
 

 

memo 
 

To:  Texas Employers 

From: Teresa Carney, Director, System Monitoring & Oversight 

Date: February 1, 2016 

RE: Grace Period for Non-subscriber Reporting 

 

The Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) is providing a grace 
period for employers without workers’ compensation insurance coverage or that terminated their 
coverage (non-subscribers) to report their non-coverage status to DWC without penalty. This grace 
period also extends to non-subscribers with five or more employees that have not previously 
reported on-the-job injuries, illnesses, and fatalities to DWC. Historically, non-subscriber reporting 
rates are low, and DWC is offering this grace period to increase compliance with required state 
reporting.  
 
This grace period allows non-subscribers that have not previously reported their non-coverage status, 
to submit the DWC Form-005, Employer Notice of No Coverage or Termination of Coverage (DWC 
Form-005), without an administrative penalty during the February 1, 2016, through April 30, 2016, 
reporting period. Additionally, this grace period also allows non-subscribers with five or more 
employees that have not previously reported their injuries, illnesses, and fatalities, to submit the 
DWC Form-007, Employer’s Report of Non-Covered Employee’s Occupational Injury or Disease (DWC 
Form-007) without an administrative penalty for injuries, illnesses, and fatalities occurring on or after 
May 1, 2016.  
 
By law, non-subscribers must annually notify DWC of their decision not to obtain workers’ 
compensation insurance coverage by submitting the DWC Form-005 and must also report each on-
the-job injury, occupational illness, or fatality resulting in more than one day of lost time to DWC by 
filing DWC Form-007. Nonsubscribers that fail to comply with state requirements are subject to 
administrative penalties.    
 
Non-subscribers can file the DWC Form-005 with DWC online, by fax, or by mail. The DWC Form-007 
may be filed by fax or by mail. 
 
 Non-subscriber Reporting Requirements 
 
A non-subscriber must file the DWC Form-005, Employer Notice of No Coverage or Termination of 
Coverage to DWC: 

 between February 1 and April 30 each year; 

 within 30 days of hiring its first employee; or 

 within 10 days of DWC’s request. 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/dwc/dwc005nocov.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/dwc/dwc005nocov.pdf


 

 

Non-subscribers with five or more employees must report each fatality, occupational disease, and on-
the-job injury that results in more than one day of lost time to the DWC. Non-subscribers must submit 
the DWC Form-007, Employer’s Report of Non-Covered Employee’s Occupational Injury or Disease to 
the DWC within the seventh day of the month following the month in which: 

 the death occurred; 

 the employee was absent from work for more than one day as a result of the on-the-job 
injury; or 

 the employer acquired knowledge of the occupational disease.  
 

Additional information on non-subscriber reporting requirements is available on the TDI website at 
www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/employer/index.html.  
 

 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/dwc/dwc007injnc.pdf
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/employer/index.html

