Supplemental Income Benefits (SIBs) BEN

Information for Injured Employees from the Division of Workers’ Compensation

Income benefits replace a portion of wages you lose
because of a work-related injury or illness. There are four
types of income benefits:

» temporary income benefits (TIBs);

* impairment income benefits (IIBs);
* supplemental income benefits (SIBs); and
* lifetime income benefits (LIBs).

Income benefits may not exceed
the maximum weekly amount set
by state law. Temporary income
benefits, impairment income
benefits, and lifetime income
benefits are also subject to a
minimum amount. The maximum
and minimum benefit amounts are
based on the state average weekly
wage.

Income benefits are no longer
payable following the death of an injured employee.
The injured employee’s beneficiaries may be eligible to
file a claim for and receive death benefits if the injured
employee’s death was due to the work-related injury or
illness.

Supplemental Income Benefits (SIBs)

[Texas Labor Code §408.141 — 408.151,
28 Texas Administrative Code §130.100 — 130.109]

Supplemental Income Benefits (SIBs) are income benefits
paid monthly by the insurance carrier after your 1IBs have
ended. You may apply for SIBs quarterly (4 times per
year, or every 3 months) if you meet the requirements. The
period of time you are receiving SIBs is called the “SIBs
quarter.”

You may be eligible to receive SIBs if you meet the
following entitlement requirements:
* you have an impairment rating of 15 percent or
more;

» you have not elected to have any of your
impairment income benefits paid in a lump sum;

* you have not returned to work, or you have
returned to work, but are earning less than 80
percent of your average weekly wage, as a direct
result of your work-related injury; and

* you have demonstrated an active effort to comply
with Texas Department of Insurance, Division of
Workers’ Compensation (TDI-DWC) work search
requirements.

When Supplemental Income Benefits Begin and End

If you are eligible, SIBs will begin the day after your IIBs
end. Unlike TIBs, IIBs and LIBs, you must apply for SIBs
to be considered for entitlement. The TDI-DWC may

send you notice if your impairment rating is 15 percent or
greater and inform you of what information is necessary to
support your application (DWC Form-052, Application for
Supplemental Income Benefits) for the 1st quarter of SIBs.
This 13-week period is called the “qualifying period,”
during which you must look for work or meet one of the
other TDI-DWC work-search requirements.

Your entitlement to receive SIBs ends at 401 weeks
(approximately 7 Y2 years) from the date of your injury.
If you have an occupational illness, entitlement for SIBs
ends at 401 weeks from the date you first became eligible
to receive income benefits. If you are not entitled to

SIBs for four consecutive quarters (one year), you may
permanently lose entitlement to those benefits.

Determining Entitlement

The TDI-DWC will make a determination of entitlement
for the Ist quarter based on the information on your
application. The TDI-DWC will review your work
search efforts during the qualifying period, any possible
job offers, current medical documentation provided by
your doctor supporting why you are unable to work (if
applicable), and whether your inability to earn your pre-
injury wage is a direct result of your impairment.

The insurance carrier will provide you with an application
for future quarters of SIBs. After you apply for the

Ist quarter through TDI-DWC, you must send your
application and documentation for all subsequent quarters
directly to the insurance carrier for consideration. If the
insurance carrier finds that you are eligible, you will
receive benefits for the quarter. If you disagree with a
decision that you are not entitled to SIBs or if you disagree
with the amount of the payment, contact your local TDI-
DWC field office.

For further assistance,
call 1-800-252-7031 or visit

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/employee/index.html

This publication is a summary and is presented for informational purposes only. It is not a substitute for the statute and TDI-DWC rules. For
questions about TDI-DWC rules, please call Customer Assistance at 1-800-252-7031. (505-008F(10-13)



http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/employee/index.html

Supplemental Income Benefits

Work Search Requirements

To qualify for SIBs, you must show an active effort to
comply with the TDI-DWC work search requirements.
You must maintain and provide supporting documentation
(applications, letters and notes) to clearly demonstrate
your active efforts to meet one or any combination of

the following TDI-DWC work search requirements each
week during your entire qualifying period:

* you have returned to work in a position that is
equal to your ability to work; or

* you have actively participated in a vocational
rehabilitation program [such as those offered by
the Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative
Services (DARS) or a private vocational
rehabilitation program]; or

* you have been unable to perform any type of work
in any capacity as documented by a doctor; or

* you have actively participated in work search
efforts through the Texas Workforce Commission
(TWC) appropriate for the injured employee’s
county, or by other documented job searches. SIBs
applicants are now required to perform at least
the minimum number of weekly work searches
required for their county of residence.

Information about the SIBs application process,

including the number of mandatory weekly work search
requirements by county, is available on the TDI website at
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/employee/suppben.html.

If you do not meet at least one of the work search
requirements described above each week during the entire
qualifying period, you will not be entitled to SIBs, unless
you can show that you had reasonable grounds for failing
to comply with the TDI-DWC work search requirements.
Please note that when you are looking for work, you may
combine work search efforts done on your own with those
done through TWC during each week of the qualifying
period.

Amount of Supplemental Income Benefits

Supplemental Income Benefits equal 80 percent of the
difference between 80 percent of your average weekly
wage (earned prior to your work-related injury or illness)
and your weekly wages (if you have any earnings or
offered wages during this 13-week period) after the work-
related injury or illness.

Information for Injured Employees from the Division of Workers' Compensation

For example, if your average weekly wage was $500
before you were injured, and your injury caused you to
lose all of your income, your SIBs rate would be $320 a
week:

Your average weekly wage $500
80 percent of $500 (.80 x $500) $400
Minus wages earned or offered _ -0
Equals $400
80 percent of $400 (.80 x $400) equals  $320

To determine the amount of your monthly SIBs, multiply
the weekly benefit amount by the average number of
weeks in a month (4.34821). In this example, your
monthly supplemental income benefit would be $1,391.43:
$320 x 4.34821 equals $1,391.43.

If you earn any wages during the qualifying period, the
wages are deducted when calculating your SIB rate.

Example:

Your average weekly wage $500
80 percent of $500 (.80 x $500) $400
Minus your wages earned or offered - $200
Equals $200
80 percent of $200 (.80 x $200) equals  $160

$160 x 4.34821 equals $695.71 (monthly SIB rate)

Definitions

Average Weekly Wage (AWW) typically is the average
amount of weekly wages you earned during the 13 weeks
immediately before your work-related injury or illness
occurred. Income and death benefit payments are based on
your average weekly wage.

Impairment Rating is the percentage of permanent
physical and functional damage to your body that resulted
from a work-related injury or illness.

Maximum Benefit Amount may not exceed 100 percent
of the state average weekly wage rounded to the nearest
whole dollar. The TDI-DWC will compute the maximum
weekly income benefit for each state fiscal year no later
than October 1st of each year.

Minimum Benefit Amount is 15 percent of the state
average weekly wage rounded to the nearest whole dollar.
The TDI-DWC will compute the minimum weekly income
benefit for each state fiscal year no later than October 1st
of each year.



http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/employee/suppben.html

	Supplemental Income Benefits (SIBs)
	Supplemental Income Benefits (SIBs)
	Information for Injured Employees from the Division of Workers’ Compensation
	Supplemental Income Benefits (SIBs)
	[Texas Labor Code §408.141 – 408.151, 28 Texas Administrative Code §130.100 – 130.109]
	When Supplemental Income Benefits Begin and End
	Determining Entitlement
	For further assistance, call 1-800-252-7031 or visithttp://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/employee/index.html
	Work Search Requirements
	Amount of Supplemental Income Benefits
	Definitions




