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Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision 

General Information 
 

Requestor Name 

INTEGRITY HEALTH CLINIC 

Respondent Name 

TEXAS ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES   

MFDR Tracking Number 

M4-22-1291-01 

DWC Date Received 

February 25, 2022

Carrier’s Austin Representative 

Box Number 47 

 

Summary of Findings 
 

Dates of Service Disputed Services 
Amount in 

Dispute 

Amount 

Due 

January 11, 2022 99214 $38.00 $29.03 

Total $38.00 $29.03 

 

Requestor's Position  

“According to the labor code and fee guidelines, a fair and reasonable amount was billed. 

Payments we receive from Sedgwick are below other comparable workers' compensation 

insurance companies we deal with regularly. We believe the amount billed reflects a reasonable 

fee for the quality of medical care provided, ensuring injured employees returned to work 

timely.” 

Amount in Dispute: $38.00 

Respondent's Position  

“Kevin Scully, PA-C provided the treatment at issue in this case. TAC RMP properly reimbursed 

Integrity Health Clinic at eighty percent of the relevant charges. This was consistent with the 

applicable fee guideline Medicare payment policies. Therefore, TAC RMP appropriately 

reimbursed Integrity Health Clinic for the services provided by a physician assistant.” 

Response Submitted by:  Burns Anderson Jury & Brenner, L.L.P. 
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Findings and Decision 

Authority 

This medical fee dispute is decided according to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and applicable rules 

of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC). 

Statutes and Rules 

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical 

fee disputes. 

2. 28 TAC §134.203 sets out the fee guideline for professional medical services. 

Denial Reasons 

The insurance carrier reduced or denied the payment for the disputed services with the following 

claim adjustment codes: 

• 252 – The recommended allowance is based on the value for services performed by a 

licensed non-physician practitioner.   

• 309 – The charge for this procedure exceeds the fee schedule allowance.   

• P12 – Workers’ compensation jurisdictional fee schedule adjustment.   

• N600 - Adjusted based on the applicable fee schedule for the region in which the service 

was rendered. 

Issues 

Is the Requestor entitled to additional reimbursement? 

Findings 

1. The requestor seeks reimbursement for CPT Code 99214 rendered on January 11, 2022.  The 

insurance carrier issued a partial payment and denied the remaining charge with denial 

reason codes, indicated above, (description provided above.) 

28 TAC §134.203(b)(1) states, “For coding, billing, reporting, and reimbursement of 

professional medical services, Texas workers' compensation system participants shall apply 

the following: (1) Medicare payment policies, including its coding; billing; correct coding 

initiatives (CCI) edits; modifiers; bonus payments for health professional shortage areas 

(HPSAs) and physician scarcity areas (PSAs); and other payment policies in effect on the date 

a service is provided with any additions or exceptions in the rules.”  

CPT Code 99214 is defined as “Office or other outpatient visit for the evaluation and 

management of an established patient, which requires a medically appropriate history and/or 

examination and moderate level of medical decision making. When using time for code 

selection, 30-39 minutes of total time is spent on the date of the encounter.” 

2. The requestor seeks reimbursement for an office visit, CPT Code 99214 rendered by a 

physician’s assistant (PA).  The insurance carrier issued a payment in the amount of $152.00, 

which is 80% of the billed amount.  The insurance carrier’s reduction of payment is based on 

Medicare’s non-physician reimbursement policies. The DWC will now consider if the 80% 

reduction applies to PA’s.  
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Sec. 1451.104 NONDISCRIMINATORY PAYMENT OR REIMBURSEMENT;  EXCEPTION states,   

(c)  Notwithstanding Subsection (a), a health insurance policy may provide for a 

different amount of payment or reimbursement for scheduled services or procedures 

performed by an advanced practice nurse, nurse first assistant, licensed surgical 

assistant, or physician assistant if the methodology used to compute the amount is the 

same as the methodology used to compute the amount of payment or reimbursement 

when the services or procedures are provided by a physician. 

28 TAC §134.203 Medical Fee Guideline for Professional Services, states,  

(a) (5) "Medicare payment policies" when used in this section, shall mean 

reimbursement methodologies, models, and values or weights including its coding, 

billing, and reporting payment policies as set forth in the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS) payment policies specific to Medicare. 

(b) For coding, billing, reporting, and reimbursement of professional medical services, 

Texas workers' compensation system participants shall apply the following: 

(1) Medicare payment policies, including its coding; billing; correct coding initiatives 

(CCI) edits; modifiers; bonus payments for health professional shortage areas 

(HPSAs) and physician scarcity areas (PSAs); and other payment policies in effect on 

the date a service is provided with any additions or exceptions in the rules. 

Chapter 12 of the Medicare Claims Processing Manual states, “110 - Physician Assistant (PA) 

Services Payment Methodology (Rev. 2656, Issuance: 02-07-13, Effective: 02-19-13, 

Implementation: 02-19-13) See chapter 15, section 190 of the Medicare Benefit Policy Manual, 

pub. 100-02, for coverage policy for physician assistant (PA) services. Physician assistant 

services are paid at 80 percent of the lesser of the actual charge or 85 percent of what a 

physician is paid under the Medicare Physician Fee Schedule. There is a separate payment 

policy for paying for PA assistant-at-surgery services. See section 110.2 of this chapter.” 

28 TAC §134.203 states in pertinent part, “(c) To determine the MAR for professional services, 

system participants shall apply the Medicare payment policies with minimal modifications. (1) 

For service categories of Evaluation & Management, General Medicine, Physical Medicine and 

Rehabilitation, Radiology, Pathology, Anesthesia, and Surgery when performed in an office 

setting, the established conversion factor to be applied is $52.83... (2) The conversion factors 

listed in paragraph (1) of this subsection shall be the conversion factors for calendar year 

2008. Subsequent year's conversion factors shall be determined by applying the annual 

percentage adjustment of the Medicare Economic Index (MEI) to the previous year's 

conversion factors, and shall be effective January 1st of the new calendar year...”   

To determine the MAR the following formula is used: (DWC Conversion Factor/Medicare 

Conversion Factor) X Medicare Payment = Maximum Allowable Reimbursement (MAR). 

• The 2022 DWC Conversion Factor is 62.46  

• The 2022 Medicare Conversion Factor is 34.6062  

• Per the medical bills,  the services were rendered in Tyler, TX; therefore, the Medicare 

locality is “Rest of Texas.” 

 

 

 

https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/IN/htm/IN.1451.htm#1451.104
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=28&pt=2&ch=134&rl=203
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The Medicare Participating amount for CPT code(s) 99214 at this locality is $125.38. 

• 80 of the CMS Fee Schedule = Medicare Participating amount of $100.30.

• Using the above formula, the DWC finds the MAR is $181.03.

• The respondent paid $152.00.

• Reimbursement of $29.03 is therefore recommended.

3. The DWC finds that the requestor is therefore entitled to an additional payment amount of

$29.03.  This amount is recommended.

Conclusion 

The outcome of this medical fee dispute is based on the evidence presented by the requestor 

and the respondent at the time of adjudication. Though all evidence may not have been 

discussed, it was considered. 

The DWC finds the requester has established that reimbursement of $29.03 is due. 

Order 

Under Texas Labor Code §§413.031 and 413.019, DWC has determined the requestor is entitled 

to reimbursement for the disputed services. It is ordered that the Respondent must remit to the 

Requestor $29.03 plus applicable accrued interest within 30 days of receiving this order in 

accordance with 28 TAC §134.130. 

Authorized Signature 

    March 22, 2022 

Signature Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer  Date 

Your Right to Appeal 
Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision under 28 TAC §133.307, 

which applies to disputes filed on or after June 1, 2012. 

A party seeking review must submit DWC Form-045M, Request to Schedule, Reschedule, or Cancel a 

Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee Dispute Decision (BRC-MFD) and follow the instructions 

on the form. You can find the form at www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html. DWC must receive the 

request within 20 days of when you receive this decision. You may fax, mail, or personally deliver your 

request to DWC using the contact information on the form or the field office handling the claim. If you 

have questions about DWC Form-045M, please call CompConnection at 1-800-252-7031, option 3 or 

email CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov. 

The party seeking review of the MFDR decision must deliver a copy of the request to all other parties 

involved in the dispute at the same time the request is filed with DWC. Please include a copy of the 

Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision with any other required information listed in 28 

TAC §141.1(d). 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 1-800-

252-7031, opción 3 o correo electronico CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov.

https://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html

