurance to transact  the business  of  insurance pursuant  to Tex.  Ins.  Code §§ 

801.051-801.053 and  is  licensed  to write multiple lines  of  insurance  in  Texas, 

including  workers’ compensation/employers’  liability  insurance. 

2. Respondent  was  classified  as  average  tier  in  the  years  2007,  2009,  2010,  2012,  2014, 

2016,  2018,  and  2020  Performance  Based  Oversight  (PBO)  assessments. 
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Failure to Timely  Initiate Payment  of  Accrued  Temporary  Income Benefits  

File  No.  24915  

3. Respondent  was  required  to pay  temporary  income benefits  (TIBs)  to an  injured 

employee  for  the period  of   through   The TIBs  payment 

was  due  seven  days  after t h-e  first  day  of  the pay  period,  which  was 

Respondent  issued  payment  on   which  was  seven  days  late. 

File  No

-
.  28532  

4. Respondent  was  required  to pay  TIBs  to an  injured  employee  for  the  period  of 

through  The TIBs  payment  was  due 15  days  after  the 

Respondent  received  written  notice of  the injury,  which  was  
-

Respondent  issued  payment  on  which  was  40 days  late. 

Failure to Take Final  Action  on a  Request  for  Reconsideration  

File  No.  28118  

5. On Respondent  received  a  complete request  for  reconsideration 

of  a  medical  bill  from  a  health  care provider fo r  the date of  service 

6. Respondent  was  required  to take action  regarding  payment  or  denial  of  the 

reconsideration  request  no later  than  the 30th  day  after  receipt  of  the request, 

which  in  this  case was  on 

7. Respondent  took action  and  paid  the health  care provider  on ,  which 

was  61 days  late. 

Assessment  of  Sanction  

1. Failure to provide income benefits  in  a  timely  and  cost-effective manner  is  harmful 

to injured  employees  and  the Texas  workers’ compensation  system. 

2. Prompt  payment  of  medical  bills  is  imperative  to DWC’s  goals  of  ensuring  that 

injured  employees  have access  to prompt,  high-quality  medical  care. 

3. In  assessing  the sanction  for  this  case,  DWC  fully  considered  the following  factors 

in  Tex.  Lab.  Code §  415.021(c)  and  28  Tex.  Admin.  Code §  180.26(e): 

Rev. 9/21/22 
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• the seriousness  of  the violation,  including  the nature,  circumstances, 

consequences,  extent,  and  gravity  of  the prohibited  act; 

• the history  and  extent  of previous  administrative violations; 

• the violator’s  demonstration  of  good  faith,  including  actions  it  took to rectify 

the consequences  of  the prohibited  act; 

• the penalty  necessary  to deter fu ture violations; 

• whether  the  administrative  violation  had  a  negative impact  on  the  delivery 

of  benefits  to an  injured  employee; 

• the history  of  compliance with  electronic  data  interchange requirements; 

• to the extent  reasonable,  the economic  benefit  resulting  from  the prohibited 

act;  and 

• other m atters  that  justice may  require,  including,  but  not  limited  to: 

o PBO  assessments; 

o prompt  and  earnest  actions  to prevent  future violations; 

o self-report  of  the  violation; 

o the size of  the  company  or  practice; 

o the effect  of  a  sanction  on  the availability  of  health  care;  and 

o evidence of  heightened  awareness  of  the legal  duty  to comply  with 

the Texas  Workers’ Compensation  Act  and  DWC  rules. 

3. DWC  found  the following  factors  in  Tex.  Lab.  Code §  415.021(c)  and  28  Tex.  Admin. 

Code §  180.26(e)  to be  aggravating: the seriousness  of  the violation,  including  the 

nature,  circumstances,  consequences,  extent,  and  gravity  of  the prohibited  act;  the 

history  and  extent  of  previous  administrative violations;  the  penalty  necessary  to 

deter  future violations;  whether t he administrative violation  had  a  negative impact 

on  the delivery  of  benefits  to an  injured  employee;  and  other  matters  that  justice 

may  require,  including,  but  not  limited  to  evidence of  heightened  awareness  of  the 

legal  duty  to comply  with  the Texas  Workers’ Compensation  Act  and  DWC  rules 

because of  the disciplinary  history  of  the insurance carrier. 

4. DWC  is  aware of  no mitigating  factors  pursuant  to  Tex.  Lab.  Code  §  415.021(c)  and 

28 Tex.  Admin.  Code §  180.26(e). 

5. Respondent  acknowledges  communicating  with  DWC  about  the  relevant  statute 

and  rule violations  alleged;  that  the facts  establish  that  the  administrative 

violation(s)  occurred;  and  that  the proposed  sanction  is  appropriate,  including  the 

factors  DWC  considered  under  Tex.  Lab.  Code  §  415.021(c)  and  28  Tex.  Admin. 

Code §  180.26(e). 
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6. Respondent  acknowledges  that,  in  assessing  the sanction,  DWC  considered  the 

factors  in  Tex.  Lab.  Code §  415.021(c)  and  28  Tex.  Admin.  Code §  180.26(e). 

Conclusions  of  Law  

1. The commissioner  has  jurisdiction  over  this  matter  pursuant  to Tex.  Lab.  Code 

§§  402.001,  402.00114,  402.00116,  402.00128,  414.002,  and  414.003. 

2. The commissioner  has  the authority  to dispose of  this  case informally  pursuant  to 

Tex.  Gov’t  Code  §  2001.056,  Tex.  Lab.  Code  §§  401.021 and  402.00128(b)(6)-(7),  and 

28 Tex.  Admin.  Code §  180.26(h)  and  (i). 

3. Respondent  has  knowingly  and  voluntarily  waived  all  procedural  rights  to  which  it 

may  have  been  entitled  regarding  the entry  of  this  order,  including,  but  not  limited 

to,  issuance and  service of  notice of  intent  to  institute disciplinary  action,  notice  of 

hearing,  a  public  hearing,  a  proposal  for  decision,  a  rehearing  by  the  commissioner, 

and  judicial  review. 

4. Pursuant  to Tex.  Lab.  Code  §  415.021,  the  commissioner  may  assess  an 

administrative penalty  against  a  person  who commits  an  administrative violation. 

5. Pursuant  to Tex.  Lab.  Code  §§  408.081,  409.023,  and  415.002(a)(16),  an  insurance 

carrier  must  pay  benefits  weekly,  as  and  when  the benefits  accrue,  without  order 

from  the commissioner. 

6. Pursuant  to Tex.  Lab.  Code  §§  415.002(a)(20)  and  (22),  an  insurance carrier  or  its 

representative commits  an  administrative violation  each  time it  fails  to comply  with 

a DWC  rule or  a provision  of  the Texas  Workers’  Compensation  Act. 

Failure to Timely  Initiate Payment  of  Accrued  Temporary  Income Benefits  

7. Pursuant  to Tex.  Lab.  Code  §§  408.081,  408.082,  and  409.021 and  28  Tex.  Admin. 

Code  §§  124.3 and  124.7,  an  insurance carrier  is  required  to initiate payment  of  TIBs 

no later  than  the 15th  day  after  it  receives  written  notice of  the injury  or  the seventh 

day  after  the  accrual  date,  unless  the  insurance  carrier  notifies  DWC  and  the injured 

employee  in  writing  of  its  refusal  to pay. 
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8. Respondent  violated  Tex.  Lab.  Code  §§ 409.021;  415.002(a)(16),  (20)  and  (22);  and 

28  Tex.  Admin.  Code §§  124.3 and  124.7  each  time Respondent  failed  to timely 

initiate payment  of  TIBs. 

Failure to Take Final  Action  on  a  Request  for  Reconsideration  

9. Pursuant  to 28 Tex.  Admin.  Code  §133.250,  an  insurance carrier i s  required  to take 

final  action  on  a  complete request  for  reconsideration  of  the insurance  carrier’s 
action  on  the medical  bill  within  30  days  of  receipt  of  the request  for 

reconsideration.  The insurance carrier  shall  provide an  explanation  of  benefits  for 

all  items  included  in  a  reconsideration  request  in  the form  and  format  prescribed 

by  DWC. 

10. Respondent  violated  Tex.  Lab.  Code  §  415.002(a)(2);  and  28  Tex.  Admin.  Code 

§133.250  each  time Respondent  failed  to timely  take final  action  on  a  request  for 

reconsideration  of  a  medical  bill  action  within  30  days  of  receipt. 
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Order  

It  is  ordered  that  Ace  American  Insurance Company  must  pay  an  administrative penalty  

of  $9,500  within  30  days  from  the date of  this  order.  Ace  American  Insurance Company  

must  pay  the administrative penalty  by  company  check,  cashier’s  check,  or  money  order  

and  make it  payable to the “State of  Texas.” Mail  the administrative penalty  to the  Texas  
Department  of  Insurance,  Attn:  DWC  Enforcement  Section,  MC  AO-9999,  P.O.  Box  12030, 

Austin,  Texas  78711-2030.  

__________________________________________ 

Jeff Nelson 

Commissioner 

TDI, Division of Workers’ Compensation 

Approved Form and Content: 

_____ 

Veronica L. Ruberto 

Lead Attorney, Enforcement 

Compliance and Investigations 

TDI, Division of Workers’ Compensation 
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Unswom Dedaration 

STATE OF Del aware § 

§ 

COUNTY Of__New_c._,a_•__ § 

Pursuant to the Tex. Civ. Prac. and Rem. Code § 132.001(a), (b), and (d), my name is 

__o_a_nie_l_S_.Ha_wlh_ome____. I hold the position of NOlll!AmericanC,-lilnalManager and am the 

authorized representative of Ace American Insurance Company. My business address is: 
Wlmingtan NewClslle DE 19803 

(Street) (City) (County) (State) {ZIP Code) 

I am executing this declaration as part of my assigned duties and responsibilities. I declare 

under penalty of perjury that the facts stated in this document are true and correct. 

#~
Declarant 

Executed on September 27. 2022. 
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