PO Box 12050 | Austin, TX 78711 | 800-252-7031 | tdi.texas.gov/wc

Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision General Information

Requestor Name

ACADIAN AMBULANCE SVC OF TEXAS

Respondent Name

TEXAS MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY

MFDR Tracking Number

M4-23-2902-01

Carrier's Austin Representative

Box Number 54

DWC Date Received

July 14, 2023

Summary of Findings

Dates of Service	Disputed Services	Amount in Dispute	Amount Due
October 28, 2022	A0427 and A0425	\$743.49	\$0.00
	Total	\$743.49	\$0.00

Requestor's Position

"As supported by the AASI Patient Care Summary and Trip Notes AASI was Dispatched as an emergency and provided the necessary level of service required to safely and successfully transport the patient to University of San Antonio for additional medical care. At this time Acadian Ambulance requests that our claim, be reviewed and reprocessed for additional payment equal to the total charges billed to the Workers Comp Insurance Carrier, Texas Mutual."

Amount in Dispute: \$743.49

Respondent's Position

"Texas Mutual on 02/16/2023 received the bill from ACADIAN AMBULANCE SVC OF TEXAS LLC... The rationale given by the requestor for the late bill is not consistent with the Rule above. Our position is that no payment is due."

Response Submitted by: Texas Mutual Insurance Company

Findings and Decision

<u>Authority</u>

This medical fee dispute is decided according to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and applicable rules of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC).

Statutes and Rules

- 1. 28 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes.
- 2. 28 TAC §133.20 sets out the medical bill submission procedures for health care providers.
- 3. 28 TAC §102.4 sets out the rules for non-Commission communications.
- 4. TLC §408.027 sets out the rules for timely submission of claims by health care providers.
- 5. TLC §408.0272 provides for certain exceptions to untimely submission of a medical bill.

Denial Reasons

The insurance carrier reduced or denied the payment for the disputed services with the following claim adjustment codes:

- NOTE: PLEASE SUBMIT DOCUMENATION TO SUPPORT EMERGENT TRANSPORT.
- A14 AMB REIMB. IS BASED ON THE 28 TAC 134.203 AND TRAVIS CTY. COURT D-1-GN -15-004940 FINAL JUDGEMENT HOLDING NO PYMTS > 125% OF MEDICARE ARE DUE.
- CAC-P5 BASED ON PAYER REASONABLE AND CUSTOMARY FEES. NO MAXIMUM ALLOWABLE DEFINED BY LEGISLATED FEE ARRANGEMENT.
- CAC-29 THE TIME LIMIT FOR FILING HAS EXPIRED.
- 731 PER 133.20(8) PROVIDER SHALL NOT SUBMIT A MEDICAL BILL LATER THAN THE 95TH DAY AFTER THE DATE THE SERVICE.
- CAC-16 CLAIM/SERVICE LACKS INFORMATION OR HAS SUBMISSION/BILLING ERROR(S)
 WHICH IS NEEDED FOR ADJUDICATION.
- 225 THE SUBMITTED DOCUMENTATION DOES NOT SUPPORT THE SERVICE BEING BILLED. WE WILL RE-EVALUATE THIS UPON RECEIPT OF CLARIFYING INFORMATION.
- 731 PER 133.20(8) PROVIDER SHALL NOT SUBMIT A MEDICAL BILL LATER THAN THE 95TH DAY AFTER THE DATE THE SERVICE.
- 928 HCP MUST SUBMIT DOCUMENTATION TO SUPPORT EXCEPTION TO TIMELY FILING OF BILL (408.0272). NOTIFICATION OF ERRONEOUS SUBMISSION NOT INCLUDED.

Issues

- 1. What is the timely filing deadline applicable to the medical bills for the services in dispute?
- 2. Is the insurance carrier's timely filing denial supported?

<u>Findings</u>

- The requestor seeks reimbursement for ambulance transport services rendered on October 28, 2022. The insurance carrier denied the disputed services due to the 95-day timely filing requirements.
 - 28 TAC §133.20(b) requires that, except as provided in TLC §408.0272, "a health care provider shall not submit a medical bill later than the 95th day after the date the services are provided." No documentation was found to support that any of the exceptions described in TLC §408.0272 apply to the services in this dispute. For that reason, the requestor in this dispute was required to submit the medical bill not-later than 95 days after the date the disputed services were provided.

TLC §408.027(a) states, in pertinent part, that "Failure by the health care provider to timely submit a claim for payment constitutes a forfeiture of the provider's right to reimbursement for that claim for payment."

- 28 TAC §102.4(h) states that "Unless the great weight of evidence indicates otherwise, written communications shall be deemed to have been sent on: (1) the date received, if sent by fax, personal delivery, or electronic transmission or, (2) the date postmarked if sent by mail via United States Postal Service regular mail, or, if the postmark date is unavailable, the later of the signature date on the written communication or the date it was received minus five days. If the date received minus five days is a Sunday or legal holiday, the date deemed sent shall be the next previous day which is not a Sunday or legal holiday."
- 2. Review of the submitted information finds no documentation to support that a medical bill was submitted within 95 days from the date the services were provided. Therefore, pursuant to TLC §408.027(a), the requestor has forfeited the right to reimbursement due to untimely submission of the medical bill for the disputed services.

Conclusion

The outcome of this medical fee dispute is based on the evidence presented by the requestor and the respondent at the time of adjudication. Though all evidence may not have been discussed, it was considered.

The DWC finds the requester has established that reimbursement of \$0.00 is due.

Order

Under Texas Labor Code §§413.031 and 413.019, DWC has determined the requestor is entitled to reimbursement of \$0.00 for the disputed services.

Authorized Signature

		September 15, 2023	
Signature	Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer	Date	

Your Right to Appeal

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision under 28 TAC §133.307, which applies to disputes filed on or after **June 1, 2012**.

A party seeking review must submit DWC Form-045M, Request to Schedule, Reschedule, or Cancel a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee Dispute Decision (BRC-MFD) and follow the instructions on the form. You can find the form at www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html. DWC must receive the request within **20 days** of when you receive this decision. You may fax, mail, or personally deliver your request to DWC using the contact information on the form or the field office handling the claim. If you have questions about DWC Form-045M, please call CompConnection at 1-800-252-7031, option 3 or email CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov.

The party seeking review of the MFDR decision must deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in the dispute at the same time the request is filed with DWC. **Please include a copy of the** *Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision* with any other required information listed in 28 TAC §141.1(d).

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 1-800-252-7031, opción 3 o correo electronico CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov.