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Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision 

General Information 
 

Requestor Name 

RAFATH QURAISHI, MD 

Respondent Name 

MARKEL INSURANCE COMPANY 

MFDR Tracking Number 

M4-22-2693-01 

DWC Date Received 

August 24, 2022

Carrier’s Austin Representative 

Box Number 17 

 

Summary of Findings 
 

Dates of Service Disputed Services 
Amount in 

Dispute 

Amount 

Due 

October 7, 2021 and 
November 4, 2021 

99213 x 2 $340.00 $0.00 

Total $340.00 $0.00 

 

Requestor's Position  

“You denied this bill for timely filing. We are appealing the denial due to the impact of COVID-19 

at our office; we lost the majority of our staff and were unable to submit the bill until March 9, 

2022. The DWC Commissioner's Bulletin B-0010-20 makes an exception for 'failure to submit a 

timely medical bill' [Labor Code 408.0272(b)(2)]. The Bulletin is in effect for the duration of 

governor's COVID-19 declaration. Texas is currently still in a State of Emergency as of March 23, 

2022 as Governor Abbott has renewed the declaration.” 

Amount in Dispute: $340.00 

Respondent's Position  

“In this claim, Dr. Quraishi acknowledges that he did not timely bill Markel Insurance Company 

for the two disputed dates of services. However, he argues the requirement to timely to bill a 

carrier is still tolled due to COVID-19. However, Commissioner's Bulletin #B-0004-21, clearly 

indicates the tolling of medical billing deadlines was lifted effective March I, 2021. Therefore, it is 

clear that Dr. Quraishi failed to timely bill for the disputed dates of services and there is no 

tolling provision during the relevant time period. As such, he is not entitled to reimbursement.” 

Response Submitted by:  Burns Anderson Jury & Brenner, L.L.P 
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Findings and Decision 

 
Authority 

This medical fee dispute is decided according to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and applicable rules 

of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC). 

Statutes and Rules 

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee 

disputes.  

2. 28 TAC §133.20 sets out the medical bill submission procedures for health care providers. 

3. 28 TAC §102.4 sets out the rules for non-Commission communications.  

4. TLC §408.027 sets out the rules for timely submission of claims by health care providers.  

5. TLC §408.0272 provides for certain exceptions to untimely submission of a medical bill. 

 

Denial Reasons 

The insurance carrier reduced or denied the payment for the disputed services with the following 

claim adjustment codes: 

• 29 - THE TIME LIMIT FOR FILING HAS EXPIRED.  

• 790- THIS CHARGE WAS REIMBURSED IN ACCORDANCE TO THE TEXAS MEDICAL FEE 

GUIDELINE.  

• C25 - DENIED: PER CARRIER UNTIMELY SUBMISSJON OF BILL.  

• P12 - WORKERS' COMPENSATION JURISDICTIONAL FEE SCHEDULE ADJUSTMENT. 

• 350 - BILL HAS BEEN IDENTIFIED AS A REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION OR APPEAL. 

• W3 - N ACCORDANCE WITH TDI-DWC RULE 134.804, THIS BILL HAS BEEN IDENTIFIED AS A 

REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION OR APPEAL. 

Issues 

1. What is the timely filing deadline applicable to the medical bills for the services in dispute? 

2. Did the requestor forfeit the right to reimbursement for the services in dispute? 

Findings 

1. 28 TAC §133.20(b) requires that, except as provided in TLC §408.0272, “a health care provider 

shall not submit a medical bill later than the 95th day after the date the services are provided.”  

No documentation was found to support that any of the exceptions described in TLC 

§408.0272 apply to the services in this dispute.  For that reason, the requestor in this dispute 

was required to submit the medical bill not-later than 95 days after the date the disputed 

services were provided.   

TLC §408.027(a) states, in pertinent part, that “Failure by the health care provider to timely 

submit a claim for payment constitutes a forfeiture of the provider's right to reimbursement 

for that claim for payment.”   
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28 TAC §102.4(h) states that “Unless the great weight of evidence indicates otherwise, written 

communications shall be deemed to have been sent on:  (1) the date received, if sent by fax, 

personal delivery, or electronic transmission or, (2) the date postmarked if sent by mail via 

United States Postal Service regular mail, or, if the postmark date is unavailable, the later of the 

signature date on the written communication or the date it was received minus five days.  If the 

date received minus five days is a Sunday or legal holiday, the date deemed sent shall be the 

next previous day which is not a Sunday or legal holiday.”   

2. Review of the submitted information finds no documentation to support that a medical bill was

submitted within 95 days from the date the services were provided.  Therefore, pursuant to TLC

§408.027(a), the requestor has forfeited the right to reimbursement due to untimely

submission of the medical bill for the disputed services.

Conclusion 

The outcome of this medical fee dispute is based on the evidence presented by the requestor 

and the respondent at the time of adjudication. Though all evidence may not have been 

discussed, it was considered. 

The DWC finds the requester has not established that reimbursement is due. 

Order 

Under Texas Labor Code §§413.031 and 413.019, DWC has determined the requestor is not 

entitled to reimbursement for the disputed services.  

Authorized Signature 

    September 27, 2022 

Signature Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer  Date 

Your Right to Appeal 

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision under 28 TAC 

§133.307, which applies to disputes filed on or after June 1, 2012.

A party seeking review must submit DWC Form-045M, Request to Schedule, Reschedule, or Cancel 

a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee Dispute Decision (BRC-MFD) and follow the 

instructions on the form. You can find the form at www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html. DWC 

must receive the request within 20 days of when you receive this decision. You may fax, mail, or 

personally deliver your request to DWC using the contact information on the form or the field 

office handling the claim. If you have questions about DWC Form-045M, please call 

CompConnection at 1-800-252-7031, option 3 or email CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov. 

The party seeking review of the MFDR decision must deliver a copy of the request to all other 

parties involved in the dispute at the same time the request is filed with DWC. Please include a 

copy of the Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision with any other required 

information listed in 28 TAC §141.1(d). 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 

1-800-252-7031, opción 3 o correo electronico CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov.

https://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html

