

PO Box 12050 | Austin, TX 78711 | 800-252-7031 | tdi.texas.gov/wc

# **Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision**

## **General Information**

**Requestor Name** Baylor Orthopedic & Spine Hospital **Respondent Name** AIU Insurance Co

MFDR Tracking Number M4-24-0433-01 **Carrier's Austin Representative** Box Number 19

**DWC Date Received** October 2, 2023

### **Summary of Findings**

Dates of Service	Disputed Services	Amount in Dispute	Amount Due
May 12, 2023	26735	\$7,084.74	\$0.00
	Total	\$7,084.74	\$0.00

## **Requestor's Position**

The requestor did not submit a position statement with this request for MFDR. They did submit a document titled, "Reconsideration" dated September 21, 2023 that states, "According to TX Workers Compensation fee schedule the expected reimbursement for CPT code 26735 is \$12,881.60. Please note that Outpatient services should be reimbursed at 200% GARR."

#### Supplemental response submitted December 6, 2023

"No payment has been received."

Amount in Dispute: \$7,084.74

**Respondent's Position** 

"At the current time, it remains the carrier's position that the provider has been paid all that the provider is entitled to. However, the carrier is reprocessing the provider's bill to determine if any additional amounts are owed. If the carrier's position changes, we will supplement our response."

**Response submitted by** Flahive, Ogden and Latson

# **Findings and Decision**

### <u>Authority</u>

This medical fee dispute is decided according to <u>Texas Labor Code §413.031</u> and applicable rules of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC).

### Statutes and Rules

- 1. <u>28 TAC §133.307</u> sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes.
- 2. <u>28 TAC §134.403</u> sets out the fee guidelines for outpatient hospital services.

### Denial Reasons

The insurance carrier reduced the payment for the disputed services with the following claim adjustment codes:

- P12 Workers' compensation jurisdictional fee schedule adjustment.
- 4915 The charge for the services represented by the code is included/bundled into the total facility payment and does not warrant a separate payment or the payment status indicator determines the service is packaged or excluded from payment.
- 802- Charge for this procedure exceeds the OPPS schedule allowance.
- 193 Original payment decision is being maintained. Upon review, it was determined that this claim was processed properly.
- B13 Previously paid. Payment for this claim/service may have been provided in a previous payment.

#### <u>lssues</u>

- 1. What rule is applicable to reimbursement?
- 2. Is the requester entitled to additional reimbursement?

#### **Findings**

1. DWC Rule 28 TAC §134.403 (d) requires Texas workers' compensation system participants when coding, billing, reporting and reimbursement to apply Medicare payment policies in effect on the date of service.

The Medicare payment policy applicable to the services in dispute is found at <u>www.cms.gov</u>, Claims processing Manual, Chapter 4, Section 10.1.1. Specifically, Payment Status Indicators and Ambulatory Payment Category (APC).

DWC Rule 28 TAC §134.403 (e) states in pertinent part, regardless of billed amount, when no specific fee schedule or contract reimbursement shall be the maximum allowable reimbursement (MAR) amount under subsection (f) of this section including any applicable outlier payment amounts and reimbursement for implantables.

DWC Rule 28 TAC §134.403 (f) states in pertinent part the reimbursement calculation used for establishing the MAR shall be the Medicare facility specific amount, including outlier payment amounts, determined by applying the most recently adopted and effective Medicare Outpatient Prospective Payment System (OPPS) reimbursement formula and factors as published annually in the *Federal Register*.

The Medicare facility specific amount is calculated when the APC payment rate is multiplied by 60% to determine the labor portion. This amount is multiplied by the facility wage index for the date of service. The non-labor amount is determined when the APC payment rate is multiplied by 40%. The sum of the labor portion multiplied by the facility wage index and the non-labor portion determines the Medicare specific amount. Review of the submitted medical bill and the applicable fee guidelines referenced above is shown below.

• Procedure code 26735 has status indicator J1, for procedures paid at a comprehensive rate. All covered services on the bill are packaged with the primary "J1" procedure.

This code is assigned APC 5113. The OPPS Addendum A rate is \$2,976.66 multiplied by 60% for an unadjusted labor amount of \$1,786.00, in turn multiplied by facility wage index 0.9562 for an adjusted labor amount of \$1,707.77.

The non-labor portion is 40% of the APC rate, or \$1,190.66.

The sum of the labor and non-labor portions is \$2,898.43.

The Medicare facility specific amount is \$2,898.43 multiplied by 200% for a MAR of \$5,796.86.

2. The total recommended reimbursement for the disputed services is \$5,796.86. The insurance carrier paid \$5,796.86. Additional payment is not recommended.

The outcome of this medical fee dispute is based on the evidence presented by the requestor and the respondent at the time of adjudication. Though all evidence may not have been discussed, it was considered.

DWC finds the requester has not established that additional reimbursement is due.

#### Order

Under Texas Labor Code §§413.031 and 413.019, DWC has determined the requestor is entitled to \$0.00 additional reimbursement for the disputed services.

#### **Authorized Signature**

Signature

Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

January 9, 2024

Date

## **Your Right to Appeal**

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision under 28 TAC §133.307, which applies to disputes filed on or after **June 1, 2012**.

A party seeking review must submit DWC Form-045M, *Request to Schedule, Reschedule, or Cancel a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee Dispute Decision (BRC-MFD)* and follow the instructions on the form. You can find the form at <u>www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html</u>. DWC must receive the request within **20 days** of when you receive this decision. You may fax, mail, or personally deliver your request to DWC using the contact information on the form or the field office handling the claim. If you have questions about DWC Form-045M, please call CompConnection at 1-800-252-7031, option 3 or email CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov.

The party seeking review of the MFDR decision must deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in the dispute at the same time the request is filed with DWC. **Please include a copy of the** *Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision* with any other required information listed in <u>28 TAC §141</u>.1(d).

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 1-800-252-7031, opción 3 o correo electronico CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov.