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Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision 

General Information 
 

Requestor Name 
Milton E. Kirkwood, D.O. 

Respondent Name 
Mitsui Sumitomo Insurance Co. of America 

MFDR Tracking Number 
M4-23-2649-01 

DWC Date Received 
June 16, 2023 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 
Box Number 19 
 

Summary of Findings 
 

Dates of 
Service Disputed Services Amount in 

Dispute 
Amount 

Due 

March 7, 2023 

Designated Doctor Examination 
99456-W5-NM $0.00 $0.00 

Designated Doctor Examination 
99456-RE-W6 $0.00 $0.00 

Designated Doctor Examination 
99456-RE-W7 $0.00 $0.00 

Designated Doctor Examination 
99456-RE-W8 $0.00 $0.00 

Work Status Report 
99080-73 $15.00 $0.00 

Multiple Impairment Ratings 
99456-W5-MI $100.00 $0.00 

Total $115.00 $0.00 
 

Requestor's Position  

“Review of submitted documentation finds that the doctor performed an evaluation in the 
amount of $1,340.00. The insurance carrier has failed to submit full payment for the Medical Fee 
Guidelines allowable for a State issued Designated Doctors Evaluation. I am requesting for a 
reimbursement of $115.00. The claim was billed in accordance to rule 134.202 Medical Fee 
Guidelines (C)(iii)(D)(II)(III) for the State of Texas. 
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Amount in Dispute: $115.00 

Respondent's Position  

“The provider billed $15 for the issuance of the DWC 73 work status report. However, that report 
would be included in the $125 that the provider was paid for the ability to return to work exam. 
Rule 134.239 provides that when billing for a work status report that is not conducted as a part 
of the exams outlined in rules 134.240 and 134.250, the medical fee is based upon rules 129.5. 
However, the DWC 73 work status report was produced as a result of the ability to return to work 
exam which is one of the exams that is identified under 134.240, specifically subsection(1)(E). 
Accordingly, the provider is not entitled to payment of $15 for the work status report. 

Rules 134.210(e)(5) and 134.250(4)(B) address the question of whether the provider is entitled to 
payment for the two additional DWC 69s that he completed. The provider prepared three DWC 
69s but he never provided an impairment rating because he opined that for each of them, the 
claimant had not reached MMI. The reimbursement language in rules 134.210 and 134.250 is 
based upon impairment ratings being assigned. However, all the provider did was to opine that 
the claimant had not reached MMI … Yet the reimbursement under rules 134.210 and 134.250 
apply to multiple impairment ratings NOT multiple DWC 69s of non-certification of mmi. The 
provider is not entitled to payment for the two additional DWC 69s …”  

Response Submitted by: Flahive, Ogden & Latson 

Findings and Decision 
 

Authority 

This medical fee dispute is decided according to Texas Labor Code (TLC) §413.031 and applicable 
rules of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC). 

Statutes and Rules 

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §127.10 effective November 4, 2018, sets out the 
procedures for designated doctor examinations. 

2. 28 TAC §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes. 

3. 28 TAC §134.210 sets out the fee guidelines for workers’ compensation specific services. 

4. 28 TAC §134.239 sets out billing guidelines for work status reports. 

5. 28 TAC §134.240 sets out billing guidelines for designated doctor examinations. 

6. 28 TAC §134.250 sets out the fee guidelines for examinations to determine maximum 
medical improvement and impairment rating examinations. 

 

 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/LA/htm/LA.413.htm#413.031
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=3&p_dir=&p_rloc=193058&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=193058&ti=28&pt=2&ch=127&rl=10&dt=11/05/2018
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=133&rl=307
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=134&rl=210
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=134&rl=239
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=134&rl=240
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=134&rl=250
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Denial Reasons 

The insurance carrier denied the payment for the disputed services with the following claim 
adjustment codes: 

• 234 – This procedure is not paid separately. 
• R09 – CCI: CPT Manual and CMS coding manual instructions 
• 236 – This procedure or procedure/modifier combination is not compatible with 

another procedure or procedure/modifier combination provided on the same day 
according to the National Correct Coding Initiative or workers compensation state 
regulations/fee schedule requirements. 

• Notes: “HCP isn’t paid for determining IR of the compensable injuries when they are 
not at MMI. It is unclear how the provider expects payment when the EOI injuries are 
not at IR either. No IR was determined for any of the injuries.” 

• Notes: “When a DD is asked to determine RTW status, the payment for 99080-73 is 
included in the W8 reimbursement.” 

• Notes: “Per rule 134.204, modifier MI is billed when the DD is completing multiple 
impairment ratings calculations. However, the non-compensable injuries are not at 
MMI: therefore, no addtl IR occurred.” 

Issues 

1. What are the services reviewed in this dispute? 

2. Is Milton E. Kirkwood, D.O. entitled to additional reimbursement? 

Findings 

1. Dr. Kirkwood submitted a request for medical fee dispute resolution of a designated doctor 
examination that addressed maximum medical improvement, extent of the compensable 
injury, whether disability was related to the compensable injury, and ability to return to work.  

Dr. Kirkwood is seeking $0.00 for these services. Therefore, reimbursement for these services 
will not be considered in this dispute. 

Dr. Kirkwood is seeking $15.00 for a work status report, represented by procedure code 99080-
73, and $100.00 for multiple impairment calculations, represented by procedure code 99456-
W5-MI. These are the services considered in this dispute. 

2. The insurance carrier denied payment for the work status report, stating, in part, “when a DD is 
asked to determine RTW status, the payment for 99080-73 is included in the W8 
reimbursement.” 28 TAC §134.239 states, “ When billing for a work status report that is not 
conducted as a part of the examinations outlined in §134.240 and §134.250 of this title, refer to 
§129.5 of this title.” Because the examination in question was performed as part of a 
designated doctor examination as outlined in 28 TAC §134.240, DWC finds that this service is 
not reimbursable.  

The submitted documentation indicates that Dr. Kirkwood was asked to address maximum 
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medical improvement, impairment rating, and extent of injury. The insurance carrier denied 
payment, in part, with denial code 234 stating, “This procedure is not paid separately.”  

28 TAC §127.10(d), effective on the date of service, states, in relevant part, “If a designated 
doctor is simultaneously requested to address MMI or impairment rating and the extent of the 
compensable injury in a single examination, the designated doctor shall provide multiple 
certifications of MMI and impairment ratings that take into account each reasonable outcome 
for the extent of the injury.” 

28 TAC §134.250(4)(B) states that when multiple impairment ratings are required as a 
component of a designated doctor examination, the designated doctor shall be reimbursed 
$50.00 for each additional impairment rating calculation.  

Documentation supports that Dr. Kirkwood found that the injured employee was not at 
maximum medical improvement, so no impairment rating calculations were provided. 
Therefore, a charge for additional impairment calculations is not supported. DWC does not 
recommend reimbursement for this charge. 

Conclusion 

The outcome of this medical fee dispute is based on the evidence presented by the requestor 
and the respondent at the time of adjudication. Though all evidence may not have been 
discussed, it was considered. 

DWC finds the requestor has not established that additional reimbursement is due.  

Order 
 
Under Texas Labor Code §§413.031 and 413.019, DWC has determined the requestor is entitled 
to $0.00 reimbursement for the disputed services.  

Authorized Signature 
 
 

   
Signature

 
 
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

 
August 23, 2023 
Date 

 
Your Right to Appeal 

 
Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision under 28 TAC 
§133.307, which applies to disputes filed on or after June 1, 2012. 

A party seeking review must submit DWC Form-045M, Request to Schedule, Reschedule, or Cancel 
a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee Dispute Decision (BRC-MFD) and follow the 
instructions on the form. You can find the form at www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html. DWC 
must receive the request within 20 days of when you receive this decision. You may fax, mail, or 

https://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html
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personally deliver your request to DWC using the contact information on the form or the field 
office handling the claim. If you have questions about DWC Form-045M, please call 
CompConnection at 1-800-252-7031, option three or email CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov. 

The party seeking review of the MFDR decision must deliver a copy of the request to all other 
parties involved in the dispute at the same time the request is filed with DWC. Please include a 
copy of the Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision with any other required 
information listed in 28 TAC §141.1 (d). 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 
1-800-252-7031, opción tres o correo electronico CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov. 
 

 

https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=141&rl=1
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