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December 30, 2014

The Honorable Rick Perry, Governor
The Honorable David Dewhurst, Lieutenant Governor
The Honorable Joe Straus, Speaker of the House

Dear Governors and Speaker:

In accordance with Texas Insurance Code, Section 32.002, I am pleased to submit the biennial report of the Texas 
Department of Insurance (TDI). As required by law, the report summarizes needed changes in the laws relating to 
regulation of the insurance industry.

The changes requested in TDI’s biennial report to the 84th Texas Legislature cover a vast spectrum of insurance 
issues in Texas, including fraud prevention, consumer protection, financial solvency, and accounting methods. The 
recommendations also seek to address the significant growth in the Texas insurance market and the increased 
demand for TDI’s services. Over the last two years, the Texas insurance market grew by 18 percent as a result of 
a growing economy and population, pushing it from the world's 12th largest insurance market in 2011 to the 10th 
largest in 2013. This economic and population boom provides numerous benefits to the state and its residents, but 
also creates regulatory challenges for TDI. The recommendations in this report seek to address those challenges in a 
manner that allows for effective regulation without inhibiting the growth and vibrancy of the Texas insurance market.

The report also highlights additional funding requests submitted in TDI’s Legislative Appropriations Request (LAR) 
for the 2016-17 biennium. In the LAR, TDI submitted exceptional item requests for a 3 percent increase in agency 
funding, a modest request compared to the 18 percent increase in the industry TDI regulates.

In addition to the items mentioned above, TDI is seeking limited supplemental appropriation authority to spend 
funds it already holds. Last session, the Legislature directed funds from the Texas Health Insurance Pool to the 
Healthy Texas Program, a program required under Chapter 1508, in which TDI contracted with carriers to expand 
small employer health insurance coverage in Texas. The legislation, however, did not provide appropriation authority 
for those funds. Therefore, TDI was directed to spend approximately $5.3 million for specific obligations, but did 
not have the authority to access the account that holds those funds. In order to avoid defaulting on its contractual 
obligations to the Healthy Texas carriers, TDI reallocated funds from across the agency that were intended for other 
purposes, and to date, has paid $1.7 million of the $5.3 million due. Accordingly, TDI is asking for authority to spend 
the existing funds for the purpose for which they were intended.

Thank you for the opportunity to provide this information and for your consideration of this report. Please contact 
me or Melissa Hamilton, Director of Government Relations, at (512) 676-6605 with any questions or if you need 
additional information.

Sincerely,

Texas Department of Insurance | 333 Guadalupe | Austin, Texas 78701 | (800) 578-4677 | www.tdi.texas.gov | @TexasTDI

Julia Rathgeber
Commissioner of Insurance 
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section one: introduction

The Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) biennial report is submitted in accordance with Texas Insurance Code 
Section 32.022, and summarizes recommended legislative changes relating to Texas insurance industry regulation.

Working Together to Protect Consumers and Promote Competition
In preparing this report to the 84th Texas Legislature, agency staff solicited input from a large number of 
stakeholder groups to ensure an open and collaborative process while developing legislative recommendations. 
The goal was to develop a set of consensus recommendations that align with the agency’s mission to protect 
insurance consumers by regulating the industry fairly and diligently, promoting a stable and competitive market, 
and providing information that makes a difference.

Texas as a Global Market: Top 10 and Growing
The U.S. insurance market is the largest in the world with nearly $1.8 trillion in premium value and a 34.6 percent 
market share, and Texas, with $127.2 billion in premium value, boasts the world’s 10th largest insurance market. 
Over the last two years, Texas’ insurance market grew by 18 percent as a result of a growing economy and 
population, pushing it from the 12th largest insurance market in 2011 to the 10th largest market at the end of 
2013.

Figure 1: 2013 Global Insurance Ratings by Premium Volume, in Millions of U.S. Dollars

2013 Premium Volume - Worldwide 2013 Premium Volume - Worldwide (with U.S. States)

Rank Country Premium 
Volume

Percent of 
Market Rank Jurisdiction Premium 

Volume
Percent of 

Market

1 United States $� 1,786,753 � 34.57 1 Japan $� 531,506 � 10.28
2 Japan � 531,506 � 10.28 2 United Kingdom � 329,643 � 6.38
3 United Kingdom � 329,643 � 6.38 3 China � 277,965 � 5.38
4 China � 277,965 � 5.38 4 France � 254,754 � 4.93
5 France � 254,754 � 4.93 5 Germany � 247,162 � 4.78
6 Germany � 247,162 � 4.78 6 California � 240,978 � 4.66
7 Italy � 168,554 � 3.26 7 Italy � 168,554 � 3.26
8 South Korea � 145,427 � 2.81 8 South Korea � 145,427 � 2.81
9 Canada � 125,344 � 2.43 9 New York � 135,297 � 2.62
10 The Netherlands � 101,140 � 1.96 10 Texas � 127,173 � 2.46

Source: NAIC Financial Data Repository, NAIC IID Filings, U.S. residual market mechanisms, health insurers or captives not filing 
to FDR, and SwissRe Sigma No. 3/2013 for the remainder. (Note: U.S. state totals do not include deposit-type contract funds.) 
www.naic.org/documents/cipr_stats_top_50_worldwide_insurance_markets.pdf
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Growing Pains and Opportunities
While the economic and population boom is good for Texas and its insurance market, the substantial and rapid 
market growth impacts TDI’s ability to provide certain core regulatory services. In particular, the agency has faced 
a significant increase in agent license applications, consumer complaints, and suspected insurance fraud reports. 
This report includes several legislative recommendations to help address the increased demand for these, and 
other, services.

TDI also included exceptional items in its fiscal year (FY) 2016-17 Legislative Appropriations Request (LAR) to 
address the strain placed on the agency from the increased demand and improve the agency’s ability to serve the 
people of Texas.

It is important to note that none of the following exceptional items adversely impact the state’s general revenue 
(GR) because of the self-leveling nature of TDI’s funding. While insurers pay premium taxes, which are deposited 
into the state’s GR Fund, TDI receives very little funding from GR. TDI is primarily funded by a maintenance tax 
paid by the insurance industry. As a result, the insurance industry would ultimately fund these requests via the 
maintenance tax.

Increased Demand for TDI Services
TDI requested $4.6 million and an additional 28 full-time equivalent (FTE) employees for the biennium to help 
address the increased demand for information technology, consumer protection, agent and adjuster licensing, 
state fire marshal’s office services, and fraud investigations. TDI has analyzed its needs and believes the 
additional FTEs and operational expenses in these areas reflect the agency’s critical staffing needs.

Regulatory Response Rider
The regulatory response rider is contingent upon a disaster or insurance crisis, and allows TDI the flexibility 
to add up to $2.2 million and 40 FTEs. TDI has not used this rider in the past and would only use this rider to 
respond to a critical need.

Data Center Services
TDI worked closely with the Texas Department of Information Resources (DIR) to project expenditures for data 
center services. The agency’s LAR contains an exceptional item to increase the Data Center Services capital 
budget project by $1.9 million for the biennium.

Enhanced Cyber Security
DIR studied cyber security at state agencies and provided agencies with improvement recommendations. 
TDI has been working on these recommendations and is seeking $556,000 and one FTE for the biennium to 
implement additional recommendations.

As previously noted, the Texas insurance market grew 18 percent during the last biennium. The exceptional items 
above would increase TDI’s biennial budget and funded FTE positions by approximately 3 percent and 2 percent 
respectively.1 Therefore, TDI’s regulatory costs are growing at a slower rate than the industry it regulates. These 
additional funding requests do not change that, and will preserve the state’s pro-business climate for insurers, 
while also closing the gap between market growth and regulatory resources.

1	 These percentages exclude the Regulatory Response Rider, as it is a contingency rider.
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In addition, TDI is seeking limited supplemental appropriations authority to spend existing funds it already holds. 
Senate Bill (SB) 1367 of the 83rd Legislative Session directed funds from the Texas Health Insurance Pool to the 
Healthy Texas Program, a program required under Chapter 1508 of the Insurance Code in which TDI contracted 
with carriers to expand small employer health insurance coverage in Texas. TDI, however, did not receive 
appropriation authority for those funds. Therefore, TDI was directed to spend funds for specific obligations, which 
total approximately $5.3 million, but did not have the authority to access the account that holds those funds. 
In order to avoid defaulting on its contractual obligations to the Healthy Texas carriers, TDI reallocated funds 
from across the agency, and to date, has paid $1.7 million of the estimated $5.3 million due. TDI had intended 
to spend those funds for other purposes: agent licensing and consumer protection. TDI is seeking appropriation 
authority for the approximately $5.3 million in Healthy Texas payments, including a reimbursement to TDI of the 
approximately $1.7 million that TDI paid in September 2013.

The Federal Government’s Increased Interest in Regulating Insurance
State-based insurance regulation dates back to the mid-1800s, and a state’s authority to regulate insurance was 
codified by the McCarran Ferguson Act of 1945. The federal government, however, is showing renewed interest 
in regulating insurance. This interest is evidenced in many ways, such as the federal Affordable Care Act, as well 
as in reports issued by the new Federal Insurance Office (FIO) created by the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and 
Consumer Protection Act. A report issued in September 2014 by the FIO reflects the office’s intent to preempt the 
states’ authority to regulate reinsurance.

The federal versus state insurance regulation debate is a debate between a centralized approach versus a local, 
customized approach. TDI believes Texas policymakers are more responsive and better attuned to issues and 
concerns raised by Texans. This report contains recommendations to maintain and strengthen Texas’ regulatory 
authority over insurance, including the implementation of an Own Risk Solvency Assessment requirement for 
insurers to create and use, a modernization of reinsurance accounting requirements, and changes to the method 
certain companies use to calculate their reserves. All of these recommendations improve market efficiency while 
mitigating the threat of potential federal preemption.

Stakeholder Input Project
Agency staff solicited extensive stakeholder input in developing the legislative recommendations in this report. 
TDI met with consumer advocates, industry trade associations, professional groups, and other stakeholders and 
invited each one to submit ideas on ways to improve the Texas regulatory framework. Agency staff followed up 
with individual stakeholders for more in-depth discussions about their suggestions. As a result, this report includes 
several recommendations received directly from stakeholders.
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Figure 2: TDI Functional Organizational Chart

TDI’s functional organization is illustrated below.
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biennial recommendations | agency-wide

Data Calls and Certain Required Reports
A data call is one of TDI’s commonly used information-gathering tools. A data call is a mandatory request to 
insurers for specific information with a timeline for completion. A good example of a data call is a survey TDI 
conducts following catastrophic losses, such as a hurricane, that requires insurers to submit information about the 
estimated amount of their insured losses.

Texas law mandates certain data calls, some of which are required to prepare reports, conduct hearings, monitor 
the insurance market, and fulfill information requests. Other data calls are not mandated by law but are part of 
the agency’s regulatory processes. An insurer’s failure to comply with a data call may result in sanctions by TDI.

Over time, some data calls used by TDI, whether required by law or developed as part of agency practice, have 
become outdated or duplicative and are no longer necessary to effectively regulate insurance. Unnecessary data 
calls result in inefficiencies for TDI and the insurance industry by consuming valuable time and resources.

Issue
TDI conducted an internal analysis and identified a number of data calls that can be eliminated, or required less 
frequently, without impacting the agency’s ability to effectively protect consumers or perform other core functions. 
It is important to note, however, that some of the data calls listed below relate to legislatively required reports. 
In an effort to be thorough, TDI included legislatively mandated reports and their accompanying data calls as part 
of the review, but the agency recognizes that the Legislature’s perspective is much broader than that of a state 
agency and understands that certain identified reports may have value and may need to be continued.

Recommendations
Repeal or amend data calls contained in the Insurance Code:

Repeal:
ÕÕ Section 32.0221: Requires TDI to prepare a one-time report related to copayments of oral and intravenous 
chemotherapies. TDI delivered the report to the Legislature in 2010.

ÕÕ Chapter 38, Subchapter C: Requires a data call for information pertaining to HIV and AIDS coverage and an 
annual report.

ÕÕ Chapter 38, Subchapter D: Requires a data call and on closed claims and an annual report.
ÕÕ Chapter 38, Subchapter I: Requires an annual data call for aggregate personal automobile insurance and 
residential property insurance claims information.

ÕÕ Section 425.107: Requires a data call for certain Texas life insurers to report investment information and 
requires TDI to prepare the Community Investment Report for the Legislature each even-numbered year.

ÕÕ Section 542.006(c): Requires a data call for grievance information and requires TDI to prepare a statistical 
report. 

ÕÕ Section 1501.056(c): Requires health insurance cooperatives and coalitions to file an annual Statement of 
Amounts Collected and Expenses Incurred.

ÕÕ Section 1501.101(a): Requires health insurance geographic service areas to be filed with TDI.
ÕÕ Section 4201.204(c): Requires a data call for utilization review agents to submit summary reports of all 
complaints.
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Amend
ÕÕ Section 2053.056: Requires a data call for workers’ compensation and employers’ liability rate filings for a 
public rate hearing. The recommended amendment would change the mandatory data call requirement to 
be required at the commissioner’s discretion. (Page 28 of this report provides a related recommendation that 
would change a mandatory biennial hearing requirement to be required at the commissioner’s discretion.)

ÕÕ Section 2251.008: Requires a quarterly data call for changes in losses, premiums, and market share and 
requires TDI to prepare a Quarterly Market Condition Report for the Legislature. TDI recommends changing 
this section to require an annual data call and report rather than quarterly.

ÕÕ Section 2251.101: TDI recommends removing the requirement for commercial lines to report disallowed 
expenses.

Additional conforming amendments would be required to implement the changes summarized above.
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biennial recommendations | compliance division

Commercial Group Property Insurance
Chapter 2171 of the Texas Insurance Code authorizes insurers to write commercial group property insurance for a 
group of businesses or an association that constitutes a “large risk.” A “large risk” is defined in the Insurance Code. 
The Insurance Code does not, however, require these groups and associations to register with TDI, so the agency 
cannot easily confirm if a group or association complies with the requirements in Chapter 2171.

Commercial group property insurance policies include both a “per-occurrence” limit and “an annual aggregate” 
limit. The per-occurrence limit is the maximum amount the insurer pays for a single loss event. Once that limit 
is reached, the insurer is not required to pay additional claims related to that loss event, even if some members’ 
claims go unpaid. The annual aggregate limit is the maximum amount the insurer will pay during the entire policy 
period for all claims related to all loss events. Once that amount has been reached, the insurer is not required to 
pay any additional claims. Chapter 2171 of the code, however, does not require insurers to provide a copy of the 
policy or a certificate of coverage to each member, or to otherwise inform each individual member of these limits.

In addition, the group’s total insured property values may exceed the available coverage limits provided under the 
insurance policy. For example, if a single event, such as a hailstorm or hurricane, damages several properties in 
a group, the per-occurrence limit may not be enough to cover all of the damaged properties. Likewise, damages 
paid for a single event also reduce the policy’s aggregate limits, so multiple events and claims can quickly deplete 
coverage. In particular, when many of the insured properties are concentrated in an area prone to catastrophes, 
and are damaged by the same loss event, or events, some members’ claims may not be paid if the total damage 
exceeds these limits. Accordingly, some members, and their lenders, may not have the full extent of insurance 
coverage they believe has been purchased.

Moreover, the Insurance Code does not define an insurer in the commercial group property context. Determining 
which insurers are subject to Chapter 2171 is important because different insurers have different regulatory 
requirements. For example, surplus lines insurers are typically exempt from rate and form filings that admitted 
insurers must make with TDI, unless they are made expressly subject to a chapter of the Insurance Code.

Issues
In some cases, an agent sells commercial group property insurance to multiple apartment complexes or 
condominium associations. The agent creates a corporation, or what is statutorily known in some states as a 
“fictitious group,” created solely for the purpose of buying commercial group property insurance. This fictitious 
group is the insured named on a surplus lines policy. Each apartment complex or condominium association is 
added to the group as an additional member, but is not individually named on the policy. Since Chapter 2171 does 
not require insurers to provide a copy of the policy or certificate of coverage to each member, the members and 
their lenders may not be aware of the policy’s limitations. TDI also has limited knowledge about these fictitious 
groups and therefore, cannot provide adequate consumer protections to the members.

Recommendation
Allow TDI to better protect Texas consumers by amending Chapter 2171 of the Texas Insurance Code to:

ÕÕ prohibit fictitious groups;
ÕÕ require groups and associations to register with TDI;
ÕÕ require that each group or association member receive a copy of the certificate of coverage and policy;
ÕÕ require that each group or association member and lender receive disclosures for each policy’s limits, along 
with the total insured property values and the total number of properties insured under the policy;

ÕÕ require updated disclosures each time the ratio of total insured values to policy limits is increased to the 
group’s or association members’ disadvantage;

ÕÕ clarify whether Chapter 2171 applies to surplus lines insurers; and
ÕÕ provide TDI with express rulemaking authority to facilitate effective enforcement.
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Fraud Prevention Education Grants
Insurance fraud is a multi-billion dollar problem in the U.S., and the costs of fraud are borne by policyholders 
through premium increases. According to the FBI, the total cost of non-health related insurance fraud is estimated 
to be over $40 billion per year, costing the average U.S. family between $400 and $700 per year in increased 
premiums.

The Texas Legislature created Chapter 701 of the Texas Insurance Code to address insurance fraud and identity 
theft. The Fraud Unit is a law enforcement entity established under this chapter and housed at TDI to protect 
Texans from insurance fraud. The Fraud Unit consists of 28 investigators, including 26 commissioned peace officers. 
The investigators are divided into three sections that investigate (i) consumer and provider fraud, (ii) insurer fraud, 
and (iii) workers’ compensation fraud. TDI’s Fraud Unit investigates criminal cases throughout the state and when 
necessary, refers cases to district and county attorneys for prosecution. Additionally, the Fraud Unit employs three 
attorneys that serve as assistant district attorneys in the Bexar, Dallas, and Harris counties’ district attorney offices.

Over the past three years, the TDI Fraud Unit has helped secure millions of dollars in restitution for insurance fraud 
victims in Texas. In FY 2014, the Fraud Unit referred 188 criminal cases for prosecution, including over $9 million in 
alleged fraudulent criminal activity, and as a result of their investigative and prosecutorial efforts, courts ordered 
more than $24 million in restitution to be repaid to victims.

Despite these successes, insurance fraud continues to grow at an alarming rate. In FY 2014, TDI’s Fraud Unit opened 
728 cases, resulting in 858 active investigations, a 55 percent increase from three years ago.

There is good news, though. Education and improvements in technology have proven to be effective tools in 
combating insurance fraud. Public education about insurance fraud helps Texans identify fraud and protect 
themselves from becoming victims. Similarly, improvements in crime-fighting technology help TDI’s Fraud Unit 
and local law officials detect and investigate fraudulent insurance activity and take appropriate action quickly.

Issue
Although the TDI Fraud Unit has been successful, the growth of insurance fraud has created a situation in which the 
funding available to combat fraud has not kept pace with the fraudulent activity in the state. TDI’s LAR requested 
additional Fraud Unit funding as one method for addressing this trend, but TDI is also looking for other sources of 
revenue to complement that request. Grants are one possible source of additional funding.

Texas law, however, does not currently permit the Fraud Unit to seek or accept grant funds. If the Fraud Unit is 
given authority by the Legislature to accept grants, the unit can better meet its statutory obligations. With these 
additional resources, the Fraud Unit can also obtain better crime-fighting technologies and enhance its annual 
educational conference. The funds will additionally support the Fraud Unit’s other educational goals, improve 
prevention and deterrence of fraudulent crimes, and promote public awareness about insurance crimes in Texas.

Recommendation
Add a provision to Texas Insurance Code, Chapter 701 authorizing the TDI Fraud Unit to seek and accept grants. 
The new provision would prohibit receiving grants from the insurance industry.
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Fraud Attorneys and Investigations
Chapter 701 of the Texas Insurance Code gives TDI authority to investigate insurance fraud and aid in enforcing 
laws related to fraudulent insurance acts. Under Section 701.101, the TDI Fraud Unit helps enforce insurance fraud 
laws by investigating complaints and providing assistance to governmental agencies prosecuting laws related to 
fraudulent insurance acts. Section 701.102, however, includes an outdated reference to investigate the offense of 
fraud under Penal Code Section 35.02(a). Penal Code Section 35.02 was amended in 2005 to reflect the increasingly 
sophisticated and complex fraudulent insurance activity, but the Insurance Code has not been updated and many 
times offenses are investigated and prosecuted under other sections of the Penal Code.

While TDI does not need the Penal Code reference to investigate fraudulent insurance acts, the specific reference 
to Subsection 35.02(a) creates an inconsistency between the Insurance Code and the Penal Code and requires 
amendments to two statutes for any future legislation.

Issue
TDI is authorized to investigate and aid in enforcing laws for all fraudulent insurance acts under the Insurance Code. 
Accordingly, the reference to the outdated Penal Code provision in Section 701.102 is unnecessary. Additionally, 
due to the specialized nature of insurance fraud investigation and criminal prosecution, Section 701.102 needs to 
reflect the technical and legal assistance provided throughout the investigative and prosecutorial processes.

Recommendation
Amend Insurance Code, Section 701.102 to remove the reference to Penal Code Section 35.02(a) and amend 
Subparagraph (2) to include providing technical or litigation assistance to governmental agencies.
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biennial recommendations | division of workers' compensation

Burial Reimbursement Benefits
- A Division of Workers’ Compensation Recommendation
The Texas Workers’ Compensation Act provides for various types of indemnity benefits payable to injured 
employees and their beneficiaries in the case of a compensable occupational injury, illness, or death. One of these 
types of indemnity benefits, burial benefits, is designed to compensate the person who pays for the burial costs 
for the deceased employee.

Currently, the statute allows for burial expense compensation up to $6,000 per workers’ compensation claim, or 
the actual costs incurred for reasonable burial expenses, whichever is less. This burial benefit has not increased 
since the passage of House Bill 2510, 76th Legislature, Regular Session, and effective September 1, 1999, when the 
burial benefit increased from $2,500 to $6,000.

Issue
According to the National Funeral Directors Association the national median cost of an adult funeral in 2012 was 
$8,343 (most current data available). This cost estimate does not take into account crematory fees, cemetery, 
obituaries, and monument or marker costs. Over the past decade, the median cost of an adult funeral in the 
United States has increased approximately 35.2 percent.2

As a result, current compensation of burial benefits have not kept up with increased costs associated with burial 
expenses in today’s market, which places undue economic pressure on family and friends of deceased employees 
to make certain burial decisions in order to stay within the burial benefit amount designated by statute, or to pay 
the remaining burial expenses out of their own pocket.

Twenty-nine states currently provide burial benefits in amounts that exceed $6,000 and sixteen states currently 
provide at least $10,000 or more in burial benefits in the case of a compensable death.3

Recommendation
Amend Section 408.186(a), Texas Labor Code to increase the maximum reimbursement for burial benefits payable 
under the Workers’ Compensation Act from $6,000 to $10,000.

2	 National Funeral Directors Association, Funeral Service Trends and Statistics, (April 12, 2013) available at www.nfda.org/about-funeral-
service-/trends-and-statistics.html.

3	 Workers’ Compensation Research Institute and International Association of Industrial Accident Boards and Commissions, Workers’ 
Compensation Laws as of January 1, 2014, available at www.crinet.org/studies/public/books/wclaws_2014_book.html.
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Small Employer Safety Program
- A Division of Workers’ Compensation Recommendation
Section 402.021 of the Texas Labor Code outlines the legislative intent for the Texas workers’ compensation system 
and includes, as part of that intent, that the workers’ compensation system “must promote safe and healthy 
workplaces through appropriate incentives, education, and other actions.” The best possible outcome for Texas 
employers and employees is to prevent unnecessary workplace injuries and illnesses, and to “reduce, and to every 
reasonable extent, eliminate the causes of loss of production, reduction of work hours, temporary and permanent 
incapacity of workers, and increases in certain insurance rates.”4

As part of its statutory duty to administer the workers’ compensation system, the Division of Workers’ Compensation 
(DWC) provides numerous free safety resources for Texas employers, including customized onsite workplace safety 
and health training; the Occupational Safety and Health Consultation (OSHCON) Program, an extensive library 
of safety publications and safety DVDs for employer use; the US Department of Labor’s Occupational Safety and 
Health Administration (OSHA) 10-hour construction classes; and safety and health newsletters. DWC also hosts 
an annual safety and health conference for Texas employers, which focuses on accident prevention issues such 
as transportation safety, workplace violence prevention, effective safety management processes, and regulatory 
compliance.

Building on the existing safety resources for Texas employers, DWC has recently expanded its efforts to promote 
workplace safety and health issues. These efforts include publicly recognizing employers with exemplary safety 
programs who qualify for the DWC Peer Review Safety award and the DWC OSHCON Safety and Health Recognition 
Program (SHARP) awards. Additionally, DWC is focusing more attention on transportation safety issues through 
industry roundtables and educational outreach, because transportation incidents remain the leading cause of 
workplace fatalities in Texas.

Issue
While Texas has consistently seen lower non-fatal occupational injury and illness rates compared to the national 
average for years, Texas has a higher number of workplace fatalities than most states, primarily due to the size 
of the state and the state’s industry mix. Generally speaking, small employers (i.e. employers with fewer than 
50 employees) often do not have the resources available to purchase necessary safety equipment or provide 
additional safety training to reduce or eliminate workplace hazards. As a result, these smaller employers are at a 
disadvantage compared to larger employers who can employ risk management or loss control personnel for this 
purpose.

Although DWC provides numerous safety resources to Texas employers, they also recognize that smaller employers 
and employers in high-risk industries could benefit from a safety reimbursement program, similar to an existing 
program for return-to-work issues under Section 413.022, Labor Code. Other states, including Wyoming, Ohio, 
Minnesota, and Washington offer similar employer safety reimbursement programs to their employers.

Recommendation
Amend Chapter 411 of the Labor code to add a new Section 411.111 to establish a pilot safety reimbursement 
program for small employers (i.e., employers with fewer than 50 employees) and employers in certain high-risk 
industries through FY 2019. This program would provide reimbursements to employers with workers’ compensation 
coverage who incur allowable expenses to improve workplace safety (e.g., workplace modifications, purchase 
safety equipment, provide additional safety training). Reimbursements would be available on a first-come, first-
serve basis, up to a $100,000 per year. Individual employer reimbursements would not exceed $5,000 per year.

By December 1, 2018, DWC would include, as part of its biennial report to the Legislature, an analysis detailing 
the results of the program with a recommendation on whether the Legislature should continue the safety 
reimbursement program beyond FY 2019 in its biennial report.

4	 Texas Labor Code, Section 411.101
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Agent and Adjuster Licensing
TDI processes requests for 23 individual insurance licenses and 22 business entity licenses. Over the last decade, 
the agency experienced an unprecedented 60 percent increase in insurance agent and adjuster license requests, 
as shown in Figure 3 below.

Figure 3: Total Filings Processed, FY 2004-2014
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Issues
The increased demand for agent and adjuster licenses in Texas, and the greater complexity of certain filings, 
has strained agency resources and its ability to deliver licensing services in a timely manner, while providing 
quality customer service. As part of TDI’s continual efforts to improve the agency’s procedures and processes, 
TDI recognized that licensing activities required more attention than in previous years and sought to address 
deficiencies in the system.

After a thorough review, TDI identified three changes needed in order for the agency to provide timely and accurate 
licensing services and quality customer service: (i) improve existing staff levels, processes, and procedures; (ii) 
increase funding; and (iii) change laws regarding agent and adjuster licensing.

TDI addressed the first item in 2014 by devoting additional staff and resources to agent licensing, and by implementing 
improved processes and procedures. While these changes decreased the amount of time applicants had to wait 
between submitting their applications and receiving their licenses, TDI realized that for meaningful, long-term 
improvements, the agency would need both additional funding, which has been submitted to the Legislature for 
its consideration in the agency’s LAR, and changes to the laws governing agent and adjuster licensing in the state.



bi
en

ni
al

 re
co

m
m

en
da

tio
ns

 |
 fi

na
nc

ia
l r

eg
ul

ati
on

 d
iv

isi
on

18

Texas Department of Insurance 2014 Biennial Report to the Legislature�

Recommendations
Amend the Insurance Code to implement the following agent and adjuster licensing requirements:

Align Agent and Adjuster License Renewal Dates
It is common for an agent or adjuster to hold several different licenses, and many times each license has a 
different renewal date. The different renewal dates make it difficult for licensees to keep all of their licenses 
current and to comply with continuing education (CE) requirements. Aligning individual license renewal dates 
for the same date every two years removes an unnecessary regulatory burden on Texas agents and adjusters, 
as well as the insurers and agencies who employ them. It would also simplify fees and CE requirements for 
subsequent new licenses.

Align CE Requirements for License Renewal with National Standards
Texas currently requires resident insurance agents to complete 30 CE hours every two years. The majority 
of states, however, only require resident agents to complete 24 CE hours, which is the standard set by state 
insurance commissioners through the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). This means 
Texas’ resident agents bear a greater regulatory burden than agents in other states.

By reducing the required CE hours, TDI aligns its CE requirements with the majority of the country. With this 
modification, Texas resident agents will have the same renewal requirements as nonresident agents operating 
in Texas, creating a level playing field for all agents that compete in Texas.

Modify the CE Noncompliance Penalty
Current law requires agents to pay a $50 fine for each uncompleted CE hour, but they are not required to 
make up the deficient hours. Fines for failure to complete CE requirements can reach as much as $1,500, 
an insurmountable fine for some agents. Moreover, the lack of a requirement to make up deficient hours 
means that certain agents do not have the training they need to ensure adequate consumer protection. TDI 
recommends limiting the maximum fine to $500 while also requiring agents to complete all deficient hours 
within a grace period or risk license revocation. This change will allow TDI to streamline its CE enforcement and 
ensure that appropriately trained agents are serving Texas consumers.

Make Temporary License Requirements More Flexible
In addition to traditional licenses, TDI issues temporary licenses to agents who have not yet passed the exam 
required for their permanent licenses. Temporary licenses provide an expedited method for agent applicants 
to begin working as agents under the supervision of license holders while preparing for their exam. Temporary 
license authority can be used within eight days after an applicant submits an application for a temporary license 
to TDI and is good for 90 days. Temporary license holders are limited to marketing the products of the sponsor.

To qualify for a temporary license, an applicant must submit an application; a nonrefundable filing fee; and 
a certification from a sponsoring agent, insurer, or HMO indicating they are being considered for full-time 
agent appointment, that the sponsor supports issuing a temporary license, and that the applicant will complete 
required training under the sponsor’s supervision. Training includes 40 hours of instruction not later than 14 
days after the day the temporary license application is sent to TDI.

Sponsors willing to vouch for a temporary licensee must (i) ensure that at least 70 percent of their temporary 
appointees take the licensing examination and at least 50 percent of those pass, and (ii) may not appoint more 
than 500 temporary license holders in a calendar year.

The one-size-fits-all temporary license requirements have become outdated and no longer reflect the realities 
of today’s insurance market. By raising or revising the 500 temporary license holders per company cap, TDI can 
better address the complexities of the insurance market.
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Allow TDI to Authorize Provisional Work Authority
As mentioned above, Texas law sets forth temporary license requirements. The current temporary license 
provisions, however, do not work well for certain license types. TDI recommends creating a new provisional 
work authority for certain license types to provide short-term authority to act as an agent until an applicant 
receives their permanent license.

Provisional work authority would allow certain segments of the insurance industry to respond quickly to 
emerging market trends by authorizing applicants to act as agents using a process similar to what has been 
established for temporary licenses. TDI recommends adding a provision to the Texas Insurance Code to allow 
the agency to recognize provisional work authority for certain types of agents waiting for their permanent 
licenses.

Close the Nonresident Agent Relocation Loophole
Nonresident agents, or agents from other states, are not subject to background checks required for Texas 
resident agents. Background checks on agents, who handle customers’ monies and private financial information, 
are important for protecting Texas policyholders. Other states’ background checks are not as thorough as TDI’s 
process. Under the current framework, a nonresident agent can “game the system” by seeking a license in 
another state with less complete background requirements than Texas, and then, after acquiring that license, 
simply file an address change to become a Texas resident. To ensure TDI is aware of the backgrounds of all of 
its license holders, nonresidents seeking a resident license should be required to file an abbreviated application 
with fingerprints, allowing TDI to complete its background process. This process will also allow TDI to be 
informed of any potential criminal activity that occurs after the individual becomes a resident agent. Without 
processing the individual’s fingerprints, TDI would not be notified of any future criminal conduct automatically, 
which is the case for resident agents.

Issue a Single License to All Title Escrow Officers
Currently, all escrow officer licenses associated with a title agent renew when the title agent’s license renews, 
meaning that there is a spike in demand in certain months when large title agencies renew. It also results in 
certain escrow officers having multiple licenses. Switching to a single license system will create a consistent 
process for TDI, simplify the requirements for license holders, and spread the renewal workload more evenly 
throughout a year, making the license renewal process less burdensome for both licensees and TDI.
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Own Risk Solvency Assessment
TDI regulates insurance carriers and the relationships between insurance companies and their affiliates. The 
agency also strives to monitor the financial condition and risk profiles of holding company systems, which refers 
to a group of affiliated insurance carriers or other entities under common ownership or control. As an illustration, 
a single group of affiliates may be engaged in a variety of activities including insurance, banking, real estate, and 
securities. In fact, a holding company has become the most common business structure through which an entity 
owns an insurance company.

TDI monitors the financial condition and risk profiles of holding company systems because risks posed by 
noninsurance operations can potentially spread within a group and negatively impact the financial condition of 
affiliated insurance companies. For example, financial harm caused by a group’s banking, real estate, or securities 
activities may negatively impact the financial health of its affiliated insurers.

In response to lessons learned from the global financial crisis that started in 2008, insurance commissioners from 
each state adopted the Own Risk Solvency Assessment (ORSA) model act through the NAIC. An ORSA is an insurer's 
evaluation of the risks associated with their current business model and an assessment of its ability to cover 
those risks. Insurers then file an ORSA summary report with the state’s regulator since the regulator is tasked with 
monitoring the solvency of insurers writing in their state.

To date, 20 other states have enacted ORSA legislation based on the NAIC model act.

Issues
TDI lacks sufficient information about the financial risks faced by insurers and their noninsurance affiliates that may 
potentially result in financial harm to insurance policyholders in Texas. TDI similarly lacks sufficient information 
about the steps taken by holding company systems to mitigate those risks, such as capital allocation strategies. 
Since Texas law charges TDI with the responsibility of making sure insurers are solvent and able to both quickly 
and fully pay Texans’ claims, TDI wants to work with insurers via an ORSA to gain a better understanding of their 
financial condition and to help guard against potential financial hazards.

Moreover, if Texas does not adopt ORSA, insurance companies domiciled in Texas will find themselves subject 
to ORSA filing requirements in one or more other states, which means Texas-based insurers will be subject to 
additional filings and scrutiny from non-Texas regulators. Texas insurers can be sheltered from multiple filing 
requirements by enacting ORSA legislation in Texas.

Recommendation
Amend the Insurance Code by adding a new chapter based on the NAIC Risk Management and ORSA model act.

TDI recommends the model act to ensure uniformity and consistency in regulatory requirements from state to state, 
which is important for insurance carriers with multi-state operations. Adding a requirement for certain insurance 
carriers to file ORSA summary reports with TDI will also improve the agency’s understanding of large insurance 
carriers and their holding company systems, which will provide the agency with a group-level perspective on risk 
and capital. Most importantly, the ORSA summary reports will provide TDI with a vital tool for protecting Texas 
policyholders by allowing the agency to better evaluate the financial condition of the largest insurance companies 
and their ability to pay claims.

The recommended new chapter should:
ÕÕ require large insurers and insurance groups to maintain a risk management framework, regularly perform 
an ORSA, and file an annual ORSA summary report with the insurance commissioner, which should also be 
available upon request;

ÕÕ address the confidentiality of the ORSA summary report; and
ÕÕ provide an exemption from the requirements for smaller insurers and groups.
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Reinsurance Accounting Modernization
Individuals and businesses typically manage their risks by buying insurance and transferring certain liabilities to 
insurance companies. Similarly, insurance companies manage their risks by buying reinsurance5 and transferring 
certain liabilities to other insurance companies known as reinsurers.

TDI, like other state regulators across the country, enforce laws that require insurers to maintain a certain level of 
reserves to pay claims and related obligations arising from insurance policies. An insurer, however, may reduce the 
amount of reserves required by purchasing reinsurance. The amount of the reserve reduction allowed depends 
upon the amount of money the insurer can collect from the reinsurer. The amount the insurer can collect is 
determined by a reinsurance contract between the insurer and the reinsurer. The reserve-reduction is called 
“credit for reinsurance.”

The four types of reinsurers operating in Texas are those: (i) domiciled, or headquartered, in Texas or another 
state and licensed by TDI; (ii) domiciled in another state and accredited by TDI; (iii) domiciled outside the U.S. but 
meeting Texas Insurance Code requirements and having assets in a U.S. trust to cover their obligations (these are 
commonly referred to as “trusteed” reinsurers); and (iv) all other reinsurers. Texas law requires certain reinsurers to 
collateralize, or secure, their obligations. Reinsurers licensed or accredited by TDI do not have to provide collateral. 
Trusteed and all other reinsurers, however, must provide collateral to secure their financial obligations incurred in 
a reinsurance contract.

This system worked well at one time, but today, most reinsurers, including the majority of the world’s most 
prestigious and financially secure reinsurers, are located outside the U.S. This means some of the world’s most 
financially stable reinsurers must produce large amounts of capital as collateral, reducing the capital they have 
on hand to support additional insurance sales to consumers and/or to invest in the U.S. and other economies. At 
the same time, a financially weaker reinsurer may be exempt from the collateral requirements based solely on its 
licensing status and location.

Insurance commissioners from various states have sought to address this conundrum, and working together via 
the NAIC, the states’ commissioners developed a new model law to reduce unnecessary regulatory requirements 
that trap valuable capital from being utilized to the greatest extent possible. The new model, which has been 
adopted by 23 states, provides insurance commissioners with discretion to index, or set, the amount of required 
reinsurance collateral based on a reinsurer’s financial strength rating. In other words, commissioners can 
customize reinsurance requirements to reflect a reinsurer’s financial strength relative to their risk, instead of using 
an arbitrary, one-size-fits-all system.

Issues
Texas’ current regulatory framework does not take into account the financial stability of a reinsurer when 
determining the amount of collateral that must be posted by that reinsurer. Reinsurers not licensed or accredited 
in Texas must use capital to collateralize their reinsurance obligations. Because this capital is no longer available 
to support additional insurance sales and/or for other transactions and investments, reinsurers include these 
opportunity costs in the reinsurance premium they charge to Texas insurance companies. As a result, the costs 
of regulatory compliance are higher in Texas than in those states that have adopted the new model, and these 
costs are passed on to Texas consumers. Moreover, reinsurers will likely seek to do business in other states that 
have enacted the new model because of lower compliance costs. Not only does the current Texas law create these 
issues, the proposed change to the law will benefit Texans by ensuring that the collateral required to cover a risk 
accurately reflects the financial condition of the reinsurer and by making more capital available for additional 
insurance sales and for infusion into the state’s economy.

Finally, the new Federal Insurance Office created by the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection 
Act has stated its intent to preempt state’s authority to regulate reinsurance requirements because an insufficient 

5	 Reinsurance is essentially insurance for insurance companies. Insurance companies buy this protection from other insurers, who are 
called reinsurers.
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number of states have modernized their requirements. If Texas can craft its own version of reinsurance accounting 
modernization, it is likely the state can stave off federal preemption and implement a Texas-specific version of the 
modernized process to best meet the needs of Texans and Texas-based companies.

Recommendation
Amend the Texas Insurance Code by adopting the following changes:

ÕÕ provide the insurance commissioner with discretion to index the amount of required reinsurance collateral 
to a reinsurer’s financial strength rating;

ÕÕ provide for stronger communication between TDI and the domiciliary jurisdiction of “trusteed/certified 
reinsurers”;

ÕÕ provide financially strong reinsurers with the ability to more efficiently deploy their capital and provide more 
capacity to sell insurance; and

ÕÕ allow Texas-based insurers to negotiate the terms of reinsurance agreements, including acceptable collateral 
levels.
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Standard Valuation Law and Principle-Based Reserves
Life insurance companies must hold funds, known as reserves, to pay insurance policy benefits. The benefits 
represent the value of the insurance policy. Current Texas law requires companies to use a prescriptive formula, 
provided in the Standard Valuation Law, to calculate the reserves needed for life insurance policies. 

Innovations in life insurance products through the years have provided consumers with a greater variety of 
products tailored to meet their needs. This increase in available options, however, makes it difficult to calculate 
the associated reserves with simple formulas established years ago. Innovations in the life insurance market have 
also created a constant need for flexibility in the formulas used to calculate reserves.

In 2009, state insurance commissioners, via the NAIC, adopted a revised model Standard Valuation Law. The revised 
model introduced a new method for calculating life insurance policy reserves called principle-based reserves. 
Principle-based reserves are designed to allow a company’s reserves to be “right-sized” by reducing reserves that 
are too high for some products while increasing reserves that are too low for others. Principle-based reserves 
adapt easily to new requirements and evolving products and allow an insurer’s actuary to utilize professional 
judgment and historical experience to calculate reserves. These new reserve requirements are, however, subject 
to rigorous and ongoing oversight by insurance regulators to ensure accuracy and adequate consumer protection.

Principle-based reserves’ more flexible approach replaces the current formulaic approach to determining policy 
reserves with one more closely reflecting the risks of highly complex products. Similar to reinsurance accounting 
modernization, this issue is about removing outdated legal restrictions that result in higher compliance costs and 
trapped capital. The overarching objective is to account for changes in the market and ensure that the reserves 
required by law accurately reflect the risk being borne.

The revised model law would authorize the creation of a valuation manual that contains reserve requirements. The 
state insurance regulators at NAIC recommend the manual be effective once a minimum of 42 states, representing 
75 percent of the country’s premium, adopt the revisions. Once adopted, life insurance principle-based reserves 
will be implemented, and companies can then use principle-based reserves in any state they sell insurance.

An insurer will be subject to the principle-based reserves laws enacted by each state in which the company does 
business. Given the fact that 18 states have already adopted principle-based reserves, one state has legislation 
pending, and 19 to 25 states are expected to introduce legislation in 2015, it may be possible the U.S. will reach 
the premium threshold during 2015 to fully implement principle-based reserves in 2016. If Texas wants to craft its 
own principle-based reserves law and stay ahead of the market curve, the state needs to enact the appropriate 
legislation in a timely manner.

Issues
Archaic and prescriptive reserve requirements like those currently in law result in higher compliance costs and 
trapped capital, and fail to keep pace with the ever-evolving insurance market. The current system needs to be 
replaced with a system that more accurately reflects the risks being borne by insurers and that can respond to 
ongoing product innovation in the industry.

The current requirements also produce reserves beyond what is necessary to ensure financial solvency and the 
policy payment for some products. This results in capital being unnecessarily tied up and unable to be used in the 
economy. Ultimately, this inefficient use of capital leads to higher costs for consumers.

Recommendation
Amend the Texas Insurance Code to enable the valuation manual to become operative, which in turn will begin the 
new principle-based reserve life insurance requirements.
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Amusement Rides
Under current law, TDI administers the Amusement Ride Safety Inspection and Insurance Act (Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapter 2151) to regulate amusement rides in Texas. In order to legally operate an amusement ride in Texas, 
an owner or operator must fulfill three statutory requirements: (i) purchase an insurance policy with a certain 
amount of liability coverage for persons using the ride and file it with TDI; (ii) receive an annual amusement ride 
safety inspection certificate from TDI along with a sticker showing compliance; and (iii) submit a $40 filing fee per 
amusement ride. There are no other regulatory requirements.

The Amusement Ride Safety Inspection and Insurance Act encompasses a broad spectrum of rides—from mobile 
carnival rides and theme park rides to mechanical bulls and bounce-house rentals. Over the last decade, TDI has 
seen a steady increase in the number of amusement rides operating in the state.

TDI has a limited ability to monitor these amusement rides’ compliance with the law and, perhaps more 
importantly, the agency does not have enforcement authority when non-compliance is identified. In fact, TDI must 
rely on competitors reporting noncompliant owners or operators; online search comparisons of amusement ride 
businesses with the agency’s amusement ride database; and consumer injury inquiries to identify noncompliant 
rides. If TDI becomes aware of a noncompliant ride, the agency will send the owner or operator a notice of 
noncompliance and request that the owner or operator comply with the statute. If they do not comply, TDI notifies 
the Texas Attorney General’s Office, the owner or operator, and local law enforcement.

Issue
TDI does not have an effective and efficient means of monitoring amusement ride compliance or an effective 
means of recourse when it identifies noncompliance. At the same time, the number of amusement rides in Texas 
has significantly increased. TDI has seen a 570 percent increase in the number of applications filed since 2004, 
largely due to public-use amusement ride rentals like bounce houses and rock climbing walls, which are the 
most difficult type of amusement rides to monitor. Additionally, the ultimate enforcement authority lies with the 
Attorney General’s Office and local law enforcement officials, and it is up to law enforcement’s discretion to charge 
owners or operators with a Class B misdemeanor if they are found operating a noncompliant amusement ride.

Recommendation
Amend Occupations Code Chapter 2151, to transfer amusement ride regulation to another state agency better 
suited to regulating the amusement ride industry, and provide appropriate enforcement authority for the regulatory 
agency responsible for administering the Amusement Ride Safety Inspection and Insurance Act.
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Annuities
The Texas Insurance Code requires insurance carriers to file most insurance policies and contracts with TDI, 
including annuities. Specific authority in the Insurance Code to regulate annuities, however, has not kept pace 
with this growing market.

As shown in Figure 4 below, annuity premium volume in Texas has consistently exceeded premium volume for life 
insurance, yet the Insurance Code provides a much more robust regulatory framework for life insurance regulation 
than it does for annuity regulation. For instance, approximately 50 sections of the Insurance Code address the 
regulation of policy provisions for life insurance contracts, but just two address annuity regulation.

Figure 4: Annuity and Life Insurance Premiums, 1999-2013 (in billions)
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Issue
TDI’s current authority to regulate annuity contracts results in an incomplete regulatory framework that cannot 
respond well to market changes and cannot adequately protect consumers, who increasingly choose to purchase 
annuity products over life insurance products. This is especially true in the context of new and unique annuity 
product designs, such as contingent deferred annuities and indexed annuities that replicate investment market 
returns. Carriers continue to develop new and innovative products to respond to market demand from consumers 
by addressing longevity and investment risk or offering alternative investment options that compete with non-
insurance products. The current regulatory framework does not give TDI latitude to approve these types of 
products.

Recommendation
Amend Chapter 1116 of the Texas Insurance Code to provide TDI with authority to adopt minimum standards for 
annuity contracts and provide for innovative annuity product review through rulemaking.
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Commercial Policies
Businesses traditionally obtain their insurance coverage through commercial insurance policies. Commercial policies 
are different from personal policies, like homeowners and auto insurance policies, purchased by individuals. Most 
commercial policies, however, are subject to the same prior approval filing requirements as personal policies, 
meaning carriers writing commercial insurance must file their policies with TDI and receive the agency’s approval 
prior to selling them.

Certain commercial policy provisions are largely standardized, and commercial insurers serve a different customer 
than the personal insurers. Commercial insurers, which often interact with sophisticated companies, need to 
quickly respond to marketplace changes. Therefore, other, more flexible, policy regulation methods, such as file-
and-use, use-and-file, or exemption from filing may be appropriate for certain commercial policies.

Issue
The insurance commissioner has authority under the Insurance Code to adopt rules governing the manner in 
which certain commercial policies are regulated. By allowing the commissioner to exempt or limit the review of 
additional commercial lines policies, agency staff can focus the agency’s limited resources on crucial policy reviews 
like homeowners and automobile policies, thereby increasing efficiency and improving consumer protection.

Recommendation
Amend Texas Insurance Code Chapter 2301 to allow the insurance commissioner to establish filing requirements 
for certain commercial insurance policies.
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Required Workers’ Compensation Biennial Rate Hearing
Section 2053.056 of the Texas Insurance Code requires the insurance commissioner to conduct a public hearing 
each biennium to review the impact of reforms enacted by House Bill (HB) 7, 79th Legislature, on workers’ 
compensation rates and premiums. Prior to the hearing, each insurer must file its rates and other information with 
TDI. Agency staff compiles and analyzes this information and subsequently presents its findings to the insurance 
commissioner at the required public hearing.

At the same time, Section 2053.012 of the Texas Insurance Code and Section 405.0025 of the Texas Labor Code 
require the agency to prepare a more exhaustive biennial report on the impact of the HB 7 reforms on the workers’ 
compensation market, which includes the same rate information as the required rate hearing. The biennial report 
also includes analysis on other issues including the affordability and availability of workers’ compensation insurance 
for employers in Texas and the impact of certified workers’ compensation health care networks on return-to-work 
outcomes, medical costs, quality of care issues, and medical dispute resolution.

Issue
Substantial time and resources are expended by agency staff and insurers to prepare for the rate hearing under 
Section 2053.056. This hearing has not been well attended and public input has been minimal or non-existent 
for several years. Moreover, the process that culminates in the required rate hearing is duplicative of the process 
required to prepare a portion of the HB 7 biennial report.

Recommendation
Amend Section 2053.056 of the Texas Insurance Code to remove the requirement for a biennial rate hearing and 
instead allow the commissioner to conduct a hearing at his or her discretion. TDI will continue to obtain and report 
the rate information as part of the HB 7 biennial report process.
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Personal Auto Insurance Standard Rate Index
SB 14, 78th Legislature, Regular Session (2003), substantially revised the framework for regulating rates that 
insurers charge consumers for personal lines of insurance, which includes automobile and homeowners insurance. 
Prior to SB 14, insurers were required to charge consumers a promulgated rate. SB 14 replaced the promulgated 
rate with a file-and-use system that allows insurers to charge new rates without prior approval from the insurance 
commissioner. Insurers are still required, however, to submit their rates and supporting statistical information to 
TDI so the agency can review them for compliance with applicable statutory provisions.

SB 14 also added Section 2251.202 to the Texas Insurance Code, which requires the insurance commissioner to 
annually compute and publish a statewide standard rate index for personal auto insurance. This index theoretically 
allows comparisons of an insurer’s rate to the rate index, but since the 2003 legislation also allows insurers to 
file their own rating plans, it is difficult to provide a meaningful comparison for rates via the auto index. In other 
words, as SB 14 took effect, the market changed and the overall usefulness of the rate index diminished.

Issue
TDI believes the index is rarely used and that the state resources required to annually compute and publish 
the standard rate index could be reallocated to more pressing regulatory tasks, such as actuarial analyses of 
homeowners and personal auto rate filings.

Recommendation
Repeal Insurance Code Chapter 2251, Subchapter E, Sections 2251.201 – 2251.204, which requires a standard 
rate index for personal automobile insurance, and amend Section 2251.205 to remove the reference to Section 
2251.204.
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Timely Policy Delivery
Insurance companies routinely issue insurance policies, including personal automobile and homeowners insurance 
policies. Texas law, however, does not create a deadline by which the insurers must provide copies of those policies 
to their customers. As a result, some insurers do not deliver insurance policies to their policyholders within a 
reasonable amount of time.

Issue
Without a statutory deadline, some insurers have little incentive to deliver policies to policyholders in a timely 
manner, leaving them, and potential lenders, without the ability to thoroughly review a policy and confirm 
adequate insurance coverage.

Recommendation
Require insurers to deliver personal automobile and homeowners insurance policies to policyholders within 30 
business days after issuance.
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Underinsured Motorists Coverage: Stracener Case
Texas drivers can buy underinsured motorist coverage to protect themselves against other drivers who are at-fault 
in an automobile accident but do not have enough insurance to pay for all damage the injured driver sustained 
during the accident. Underinsured motorist coverage protects a driver when the other driver has some insurance, 
but not enough to pay for all of the damages and/or injuries sustained in an accident.

For a time, Texas courts disagreed about the point at which a driver qualified as “underinsured.” This disagreement 
occurred because the sections of the Texas Insurance Code that address this issue could be interpreted in different 
ways. Determining if underinsured motorist coverage applies is important because it determines whether the 
injured driver can recover under his or her own underinsured motorist coverage. 

In the case of Stracener v. United Services Automobile Association6, the Texas Supreme Court resolved the issue. 
The court held that the injured driver can collect payment under underinsured motorist coverage if their damages 
exceed the at-fault driver’s coverage limits. The court also clarified that the injured driver can be compensated 
for the full extent of his or her damages, up to the limits of both policies. The injured driver is not prevented from 
collecting from underinsured motorist coverage if the at-fault driver’s insurer paid part of the damages.

In other words, the governing law in Texas is that, no matter how much coverage the at-fault driver has purchased, 
the injured driver can collect payment under his or her own underinsured motorist coverage if the damages 
suffered exceed the at-fault driver’s coverage limits. This interpretation of the law allows injured drivers to be 
compensated for all of their damages, up to the limits of both policies.

Issue
Sections 1952.103 and 1952.106 of the Texas Insurance Code have not been updated to reflect the Texas Supreme 
Court’s decision. As a result, insurers and consumers could interpret the statute in a manner that is inconsistent 
with the court’s decision.

Recommendation
Amend Sections 1952.103 and 1952.106 of the Texas Insurance Code to clearly reflect current law, under the Texas 
Supreme Court’s 1989 decision in Stracener.

6	 777 S.W.2d 378 (Tex. 1989).
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Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Texas Insurance Code, Section 1952.105 requires insurers to offer bodily injury coverage and property damage 
coverage as part of a person’s uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance coverage. The statute does not specify 
whether insurers must offer bodily injury and property damage coverages separately or whether they may offer 
them together.

TDI has changed its interpretation of the Insurance Code requirements at different points in time, which has led 
to confusion about the statute’s requirements and acceptable market practices. TDI considered rulemaking to end 
the confusion and clarify the statutory requirements. During that process, TDI discovered some legislative history 
that appeared to indicate that the Texas Legislature intended for policyholders to have the option to purchase 
either bodily injury coverage, property damage coverage, or both. The Insurance Code, however, is not clear on 
this point.

Issue
As a result of ambiguity in the statute and changes in TDI’s position on bodily injury and property damage coverages, 
confusion exists in the market about whether Section 1952.105 of the Insurance Code requires the coverages to be 
offered separately, or whether an insurer may sell them only together.

Recommendation
Amend Section 1952.105 to clarify whether insurers must offer bodily injury and property damage coverages 
separately or may offer them only together as a package.
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biennial recommendations | state fire marshal's office

Inspection Authority
The State Fire Marshal’s Office (SFMO) helps protect public safety on state-owned property. In 2011, SFMO initiated 
an inspection program to periodically inspect all 16,000 state-owned buildings. Local fire code and building 
ordinances typically do not apply to state buildings.

Issues
Government Code Section 417.0081 provides for SFMO fire safety inspections in facilities owned and leased by the 
Texas Facilities Commission, which only accounts for an estimated 6 percent of state-owned and leased buildings, 
and 4 percent of all state-owned and leased square footage. SFMO has also conducted inspections of other state-
owned facilities where fire and public safety violations and concerns were documented. However, current Texas 
law lacks clarity regarding SFMO’s role as the authority with jurisdiction for all state-owned buildings.

Recommendations
ÕÕ Clarify that SFMO is the chief fire marshal related to fire protection and fire safety for all state-owned and 
operated buildings.

ÕÕ Amend Government Code Section 417.0081 to include inspection findings for all state-owned and leased 
buildings.
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Investigation Authority
Texas Government Code Chapter 417 states that SFMO is the chief investigator for arson and suspected arson 
investigations in the state. This authority was established in 1910 and the investigative function of that authority 
has not been significantly amended since 1913. Chapter 417 also directs SFMO to investigate when a firefighter 
dies in the line of duty or if the firefighter's death occurs in connection with an on-duty incident. Once SFMO has 
concluded the firefighter fatality investigation, it must submit a detailed report of the findings. The firefighter 
fatality report is prepared to address needed corrections relating to any contributing factors related to the death 
in an effort to reduce loss of life for future on-duty incidents and is submitted to the insurance commissioner.

Issues

Fire Investigations
As a part of its investigative function, SFMO must conduct interviews, which may involve persons reluctant to 
provide information. Current statute provides SFMO with the power to compel individuals to serve as witnesses 
and requires them to provide statements; however, the statute is outdated and could benefit from modernizing 
language to reflect current standards, similar to the authority provided to county fire marshals in the Local 
Government Code. Moreover, the statute lacks clarity with respect to crime scenes involving vehicle fires.

Firefighter Fatality Investigations
Government Code Section 417.0075 states that SFMO “shall investigate circumstances surrounding the death 
of the firefighter,” but it does not provide clear direction for how the office should proceed in investigating and 
reporting factors surrounding the death of a firefighter. Additional provisions are needed in the statute to allow 
for appropriate coordination and communication between all governmental entities during an investigation to 
ensure all contributing factors are properly investigated and fully reported.

Recommendations

Fire Investigations
ÕÕ Amend Government Code Section 417.007 to update the existing SFMO fire investigation authority as it 
relates to the privacy of interviews and examinations. Additional language is needed for fire investigation 
authority similar to the authority provided to county fire marshals in Chapter 352 of the Local Government 
Code.

ÕÕ Amend fire investigation authority to specifically include vehicle fire investigations.

Firefighter Fatality Investigations
ÕÕ Amend SFMO investigation authority in Government Code Section 417.0075 to include necessary provisions 
for increased coordination between governmental entities when investigating a firefighter fatality.

ÕÕ Amend firefighter fatality investigation authority to clarify that an investigation should consider whether 
culpable criminal conduct occurred.



section three: other issues

35

� Texas Department of Insurance | www.tdi.texas.gov

section three: other issues

Texas Windstorm Insurance Association
The Texas Windstorm Insurance Association (TWIA) is one of the more than 2,000 insurance carriers that TDI 
regulates. The Texas Legislature created TWIA in 1971 to provide wind and hail insurance coverage for Texas Gulf 
Coast property owners who might otherwise be left uninsured. TWIA functions as the insurer of last resort for wind 
and hail coverage in Texas’ 14 coastal counties listed in the Texas Insurance Code, and portions of Harris County.

TDI Administrative Oversight
“Administrative oversight” refers to a regulatory tool TDI uses to exercise enhanced regulatory oversight over an 
insurer. TDI placed TWIA under administrative oversight after TWIA’s financial resources were challenged following 
losses from Hurricane Ike and Dolly and the high volume of litigation that followed those storms. In a letter to TWIA 
on February 28, 2011, former Insurance Commissioner Mike Geeslin notified TWIA of TDI’s increased regulatory 
oversight and set forth the terms of that oversight.

Although TDI’s administrative oversight of TWIA was initially quite expansive, over time TDI has somewhat reduced 
its review of TWIA operations to reflect improvements TWIA made to its processes and procedures. Under the 
most recent letter describing the scope of TDI’s administrative oversight, dated March 14, 2014, TDI requires that 
TWIA:

ÕÕ submit executive-level personnel decisions to TDI for objection or non-objection before finalization;
ÕÕ submit non-standard contracts, as well as reinsurance and reinstatement arrangements, to TDI for objection 
or non-objection before execution;

ÕÕ develop and maintain communications plans with TWIA’s board of directors and the Legislature;
ÕÕ provide financial, operating, and litigation reports to TDI on a monthly basis; and
ÕÕ participate in quarterly financial and operational update meetings with TDI.

TWIA’s Financial and Operational Condition
Changes made to TWIA’s funding structure by the Texas Legislature in House Bill 4409 (81R) 2009, along with a lack 
of significant hurricanes since 2008, have improved TWIA’s financial stability. TWIA advises it can now pay claims 
for an estimated 1 in 70-year storm or in other words, a storm that causes no more than $3.85 billion in losses.

In the event of a catastrophe, TWIA expects to fund claim payments from the following sources in this order:
ÕÕ approximately $400 million from available premiums and the catastrophe reserve trust fund;
ÕÕ up to $500 million from class 1 public securities (which have already been issued);
ÕÕ up to $1 billion from the proceeds of class 2 public securities (to be issued after the catastrophe);
ÕÕ up to $1.45 billion from reinsurance payments (to be issued after the catastrophe); and
ÕÕ up to $500 million from class 3 public securities (to be issued after the catastrophe).

Despite improvements in TWIA’s financial condition, however, long-term challenges remain. TWIA indicates that 
its policyholders’ rates are below actuarial soundness. It should also be noted that while TWIA has the authority 
to issue an additional $500 million from class 1 public securities after an event, there are no assurances that 
these securities will be issued due to market conditions. Accordingly, TWIA has disregarded these securities in 
determining its sources of payment for potential claims. There is also no guarantee TWIA will be able to sell all 
of its remaining public securities following a catastrophe, and TWIA has not identified a source of payment for 
potential claims in excess of $3.5 billion. These uncertainties regarding TWIA’s funding create concerns about 
TWIA’s long-term viability.
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Matters Reported to Texas Board of Professional Engineers
Section 2210.2551(e) of the Texas Insurance Code requires TDI’s biennial report to the Legislature to include the 
number of matters reported to the Texas Board of Professional Engineers regarding qualified windstorm inspectors. 
From September 28, 2011, to August 31, 2014, TDI reported 35 matters to the board. The outcome of those 
matters is summarized below:

Outcome TBPE
Action on Appointment and/or License � 14
Voluntary Compliance � -
Warning Letter � 9
Pending � 4
No Action/No Case Opened � 8

*	 For purposes of this report, “Action on Appointment and/or License” includes a qualified inspector’s appointment and/or 
engineering license being canceled, voluntarily surrendered, reprimanded, probated, suspended, or revoked through an 
order or less formal disciplinary tool.

TWIA’s financial stability and its role in the Texas insurance market present challenges to legislators and regulators 
alike. TDI stands ready to serve as a resource for the Texas Legislature as it addresses these many challenging issues 
throughout the upcoming session and following interim.
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Uncompensated Auto Accident Damages
Texas law requires motorists to establish financial responsibility — the ability to pay for damages when the 
motorist is at-fault. The law requires motorists to meet this financial obligation so that, if necessary, they can 
compensate other motorists for losses they cause. Sometimes, however, injured parties discover they do not 
receive compensation for all, or even some, of their damages, regardless of whether they were at-fault in the 
accident. The uninsured or underinsured motorist issue is gaining greater attention at the state and national level. 
It is a challenging and multifaceted problem, which can be the result of several factors and for which a clear-cut 
solution has been difficult to identify.

Financial Responsibility
Current law requires minimum liability limits of $30,000 for bodily injury to, or death of, one person in one 
accident; $60,000 for bodily injury to, or death of, two or more persons in one accident; and $25,000 for property 
damage in one accident. Many people carry higher limits; however, most maintain a minimum level of auto liability 
insurance coverage. Others satisfy the financial responsibility requirement with surety bonds or deposits of cash 
or securities.

Although owners must show proof of financial responsibility when they register vehicles, they can present a policy 
that does not cover all of the individuals who could potentially drive their automobile. If a person not covered 
by the policy drives the car, the policy will not pay for damages caused by that person. In contrast, if financial 
responsibility is established using methods other than insurance, such as deposits or surety bonds, then damages 
would be paid regardless of who was driving.

A driver may have to pay for damages caused by another driver in the following scenarios:
ÕÕ No Insurance (uninsured motorist): If a vehicle owner does not have insurance coverage for the vehicle, or 
the owner has coverage that applies only to certain drivers (named driver or limited coverage policies).

ÕÕ Not Enough Insurance (underinsured motorist): If the at-fault driver’s insurance coverage limits are too low 
to pay for all the damages from a particular accident.

ÕÕ Problems with Claims (third-party claims): If the at-fault driver has insurance, but the insurer does not pay 
the claim, or does not do so promptly, whether for lack of response from the at-fault driver or for some other 
reason.

Not All Policies Provide the Same Coverage:

Standard Personal Auto Policies
Policy forms, such as the promulgated Texas Auto Policy and the Insurance Services Office policy, are generally 
referred to as standard policies and typically provide coverage for everyone who drives a vehicle with the 
owner’s permission. Family members are presumed to have permission. 

Standard personal auto policies may mitigate some of the problems relating to uninsured motorists; however, 
third-party claimants can encounter the same problems whether a policy has standard or limited coverage.

Third-Party Auto Issues
A personal auto insurance policy is a contract between the insurance company and the policyholder. Accordingly, 
the insurer must meet certain obligations to the policyholder and vice versa. For example, insurers are required 
to pay their policyholders’ claims (first-party claims) within a certain amount of time, and policyholders must 
cooperate with their insurers after a loss by providing information. The policyholder must also take steps to 
mitigate, or lessen, the amount of a loss, such as covering a broken window with plastic to reduce water damage 
from rain.
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In contrast, there is no statute setting a specific timeframe for an insurance company to handle third party 
claims. Third party claims are claims made by a person injured by the insurance company’s policyholder (the 
negligent driver). The third-party claimant has no contract with the negligent driver’s insurer.

Problems can arise when a third-party driver or passenger is injured by another driver and then seeks to be 
paid for their injuries and damages under the at-fault driver’s auto liability insurance policy. In that scenario, 
no statute sets a timeline for handling or paying claims and the third party must rely on the at-fault driver and 
their insurer to communicate with each other, establish who is at-fault, determine the claim amount, and pay 
the claim to the third party. Sometimes the at-fault driver or the insurer, or both, fail to communicate with each 
other. As a result, the injured third-party’s claim may not get paid in a timely manner, or may not get paid at all.

From July 2011 to June 2014, TDI received 5,288 complaints about third-party auto claims. Of those complaints, 
5,007 complained about claim-handling delays, and 1,100 mentioned uncooperative insured drivers. There is 
some overlap in these two groups. When a policyholder does not cooperate in the claim investigation or the 
insurer cannot locate the policyholder, the insurer sometimes either refuses to pay a third-party claim or delays 
payment of the claim. In either situation, the injured third-party often must make a claim under his or her own 
uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, must pay for the damages up front while waiting indefinitely for 
reimbursement, or must pay out of pocket for the damages.

Limited Coverage and Monthly Auto Policies
Since 2003, Texas has allowed insurers to develop and file their own forms, subject to TDI approval.7 While some 
auto insurers match the coverage in standard personal auto policies, others offer limited coverage in various ways. 
Some of those limited coverage policies are discussed below.

Named Driver Policies
Named driver policies have been characterized both as part of the uninsured motorist problem and part of 
the solution. A named driver policy does not cover every household resident—even if they are driving with 
permission—but only those named or described in the policy itself. As a result, a vehicle covered by a named 
driver policy may be uninsured when driven by a person not named on the policy. In contrast, a standard 
auto insurance policy typically covers everyone who drives a vehicle with the owner’s permission, both those 
residing in and outside the household. Many companies selling named driver policies, however, maintain that 
because named driver policies may be less expensive than standard policies, they actually reduce the uninsured 
motorist rate.

30-Day Policies
Some companies sell 30-day policies instead of a traditional six-month or one-year policy. The frequent renewals 
for 30-day policies increase the probability that a policyholder will not pay a renewal premium when due, 
essentially canceling the policy and resulting in a coverage gap. Additionally, a policyholder may or may not 
renew that policy after showing proof of insurance to get the vehicle registered or inspected. Coverage gaps 
may leave other drivers without compensation for their damages after an accident.

Other Coverage Limitations
Some insurers’ forms exclude coverage for frequent users, punitive damages, unlicensed drivers, incidental 
business use, and so forth, which can result in the policy not providing coverage when the policyholder injures 
someone.

7	 See SB 14, 78th Leg., R.S. (2003).
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TexasSure Verification Program
In an effort to reduce the number of uninsured motorists in Texas, the 79th Texas Legislature enacted SB 1670, 
which amended the Texas Transportation Code by adding Chapter 601, creating the Financial Responsibility 
Verification Program. The statute required the Texas Department of Insurance, Texas Department of Motor 
Vehicles (TxDMV), Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS), and Department of Information Resources to establish 
a verification program, branded TexasSure, to determine whether motor vehicle owners have established financial 
responsibility. The TexasSure database was created by a vendor and made available to law enforcement and Texas’ 
254 county tax assessor-collectors.

On a weekly basis, the vendor compares and matches the TxDMV registered vehicle database to insurance 
companies’ full book of personal auto business and self-insureds reported by DPS. Reporting commercial policies 
is optional. TexasSure sends 25,000 notices to consumers weekly, with most sent to registered owners of vehicles 
not matched to an insurance policy. There are no requirements for consumers to respond to these notices and 
TexasSure does not send follow-up notices. Moreover, the only enforcement authority lies with DPS and local 
law enforcement agencies, who can issue a citation for a person’s failure to meet the financial responsibility 
requirement after a driver has been stopped for a traffic violation or other violation, or is in an accident.

Before TexasSure, the uninsured motorist rate was estimated to be 25 percent. Current estimates are 14 percent 
or approximately 2.7 million vehicles. While Texas appears to have experienced a reduction in the number of 
uninsured motorists, the percentage of vehicle registrations not matched to insurance has remained stagnant 
since March 2013 as shown in Figure 5 below.

Figure 5: Percent of Registered Vehicles Not Matched to Insurance, 2009-2014
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*	 In February 2012, the TexasSure vendor performed data cleansing activities necessary to purge obsolete records from the 
TexasSure database. This resulted in a drop in the percentage of unmatched vehicles. Steps are now in place to prevent 
future accumulation of obsolete records.

According to the Insurance Research Council’s report, Uninsured Motorists, 2014 Edition, there are five types of 
verification programs in the U.S.: (1) web services, (2) database, (3) a combination of web services and database, 
(4) random audits, and (5) accident report verification.

Most states, including Texas, use the database approach in addition to mailing notifications to uninsured motorists. 
These notices do not require a response or penalize the vehicle owner for not responding. From the inception 
of the program, it appears TexasSure has been successful in reducing the uninsured motorist rate; however, as 
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mentioned above, the uninsured motorist rate has remained stagnant at approximately 14.2 percent.

Some states, such as Alabama and Delaware, perform random audits in addition to their web services or database 
programs. This approach is similar to the TexasSure notice campaign, except the notices generally require the 
owner of the registered vehicle to provide certification of coverage without a lapse from the date of the letter; 
otherwise, the motorist is subject to fines and/or license and registration suspensions. Delaware’s uninsured 
motorist rate is 11.5 percent and Alabama’s is 19.6 percent.

Eight states use the accident report verification approach, where the state verifies financial responsibility after 
reviewing an accident report. The uninsured motorist rate among these states ranges from 8.5 to 14.7 percent.

California utilizes the database approach in addition to accident report verification and has a 14.7 percent uninsured 
motorist rate. Texas utilizes the database approach.

In Texas, the penalty for driving without auto insurance is a $175 to $300 fine for first time offenders and a $350 to 
$2,000 fine for repeat offenders. Nationwide, penalties for the first offense of driving without auto insurance range 
from a $100 to $200 fine to jail time up to one year; however, these penalties do not appear to directly affect the 
uninsured motorist rate. For example, 16 states include a jail penalty, but seven of those states are ranked higher 
than the median and have some of the highest uninsured motorist rates in the nation.
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Snowball Effect of Examination Premium Tax Credits and General Revenue Reimbursement
TDI conducts financial and market conduct examinations on insurers to ensure they are financially stable and are 
being good actors in the insurance market. Texas law allows insurance companies to take premium tax credits for 
fees they pay when TDI conducts these on-site financial and market conduct examinations. These premium tax 
credits historically meant the examination function was ultimately funded by general revenue, which created an 
advantage for Texas insurers, since insurers not domiciled in Texas are usually examined by their states’ regulators 
and not TDI. These premium tax credits have been part of Texas law for at least five decades.

During the budget shortfall in the 2011 session, and again in the 2013 legislative session, the framework for this 
reimbursement methodology was changed by adding a rider to the General Appropriations Act. The rider required 
TDI to reimburse the state’s General Revenue Fund for these premium tax credits. TDI levies assessments on 
insurers in order to obtain the funds to make the reimbursements required by the rider. As a result, Texas insurers 
ultimately fund their own premium tax credits by paying the assessments. Moreover, these new assessments are 
also eligible for premium tax credits.

As shown in Figure 6 below, the current framework is inherently circular: examination premium tax credits lead to 
assessments…and these assessments lead to additional premium tax credits…and these additional premium tax 
credits lead to larger assessments…and the cycle repeats itself while the assessments grow ever larger.

Figure 6: Snowball Chart
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Thus, the rider in the General Appropriations Act results in a circular process that snowballs into continually larger 
assessments levied on Texas insurers. The current framework places a burden on Texas insurers, and runs counter 
to TDI’s objective of attracting additional insurers and capital to Texas. The Texas Legislature may wish to consider 
removing this rider from the appropriations act and return the law back to its original framework, which was in 
effect for at least 50 years and provided an advantage to Texas-based insurers.
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Captive Insurance Companies
Captive insurance companies are a unique type of insurance company that typically provide a means for an entity 
to self-insure its own risks. Captives are subject to reduced regulation, including reduced capital and taxation 
requirements, and enjoy broad exemptions from many statutory requirements that apply to traditional insurers.

Last session, the Legislature enacted SB 734 to allow TDI to license “pure” captives, which is the most traditional 
type of captive. A pure captive is formed by a parent corporation for the exclusive purpose of self-insuring the 
risks of its parent company and affiliates. Under this model, the parent company provides capital in order to 
adequately fund the captive and, like a traditional insurance company, determines what risks will be insured. 
Through implementation of SB 734, TDI has learned that no two captive situations are identical, as each applicant’s 
business model is intended to address the applicant’s own unique business needs. TDI continues to work with the 
industry to license pure captives under the current law.

There are a wide range of other types of captives, including some with less traditional and established business 
models, such as rent-a-captives and special purpose captives, which pose a number of uncertain risks. In addition, 
certain other types of captives may compete directly with traditional insurance companies, which are highly 
regulated, creating a competitive disadvantage.

TDI is aware that certain stakeholders may be motivated to expand the type of captives licensed in Texas and/
or to reduce regulatory requirements even further. While TDI appreciates these stakeholder’s views, TDI is 
recommending no change to the current statutory limits on the types of captives that can be formed in Texas.
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