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DECISION AND ORDER 

 

Vista Medical Center Hospital (Provider) requested a hearing to contest a decision by the 

Medical Review Division (MRD) of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ 

Compensation (Division)1 denying additional reimbursement for a hospital stay provided to 

Claimant, an injured worker.  Provider argued that reimbursement for this admission should be 

based on the Stop-Loss Exception to the per diem reimbursement methodology contained in the 

1997 Acute Care Inpatient Hospital Fee Guideline (1997 ACIHFG).2  The Administrative Law Judge 

(ALJ) finds the Stop-Loss Exception should not be followed in this proceeding.  He concludes that 

TPCIGA3 for Legion Insurance Company (Carrier)4 owes no additional reimbursement. 

 

I.  PROCEDURAL HISTORY, NOTICE AND JURISDICTION 

 

The MRD issued its decision on April 25, 2005.  Provider filed a timely and sufficient 

request for hearing.  Notice of the hearing was appropriately issued to the parties.  The hearing 

                                                 
1 Effective September 1, 2005, the legislature dissolved the Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission 

(Commission) and created the Division of Workers’ Compensation within the Texas Department of Insurance. Act of 
June 1, 2005, 79th Leg., R.S., ch. 265, § 8.001, 2005 Tex. Gen. Laws 469, 607.  This Decision and Order refers to the 
Commission and its successor collectively as the Division.   

2  The 1997 ACIHFG established a general reimbursement scheme for all inpatient services provided by an 
acute care hospital for medical and/or surgical admissions using a service-related standard per diem amount.  
Independent reimbursement is allowed on a case-by-case basis if the particular case exceeds the Stop-Loss Threshold as 
described in paragraph (6) of 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE (TAC)§ 134.401(c).  This independent reimbursement mechanism, 
the Stop-Loss Method or Stop-Loss Methodology, is sometimes referred to as the Stop-Loss Exception or the Stop-Loss 
Rule. 

3  Texas Property and Casualty Insurance Guaranty Association.   
 
4  Carrier is an impaired insurer under TEX. INS. CODE ANN. § 21.28-C. 
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convened and concluded on February 28, 2008.5    

 

 II. DISCUSSION 

 

A.  Factual Overview 

 

The basic facts were uncontested.  Claimant sustained a compensable injury and was 

admitted to Provider, where Claimant underwent treatment.  After Claimant was discharged from the 

hospital, Provider submitted a bill to Carrier in the amount of $44,677.106 based on Provider’s usual 

and customary charges for the inpatient stay and surgical procedure.  To date, Carrier has paid 

$2,460.25. 

 

B. Issues  

 

1.  Summary of Positions and ALJ’s Decision 

 

 In summary, the parties’ positions and ALJ’s findings are as follows: 

 
 MRD Provider Carrier ALJ 

Charges  $44,677.10 $44,677.10 $44,677.10 $44,677.10 

                                                 
5  Beginning in 2003, the Division began referring a significant number of ACIHFG cases to SOAH. Between 

2003 and August 31, 2005, approximately 885 ACIHFG cases were referred to SOAH for contested case hearings on 
issues including the Stop-Loss Exception, audits, and the reimbursement of implantables. In order to efficiently and 
economically manage this growing number of cases, SOAH in late 2004 and early 2005 began to join the cases into a 
Stop-Loss Docket, and the cases were abated. By the close of the 2005 regular legislative session, SOAH realized a 
finite, but still unknown, number of Stop-Loss cases would be referred to SOAH by the Division through 
August 31, 2005.  

6   At the hearing, Provider reduced its bill by $32.90, from $44,677.10 to $44,644.20, for personal charges. 
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After Reductions $2,236.007
    $44,644.208 $2,460.259 $30,308.9010

Reimbursement 
Methodology per diem x 75% per diem per diem 

Reimbursement 
Amount $2,236.00 $33,483.15 $2,460.25 $2,460.25 

Less  Payment ($2,236.00) ($2,460.25)  ($2,460.25) ($2,460.25) 
Balance Due 
Provider $0.00 $31,033.90 $0.00 $0.00 

 

2. Background  

 

When a hospital’s total audited bill is greater than $40,000, the Division’s Stop-Loss 

Exception applies, and the hospital is reimbursed at 75% of its total audited bill.  The purpose of the 

Stop-Loss Methodology is “to ensure fair and reasonable compensation to the hospital for unusually 

                                                 

 

7  MRD determined that the Stop-Loss Exception did not apply because the services were not unusually 
extensive.  Based on its application of the per-diem rate, it found that Provider is entitled to $2,236.00 reimbursement for 
a 2-day hospital stay (2 x $1,118.00, $2,236.00).  It concluded that Provider is not entitled to any additional 
reimbursement based on Carrier’s payment.   

 
8  Provider contended it is entitled to reimbursement according to the Stop-Loss Methodology at 75 percent of 

total audited charges.  It agreed to reduce its charges by $32.90 for services unrelated to the compensable injury.  With 
that reduction, it contended that it is owed $31,033.90, after applying the Stop-Loss Methodology ($44,677.10 - $32.90 , 
$44,644.20 x .75, $33,483.15 - $2,460.25, $31,033.90).  

 
9  Carrier reduced Provider’s charge for unbundling, excessive charges, undocumented charges, and unrelated 

charges.  It paid Provider $2,236.00 according to the per-diem methodology for a two-day hospital stay and $224.25 for 
blood administration for a total payment of $2,460.25.  Its bills are prepared by Corvel Corporation (Corvel).  Christi 
Averitt, the supervisor of Corvel’s medical review and quality control department, testified regarding some of the 
reductions to Provider’s bill. Charges were reduced for unbundling because they were a routine supply or service that 
should have been included in an overall or global charge with other services.  She said pharmacy and laboratory charges 
were reduced on the same basis.  Corvel follows Medicare guidelines in determining when a charge is unbundled.   

 
Corvel identified several additional charges as potentially erroneous with further documentation needed.  Ms. 

Averitt specifically addressed some of these charges, including an applicator liquid and spray for $1,050.00, which she 
said should be included in the cost of the operating room; a charge of $299.00 for SSEP/EMG, which is a way of 
monitoring nerves during back surgery and which she said is not shown in the operations report; a $1,750.00 charge for a 
Symphony PCS Disp, which is a means of saving a partient’s blood and is not shown to have been used; and a $265.00 
charge for a walker without wheels, which is a duplicate charge of a walker with wheels.    

 
10  The ALJ finds as follows: (1) Provider’s charges should be reduced for unbundling as urged by Carrier, 

including pharmacy and lab charges, because Carrier presented probative evidence that the charges were improperly 
unbundled and Provider presented no contrary evidence.  This amounts to $13,585.75.  (2) Provider’s charges should be 
reduced by the amount of certain items Corvel identified as potentially being charged in error, with further 
documentation needed.  These include $299.00 for SSEP/EMG, $111.00 for dressing tegaderm, $27.80 for set bone 
collection, and $55.00 for a wet prep spray.  Provider had the burden of proof.  The ALJ could not find that these items 
were documented in the records.  A $256.75 charge for a kit frame should be taken out because it is shown to be a 
duplicate (Carrier’s Ex. 1 at 22).  These reductions do not  include the applicator liquid and spray because Carrier did not 
use the proper code in denying the claim (unbundled rather than undocumented) and the Symphony PCS Disp and 
symphony machine because they were shown to be used (Provider’s Ex. 1 at 41).  The reduction amounts to $749.55.  (3) 
Adding $749.55 to the $13,585.75 previously discussed indicates a reduction of $14,335.30.  This brings Provider’s bill 
to $30,308.90, which is below the $40,000 Stop-Loss Threshold.  (4) Provider failed to prove Carrier applied the per-
diem methodology incorrectly.  (5) Therefore, no additional reimbursement is ordered.   
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costly services rendered during treatment to an injured worker.”11  The following legal issues in this 

case were decided by a SOAH En Banc Panel12 (En Banc Panel), and those determinations are 

incorporated herein.  Legal arguments related to these issues will not be addressed, other than in the 

Conclusions of Law. 

 

1. The ALJs conclude that a hospital’s post-audit usual and customary charges for items 
listed in 28 TAC § 134.401(c)(4) are the audited charges used to calculate whether 
the Stop-Loss Threshold has been met for a workers’ compensation admission.  The 
ALJs decline to adopt the Carriers’ argument to use the carve-out reimbursement 
amounts in § 134.401(c)(4) as audited charges, and they decline to adopt the 
Division’s argument to use a fair-and-reasonable amount as determined by a carrier 
in its bill review as audited charges.  

 
2. The ALJs find that when the Stop-Loss Methodology applies to a workers’ 

compensation hospitalization, all eligible items, including items listed in 
§ 134.401(c)(4), are reimbursed at 75% of their post-audit amount.  Items listed in 
§ 134.401(c)(4) are not reimbursed at the carve out amounts provided in that section 
when the Stop-Loss Methodology is applied.  

 
3. The ALJs conclude that any reasons for denial of a claim or defenses not asserted by 

a Carrier before a request for medical dispute resolution may not be considered, 
whether or not they arise out of an audit.  The ALJs also conclude that Carriers’ audit 
rights are not limited by § 134.401(c)(6)(A)(v) when the Stop-Loss Methodology 
applies.  In such cases, carriers may audit in accordance with § 134.401(b)(2)(c). 

 
4. The ALJs find that a hospital establishes eligibility for applying the Stop-Loss 

Methodology under § 134.401(c)(4) when total eligible amounts exceed the Stop-
Loss Threshold of $40,000.  There is no additional requirement for a hospital to 
establish that any or all of the services were unusually costly or unusually 
extensive.13  

 

Finally, in reply to a request for clarification, the En Banc Panel found that when referring to 

a hospital’s usual and customary charges, the rules are referring to the hospital’s own usual and 

customary charges and not to charges that are an average or median of other hospitals’ charges.14  

Provider charged its usual and customary charges for the items and services provided.  

 

                                                                                                                                                             
      
11  28 TAC § 134.401(c)(6). 

12  En Banc Panel Order in Consolidated Stop-Loss Legal Issues Docket, SOAH Docket No. 453-03-1487.M4 
(Lead Docket), issued January 12, 2007. 

13  Because of a typographical error, the En Banc Panel’s decision incorrectly cites § 134.401(c)(4) rather than  
§ 134.401(c)(6) as the applicable rule. 

 
14  Letter from ALJ Catherine C. Egan dated February 23, 2007. 
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In summary, the ALJ concludes that the Stop-Loss Threshold was met in this case and that 

the amounts in dispute should be calculated accordingly.  

 

III. FINDINGS OF FACT 

 

1. Claimant sustained a compensable injury in the course and scope of his employment; his 
employer had coverage with TPCIGA for Legion Insurance Company (Carrier). 

 
2. Vista Medical Center Hospital (Provider) provided medical treatment to Claimant for the 

compensable injury. 
 
3. Provider submitted itemized billing totaling $44,677.10 for services provided to Claimant. 
 
4. Provider reduced its bill by $32.90 to $44,644.20 to eliminate personal items.  
 
5. The amount billed was Provider’s usual and customary charge for these items and 

treatments. 
 
6. Carrier issued payments of $2,460.25 to Provider for the services in question. 
 
7. Carrier denied further reimbursement to Provider. 
 
8. Provider requested Dispute Resolution Services from the Medical Review Division (MRD) 

of the Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission (Commission).   
 
9. Effective September 1, 2005, the legislature dissolved the Commission and created the 

Division of Workers' Compensation within the Texas Department of Insurance.  The 
Commission and its successor are collectively referred to as the Division.  

 
10. MRD issued its Findings and Decision holding that no additional reimbursement was owed 

Provider. 
 
11. Provider timely filed a request for a contested case hearing on the MRD’s decision. 
 
12. All parties were provided not less than 10-days notice of hearing and of their rights under the 

applicable rules and statutes. 
 
13. On February 28, 2008, Administrative Law Judge James W. Norman convened a hearing on 

the merits at the hearing facilities of the State Office of Administrative Hearings (SOAH) in 
Austin, Texas.  Carrier and Provider were present and represented by counsel.  The Division 
did not participate in the hearing.  The hearing concluded that day and the record closed on 
February 28, 2008. 

 
14. Provider’s total audited charges under § 134.401(c)(6)(A)(v), after additional appropriate  

reductions, are $30,308.90, which does not permit Provider to obtain reimbursement under 
the Division’s Stop-Loss Methodology. 

 
15. There was insufficient evidence that Carrier’s payment of $2,460.25 was inappropriate under 

the per-diem methodology.   
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IV. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

 

1. The State Office of Administrative Hearings has jurisdiction over matters related to the 
hearing in this proceeding, including the authority to issue a decision and order, pursuant to 
TEX. LAB. CODE ANN. §§ 402.073 and 413.031(k) and TEX. GOV’T CODE ANN. ch. 2003. 

 
2. Provider timely requested a hearing, as specified in 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE (TAC) § 148.3. 
 
3. Proper and timely notice of the hearing was provided to the parties in accordance with TEX. 

GOV’T CODE ANN. §§ 2001.051 and 2001.052. 
 
4. Provider had the burden of proof in this proceeding pursuant to 28 TAC § 148.21(h) and (i). 
 
5.  All eligible items, including the items listed in 28 TAC § 131.401(c)(4), are included in the 

calculation of the $40,000 Stop-Loss Threshold. 
 
6.  In calculating whether the Stop-Loss Threshold has been met, all eligible items are included 

at the hospital’s usual and customary charges in the absence of an applicable MARS or a 
specific contract. 

 
7.  The carve-out reimbursement amounts contained in 28 TAC § 134.401(c)(4) are not used to 

calculate whether the Stop-Loss Threshold has been met. 
 
8.  When the Stop-Loss Methodology applies to a workers’ compensation admission, all eligible 

items, including items listed in 28 TAC § 134.401(c)(4), are reimbursed at 75% of their post-
audit amount. 

 
9.  Under the Stop-Loss Methodology, items listed in 28 TAC § 134.401(c)(4) are not 

reimbursed at the carve-out amounts provided in that section when the Stop-Loss 
Methodology applies. 

 
10.  Carriers’ audit rights are not limited by 28 TAC § 134.401(c)(6)(A)(v) when the Stop-Loss 

Methodology applies.  In such cases, carriers may audit in accordance with 28 TAC § 
134.401(b)(2)(C). 

 
11.  Pursuant to 28 TAC § 133.307(j)(2), any defense or reason for denial of a claim not asserted 

by a carrier before a request for medical dispute resolution may not be considered at the 
hearing before SOAH, whether or not it arises out of an audit.  

 
12.  A hospital, Provider in this case, establishes eligibility for applying the Stop-Loss 

Methodology under 28 TAC § 134.401(c)(4) when total eligible charges exceed the Stop- 
Loss Threshold of $40,000.  There is no additional requirement for a hospital to separately 
establish that any or all of the services were unusually costly or unusually extensive. 

 
13.  The February 17, 2005 Staff Report (Staff Report) by MRD Director Allen C. 

McDonald, Jr., is not consistent with the Stop-Loss Rule, 28 TAC § 134.401(c)(6), and is not 
consistent with the Division’s prior interpretation of the rule that the $40,000 Stop-Loss 
Threshold alone triggered the application of the Stop-Loss Methodology.  
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14.  The Staff Report is not consistent with the Stop-Loss Rule, the preambles to the Stop-Loss 
Rule published in the Texas Register, or MRD decisions issued prior to February 17, 2005. 

 
15.  The Staff Report has no legal effect in this case. 
 
16. The Stop-Loss Methodology does not apply to this case.  
 
17. As specified in the above Findings of Fact, Carrier has already reimbursed Provider 

$2,460.25. 
 
18. Provider did not prove that Carrier’s payment is insufficient.   
 
20. Based on the foregoing findings of fact and conclusions of law, Carrier does not owe 

Provider additional reimbursement. 
 

ORDER 
 

It is hereby ORDERED that that TPCIGA for Legion Insurance Company does not owe 

Vista Medical Center Hospital any additional reimbursement.   

 

SIGNED April 11, 2008. 
 

 
 
_______________________________________________ 
JAMES W. NORMAN 
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE 
STATE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 

 


