
SOAH DOCKET NO. 453-05-7326.M4 
MDR NO. M4-05-0212-01 

 
VISTA MEDICAL CENTER HOSPITAL,

Petitioner 
 
V. 
 
LIBERTY MUTUAL INSURANCE 
COMPANY, 
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§

BEFORE THE STATE OFFICE 
 
 

OF 
 
 
 

ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 
 

DECISION AND ORDER 
 

Vista Medical Center Hospital (Provider) requested a hearing on a decision by the Medical 

Review Division (MRD) of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation 

(Division)1 denying additional reimbursement for a hospital stay provided to Claimant, an injured 

worker.  Provider argued that reimbursement for this admission should be based on the Stop-Loss 

Exception to the per diem reimbursement methodology contained in the 1997 Acute Care Inpatient 

Hospital Fee Guideline (1997 ACIHFG).2  The Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) finds the Stop-Loss 

Exception should be followed in this proceeding.  Accordingly, Liberty Mutual Insurance Company 

(Carrier) is ordered to pay additional reimbursement in the amount of $35,017.96, plus any 

applicable interest. 

 

I.  PROCEDURAL HISTORY, NOTICE AND JURISDICTION 

 

The MRD issued its decision on May 10, 2005.  Provider filed a timely and sufficient request 

for hearing.  Notice of the hearing was appropriately issued to the parties.  

 

 

                                                 
1 Effective September 1, 2005, the legislature dissolved the Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission 

(Commission) and created the Division of Workers’ Compensation within the Texas Department of Insurance. Act of 
June 1, 2005, 79th Leg., R.S., ch. 265, § 8.001, 2005 Tex. Gen. Laws 469, 607.  This Decision and Order refers to the 
Commission and its successor collectively as the Division.   

2  The 1997 ACIHFG established a general reimbursement scheme for all inpatient services provided by an 
acute care hospital for medical and/or surgical admissions using a service-related standard per diem amount.  
Independent reimbursement is allowed on a case-by-case basis if the particular case exceeds the Stop-Loss Threshold as 
described in paragraph (6) of 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE (TAC) § 134.401(c).  This independent reimbursement mechanism, 
the Stop-Loss Method or Stop-Loss Methodology, is sometimes referred to as the Stop-Loss Exception or the Stop-Loss 
Rule. 
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 The hearing convened and concluded on May 29, 2008.3    

 

II. DISCUSSION 

 

A.  Factual Overview 

 

The basic facts were uncontested.  Claimant sustained a compensable injury and was 

admitted to Provider, where Claimant underwent treatment.  After Claimant was discharged from the 

hospital, Provider submitted a bill to Carrier in the amount of $50,156.34 based on Provider’s usual 

and customary charges for the inpatient stay and surgical procedure.  To date, Carrier has paid 

$2,236.00. 

 

B. Issues  

 

1.  Summary of Positions and ALJ’s Decision 

 

 In summary, the parties’ positions and ALJ’s findings are as follows: 

 

 
 MRD Provider Carrier ALJ 

Charges  $50,156.34 $50,156.34 $50,156.34 $50,156.34 

Adjusted Charges  $50,156.34  $49,671.944
 

                                                 
3  Beginning in 2003, the Division began referring a significant number of ACIHFG cases to SOAH. Between 

2003 and August 31, 2005, approximately 885 ACIHFG cases were referred to SOAH for contested case hearings on 
issues including the Stop-Loss Exception, audits, and the reimbursement of implantables. In order to efficiently and 
economically manage this growing number of cases, SOAH in late 2004 and early 2005 began to join the cases into a 
Stop-Loss Docket, and the cases were abated. By the close of the 2005 regular legislative session, SOAH realized a 
finite, but still unknown; number of Stop-Loss cases would be referred to SOAH by the Division through 
August 31, 2005.  

4  The reductions in Carrier’s audited charges are explained below in footnote 8. 
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 MRD Provider Carrier ALJ 

Reimbursement 
Methodology per diem5

    x 75%6 per diem7 x 75%8

                                                 
5  MRD determined that the Stop-Loss Exception did not apply since the admission did not involve “unusually 

extensive services.”  It calculated total reimbursement based on the per diem methodology (2 days “ $1,118.00 per day 
,$2,236.00).  Based on Carrier’s $2,236.00 payment, MRD concluded that Carrier owed no additional reimbursement.    

 

6  Provider contended it is entitled to reimbursement of $35,381.26 based on total audited charges of $50,156.34 
x 75% , $37,617.26 - Carrier’s $2,236.00 payment , $35,381.26.  Provider noted that Carrier used denial codes “G,” “N,” 
“R,” and “U,” in addition to denial code “F”.  It asserted that because Carrier failed to request additional documentation 
within 14 days of its receipt of the medical bill, as required by 28 TAC § 133.301(d)(5), it waived the “N” ground for 
denying Provider’s claim.  It contended that Carrier’s reasons for denial under codes “G,” “R,” and “U” were inadequate 
under 28 TAC § 133.304(c), in effect at the time of the dispute, which requires insurers to state their grounds for denial 
sufficiently for providers to understand their reasons for denying a claim.   

 

7  Carrier reimbursed $2,236.00 for room and board.  It denied most other charges using an “F” denial code, 
explained as “the charge for this procedure exceeds the health facility fee schedule assigned by the Texas Workers 
Compensation Commission” or “the charges for this hospitalization have been reduced based on the fee schedule 
allowance.”  It denied a $23.00 lab fee using denial code “G X668,” explained as “venipuncture charges are included in 
the global lab fees”; a $287.50 cardiology charge using denial code “R X206, explained as “this service is for a 
condition(s) which is not related to the covered work related injury;” an $81.90 charge for medical surgical supplies 
under denial code “U X017,” explained as “this payer does not pay for personal items,” and described as “urinal pitchur, 
toothbrush, paste, basin, tissue, denture cup, shampoo, soap, property bag, lotion, cups, and slippers – not payable under 
work comp;” and a $92.00 charge for medical surgical supplies under denial code “N X322,” explained as 
“documentation to substantiate this charge was not submitted or is insufficient to accurately review this charge.”  (Carrier 
Ex. 1 at 17-20).  Carrier denied, under denial code “F,” a $9,200.00 Autologous Growth Factor, as “included in the 
surgical per diem and not paid separately” and “charges included in the facility fee.”  It denied three other services that 
the ALJ could not identify in Provider’s billing, $265.00 for a “second walker billed – not medically necessary or usual 
and customary,” $4,462.50 for “items denied as included in facility fee (sheets, video, video monitor, Wilson table, 
monitor, bouffant cap, shoe covers, pillow, camera, gowns, tongue depressor, and tennis balls),”and $3,066.00 for a 
“Process Disp Kit – denied as included in the surgical per diem and not paid separately.” (Carrier Ex. 1 at 17-20.)            

 

8  Carrier’s denial of the $23.00 charge for venipuncture and the $81.90 charge for medical surgical supplies 
described as personal items were adequately identified and explained.  Provider had the burden of proof.  Because 
Provider failed to prove that these items should be paid, its bill is reduced by those amounts.  The $287.50 cardiology 
charge is not included in the audited charges because the State Office of Administrative Hearings does not have 
jurisdiction to decide whether a service is related to the compensable injury.  Carrier’s denial of $92.00 for medical 
surgical supplies was adequately identified and explained.  Provider failed to prove those items should be paid.  
Provider’s contention that Carrier waived this ground for denial by not requesting additional documentation within 14 
days, as required by 28 TAC § 133.301(d)(5), was not persuasive because, in contrast to such rules as Rule 133.307(j)(2) 
(and statutes such as § 409.021(c) of the Labor Code), no consequences are stated for a failure to comply with this rule.  
The expressly stated waiver in the Division’s rules concerning an insurance carrier’s failure to act in a timely fashion in 
asserting its reasons for denial is contained in Rule 133.307(j)(2), which says a ground for denial that was not asserted 
before a request for medical dispute resolution may not be considered.  The Division could have included a waiver in 
Rule 133.301(d), but did not.  The best construction of Rule 133.301(d)(5) is that an insurer’s failure to comply provides 
a basis for disciplinary action, but not a waiver.  Overall, Carrier’s audited charges are reduced by $484.40. 

 
Carrier’s general use of denial code “F,” is inconsistent with the Stop-Loss Methodology, which requires 

payment of 75 percent of total audited charges.  Carrier’s specific reference under “F” to the $9,200.00 charge for the 
Autologous Growth Factor as included in the surgical per diem is inconsistent with the Stop-Loss Exception which 
requires payment at 75 percent of total audited charges, rather than payment on a per-diem basis.  Carrier’s denials of the 
$265.00 second-walker charge, the $4,462.50 for various items, and $3,066.00 charge for a “Process Disp Kit” appear to 
be based on either that they are included in the per-diem reimbursement methodology or as exceeding the usual and 
customary charge for the procedure.  In either case, the denials are inconsistent with the Stop-Loss Methodology, which 
requires payment at 75 percent of Provider’s usual and customary charges when those charges exceed $40,000.00.   
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 MRD Provider Carrier ALJ 

Reimbursement 
Amount $2,236.00 $37,617.26 $2,236.00 $37,253.96 

Less  Payment ($2,236.00) ($2,236.00) ($2,236.00) ($2,236.00) 
Balance Due 
Provider $0.00 $35,381.26 $0.00 $35,017.96 

 

2. Background   

 

When a hospital’s total audited bill is greater than $40,000, the Division’s Stop-Loss 

Exception applies, and the hospital is reimbursed at 75% of its total audited bill.  The purpose of the 

Stop-Loss Methodology is “to ensure fair and reasonable compensation to the hospital for unusually 

costly services rendered during treatment to an injured worker.”9  The following legal issues in this 

case were decided by a SOAH En Banc Panel10 (En Banc Panel), and those determinations are 

incorporated herein.  Legal arguments related to these issues will not be addressed, other than in the 

Conclusions of Law. 

 

1. The ALJs conclude that a hospital’s post-audit usual and customary charges for items 
listed in 28 TAC § 134.401(c)(4) are the audited charges used to calculate whether 
the Stop-Loss Threshold has been met for a workers’ compensation admission.  The 
ALJs decline to adopt the Carriers’ argument to use the carve-out reimbursement 
amounts in § 134.401(c)(4) as audited charges, and they decline to adopt the 
Division’s argument to use a fair-and-reasonable amount as determined by a carrier 
in its bill review as audited charges.  

 
2. The ALJs find that when the Stop-Loss Methodology applies to a workers’ 

compensation hospitalization, all eligible items, including items listed in § 
134.401(c)(4), are reimbursed at 75% of their post-audit amount.  Items listed in § 
134.401(c)(4) are not reimbursed at the carve out amounts provided in that section 
when the Stop-Loss Methodology is applied.  

 
3. The ALJs conclude that any reasons for denial of a claim or defenses not asserted by 

a Carrier before a request for medical dispute resolution may not be considered, 
whether or not they arise out of an audit.  The ALJs also conclude that Carriers’ audit 
rights are not limited by § 134.401(c)(6)(A)(v) when the Stop-Loss Methodology 
applies.  In such cases, carriers may audit in accordance with § 134.401(b)(2)(c). 

 
 
                                                 

9  28 TAC § 134.401(c)(6). 

10  En Banc Panel Order in Consolidated Stop-Loss Legal Issues Docket, SOAH Docket No. 453-03-1487.M4 
(Lead Docket), issued January 12, 2007. 
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4. The ALJs find that a hospital establishes eligibility for applying the Stop-Loss 
Methodology under § 134.401(c)(4) when total eligible amounts exceed the Stop-
Loss Threshold of $40,000.  There is no additional requirement for a hospital to 
establish that any or all of the services were unusually costly or unusually 
extensive.11  

 

Finally, in reply to a request for clarification, the En Banc Panel found that when referring to 

a hospital’s usual and customary charges, the rules are referring to the hospital’s own usual and 

customary charges and not to charges that are an average or median of other hospitals’ charges.12  

Provider charged its usual and customary charges for the items and services provided.  

 

In summary, the ALJ concludes that the Stop-Loss Threshold was met in this case and that 

the amounts in dispute should be calculated accordingly.  

 

III. FINDINGS OF FACT 

 

1. Claimant sustained a compensable injury in the course and scope of employment; the 
employer had coverage with Liberty Mutual Insurance Company (Carrier). 

 
2. Vista Medical Center Hospital (Provider) provided medical treatment to Claimant for the 

compensable injury. 
 
3. Provider submitted itemized billing totaling $50,156.34 for services provided to Claimant. 
 
4. The $50,156.34 billed was Provider’s usual and customary charges for these items and 

treatments. 
 
5. Carrier issued payments of $2,236.00 to Provider for the services in question. 
 
6. Carrier denied further reimbursement to Provider. 
 
7. Provider requested Dispute Resolution Services from the Medical Review Division (MRD) 

of the Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission (Commission).   
 
8. Effective September 1, 2005, the legislature dissolved the Commission and created the 

Division of Workers’ Compensation within the Texas Department of Insurance.  The 
Commission and its successor are collectively referred to as the Division.  

 
 

                                                 
11  Because of a typographical error, the En Banc Panel’s decision incorrectly cites § 134.401(c)(4) rather than  

§ 134.401(c)(6) as the applicable rule. 
 
12  Letter from ALJ Catherine C. Egan dated February 23, 2007. 
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9. MRD issued its Findings and Decision holding that no additional reimbursement was owed 
Provider. 

 
10. Provider timely filed a request for a contested case hearing on the MRD’s decision. 
 
11. All parties were provided not less than 10-days notice of hearing and of their rights under the 

applicable rules and statutes. 
 

12. On May 29, 2008, Administrative Law Judge James W. Norman convened a hearing on the 
merits at the hearing facilities of the State Office of Administrative Hearings (SOAH) in 
Austin, Texas.  Carrier and Provider were present and represented by counsel.  The Division 
did not participate in the hearing.  The hearing concluded that day and the record closed on 
May 29, 2008. 

 
13. Provider’s total audited charges under § 134.401(c)(6)(A)(v), after appropriate reductions,  

are $49,671.94, which allows Provider to obtain reimbursement under the Division’s Stop-
Loss Methodology. 

 
14. Under the Stop-Loss Methodology and in accordance with its request to MRD, Provider is 

entitled to additional reimbursement of $35,017.96, plus any applicable interest.    
 

IV. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 

1. The State Office of Administrative Hearings has jurisdiction over matters related to the 
hearing in this proceeding, including the authority to issue a decision and order, pursuant to 
TEX. LAB. CODE ANN. §§ 402.073 and 413.031(k) and TEX. GOV’T CODE ANN. ch. 2003. 

 
2. Provider timely requested a hearing, as specified in 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE (TAC) § 148.3. 
 
3. Proper and timely notice of the hearing was provided to the parties in accordance with TEX. 

GOV’T CODE ANN. §§ 2001.051 and 2001.052. 
 
4. Provider had the burden of proof in this proceeding pursuant to 28 TAC § 148.21(h) and (i). 
 
5.  All eligible items, including the items listed in 28 TAC § 131.401(c)(4), are included in the 

calculation of the $40,000 Stop-Loss Threshold. 
 
6.  In calculating whether the Stop-Loss Threshold has been met, all eligible items are included 

at the hospital’s usual and customary charges in the absence of an applicable MARS or a 
specific contract. 

 
7.  The carve-out reimbursement amounts contained in 28 TAC § 134.401(c)(4) are not used to 

calculate whether the Stop-Loss Threshold has been met. 
 
8.  When the Stop-Loss Methodology applies to a workers’ compensation admission, all eligible 

items, including items listed in 28 TAC § 134.401(c)(4), are reimbursed at 75% of their post-
audit amount. 
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9.  Under the Stop-Loss Methodology, items listed in 28 TAC § 134.401(c)(4) are not 
reimbursed at the carve-out amounts provided in that section when the Stop-Loss 
Methodology applies. 

 
10.  Carriers’ audit rights are not limited by 28 TAC § 134.401(c)(6)(A)(v) when the Stop-Loss 

Methodology applies.  In such cases, carriers may audit in accordance with 28 TAC  
§ 134.401(b)(2)(C). 

 
11.  Pursuant to 28 TAC § 133.307(j)(2), any defense or reason for denial of a claim not asserted 

by a carrier before a request for medical dispute resolution may not be considered at the 
hearing before SOAH, whether or not it arises out of an audit.  

 
12.  A hospital, Provider in this case, establishes eligibility for applying the Stop-Loss 

Methodology under 28 TAC § 134.401(c)(6) when total eligible charges exceed the Stop- 
Loss Threshold of $40,000.  There is no additional requirement for a hospital to separately 
establish that any or all of the services were unusually costly or unusually extensive. 

 
13. The Stop-Loss Methodology applies to this case.  
 
14.  The February 17, 2005 Staff Report (Staff Report) by MRD Director Allen C. 

McDonald, Jr., is not consistent with the Stop-Loss Rule, 28 TAC § 134.401(c)(6), and is not 
consistent with the Division’s prior interpretation of the rule that the $40,000 Stop-Loss 
Threshold alone triggered the application of the Stop-Loss Methodology.   
 

15.  The Staff Report is not consistent with the Stop-Loss Rule, the preambles to the Stop-Loss 
Rule published in the Texas Register, or MRD decisions issued prior to February 17, 2005. 

 
16.  The Staff Report has no legal effect in this case. 
 
17. Applying the Stop-Loss Methodology in this case, Provider is entitled to total reimbursement 

of $37,253.96. 
 
18. As specified in the above Findings of Fact, Carrier has already reimbursed Provider 

$2,236.00 of this amount. 
 
19. Based on the foregoing findings of fact and conclusions of law, Carrier owes Provider an 

additional reimbursement of $35,017.96, plus any applicable interest. 
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ORDER 
 

It is hereby ORDERED that Liberty Mutual Insurance Company reimburse Vista Medical 

Center Hospital the additional sum of $35,017.96, plus any applicable interest, for services provided 

to Claimant. 

 

SIGNED July 22, 2008. 
 
 
 
 
_______________________________________________ 
JAMES W. NORMAN 
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGES 
STATE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 


