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Zurich American Insurance Company (“the Carrier”) has appealed the Findings and Decision
issued by the Medical Review Division (MRD) of the Texas Workers' Compensation Commission
(the Commission) in a fee dispute involving an interpretation of the Commission's hospital fee
guideline. The decision ordered the Carrier to reimburse HealthSouth Medical Center (“the
Hospital”) an additional $29,342.36 by calculating the reimbursement using stop-loss methodology.
The Carrier argued it correctly reimbursed the Hospital in the amount of $17,133.72, based on the
per diem methodology contained in the guideline. The Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) finds the
per diem methodology should be followed in this proceeding. Accordingly, this decision reverses
the decision of the MRD and finds that no additional reimbursement is required.

I. PROCEDURAL HISTORY, JURISDICTION, AND NOTICE

On February 12, 2003, ALJ Kerry D. Sullivan convened the hearing in Austin, Texas.
Steven M. Tipton, attorney, represented the Carrier. H. Douglas Pruett represented the Hospital.
The Commission did not participate in the hearing.' Notice and jurisdiction were not contested and
will be addressed in the findings of fact and conclusions of law. Following the presentation of
evidence, the record closed on February 12, 2003.

I1. DISCUSSION

A. Factual Overview

't did, however, file a lengthy statement of matters asserted in defense of the MRD decision.


http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/medcases/medfee02/m4-02-2243f%26dr.pdf

Workers Compensation Claimant  sustained a compensable workers' compensation
injury on . On July 25,2001, the Claimant was admitted to HealthSouth Medical Center in
Dallas, Texas, where he had a spinal fusion at L4-L5 and L5-S1 with instrumentation. The Hospital
submitted a bill to the Carrier for $61,968.11 for the four-day inpatient stay and surgical procedure.
Based on the stop-loss reimbursement method contained in the Hospital Fee Guideline,” the Hospital
requested reimbursement of 75% of this amount, or $46,476.08. Instead, the Carrier reimbursed the
Hospital $17,133.72, calculated pursuant to the per diem and “Additional Reimbursement”
provisions of the Guideline.

After the Hospital requested medical dispute resolution, MRD ordered the Carrier to pay an
additional $29,342.36 based on the stop-loss provision of the Guideline. The Carrier timely
requested a hearing.

The underlying facts are not in dispute. The Claimant was admitted to the Hospital for a four
day stay where he underwent spinal surgery to fuse L4-L5 and L5-S1 with instrumentation. Of the
Hospital’s overall bill of $61,968.11, the Hospital charged $36,118.29 for several pieces of surgical
hardware referred to as “implantables,” for which the hospital had paid $11,510.65. Carrier witness
Julie Shank provided uncontroverted testimony that the surgical operation went as planned, was not
unusually long, and required the hospital to provide neither unusually extensive nor expensive
services.

B. The Regulations

In 1992 and again in 1997, the Commission adopted a fee guideline for hospital charges
under the authority of Section 413.011 of the Texas Workers' Compensation Act (“the Act”). The
1992 guideline was subsequently invalidated because of procedural irregularities in its adoption and
was repealed in 1997. In the preamble, the Commission stated it was adopting the 1997 Guideline to
balance the following statutory standards: (1) to ensure that injured workers receive quality health
care reasonably required by the nature of their injury as and when needed; (2) to ensure that the fee
guidelines are fair and reasonable; (3) to achieve effective medical cost control; (4) to ensure that the
fee paid for a workers’ compensation patient would not be in excess of the fee charged for similar
treatment of an injured individual of an equivalent standard of living; and (5) to take into
consideration increased security of payment under the Act.> The Commission expected the 1997
Guideline to reduce the number of disputes and decrease costs.

The Guideline is somewhat complicated and confusing in terms of assessing whether and
how to apply the stop-loss and the per diem reimbursement methodologies. The most significant
provisions are set out below for ease of reference.

Section 134.401(b)(1) of the Guideline defines relevant terms. These include

Stop-Loss Payment-An independent method of payment for an unusually costly or lengthy
stay; and Stop-Loss Threshold (SLT)-Threshold of total charges established by the
Commission, beyond which reimbursement is calculated by multiplying the applicable Stop-
Loss Reimbursement Factor by the total charges identifying that particular threshold.

% 1997 Acute Care Inpatient Hospital Fee Guideline (the Guideline) adopted as 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 134.401.

322 Tex. Reg. 6265 (1997).



Section 134.401(b) (2) (C), under the category of “General Information, states, “All charges
submitted are subject to audit as described in Commission rules.”

Section 134.401(c), entitled “Reimbursement,” includes the following provisions:

(1) Standard Per Diem Amount. The workers’ compensation standard per diem amounts to
be used in calculating the reimbursement for acute care inpatient services are as follows: ...
Surgical-$1,118. . .

(2) Method. All inpatient service provided by an acute care hospital for medical and/or
surgical admissions will be reimbursed using a service related standard per diem amount.

skookskok

(C) Independent reimbursement is allowed on a case-by-case basis if the particular case
exceed the stop-loss threshold as described in paragraph (6) of this subsection . . .

skoskoskok

(4) Additional Reimbursements. All items listed in this paragraph shall be reimbursed in
addition to the normal per diem based reimbursement system in accordance with the
guidelines established by this section. Additional reimbursements apply only to bills that do
not reach the stop-loss threshold described in subsection (¢)(6) of this section.

(A) When medically necessary the following services indicated by revenue codes shall be
reimbursed at cost to the hospital plus 10%.

(1) Implantables. . .

skoskoskok

(6) Stop-Loss Method. Stop-Loss is an independent reimbursement methodology established
to ensure fair and a reasonable compensation to the hospital for unusually costly services
rendered during treatment to an injured worker. This methodology shall be used in place of
and not in addition to the per diem based reimbursement system. . . . .

(A) Explanation.

(1) To be eligible for stop-loss payment the total audited charges for a hospital admission
must exceed $40,000, the minimum stop-loss threshold.

(i1) This stop-loss threshold is established to ensure compensation for unusually extensive
services required during an admission.

(i11) If audited charges exceed the stop-loss threshold, reimbursement for the entire
admission shall be paid using a Stop-Loss Reimbursement Factor (SLRF) of 75%.



(iv) The Stop-Loss Reimbursement Factor is multiplied by the total audited charges to
determine the Workers’ Compensation Reimbursement Amount (WCRA) for the admission.

(v) Audited charges are those charges which remain after a bill review by the insurance
carrier has been performed. Those charges which may be deducted are personal items (e.g.,
telephone, television). If an on-site audit is performed, charges for services which are not
documented as rendered during the admission may be deducted. Items and services which
are not related to the compensable injury may be deducted. The formula to obtain audited
charges is as follows: Total Charges - Deducted Charges = Audited Charges.

Pointing out that, pursuant to Section 134.401(b)(2)(C), all charges submitted are subject to
audit as described in the Commission’s rules, the Carrier also relies upon Section 133.301, which
provides that a carrier shall retrospectively review all medical bills and pay for or deny payment in
accordance with the Act, rules, and appropriate fee and treatment guidelines.

C. Analysis

Two prior SOAH decisions by the same ALJ have addressed the treatment of implantables in
the context of the Commission’s Stop-Loss rule.* In those decisions, the ALJ determined that, even
under the stop-loss method, the Carrier could audit and reduce charges for implantables that
exceeded the hospital’s costs plus 10%. The ALJ in the present proceeding concurs with this result.

As noted in the previous decisions and in the parties’ arguments in this proceeding, the
Commission has not applied these rules in a consistent manner with respect to the appropriate
reimbursement of implantables. Sometimes the costs of the implantables have been carved out prior
to applying the Stop-Loss provisions. More recently, the Commission has not allowed these costs to
be carved out. The ALJ also agrees with the conclusion in the previous SOAH decisions that the
rule is ambiguous and somewhat difficult to reconcile with stated Commission policy. In particular,
and as noted by the Commission in the Statement of Matters Asserted:

Given that the preamble to the (Guideline) clearly rejects a percentage of billed

charges as a method of determining payment,” why is the stop-loss provision based

on total charges. How do “total charges” promote cost-containment?

The Commission answers this question in the Statement of Matters Asserted by attempting to
define “total charges” as the amount billed minus any charges reduced by the Carrier in its bill

4
2001).

SOAH Docket No. 453-00-2092.M4 (April 24, 2001) and SOAH Docket No. 453-01-1612.M4 (September 6,

> 22 Tex. Reg. at 6297.



review, including reduction of charges to the ususal and customary amount, as authorized by 28
TAC §134.401. The ALJ acknowledges that Commission’s approach would apparently provide
some measure of cost containment. In the ALJ’s view, however, the term “total charges” cannot
reasonably be redefined in the manner Staff suggests outside of a rule-making proceeding.

Aside from changing the plain meaning of the term “total charges,” Staff’s approach would
also be in real tension with Section 134.401 (c)(6)(A)(v), which appears to specify a discrete set of
charges that the Carrier may adjust under the stop-loss method of reimbursement. As the Hospital
points out, Section 134.401(c)(6)(A)(5) is a subset of the more comprehensive bill review
provisions authorized under Section 133.301. Section 134.401(c)(6)(A)(v) would thus be
superfluous if the Carrier could reduce stop-loss bills in accordance with the broader review rights
set out in Section 133.301. Additionally, because Section 134.401(c)(6)(A)(v) is more specific than
Section 133.301 in terms of applying to stop-loss cases, it would violate at least two rules of
regulatory construction to interpret these provisions in a way that would render the more specific
provision meaningless.

On the other hand, if Section 134.401(c)(6)(A)(v) were accepted as the exclusive list of
auditable items for stop-loss cases, hospitals would effectively have the ability to determine their
level of reimbursement simply by doing the math and pricing implantables at the desired level-a

result that would not achieve effective medical cost control, as required by Section 413.011(d) of the
Labor Code.

Given this state of the regulatory framework, any potential interpretation would be at least
somewhat problematic. But an overall review of the regulations, read with regard for the pertinent
policy objectives, leads the ALJ to conclude that reimbursement under the stop-loss provisions is not
an automatic right that vests every time a bill tops $40,000. Instead, it appears that the per diem rate
is the default and preferred method of reimbursement that should be employed unless the Hospital
justifies use of the stop-loss method in a particular case.

6 Constructions that would render part of the rule useless should be avoided, and specific provisions are given
preference over general provisions. See 67 Tex. Jur. 3™ (Statutes) §§121, 123.



Section 134.401(c)(2) goes so far as to state that all inpatient services will be reimbursed
using a per diem method. Plainly, this section does not mean exactly what it says or the stop-loss
provisions would be meaningless. But that wording is some indication that the stop-loss method
should be construed as an exception to the general rule requiring application of the per diem
methodology. Additionally, stop-loss is to be “allowed on a case-by-case basis” if the $40,000
threshold is exceeded.” When this occurs, the hospital is “eligible” for stop-loss reimbursement.®
These terms do not suggest an unqualified right (or obligation) to proceed under the stop-loss
methodology. Instead, the decision must be made in the context of a particular case, and with an eye
toward fulfilling the underlying goal of that methodology within the broader context of the workers’
compensation regulatory scheme.’

Turning to the specific circumstances of the present case, the ALJ finds that the facts do not
warrant use of the stop-loss reimbursement method in this particular proceeding. Use of that method
is simply not necessary in order to fairly and reasonably compensate the hospital in this proceeding.
The only reason the hospital is even eligible for consideration of stop-loss reimbursement is that it
charged the Carrier $36,118.29 for implantables that cost it only $11,510.65-an unexplained and
unsupported markup of 250% over the hospital’s direct costs. In sharp contrast, a markup of only
10% would be allowed under the per diem reimbursement method.

The ALJ believes the approach adopted here is consistent with the purpose of the rule, which
is intended to ensure fair and reasonable compensation to the hospital for unusually costly service
rendered during treatment to an injured worker. Elsewhere, the rule states that the threshold was
established to “ensure compensation for unusually extensive services required during an admission.”

Finally, the regulations must provide effective medical cost control pursuant to Section 413.011(d)
of'the Act. As noted above, the surgical operation went according to plan, was not unusually long,
and required the hospital to provide neither unusually extensive nor expensive services.

Aside from making the most sense in terms of ensuring effective cost control, it appears that
this case-by-case approach would also consistently be the most fair to the parties. Carrier witness
Julie Shanks, a registered nurse and the Commission’s former Director of Medical Review, testified
that the automatic application of stop-loss when the $40,000 threshold is attained could be unfair to
either the hospital or the Carrier. Of course she believed it was unfair to the Carrier in the present
case, where the hospital marked up the price of implantables by 250%. She also identified a
potential context in which application of the stop-loss method could be unfair to the hospital: in a
straight-forward case in which a hospital charged its actual costs (or even cost plus 10%) for
expensive implantables and incurred few additional expenses, the hospital would lose money if its
bill were automatically cut by 25% in accordance with the stop-loss procedure.

7 28 TAC § 134.401(c)(2)(C).
8 28 TAC § 134.401(c)(6)(A)(i).

% The ALJ acknowledges that Section 134.401(c)(6)(A)(iii) and (iv) are couched in terms suggesting the automatic
application of the stop-loss rule when the threshold is met. It is possible, however, to interpret these provisions as
descriptive of the methodology once it is determined that stop-loss should be applied based on the factors described in
the subsections that precede them. As noted above, the entire rule is unclear. The best the ALJ can hope to do is apply
an interpretation that is reasonable and complies with the overarching purposes of the regulatory framework.



III. CONCLUSION

Under these circumstances, the ALJ finds that the Carrier appropriately applied the per diem

methodology in reimbursing the Hospital $17,133.72 for the services in dispute. The MRD decision
requiring the Carrier to reimburse the hospital an additional $29,342.36 based on the stop-loss
methodology should be reversed, and no additional reimbursement should be required.
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IV. FINDINGS OF FACT

Workers’ Compensation claimant (“the Claimant”) sustained a compensable workers'
compensation injury on

At the time of the compensable injury, Zurich American Insurance Company (“the Carrier”)
was responsible for the Claimant’s workers’ compensation insurance coverage.

On July 25, 2001, the Claimant was admitted to HealthSouth Medical Center (“the Hospital”)
in Dallas, Texas.

The Hospital submitted an itemized bill to the Carrier for $61,968.11 for the Claimant’s
inpatient stay.

The Carrier reimbursed the Hospital a total of $17,133.72.

The Hospital requested dispute resolution services from the Medical Review Division
(MRD) of the Texas Workers’ Compensation Commission (the Commission).

On August 26, 2002, MRD issued Findings and a Decision ordering the Carrier to remit an
additional $29,342.36 to the Hospital based on the stop-loss methodology of the Acute Care
Inpatient Hospital Fee Guideline (the Guideline) issued by the Commission in 1997.

On September 16, 2002, the Carrier filed a request for a hearing on MRD's decision.

The Commission sent notice of the hearing to the parties on November 1, 2002, and a
statement of matters asserted on December 9, 2002. The notices informed the parties of the
matter to be determined, the right to appear and be represented by counsel, the time and

place of the hearing, and the statutes and rules involved.

The Claimant had a spinal fusion at L4-L5 and L5-S1 with an implant. The implant included
certain hardware referred to as “implantables.”

The Claimant was hospitalized for four days.

The surgery and the Claimant’s hospital stay went well. It was not unusually lengthy, and
there were no unusually extensive or expensive services provided by the hospital.

The Carrier reviewed the bill submitted by the Hospital.

The Carrier calculated the reimbursement on the per diem methodology of the Guideline.



15.

16.

17.

18.

The Carrier reimbursed the Hospital $4,472 for four days of inpatient care at the per diem
rate of $1,118.

The Hospital purchased the implantables from vendors for $11,510.65.
The Hospital submitted a charge of $36,118.29 to the Carrier for the implantables.

The Carrier reduced the amount of reimbursement for the implantables to the cost of the
implantables plus 10 percent and reimbursed the hospital this additional amount
($12,661.72).

V. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The Texas Workers' Compensation Commission has jurisdiction to decide the issue
presented, pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE ANN. § 413.031.

The State Office of Administrative Hearings has jurisdiction over matters related to the

hearing in this proceeding, including the authority to issue a decision and order, pursuant to
TEX. LAB. CODE ANN. §§ 402.073 and 413.031(k) and TEX. GOV'T CODE ANN. ch. 2003.

The Carrier timely filed notice of appeal, as specified in 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE (TAC)
§148.3.

Proper and timely notice of the hearing was provided to the parties according to TEX. GOV'T
CODE ANN. §§ 2001.051 and 2001.052.

The Carrier had the burden of proof'in this proceeding pursuant 28 TAC § 148.21(h) and (i).

As specified in 28 TAC § 134.401(c)(2), all inpatient services provided by an acute care
hospital for a surgical admission will be reimbursed using a standard per diem amount.

Although the hospital’s charges were eligible for consideration for payment according to the
stop-loss method set out in 28 TAC §134.401, stop-loss should not be allowed in this case
because there were no unusually extensive or expensive services provided in association
with the Claimant’s stay and the charges met the $40,000 threshold only because the
Hospital marked up its charges for implantables by $24,607.64 above their cost.

The standard per diem amount for a surgical admission is $1,118, as set forth in 28 TAC §
134.401(c)(1).

As specified in 28 TAC § 134.401(c)(3), the formula for calculating reimbursement using
per diem methodology is as follows:

Length of Stay x Standard Per Diem Amount = the Workers'
Compensation Reimbursement Amount.
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Based on cost to the hospital plus 10 percent, an additional reimbursement of $12,661.72
shall be provided to the per diem for medically necessary implantables, according to 28 TAC
§§ 134.401(b)(2)(B) and (c)(4)(A).

By applying the formula specified in Conclusion of Law No. 9 and adding the additional
reimbursement, as specified in Conclusion of Law No. 10, the Hospital's appropriate

reimbursement is $17,133.72.

As specified in Finding of Fact No. 5, the Carrier has already reimbursed the Hospital
$17,133.72.

Based on the foregoing findings of fact and conclusions of law, the Carrier owes the Hospital
no additional reimbursement.

ORDER

It is hereby ordered that the appeal of HealthSouth Medical Center is denied.

SIGNED this 10™ day of April, 2003.

KERRY D. SULLIVAN
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE
STATE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS



