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Rulemaking Overview

e Texas administrative agencies including TDI
must adhere to the Texas Administrative
Procedure Act (APA) when proposing and
adopting rules.

e The APA is in Texas Government Code
Subchapter B, Chapter 2001.



Rulemaking Overview

 The rulemaking process begins at the proposal
stage. During this stage, the proposed rule is
published with the Texas Register and the
public is given an opportunity to provide
comments.

e Rulemaking may also begin informally outside
the APA to elicit feedback on more complex
rules being considered.
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Rulemaking Overview

 The next stage of the rulemaking process is
the adoption stage. During this stage, the
agency provides responses to public
comments received and the rule is published
for adoption with the Texas Register.

 The rule then becomes effective 20 days from
filing with the Secretary of State unless a later
date is provided in the rule text.
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Legislative Amendment Rule Projects

28 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §132.13,
Burial Benefits; SB 653

28 TAC §132.7, Death Benefits; HB 1094
28 TAC §104.1, Rule Petitions; HB 763

28 TAC §129.3 & §129.11, Temporary Income
Benefits (TIBs); SB 901

28 TAC §1.2201 (Contract Monitoring) Joint
Project with TDI



Burial Benefits

e Burial benefits remained at $6,000 from 1999 until
2015, when amendments were passed during the
2015 Legislative session.

e According to the National Funeral Director
Association, the median cost for a funeral in 2012:

e S7,045 w/o vault
e S8,343 w/ vault
e Other associated fees are not included



Burial Benefits — SB 653
28 TAC §132.13 — Burial Benefits

e SB 653 amended Labor Code §408.186 to increase
the maximum repayment of burial benefits from
$6,000 to $10,000, based on a compensable injury
occurring on or after September 1, 2015.

e 28 TAC §132.13 was amended to implement SB 653
and increase the maximum amount of burial benefit
reimbursement from $6,000 to $10,000.

 Rule became effective 3/20/16.
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Death Benefits

* An eligible spouse is entitled to death benefits
until remarriage or the spouse’s death.

* The 2015 Legislative session made an
exception for spouses of first responders.

e Labor Code §504.055 defines first responder
as an individual employed by a political
subdivision of the state including but not
limited to: a peace officer, emergency care
attendant, a firefighter, or a volunteer.



Death Benefits — HB 1094

e HB 1094 amended Labor Code §408.183 to
allow an eligible spouse of a first responder to
remarry and remain eligible for death benefits
for life if the first responder was killed in the
course and scope of employment or while
providing services as a volunteer.

e Applies only to claims with a date of injury on
or after September 1, 2015



28 TAC §132.7- Duration of Death Benefits for
Eligible Spouse

 Rule was amended to implement HB 1094.

* Rule became effective 3/20/16.



Rule Petitions — HB 763

e Gov’'t Code §2001.021 allows an interested person to

petition an agency for adoption of a rule under the
APA.

e HB 763 amended Gov’t Code §2001.021 to establish
a residency requirement and define an interested
person as

— a Texas resident,
— a business entity located in Texas,
— a governmental subdivision located in Texas, or

— a public or private organization located in Texas
that is not a state agency.
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Rule Petitions — HB 763

e HB 763 also requires that 51% of petition
signatures be from Texas residents, if a state
agency requires petition signatures. Note: TDI-
DWC does not require petition signatures.



28 TAC §104.1 — Contents of Rule-Making
Petitions

 Rule was amended to implement HB 763 by
allowing interested persons, as defined in
Gov’t Code §2001.021, to submit rule

petitions.

 Rule was also amended to require a statement
that the petitioner is an interested person and
to eliminate the petitioner’s signature
requirement.
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28 TAC 104.1 — Contents of Rule-Making
Petitions

e TDI-DWC further amended the rule to allow

electronic submission of petitions, in addition
to other methods.

e Rule petitions must be filed with the

commissioner by personal delivery, certified
mail, or by email to

rulecomments@tdi.texas.gov.
 Rule became effective 3/10/16.




Temporary Income Benefits (TIBs)

e Temporary income benefits (TIBs) are the first
level of income benefits that an injured employee

may receive under the workers' compensation
system.

e TIBs are calculated as 70% of the injured
employee's lost wages.

* People earning below a certain benchmark rate
receive 75% of their lost wages for the first 26
weeks of disability.
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TIBs — SB 901

e Since 1999, the benchmark earning rate to receive
75% of lost wages for the first 26 weeks was less
than $8.50 per houir.

e SB 901 amended Labor Code §408.103(a) to increase
the benchmark earning rate for TIBs from less than
$8.50 to less than $10 an hour.

o Effective September 1, 2015, if an injured employee
earns less than $10/hr, the employee will receive
75% of lost wages for the first 26 weeks of disability.
If an injured employee earns more than $S10/hr, the
employee will receive 70% of lost wages.



TIBS EXAMPLE

This year Bob and Sam slipped and
injured their backs at work. They
both work 40 hrs a week. Bob
earns $10.50/hr and Sam earns
$9.50/hr. After their injuries they
both are unable to work.

Bob earns a average weekly wage
(AWW) of S420 and post injury
earnings are $0. His TIBs amount
would be calculated as: 420 - 0=
420 (lost wages) * .70 = 5294

Sam earns a AWW of S380 and
post injury earnings are SO. His
TIBs amount would be calculated
as: 380 — 0= 380 (lost wages) * .75
= 5285 for the first 26 weeks then
380 *.70 = S266 thereafter.




28 TAC §129.3 & §129.11 — (TIBs)

e 28 TAC §129.3 and 28 TAC §129.11 were

amended to implement SB 901 by changing
the rate of $8.50 to $10.00 for dates of injury
after September 1, 2015.

 Rules became effective 2/28/16.



State Agency Contracting — SB 20

e SB 20 amends Gov’t Code Chapter 2261 and
requires each state agency by rule to establish a
procedure to identify contracts that require
enhanced contract or performance monitoring
and prescribes certain reporting requirements.

 The purpose of this bill is to reform state agency
contracting by clarifying accountability, increasing
transparency, and ensuring a fair competitive
process.
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New 28 TAC §1.2201 — Enhanced Contracts and
Performance Monitoring

 The rule states that the procurement director will evaluate
contracts with a value greater than $25,000 (and may evaluate
contracts with a value less than $25,000) to determine whether
enhanced contract or performance monitoring is appropriate. |If
the procurement director determines the enhanced contract or
performance monitoring is appropriate, the director will report to
the commissioner of insurance and/or the commissioner of
workers’ compensation:

— The basis for the determination that the enhanced contract or
performance monitoring is appropriate;

— Any serious issues or risks identified with the contract, if applicable;
and

— The department’s plan for carrying out the enhanced contract or
performance monitoring.
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TDI-DWC Non-Legislative Rules Projects

e 28 TAC §110.108 & §110.110 (Notices)

e 28 TAC §§134.204, 134.209 -134.250 (Medical
Fee Guidelines for Workers” Compensation)

e 28 TAC §134.202 & §134.302 (Repealed)




Notices regarding Work-Related Communicable
Diseases

e 28 TAC §110.108 addresses employer posting
requirements for employee notices about the Health
and Safety Code which may affect qualifying for
workers' compensation benefits following a work-
related exposure to a reportable communicable
disease.

e 28 TAC §110.110 addresses reporting requirements
for building or construction projects for
governmental entities.



28 TAC §110.108 & §110.110 (Notices)

e Amendments to these rules update the division’s

phone number on notices employers are required to
post.

e Employees use the phone numbers to report
possible exposure to communicable diseases or HIV
or to inquire about, verify, or report the lack of
coverage at construction sites.

 Rules became effective 12/14/15.




28 TAC §§134.204, 134.209 -134.250 (Medical
Fee Guideline for Workers’ Compensation)

e 28 TAC §134.204 addresses the billing and
reimbursement requirements for a variety of
workers’ compensation specific services.

e Specific services include but not limited to
case management, functional capacity
evaluations, return-to-work rehabilitation
programs, designated doctor examinations,
maximum medical improvement evaluations

and impairment ratings.



28 TAC §§134.204, 134.209 -134.250 (Medical Fee
Guidelines for Workers’ Compensation)

e Amendments to the rule consisted of a non-
substantive reorganization to create a more
comprehensive format by separating the
billing and reimbursement requirements for
multiple services into new sections.

 The reorganization was necessary to
streamline compliance for system participants
and future amendments to the guidelines.



28 TAC §§134.204, 134.209 -134.250 (Medical
Fee Guidelines for Workers’ Compensation)

§134.209 — Applicability

§134.210 — Medical Fee Guideline for Workers’ Compensation
Specific Services

§134.215 — Home Health Services

§134.220 — Case Management Services

§134.225 — Functional Capacity Evaluations

§134.230 — Return to Work Rehabilitation Programs
§134.235 — Return to Work/Evaluation of Medical Care
§134.239 - Billing for Work Status Reports

§134.240 — Designated Doctor Examinations

§134.250 — Maximum Medical Improvement Evaluations and
Impairment Rating Examinations



Mon Substantive Reorganization of §134.204 Stakeholder Chart

TITLE 28. INSURANCE
Part 2. Texas Department of Insurance
Drivision of Workers” Compensation

Chapter 134. Benefits-Guidelines for Medical Services, Charges and Payments

SUBCHAPTER C. MEDICAL FEE GUIDELINES
Amended 28 TAC §5134.204,

Existing 23 TAC §134.204,

(Existing Language)

Amended 26 TAC 5134204,

Delsted Text Added text

(Amended Language)

§134.204. Medical Fee Guideline for Workers
Compensation Specific Services.

§134.204. Medical Fee Guideline for Workers
Compensation Specific Services.

{a) Applicability of this rule is as follows:

{a) Applicability of this rule is as follows:

(1) Mo change.

(1) Mo change.

(2) This section applies to workers'
compensation specific codes, services and
programs provided on or after March 1, 2008,

{2} This section applies to workers'
compensation specific codes, services and
programs provided fromon or afterd] March 1, 2008
undl September 1, 21016

(3) — (5) No change.

(3) — {5) Mo change.

{b) — (n) No change.

{b) —(n) No change.

SUBCHAPTER C. MEDICAL FEE GUIDELINES
MNew 26 TAC §5134.209 — 134.250,

Existing 28 TAC §134.204,

(Existing Language)

MNew 28 TAC §5134.209 — 134,250,

Delsted Text Added text

(Adopted Draft Language)

5134.204, Medical Fee Guideline for Workers
Compensation Specific Services.

Mew §134.209, Applicability.

{a) Applicability of this rule is as follows:

Fhplicablity ot s - ; 3

{1} This section appliss to workers'
compensation specific codes, services and
programs provided in the Texas workers'
compensation system, other than:

2] [Fis] Sections [eestion] 122 209134 210
> M TR ¥

134 230 134 240 _and 134_250 of this fitle
apphyiappkes] to workers” compensation specific
codes, servicses, and programs provided in the
Texas workers' compensation system, other than:

(&) professional medical services described in
5134 2032 of this title (relating to Medical Fee
Guideline for Professional Services);

[1) professional medical services described in
51234 203 of this titlefirsdatingto-Madical Faa
~ideline for Profess: Sendceel]
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28 TAC §134.202 & §134.302 (Repealed)

During the non-substantive reorganization two
rules were repealed because they were
previously superseded and no longer effective.

§134.202 — Medical Fee Guideline
§134.302 — Dental Fee Guideline

Rules effective 07/07/16 and applicable to
workers’ compensation specific codes,
services, and programs provided on or after

September 1, 2016.



Rule Review

e Government Code §2001.039 requires state
agencies to review each of its rules not later
than the fourth anniversary of its effective
date and consider readopting, amending, or
repealing the rule.

* The goal is to determine if the reason for
adopting the rule continues to exist.



Rule Review

e The division is currently reviewing 28 Texas
Administrative Code (TAC) Chapters 49, 53, 55,
56, 57,59, 114, 116, 144, and 180 in
compliance with Gov’t Code §2001.039. We
expect to propose for comment this fall.



TDI-DWC
Recently Revised/New Forms

psiss



Forms

DWC Form-042 (Claim for Death Benefits)
DWC Form-048 (Travel Reimbursement Form)

DWC Form-067 (Designated Doctor
Certification Application)

DW(C Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) Forms-
01, 02, and 03

NEW DWC Form-154 (Complaint Form)



DWC Form-042 (Claim for Death Benefits)

* When a person dies due to a work-related
injury or illness, certain family members may
be able to get death benefit payments.

e This form includes a reference to burial
benefits and was revised along with 28 TAC
§132.13 to comply with HB 653 increasing the

maximum amount of burial benefits from
S6,000 to $10,000.

 Form effective April 1, 2016.
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DWC Form-048 (Travel Reimbursement Form)

e DWC Form-048 is used by an injured
employee to request reimbursement from an
insurance carrier for travel expenses to obtain
medical treatment or attend a designated
doctor examination, required medical
examination, or post-designated doctor
examination.



DWC Form-048 (Travel Reimbursement Form)

e DWC Form-048 was revised to incorporate
amendments to 28 TAC §134.110(a) which

added the three exam types eligible for
reimbursement.

 Form revisions also incorporated plain
anguage and include a separate Spanish form.

 Form effective April 11, 2016
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DWC Form-067 (Designated Doctor
Certification Application)

e Revisions to DWC Form-067 include minor
updates to the applicant information,
disclosure questions, and applicant
authorization, attestation, and release
sections for compliance and clarity.

e Revisions minimize the use of an applicant’s

social security number for tracking purposes.

 Form effective September 1, 2016



DWC EDI Forms-01, 02, and 03

 EDI forms are used to establish profiles for
insurance carriers or trading partners that
submit claim or medical electronic data
interchange records to the division.

e EDI Form-01 is used for claims and 251 health
plan data.

e EDI Form-02 and 03 are used for medical claim

submission only.



DWC EDI Forms-01, 02, and 03

e Revisions to the EDI forms update contact
information. EDI Form-01 includes format
changes consistent with other DWC forms.

e EDI Form-02 and 03 were last updated in 2011
with the medical state reporting rules and
only update contact information.

e Forms will become effective later this fall.



DWC Form-154 (Complaint Form)

* Previously, the division and TDI’s Consumer
Protection section used a joint form for complaint
submission. The form covered complaints involving
auto, homeowners, life, health, and title insurance,
as well as workers’ compensation complaints.

* Inspring 2016, the division created a form tailored to
workers’ compensation complaints. DWC Form-154
is now available as one of several options for
individuals to submit a complaint involving workers’
compensation to the division.



DWC Form-154 (Complaint Form)

e New DWC Form-154 provides a simple,
standardized form in (English and Spanish) for
filing workers' compensation complaints and
may be submitted via email, fax, or mail.

* A person may also submit a complaint without
using the form through the TDI website, email,
fax, written correspondence, or in person.

e Form effective March 1, 2016



Complaint Info

Complaints can be submitted by:
Website: http://www.tdi.texas.gov//wc/indexwc.html

E-mail: DWC-ComplaintResolution@tdi.texas.gov
Fax: (512)490-1030
Mail: Texas Department of Insurance

Division of Workers” Compensation, MS-8

7551 Metro Center Drive, Suite 100
Austin, Texas 78744


http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/indexwc.html
mailto:DWC-ComplaintResolution@tdi.texas.gov

Current TDI-DWC Rule Project
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Attorney Fees

28 TAC §152.6 (Attorney Fees)

28 TAC §152.3 & §152.4 (Repeal and
Reenactment)

DWC Form-150 (Notice of Representation)
NEW DWC Form-150a (Notice of Withdrawal)

DWC Form-151 (Attorney Application for Web
Access)

DWC Form-152 (Application for Attorney Fees)




Attorney Fees

e 28 TAC Chapter 152 was originally enacted in 1991
under the authority of Labor Code §408.221 and
§408.222.

 Chapter 152 outlines eligibility to earn a fee, the
application for requesting an attorney fee, the
division’s approval or denial of fees, and payment of
approved fees.

 The rule project repeals and re-enacts §152.3 and
§152.4 because of the substantial amendments
required to reflect changes in the industry over the
25 years since the rules were originally adopted.



28 TAC §152.3 & §152.4

e New §152.3 will provide: (1) a detailed process for
attorneys claiming a fee for representing a claimant
or insurance carrier (2) the steps to contest the
division’s approval, partial approval, or denial of a fee
request, and (3) the division’s enforcement authority.

e New §152.4 will provide: (1) a maximum hourly rate
for legal services of $200 for attorneys and S65 for
legal assistants; (2) additional time at the pre-benefit
review conference stage of a dispute for legal
services, and (3) the steps to request and receive a

fee for hours above the guidelines for legal services.



28 TAC §152.6

 The attorney fees rule project also enacts new
§152.6 to regulate attorney withdrawal in the
workers’ compensation system and help prevent an
attorney’s withdrawal from having a material adverse
effect on the client or the system as a whole.

* New §152.6 requires attorneys to comply with the
Texas Disciplinary Rules of Professional Conduct
when withdrawing representation. Under §152.6, an
attorney must submit to the division a notice of
withdrawal or a motion to withdraw, depending on
the circumstances of the withdrawal and whether
notice of a proceeding has been received.



Attorney Fees

 The rules are designed to ensure there is
qguality representation available within the
workers’ compensation system and reflect
changes in the industry since the rules were
originally adopted.

 The rules allow more time for preparation and

case management in order to encourage early
resolution of claim disputes.



DWC Form-150 (Notice of Representation)

e Amendments remove the “notification
of withdrawal section” (which becomes
a separate form, DWC150a).

 The form provides a streamlined
document for claimant attorneys to
meet the duty to notify the division of
representation within 10 days.
r



New DWC Form-150a (Notice of
Withdrawal of Representation)

* The new form provides a streamlined
document for attorneys to notify the division
when withdrawing representation.

e Claimants and other parties may also use the
form to notify the division when the attorney-
client relationship has been terminated.
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DWC Form-151 (Attorney Application for
Web Access)

e Amendments are non-substantive in nature
and primarily amend the form for clarity and
to conform to current agency style.



DWC Form-152 (Application for Attorney
Fees)

e Amendments to the form primarily update
and conform to the requirements of new
§152.3. The amendments are intended to
ensure the division is receiving the necessary
information to fulfill its statutory duty to
approve attorney fees in the workers’
compensation system.



OPEN RECORDS UPDATE
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Are birthdates of the general public
“confidential by law”?

e |n Paxton v. Dallas, the city claimed that
birthdates of members of the general public are
“confidential by l[aw.”

 The court held that birthdates are confidential
under common-law privacy pursuant to Supreme
Court’s decision in Texas Comptroller of Public
Accounts v. Attorney General of Texas, 354 S.W.3d
336 (Tex.2010).

— See Paxton v. City of Dallas, No. 03-13-00546-CV. 2015
WL 3394061 (Tex. App.-Austin May 22, 2015, pet.
denied).
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OPEN RECORDS REQUEST

e |f you would like to view or get copies of our
records, you must send a written request by
email or fax to David Wheelus, Public Information
Coordinator, at OpenRecords@tdi.texas.gov or
512-490-1021.

* You may also submit a request by mail to David
Wheelus, Public Information Coordinator, Texas
Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 149104, Mail

Code 110-1C, Austin, Texas 78714-9104; or in
person at 333 Guadalupe, Austin, Texas 78701.



mailto:OpenRecords@tdi.texas.gov
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