What agents should know about continuing ed

Continuing education is required to keep your insurance license in good standing. It also keeps you informed and helps you better serve Texas consumers.
Agents studying

1 How much, how often?

Most licenses require 24 hours of continuing education every two years. Limited lines, county mutual, and small value life insurance agents need 10 hours every two years.

  • Some license types require specific topics to be included.
  • Two hours must be ethics-related.
  • At least half of the hours must take place in a classroom.

2 Check your status

Visit our online resource to get a copy of your CE transcript, look up approved courses, and check your licensing renewal status.

3 Avoid fines

Satisfy your continuing education requirements by the due date to avoid fines. The fine is $50 for each hour not completed on time. If the hours aren’t completed and the fine paid within 90 days of a license’s expiration date, the license will be inactivated, and the license holder will have to apply for a new license.

4 Your state rules

If you have a nonresident license, you are subject to the continuing education requirements of your home state. You don’t need to report these hours to TDI unless you have a Texas Designated Home State (DHS) adjuster license.

5 Not using your license?

To keep your license active, you must continue to meet the continuing education requirement. That obligation exists no matter how you use your license, or if you use it at all. If you leave the insurance industry, you can surrender your license. That way you won’t have to complete old continuing education requirements if you reapply for a license later.

Questions? Email CE@tdi.texas.gov.

 

 

For more tips like these:

Like TDI on Facebook      Follow TDI on Twitter      Sign up for email updates      Subscribe to TDI's YouTube Channel



For more information, contact:

Last updated: 03/09/2017

Contact Information and Other Helpful Links