Skip to Top Main Navigation Skip to Content Area Skip to Footer
Texas Department of Insurance
Topics:   A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z All
Coronavirus resource page

Go to DWC’s coronavirus resource page to learn more information about COVID-19 and its impact on the workers’ compensation system.

Capitol Complex
DWC headquarters moving

DWC headquarters will move from its current location to the Capitol Complex in the summer of 2022. This bulletin has details about the move. You can check here for updates.

Uvalde help

For workers’ compensation questions concerning the Uvalde event, visit our staff at Family Assistance Center (Uvalde County Fairplex, 215 Veterans Lane) or call us at 800-252-7031, option 1. See our online resources.

News and highlights

DWC uncovers $9 million dollar fraud scheme

On August 2, Francis Hall, the former co-owner of Bill Hall Jr. Trucking turned herself into Bexar County authorities. There had been a warrant out for Hall’s arrest since June 30 of this year when a Travis County grand jury indicted her for workers' compensation fraud. DWC fraud investigators allege that from 2009 to 2016 Hall provided false payroll information to Texas Mutual Insurance Company and concealed payroll reports to avoid more than $9 million in premium payments.

Information for Claims EDI billing

DWC adopted the Texas claim electronic data interchange (EDI) release 3.1.4 standard on March 9, 2022. DWC’s designated data collection agent will now bill insurance carriers, other than governmental entities, to recover the costs associated with collecting claim data for DWC.

DWC adopts revisions to wage statement forms

DWC has adopted revisions on three forms: DWC Form-003, Employer’s Wage Statement; DWC Form-003ME, Employee’s Multiple Employment Wage Statement; and DWC Form-003SD, Employer’s Wage Statement for School Districts. These forms allow stakeholders a way to provide information to the insurance carrier to calculate average weekly wage and issue income benefits.

Two Texas companies earn safety awards

The Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) renewed two Texas companies’ Lone Star Safety Awards for their exemplary workplace safety programs and low rates of work-related injuries and illnesses. The companies include Pond and Company in Pasadena and Southern Plastics, Inc. in Kilgore.

2023 Health Care Provider PBO Assessment Methodology

DWC is required by law to monitor compliance with the Labor Code and agency rules through the performance-based oversight (PBO) assessment process. DWC will evaluate health care providers in the 2023 PBO assessment. Health care providers will be placed into three regulatory tiers: poor, average, and high performers. DWC will focus its regulatory oversight on poor performers.

Notice of data security event

TDI notified people whose workers’ compensation claim information may have been affected by a recent data security event. Those who may have been affected can get 12 months of credit monitoring and identity theft protection services at no cost by calling 855-248-7100 by September 30. Learn more

The nation’s best care and services for injured employees and their employers.

Regulate Texas workers’ compensation efficiently, educate system participants, and achieve a balanced system in which everyone is treated fairly with dignity and respect.