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Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision 

General Information 
 

Requestor Name 
Jay Harrison, D.C. 

Respondent Name 
New Hampshire Insurance Co. 

MFDR Tracking Number 
M4-24-0284-01 

DWC Date Received 
October 4, 2023 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 
Box Number 19 
 

Summary of Findings 
 

Dates of 
Service Disputed Services Amount in 

Dispute 
Amount 

Due 
March 10, 2023 99456-W5-WP $150.00 $0.00 

 
 

Requestor's Position  
“DESIGNATED DOCTOR EXAM… CARRIER IS REQUIRED TO PAY DESIGNATED DOCTOR EXAMS… 
THE CURRENT RULES ALLOW REIMBURSEMENT… AN ORIGINAL BILL AND A RECONSIDERATION 
WERE SUBMITTED, THE CURRENT RULES ALLOW REIMBURSEMENT.” 

Amount in Dispute: $150.00 

Respondent's Position  
“The carrier's position is that it reimbursed the provider $350 for the MMI portion of the exam, 
$300 the first body area and $150 for the second body area. This totals $800. This amount was 
paid pursuant to rule 134.250. The provider was entitled to $350 for the MMI exam, $300 for the 
impairment rating involving the first body area based upon range of motion testing and $150 for 
the remaining body area. This totals $800. The provider is not entitled to any additional monies.” 

Response submitted by:  Flahive, Ogden & Latson 
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Findings and Decision 

 
Authority 

This medical fee dispute is decided according to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and applicable rules 
of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC). 

Statutes and Rules 

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical 
fee disputes. 

2.  28 TAC §134.250  sets out the fee guidelines for examinations to determine maximum   
medical improvement and impairment rating. 

Adjustment Reasons 

• 309 – THE CHARGE FOR THIS PROCEDURE EXCEEDS THE FEE SCHEDULE ALLOWANCE.  

• P12 - WORKERS' COMPENSATION JURISDICTIONAL FEE SCHEDULE ADJUSTMENT. 

 

Issues 

1. What rules apply to the services in dispute? 

2. Is the requestor entitled to additional reimbursement for the disputed date of service?  

 

Findings 

1. This medical fee dispute involves an examination by a designated doctor for the purpose of 
establishing: if maximum medical improvement (MMI) has been reached; what date MMI was 
reached if applicable; and to provide an impairment rating (IR) if MMI has been reached. 

28 TAC §134.250 sets out the fee guidelines for examinations to determine maximum medical 
improvement and impairment rating. In pertinent part, 28 TAC §134.250 states, “(3) The 
following applies for billing and reimbursement of an MMI evaluation… (C) An examining 
doctor, other than the treating doctor, shall bill using CPT code 99456. Reimbursement shall be 
$350.   
(4) The following applies for billing and reimbursement of an IR evaluation.  (A) The health care 
provider shall include billing components of the IR evaluation with the applicable MMI 
evaluation CPT code. The number of body areas rated shall be indicated in the unit’s column of 
the billing form… (C) For musculoskeletal body areas, the examining doctor may bill for a 
maximum of three body areas.  

(i) Musculoskeletal body areas are defined as follows: 
        (I) spine and pelvis; 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/LA/htm/LA.413.htm
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=133&rl=307
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=134&rl=250
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        (II) upper extremities and hands; and 
        (III) lower extremities (including feet). 
     (ii) The maximum allowable reimbursement (MAR) for musculoskeletal body areas shall be as 

follows:   
(I) $150 for each body area if the diagnosis related estimates (DRE) method found in the 
AMA Guides fourth edition is used.   
(II) If full physical evaluation, with range of motion, is performed:  (-a-) $300 for the first 
musculoskeletal body area; and (-b-) $150 for each additional musculoskeletal body area. 

(iii) If the examining doctor performs the MMI examination and the IR testing of the 
musculoskeletal body area(s), the examining doctor shall bill using the appropriate MMI CPT 
code with modifier "WP." Reimbursement shall be 100 percent of the total MAR.” 

2. The requestor is seeking reimbursement for a designated doctor examination to determine 
maximum medical improvement and impairment rating.  

     The requestor billed for 3 units of CPT code 99456-W5-WP, rendered on March 10, 2023.  

The Request for Designated Doctor Examination, form DWC032, indicates that the designated 
doctor was asked to address maximum medical improvement (MMI) and impairment rating (IR). 

28 TAC §134.250(3)(C) which applies to reimbursement of MMI examinations by a designated 
doctor, states that an examining doctor, other than the treating doctor, shall bill using CPT code 
99456 and reimbursement shall be $350.00.  

 A review of the submitted documentation finds that the requestor documented an examination 
by a designated doctor which provided MMI certification and impairment rating for two body 
areas (2 units): cervical, thoracic, and lumbar spine (defined as all one body area) and right 
shoulder. The two body areas evaluated, as defined per 28 TAC §134.250, were the spine and 
upper extremity.  Documentation included range of motion testing on both body areas rated. 
The requestor referenced the use of AMA Guides, 4th Edition in their calculation of impairment 
rating.  

Based on 28 TAC §134.250, the total MAR for the MMI examination by a designated doctor with 
an IR rating based on an evaluation with range of motion of two body areas (2 units), rendered 
on the disputed date of service March 10, 2023, is $800.00. The insurance carrier paid $800.00 
for the services in dispute. 

DWC finds that the requestor is not entitled to additional reimbursement for the disputed date 
of service, March 10, 2023. 

 

Conclusion 

The outcome of this medical fee dispute is based on the evidence presented by the requestor 
and the respondent at the time of adjudication. Though all evidence may not have been 
discussed, it was considered. 

DWC finds the requestor has not established that additional reimbursement is due.  
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Order 

Under Texas Labor Code §§413.031 and 413.019, DWC has determined the requestor is entitled 
to $0.00 additional reimbursement for the disputed services.  

Authorized Signature 

 Signature
 
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

   December 20, 2023 
Date 

Your Right to Appeal 

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision under 28 TAC 
§133.307, which applies to disputes filed on or after June 1, 2012.

A party seeking review must submit DWC Form-045M, Request to Schedule, Reschedule, or Cancel 
a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee Dispute Decision (BRC-MFD) and follow the 
instructions on the form. You can find the form at www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html. DWC 
must receive the request within 20 days of when you receive this decision. You may fax, mail, or 
personally deliver your request to DWC using the contact information on the form or the field 
office handling the claim. If you have questions about DWC Form-045M, please call 
CompConnection at 1-800-252-7031, option 3 or email CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov. 

The party seeking review of the MFDR decision must deliver a copy of the request to all other 
parties involved in the dispute at the same time the request is filed with DWC. Please include a 
copy of the Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision with any other required 
information listed in 28 TAC §141.1(d). 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 
1-800-252-7031, opción 3 o correo electronico CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov.

https://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html
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