PO Box 12050 | Austin, TX 78711 | 800-252-7031 | tdi.texas.gov/wc

# Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision

#### **General Information**

**Requestor Name** 

Hunt Regional Medical

Center

**Respondent Name** 

Old Republic Insurance Co

**MFDR Tracking Number** 

M4-22-1823-01

**Carrier's Austin Representative** 

Box Number 44

**DWC Date Received** 

April 25, 2022

## **Summary of Findings**

Dates of Service	Disputed Services	Amount in Dispute	Amount Due
May 11, 2021	73582	\$333.00	\$0.00
May 11, 2021	992821	\$431.00	\$256.50
	Total	\$764.00	\$256.50

# **Requestor's Position**

"Hunt Regional is disputing the actin not taken by AIG Insurance to process the injury report claim submitted on 12/9/21 and 1/22/2022 per Administrative Code 124.a3. AIG Insurance did not process claim to determine if payment is allowed and if treatment received is related to a work injury on 5/5/2021. Hunt Regional Medical Center acted in good fairth and provided treatment based on the information both the employer and the patient provided. Please review all documentation provided and reconcile this dispute."

**Amount in Dispute: \$764.00** 

## **Respondent's Position**

"Our initial response to the above referenced medical fee dispute resolution is as follows: we have escalated the bills in question for manual review to determine if additional monies are owed.

Supplemental response will be provided once the bill auditing company has finalized their review.

**Response submitted by:** Gallagher Bassett Services, Inc.

## **Findings and Decision**

### <u>Authority</u>

This medical fee dispute is decided according to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and applicable rules of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC).

#### Statutes and Rules

- 1. 28 TAC §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes.
- 2. 28 TAC §124.2 sets out the requirements for plan language notices.
- 3. 28 TAC §134.403 sets out the fee guidelines for outpatient hospital services.

#### **Denial Reasons**

The insurance carrier reduced or denied the payment for the disputed services with the following claim adjustment codes:

- 109 Claim not covered by this payer/contractor. You must send the claim to the correct payer/contractor
- 193 Original payment decision is being maintained. Upon review, it was determined that this claim was processed properly
- 18 Exact duplicate claim/service
- P6 Based on entitlement to benefits

#### <u>Issues</u>

- 1. Did the requestor meet the requirements of Plain Lanugage Notice?
- 2. What rule applies for determining reimbursement for the disputed services?
- 3. Is the requester entitled to additional reimbursement?

### **Findings**

1. DWC Rule 28 TAC §133.307(d)(2)(H) requires that if the medical fee dispute involves compensability, extent of injury, or liability, the insurance carrier shall attach a copy of any related Plain Language Notice in accordance with Rule §124.2 (relating to carrier reporting and

notification requirements).

DWC Rule 28 TAC §124.2(h) requires notification to the division and claimant of any dispute of disability or extent of injury or liability using plain language notices with language and content prescribed by the division. Such notices "shall provide a full and complete statement describing the carrier's action and its reason(s) for such action. The statement must contain sufficient claim-specific substantive information to enable the employee/legal beneficiary to understand the carrier's position or action taken on the claim."

Review of the submitted information finds no copies, as required by Rule §133.307(d)(2)(H), of any PLN-11 or PLN 1 notices issued in accordance with Rule §124.2. The insurance carrier's denial reason is therefore not supported.

Furthermore, because the respondent failed to meet the requirements of Rule §133.307(d)(2)(H) regarding notice of issues of liability, the respondent has waived the right to raise such issues during dispute resolution.

Consequently, the division concludes there are no outstanding issues of compensability, extent, or liability for the injury. The disputed services are therefore reviewed pursuant to the applicable rules and guidelines.

2. DWC Rule 28 TAC §134.403 (d) requires Texas workers' compensation system participants when coding, billing, reporting and reimbursement to apply Medicare payment policies in effect on the date of service.

The Medicare payment policy applicable to the services in dispute is found at <a href="https://www.cms.gov">www.cms.gov</a>, Claims processing Manual, Chapter 4, Section 10.1.1. Specifically, Payment Status Indicators and Ambulatory Payment Category (APC).

DWC Rule 28 TAC 134.403 (e) states in pertinent part, regardless of billed amount, when no specific fee schedule or contract reimbursement shall be the maximum allowable reimbursement (MAR) amount under subsection (f) of this section including any applicable outlier payment amounts and reimbursement for implatables.

DWC Rule 28 TAC 134.403 (f) states in pertinent part the reimbursement calculation used for establishing the MAR shall be the Medicare facility specific amount, including outlier payment amounts, determined by applying the most recently adopted and effective Medicare Outpatient Prospective Payment System (OPPS) reimbursement formula and factors as published annually in the *Federal Register*.

The Medicare facility specific amount is calculated when the APC payment rate is multiplied by 60% to determine the labor portion. This amount is multiplied by the facility wage index for the date of service. The non-labor amount is determined when the APC payment rate is multiplied by 40%. The sum of the labor portion multiplied by the facility wage index and the non-labor portion determines the Medicare specific amount. Review of the submitted medical bill and the applicable fee guidelines referenced above is shown below.

 Procedure code 73562 has a status indicator of Q1 and is packaged into any code with a status indicator of "STV". Code 99282 has a status indicator of V. No separate payment is allowed.  Procedure code 99282 has a status indicator of J2 when billed in combination of eight or more hours of observation. As the criteria for comprehensive observation was not met this code has APC 5022 with a status indicator of V.

The OPPS Addendum A rate is \$131.59 multiplied by 60% for an unadjusted labor amount of \$78.95, in turn multiplied by facility wage iondex 0.9608 for an adjusted labor amount of \$75.85.

The non-labor portion is 40% of the APC rate, or \$52.64.

The sum of the labor and non-labor portion is \$128.25.

The Medicare facility specific amount is \$128.25 multiplied by 200% for a MAR of \$256.50.

3. The total recommended reimbursement for the disputed services is \$256.50. The insurance carrier paid zero. The requestor is due \$256.50.

### **Conclusion**

The outcome of this medical fee dispute is based on the evidence presented by the requestor and the respondent at the time of adjudication. Though all evidence may not have been discussed, it was considered.

DWC finds the requester has established that additional reimbursement of \$256.50 is due.

#### Order

Under Texas Labor Code §§413.031 and 413.019, DWC has determined the requestor is entitled to additional reimbursement for the disputed services. It is ordered that Hunt Regional Medical Center must remit to Old Republic Insurance Co \$256.50 plus applicable accrued interest within 30 days of receiving this order in accordance with 28 TAC §134.130.}

# **Authorized Signature**

		August 5, 2022	
Signature	Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer	Date	

## **Your Right to Appeal**

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision under 28 TAC §133.307, which applies to disputes filed on or after **June 1, 2012**.

A party seeking review must submit DWC Form-045M, Request to Schedule, Reschedule, or Cancel a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee Dispute Decision (BRC-MFD) and follow the instructions on the form. You can find the form at <a href="https://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html">www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html</a>. DWC

must receive the request within **20 days** of when you receive this decision. You may fax, mail, or personally deliver your request to DWC using the contact information on the form or the field office handling the claim. If you have questions about DWC Form-045M, please call CompConnection at 1-800-252-7031, option 3 or email CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov.

The party seeking review of the MFDR decision must deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in the dispute at the same time the request is filed with DWC. **Please include a copy of the** *Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision* with any other required information listed in 28 TAC §141.1(d).

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 1-800-252-7031, opción 3 o correo electronico CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov.