Average Weekly Wage Calculations

BEN

Information for Injured Employees from the Division of Workers’ Compensation

Income benefits replace a portion of wages you lose
because of a work-related injury or illness. There are four
types of income benefits:

* temporary income benefits (TIBs);

* impairment income benefits (IIBs);
» supplemental income benefits (SIBs); and
* lifetime income benefits (LIBs).

Income benefits may not exceed the maximum weekly
amount set by state law. Temporary income benefits,
impairment income benefits, and lifetime income benefits
are also subject to a minimum amount set by state law.
Maximum and minimum benefit amounts are based on
the state average weekly wage. A copy of the maximum
and minimum benefits for each type of income benefit
can be found on the Texas Department of Insurance
website at http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/employee/

maxminbens.html.

You must report any income (other
than workers’ compensation benefits
you may be receiving) to the Texas
Department of Insurance, Division
of Workers’ Compensation (TDI-
DWC) and the insurance carrier so
an adjustment can be made to your
income benefit payments. You may
be fined and/or charged with fraud
if you receive temporary income
benefits or supplemental income
benefits while also receiving wages
from an employer without informing the TDI-DWC and
the insurance carrier.

Income benefits are not payable following the death of an
injured employee. In the case of an injured employee’s
death, the injured employee’s beneficiaries may be
eligible to file a claim for and receive death benefits if
the injured employee’s death was due to the work-related
injury or illness.

Calculation of Average Weekly Wage (AWW)

[Texas Labor Code §5408.041-408.047, 28 Texas Administrative
Code §5128.1 - 128.7]

Your income benefits are determined from the calculation
of your average weekly wage (AWW). A full-time
employee is one who regularly works at least 30 hours
per week. To calculate your average weekly wage for a

full-time employee, add your earnings for the 13 weeks
prior to the injury, including any overtime or other
special pay and any non-pecuniary wages the employer
does not continue after your injury and divide by 13.
“Non-pecuniary Wages” means wages in a form other
than money (e.g., health insurance premiums, vehicle,
clothing, or rent/housing). If you did not work for your
employer for 13 weeks before the work-related injury
or illness occurred, your average weekly wage may

be calculated using the earnings of an employee with
the same or a similar job. (Note: See page 2 for school
district employees.)

AWW Calculation - Full-Time Employee:

13 weeks wage at $824.23 $10,714.99
Health Insurance Premium
(discontinued $82 per week x 13)  $1,066.00
$11,780.99
Average weekly wage $11,780.99 + 13 = $906.23

Multiple Employment
[Texas Labor Code §408.042]

If you have more than one job and your work-related
injury occurred with an employer carrying workers’
compensation insurance and the injury keeps you from
working at your other job(s), you may report any wages
to the insurance carrier that are reportable for federal
income tax purposes for consideration of lost wages. The
following are examples of how your AWW would be
calculated for multiple employment.

AWW Calculation - Multiple Employment:
Claim Employer AWW: $700
Non-Claim Employer AWW:  $300
* Regardless of the type of employment

* Only wages reportable for federal income tax
purposes

Add all the AWWs together to compute multiple
employment AWW:

$700 (+) $300 (=) $1,000 Multiple Employment AWW

For further assistance,
call 1-800-252-7031 or visit
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/employee/index.html

This publication is a summary and is presented for informational purposes only. It is not a substitute for the statute and TDI-DWC rules. For questions
about TDI-DWC rules, please call Customer Assistance at 1-800-252-7031. (S05-011E(10-13)
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Average Weekly Wage Calculations

School District Employees

[Texas Labor Code §408.0446,
28 Texas Administrative Code §128.7]

If you work for a school district, the average weekly
wage is calculated based on the wages earned, not on
the basis of wages paid during that period. A school
district employee can choose to be paid their wages
either during the nine (9) months of the school year

or receive equal payments over a twelve (12) month
period. Therefore, the wages are only earned during
the nine (9) months of school even though the wages
continue to be paid over a twelve (12) month time
frame. For example, if there are no actual wages earned
for the three (3) months during the summer break and
you do not work for another employer during that time,
the AWW will be zero and no TIBs will be due. The
insurance carrier may adjust the AWW as necessary to
reflect the actual wages the school district employee
earned. If you have earnings from a second job
including any employment during the summer break,
these earnings will be used to calculate an AWW for
TIBs.

The AWW for the calculation of impairment income,
supplemental income, lifetime income, and death
benefits is also different. Only pecuniary wages are used
in this calculation. “Pecuniary Wage” refers to a wage
in the form of money (e.g., salary, commissions, and
bonus). Non-pecuniary wages are never included. The
total wages earned during the past twelve (12) months
are divided by fifty (50) to establish the average weekly
wage for these benefits. Evidence of earnings from
employers other than the school district during the last
12 months may be included. The following are examples
of how a school district employee’s AWW is calculated:

Information for Injured Employees from the Division of Workers’ Compensation

Example # 1 - Sample School District - Written Contract
Based on Months Worked

$45,000
9 months of work

Amount of Contract:

Contract Based on:

Calculation of AWW for TIBs Based on this Contract

$45,000 +~9 = $5,000 monthly amount
$5,000 ~4.34821 = $1,149.90 AWW
Note:

4.34821 is the average number of weeks per month

Calculation of AWW for Benefits other than TIBs

Based on this Contract
$45,000 + 50 = $900 AWW

Example # 2 - Sample School District - Written Contract Paid
Based on Number of Days Worked

$45,000
189 days

Amount of Contract:

Contract Based on:

Calculation of AWW for TIBs Based on this Contract
$45,000 +~ 189 = $238.09 (daily amount)
$238.09x 5= $1,190.45 AWW

Calculation of AWW for Benefits other than TIBs
Based on this Contract

$45,000 + 50 = $900 AWW
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