

PO Box 12050 | Austin, TX 78711 | 800-252-7031 | tdi.texas.gov/wc

Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision

General Information

Requestor Name James Bales, M.D. **Respondent Name** Travis County

MFDR Tracking Number M4-23-0277-01 **Carrier's Austin Representative** Box Number 38

DWC Date Received September 30, 2022

Summary of Findings

Dates of Service	Disputed Services	Amount in Dispute	Amount Due
June 16, 2022	Designated Doctor Examination 99456-W5-WP	\$800.00	\$800.00
	Designated Doctor Examination 99456-W6-RE	\$500.00	\$500.00
Total		\$1,300.00	\$1,300.00

Requestor's Position

Submitted documentation does not include a position statement from the requestor. Accordingly, this decision is based on the information available at the time of adjudication.

Amount in Dispute: \$1,300.00

Respondent's Position

Travis County was notified of this medical fee dispute on October 4, 2022.

Per 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307 (d)(1), if the DWC does not receive the response within 14 calendar days of the dispute notification, then the DWC may base its decision on the available information.

As of today, no response has been received from the insurance carrier or its representative. We

will base this decision on the information available.

Findings and Decision

<u>Authority</u>

This medical fee dispute is decided according to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and applicable rules of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC).

Statutes and Rules

- 1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.240 sets out the procedures for payment or denial of a medical bill.
- 2. 28 TAC §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes.
- 3. 28 TAC §134.235 sets out the fee guidelines for examinations to determine the extent of a compensable injury.
- 4. 28 TAC §134.250 sets out the fee guidelines for examinations to determine maximum medical improvement and impairment rating.

Denial Reasons

Neither party submitted an explanation of benefits with reasons for the denial of payment for the disputed services.

<u>lssues</u>

- 1. Did Travis County take final action on the bill for the disputed service before medical fee dispute resolution was requested?
- 2. Is James Bales, M.D. entitled to additional reimbursement?

<u>Findings</u>

1. Dr. Bales is seeking reimbursement for a designated doctor examination performed on June 16, 2022.

Per 28 TAC §133.240 (a), the insurance carrier is required to take final action by paying, reducing, or denying the service in question not later than 45 days after receiving the medical bill. This deadline is not extended by a request for additional information.

The greater weight of evidence presented to DWC supports that a complete bill for the services in question was received by the insurance carrier or its agent. No evidence was provided to support that the insurance carrier took final action on the bill for the service in question.

2. Because the insurance carrier failed to provide any defense for non-payment of the services in

question, Dr. Bales is entitled to reimbursement.

The submitted documentation supports that Dr. Bales performed an evaluation of maximum medical improvement as ordered by DWC. 28 TAC §134.250 (3)(C) states that the maximum allowable reimbursement (MAR) for this examination is \$350.00.

Review of the submitted documentation finds that Dr. Bales performed impairment rating evaluations of the spine and left arm with range of motion testing. The rule at 28 TAC §134.250 (4)(C)(ii) defines the fees for the calculation of an impairment rating for musculoskeletal body areas. The MAR for the evaluation of the first musculoskeletal body area performed with range of motion is \$300.00. The MAR for the evaluation of subsequent musculoskeletal body areas is \$150.00 each. The total MAR for the determination of impairment rating is \$450.00.

The submitted documentation indicates that Dr. Bales performed an examination to determine the extent of the compensable injury. According to 28 TAC §134.235, the MAR for this examination is \$500.00.

The total allowable reimbursement for the examination in question is \$1,300.00. This amount is recommended.

<u>Conclusion</u>

The outcome of this medical fee dispute is based on the evidence presented by the requestor and the respondent at the time of adjudication. Though all evidence may not have been discussed, it was considered.

DWC finds the requester has established that additional reimbursement of \$1,300.00 is due.

Order

Under Texas Labor Code §§413.031 and 413.019, DWC has determined the requestor is entitled to additional reimbursement for the disputed services. It is ordered that Travis County must remit to James Bales, M.D. \$1,300.00 plus applicable accrued interest within 30 days of receiving this order in accordance with 28 TAC §134.130.

Authorized Signature

Signature

Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

January 24, 2023

Date

Your Right to Appeal

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision under 28 TAC §133.307, which applies to disputes filed on or after **June 1, 2012**.

A party seeking review must submit DWC Form-045M, *Request to Schedule, Reschedule, or Cancel a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee Dispute Decision (BRC-MFD)* and follow the instructions on the form. You can find the form at <u>www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html</u>. DWC must receive the request within **20 days** of when you receive this decision. You may fax, mail, or personally deliver your request to DWC using the contact information on the form or the field office handling the claim. If you have questions about DWC Form-045M, please call CompConnection at 1-800-252-7031, option 3 or email CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov.

The party seeking review of the MFDR decision must deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in the dispute at the same time the request is filed with DWC. **Please include a copy of the** *Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision* with any other required information listed in 28 TAC §141.1(d).

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 1-800-252-7031, opción 3 o correo electronico CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov.