You Could Save $100 in an Hour
( En Español)
Texans can save as much as $100 a year on their auto insurance by shopping around and comparing their current policy to others
The Texas Department of Insurance maintains www.HelpInsure.com to help you shop and learn more about insurance. The website is a free service of TDI and the Office of Public Insurance Counsel. You can view sample rates, learn more about policy coverages, and learn more about companies, including their complaint indexes, financial ratings, how they use credit scores, and what discounts they offer.
To save money on your auto insurance, also follow these steps:
- Look at factors other than price. Buy only from licensed insurance companies and agents. Also, make sure the companies you're considering are financially stable and have good customer service. You can view company profiles on the TDI website that provide helpful information about insurance companies, including their license status, complaint index, and financial rating.
- Get quotes from several companies. Rates can vary among companies, so get several quotes. Visit www.HelpInsure.com to help you narrow your search. You will need to call the companies directly to get an exact rate quote.
- Buy only the coverage you need. Texas law requires you to have auto liability insurance, but the other standard coverages - medical payments, personal injury protection, uninsured/underinsured motorist, towing and labor, rental reimbursement, and collision and comprehensive - aren't required. You can consider dropping your collision and comprehensive coverage if your car is older, paid for, and of low value. If you still owe money on your car, your lender will probably require you to have collision and comprehensive coverage.
- Consider higher deductibles. Raising your deductibles will lower your collision and comprehensive premiums. However, be sure you can afford the higher out-of-pocket expense if you have a claim.
- Ask your agent about discounts. Insurance companies may offer discounts that will lower your premium. Ask if you are eligible for any discounts the company offers. Some companies offer discounts if you've taken defensive driving and driver education courses, have a young driver away at school without a car, own a car with security features, or have two or more cars on a policy.
- Ask your agent about the TAIPA Take-Out Plan. If you were assigned an insurance company through the Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association (TAIPA) and have been insured by that company for three years without tickets or accidents, your insurance company must remove you from TAIPA and insure you at a lower rate. TAIPA provides liability insurance to drivers who have been rejected by at least two licensed insurance companies.
To learn more about auto insurance, order these free automobile insurance-related publications, or view them on our website:
- Automobile Insurance Sample Rate Comparisons
- Automobile Insurance Made Easy
- Shopping Smart: Tips for Texans Purchasing Auto, Homeowners, and Renters Insurance
For More Information or Assistance
For answers to general insurance questions, for information about filing an insurance-related complaint, or to report suspected insurance fraud, call the Consumer Help Line at 1-800-252-3439 between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., Central time, Monday-Friday, or visit our website at www.tdi.texas.gov.
For printed copies of consumer publications, call the 24-hour Publications Order Line at 1-800-599-SHOP (7467).
To report suspected arson or suspicious activity involving fires, call the State Fire Marshal's 24-hour Arson Hotline at 1-877-4FIRE45 (434-7345).
The information in this publication is current as of the revision date. Changes in laws and agency administrative rules made after the revision date may affect the content. View current information on our website. TDI distributes this publication for educational purposes only. This publication is not an endorsement by TDI of any service, product, or company.
For more information contact:
Last updated: 09/08/2014