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Memorandum 

To: Texas Workers’ Compensation System Participants 

From: Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation 

Date:  March 1, 2013 

Subject:  Process for Appealing a Medical Fee Dispute Decision for Disputes Filed on or 
After June 1, 2012 

If a party disagrees with a medical fee dispute decision issued for a dispute filed on or after 
June 1, 2012, the party may file an appeal with the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of 
Workers’ Compensation (TDI-DWC) in accordance with 28 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) 
§133.307. 

Under 28 TAC §133.307(g), a party appealing a medical fee dispute decision must request a 
benefit review conference no later than 20 days from the date the decision is received by the 
party [See 28 TAC §141.1, regarding Requesting and Setting a Benefit Review Conference]. 
The decision is final if a request for the benefit review conference is not timely made to the TDI-
DWC. 

If the medical fee dispute remains unresolved after a benefit review conference is held, a party 
may elect to resolve the dispute through binding arbitration, or a party may appeal the medical 
fee dispute decision by requesting a contested case hearing before the State Office of 
Administrative Hearings (SOAH). 

To request a contested case hearing before SOAH, a party shall file a written request with the 
TDI-DWC's Chief Clerk of Proceedings not later than 20 days after conclusion of the benefit 
review conference. 

Please note the non-prevailing party to a dispute must reimburse the TDI-DWC for the costs for 
services provided by the SOAH and any interest required by law as provided by that in Texas 
Labor Code §413.0312 and 28 TAC §133.307(h). For additional information on SOAH costs, 
visit the TDI website at http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/mfdr/documents/soahmfdcchcosts.pdf. 

Additional information on medical fee dispute resolution can be found on the TDI website at 
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/mfdr/index.html. 

For further information, contact CompConnection for Health Care Providers at 1-800-372-7713, 
option 3. 


