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Authority 

This medical fee dispute is decided according to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and applicable rules 
of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC). 

Statutes and Rules 

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee 
disputes.  

2. 28 TAC §133.20 sets out the medical bill submission procedures for health care providers. 
3. TLC §408.0272 provides for certain exceptions to untimely submission of a medical bill. 
 
Denial Reasons 

The insurance carrier reduced or denied the payment for the disputed services with the following 
claim adjustment codes: 

• CAC-29 – The time limit for filing has expired 
• 731 – Per 133.20(B) provider shall not submit a medical bill later than the 95th day 

after the date the service 
• CAC-W3 – In accordance with TDI-DWC Rule 134.804, this bill has been identified as a 

request for reconsideration or appeal 
• CAC-193  Original payment decision is being maintained. Upon review, it was 

determined that this claim was processed properly 
• CAC-29 – The time limit for filing has expired 
• DC4 – No additional reimbursement allowed after reconsideration. For information 

Call (888) 532-5246 
• 350 – In accordance with TDI-DWC Rule 134.804, this bill has been identified as a 

request for reconsideration or appeal 
Issues 

1. Are the insurance carrier’s reasons for denial or reduction of payment supported? 

Findings 

The requestor is seeking $891.66 for Hospital Outpatient service rendered June 6, 2022. The 
insurance carrier denied disputed service based on timely filing deadline not meet [see denial 
reasons listed above].  

28 TAC §133.20(b) requires that, except as provided in TLC §408.0272, “a health care provider 
shall not submit a medical bill later than the 95th day after the date the services are provided.”   

Review of the submitted documentation provided by the requestor finds: 

• Medical bill dated January 16, 2023 

• Explanation of benefits date of audit February 2, 2023 and March 2, 2023 

No documentation was found to support that any of the exceptions described in TLC 
§408.0272 apply to the services in this dispute.  For that reason, the requestor in this dispute 
was required to submit the medical bill not-later than 95 days after the date the disputed 
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services were provided.  

Conclusion 

The outcome of this medical fee dispute is based on the evidence presented by the requestor 
and the respondent at the time of adjudication. Though all evidence may not have been 
discussed, it was considered. 

DWC finds the requester has established that reimbursement of $0.00 is due. 

Order 

Under Texas Labor Code §§413.031 and 413.019, DWC has determined the requestor is not 
entitled to reimbursement for the disputed services.  

Authorized Signature 

 April 14, 2023 
Signature Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer  Date 

Your Right to Appeal 

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision under 28 TAC 
§133.307, which applies to disputes filed on or after June 1, 2012.

A party seeking review must submit DWC Form-045M, Request to Schedule, Reschedule, or Cancel 
a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee Dispute Decision (BRC-MFD) and follow the 
instructions on the form. You can find the form at www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html. DWC 
must receive the request within 20 days of when you receive this decision. You may fax, mail, or 
personally deliver your request to DWC using the contact information on the form or the field 
office handling the claim. If you have questions about DWC Form-045M, please call 
CompConnection at 1-800-252-7031, option 3 or email CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov. 

The party seeking review of the MFDR decision must deliver a copy of the request to all other 
parties involved in the dispute at the same time the request is filed with DWC. Please include a 
copy of the Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision with any other required 
information listed in 28 TAC §141.1(d). 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 
1-800-252-7031, opción 3 o correo electronico CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov.




