February 10, 2014
Commissioner Bordelon Sets Lowest Maintenance Tax Rate Since 2010
AUSTIN, TX - Texas Workers' Compensation Commissioner Rod Bordelon has determined, pursuant to Texas Labor Code Section 403.002 (b), that the maintenance tax rate be lowered to 1.543 percent of gross premiums collected by workers'compensation insurance carriers from January 1, 2013 through December 31, 2013.
The maintenance tax supports the operations of the Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC) and the Office of Injured Employee Counsel.
"Our efforts to improve agency efficiency along with a growing Texas economy where more businesses are offering insurance coverage have allowed the lowering of this tax rate to its lowest level since 2010," Commissioner Bordelon said. "This is another milestone representing significant improvements in the workers' compensation system begun by the Legislature in 2005."
The maintenance tax rate applies to insurance companies writing workers' compensation policies in Texas and is capped at 2 percent of gross premiums collected by insurance companies. Certified self-insured and group self-insured employers also pay maintenance taxes based on the previous year's claim liabilities and expenses.
The order setting maintenance tax rates is available on the agency website here: http://www.tdi.texas.gov/company/documents/Maintenance_Tax_2014.pdf.
For more information contact:
Last updated: 09/06/2014