• Increase Text Icon
  • Decrease Text Icon
  • Email Icon
  • Print this page
You are here: Home . news . 2017 . index

2017 News Releases - Texas Department of Insurance

News Release Home

October 20, 2017
New DWC prosecution unit gets indictments for health care fraud
A Travis County grand jury has indicted EME International, Inc. and three individuals on charges of engaging in organized criminal activity for overbilling for exams of injured employees. The indictment alleges fraud of between $20,000 and $100,000.

September 25, 2017
DWC rule helps expand the use of telemedicine in workers’ compensation system
The Texas Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) posted an informal rule that aims to help expand the use of telemedicine—sometimes called ‘telehealth’—in the state’s workers’ compensation system.

September 25, 2017
Workers’ Compensation Weekly Benefit Rates Set for October 1, 2017, Through September 30, 2018
The workers’ compensation state average weekly wage for dates of injury from October 1, 2017, through September 30, 2018, is set at $913.37. The maximum weekly benefit rates for workers’ compensation income benefits is set at $913 and the minimum weekly benefit rate is set at $137 for that period.

September 20, 2017
Division of Workers’ Compensation San Antonio office moving October 2
The state’s Division of Worker’s Compensation office in San Antonio is moving to a new location at 4440 S. Piedras Drive, Suite 205 on October 2.

September 19, 2017
DWC Austin office moves to new location October 23
The Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation Austin office opens at its new location October 23.

September 07, 2017
Workers’ comp training offered to San Antonio medical office staff
The Division of Workers’ Compensation and the University of Texas San Antonio (UTSA) Small Business Development Center will offer training for medical office staff at the UTSA Downtown Campus, 501 W. Cesar E. Chavez Blvd., on Thursday, October 5. The seminar runs from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Registration is $40.00 in advance, and $60.00 at the door. The fee includes continental breakfast, lunch and parking.

September 07, 2017
Fire crews from across the country show their support to firefighters in Harvey’s path
When Hurricane Harvey slammed into the Texas coast last month, firefighters were among the first to respond, rescue, and offer comfort in their communities. All while their own families and homes were facing the same dangers. A stressful situation that almost no one, other than another first responder, could imagine.

September 06, 2017
TDI reminds public adjusters of advertising rules
The Texas Department of Insurance is reminding licensed public adjusters about state laws concerning advertisements and solicitation.

September 05, 2017
San Angelo Company Earns Safety Award
The Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) recognized Baptist Memorials Services for exemplary workplace safety programs and low rates of work-related injuries and illnesses at its San Angelo facility. DWC’s Deputy Commissioner for Health Care Management, Matthew Zurek, presented the company with the Lone Star Safety Program Award.

September 05, 2017
DWC names Timothy P. Riley Deputy Commissioner of Compliance and Investigations
The Division of Workers’ Compensation today announced the hiring of Timothy P. Riley as the Division’s new Deputy Commissioner of Compliance and Investigations. Riley most recently served as vice president of Special Investigations for Texas Mutual Insurance Company, the state’s largest provider of workers’ compensation insurance coverage.

August 31, 2017
Resources for media covering Harvey
The Texas Department of Insurance has data and information that may be of interest to reporters covering Hurricane Harvey and the flooding that followed.

August 30, 2017
TDI reassures Texans: Harvey claims will be paid
The Texas Department of Insurance is reassuring Texas policyholders that storm claims will be paid and that the agency will aggressively enforce state laws and policy provisions to protect victims of Hurricane Harvey and the widespread flooding that followed.

August 15, 2017
Former San Antonio agent gets 5-year sentence for filing fake life insurance applications
Dermaine Clark of San Antonio was sentenced Monday to five years in prison and ordered to pay more than $45,000 for a string of insurance fraud cases.

July 24, 2017
TDI seeks applicants for Texas Medical Liability Insurance Underwriting Association Board
The Texas Department of Insurance is accepting applications through August 31 for the public member positions on the Texas Medical Liability Insurance Underwriting Association Board of Directors. The appointment is for one year.

July 18, 2017
Workers’ comp training offered to Houston medical office staff
The Division of Workers’ Compensation and the University of Houston Small Business Development Center will offer training for medical office staff at the UH SBDC, Suite 200, 2302 Fannin in Houston. The seminar will be Tuesday, September 19, 2017, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Registration is $99, including lunch and parking.

July 14, 2017
TDI seeks applicants for prior authorization advisory committee
The Texas Department of Insurance is looking for people to serve on the committee that advises the commissioner on development of a standard prior authorization form for requesting prescription drug benefits.

June 30, 2017
DWC rule addresses compounded drugs
When a Texas House committee asked the Division of Workers’ Compensation to look at compounded drug prescriptions for injured employees, the division turned to its data on pharmacy billing and an ongoing audit of doctors’ practices for answers. It found that the cost of compounded drugs doubled from 2010-2014, and the average cost per prescription had risen to $829 in 2016.

June 28, 2017
Workers’ comp training offered to Lubbock medical office staff
The Division of Workers’ Compensation will offer training for medical office staff at the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDot) Training Center, 135 Slaton Road in Lubbock. The free seminar will be on Thursday, August 17, 2017, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

June 21, 2017
DWC hosts Regional Workplace Safety Summit on August 3 in Waco
The Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) will present a regional workplace safety workshop for employers and employees on August 3 at the Education Service Center, Region 12, 2101 West Loop 340, Waco. The workshop will be from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. The cost is $50 per person, which includes coffee and snacks.

June 15, 2017
DWC hosts Regional Workplace Safety Summit on July 25 in Fort Worth area
The Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) will present a regional workplace safety workshop for employers and employees on July 25 at the Education Service Center, Region 11, 1451 South Cherry Lane in White Settlement. The workshop will be from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. The cost is $50 per person, which includes coffee and snacks.

June 14, 2017
TDI windstorm inspectors help consumers along coast
Michael Cowen helps homeowners with inspections so they can buy windstorm insurance. He drives hundreds of miles and spends hours on the phone each week talking with homeowners, contractors, and local building officials about inspection requirements.

June 14, 2017
TDI investigators head to Midland-Odessa after hail storms
Texas Department of Insurance investigators will be in the Midland-Odessa area Thursday and Friday to help deter any criminal element drawn to the scene after Monday’s storms.

June 09, 2017
Lawyer indicted for insurance fraud involving roof claims
An attorney was released on $20,000 bond today after a Texas Department of Insurance investigation found evidence of organized criminal activity, legal misconduct, and insurance fraud related to hail claims.

June 08, 2017
DWC hosts Regional Workplace Safety Summit on July 18 in Austin
The Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) will present a regional workplace safety workshop for employers and employees on July 18 at the Holiday Inn, 20 IH 35 North, Austin. The workshop will be from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. The cost is $50 per person, which includes coffee and snacks.

June 07, 2017
DWC improves letters to injured employees
The Division of Workers’ Compensation recently reviewed form letters it sends to injured employees and decided to modify the correspondence using nationally recognized principles to increase usability. In other words, they made them easier to read.

June 06, 2017
San Marcos Company Earns Safety Award
The Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) recognized CFAN Company for exemplary workplace safety programs and low rates of work-related injuries and illnesses at its San Marcos facility. DWC’s Deputy Commissioner, Dan Paschal, presented the company with the Lone Star Safety Program Award.

May 24, 2017
East Texas Companies Earn Safety Award
The Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) recognized two East Texas companies for exemplary workplace safety programs and low rates of work-related injuries and illnesses at the companies’ facilities. DWC’s Director of Workplace Safety, Karen Puckett, visited Frankston to honor one of the two employers on-site.

May 22, 2017
TDI seeks applicants for prior authorization advisory committee
The Texas Department of Insurance is looking for people to serve on the committee that advises the commissioner on development of a standard prior authorization form for requesting prescription drug benefits.

May 22, 2017
Research group helping Division of Workers’ Compensation streamline system
The Texas Workers’ Compensation Research and Evaluation Group has released its 2017 research agenda, a blueprint for its efforts to provide critical data for decision-makers in the Texas workers’ compensation system.

May 04, 2017
TDI experts are in East Texas to help storm victims
Texas Department of Insurance staff will be at the Canton Civic Center today and through the weekend to answer insurance questions from residents who may be filing claims after last weekend’s powerful storms.

May 01, 2017
TDI fraud team deploys to storm damaged areas
As East Texas homeowners assess the damage and begin filing insurance claims after weekend storms, investigators with the Texas Department of Insurance are heading to those areas to deter any criminal element drawn to the scene.

April 25, 2017
DWC hosts Regional Workplace Safety Summit on May 16 in Denton
The Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) will present a regional workplace safety workshop for employers and employees on May 16 at the University of North Texas, 1155 Union Circle, Denton. The workshop will be from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. The cost is $50 per person, which includes coffee and snacks.

April 19, 2017
DWC hosts Regional Workplace Safety Summit on June 1 in El Paso
The Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) will present a regional workplace safety workshop for employers and employees on June 1 at the Education Service Center, Region 19, 6611 Boeing Drive, El Paso. The workshop will be from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. The cost is $50 per person, which includes coffee and snacks.

April 07, 2017
TDI seeks applicants for Texas Windstorm Insurance Association Board of Directors
The Texas Department of Insurance is looking for two people to serve on the board of directors for the Texas Windstorm Insurance Association (TWIA), which provides windstorm and hail insurance along the coast when it’s not reasonably available through the private market.

April 07, 2017
TDI seeks applicants for FAIR Plan board
The Texas Department of Insurance is looking for people to serve on the board that governs the Fair Access to Insurance Requirements (FAIR) Plan, which provides residential property insurance in underserved areas where it’s not readily available through the private market.

April 03, 2017
Workers’ comp training offered to Dallas medical office staff
The Division of Workers’ Compensation will offer training for medical office staff at the Meadows Conference Center, 2900 Live Oak Street, Oak Corner room, on Tuesday, May 23. The free seminar runs from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

March 31, 2017
TDI earns Department of Defense honors
TDI has earned top honors from the Department of Defense for its support of employees serving in the National Guard and Reserves.

March 27, 2017
TDI sends fraud investigators to areas hit by storms
The Texas Department of Insurance has sent investigators to north Texas areas hard hit by hail storms to deter fraud, which can range from shoddy repairs to price gouging.

March 23, 2017
Division of Workers' Compensation Hosts Annual Texas Safety Summit
Texas employers are invited to join the Division of Workers’ Compensation in Austin for the Texas Safety Summit on May 9-11. The 21st annual workplace safety and health conference offers important information for everyone who plays a role in safeguarding employees, from the beginner to the seasoned safety professional.

March 22, 2017
Two-step program speeds resolution of many workers’ comp disputes
After a successful pilot project, the Texas Division of Workers’ Compensation rolled out a statewide program in October 2016 that has helped speed up the resolution of some disputes.

March 14, 2017
DWC hosts Regional Workplace Safety Summit on April 18 in Tyler
The Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) will present a regional workplace safety workshop for employers and employees on April 18 at the Holiday Inn, 5701 South Broadway Avenue, Tyler. The workshop will be from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. The cost is $50 per person, which includes coffee and snacks.

March 10, 2017
State Fire Marshal, Tyler County investigation leads to arrests after fatal fire
Joint forensic investigation work by the State Fire Marshal’s Office and the Tyler County Sheriff’s Office of a March 5 house fire that left one person dead has resulted in the arrest of two people.

March 06, 2017
Seven companies re-certified to self-insure for workers’ compensation claims
AUSTIN, TX — The Texas Department of Insurance’s Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) re-certified seven employers to self-insure workers’ compensation claims. Together, the companies employ about 30,000 people in Texas.

February 17, 2017
DWC hosts Regional Workplace Safety Summit on March 7 in San Antonio
The Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) will present a regional workplace safety workshop for employers and employees on March 7 at the Education Service Center, Region 20, 1314 Hines Avenue, San Antonio. The workshop will be from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. The cost is $50 per person, which includes coffee and snacks.

February 10, 2017
Workers’ comp training offered to Laredo medical office staff
The Division of Workers’ Compensation will offer training for medical office staff at the Division’s Laredo office, 500 E. Mann Rd. Ste. B-2, on Thursday, March 9. The free seminar runs from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

January 17, 2017
Insurance Commissioner selects Nored to head Legal Division
Texas Insurance Commissioner David Mattax has selected Michael Nored to head the agency’s Legal Division.

January 03, 2017
10 Companies Re-Certified to Self-Insure for Workers’ Compensation Claims
AUSTIN, TX — The Texas Department of Insurance’s Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) re-certified 10 employers to self-insure workers’ compensation claims. Together, the companies employ about 15,000 people in Texas.



For more information, contact:

Contact Information and Other Helpful Links