

PO Box 12050 | Austin, TX 78711 | 800-252-7031 | tdi.texas.gov/wc

Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision General Information

Requestor Name PATIENTS CHOICE FAMILY MEDICINE **Respondent Name** TEXAS MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY

MFDR Tracking Number M4-22-1010-01 **Carrier's Austin Representative** Box Number 54

DWC Date Received January 27, 2022

Summary of Findings

Dates of Service	Disputed Services	Amount in Dispute	Amount Due
September 8, 2021	97750-FC	\$1,568.00	\$738.56
	Total	\$1,568.00	\$738.56

Requestor's Position

"...Since the denial reason was not clear enough I made a phone call to the Bill Review department and I was informed that the time in and time out needed to be documented in the FCE report, which was done and uploaded through the OneCall Portal, I then sent an inquiry requesting payment status I was told by Bill Review that the CPT code was needed to be documented on the FCE report as well which was completed on 01/04/2022. A 2nd denial was received on 01/25/2022 this time denying for timely filing. As you can see, I have made every attempt to get our claim paid with no success. At this time, I am forwarding my claim to MDR and enclosed you will find all documentation needed including my proof of timely filing." **Amount in Dispute:** \$1,568.00

Respondent's Position

"Texas Mutual has reviewed the DWC-60 submitted by PATIENTS CHOICE FAMILY MEDICINE. According to research Texas Mutual has no record of receiving a bill from this provider on or around the date of service. The documentation submitted in the DWC60 supports the bill was sent to OneCall. The provider did not fully comply with Rule 133.07, or Rule 133.20 Medical Bill Submission by Health Care Provider. The DWC60 was submitted to the wrong carrier. Our position is that no payment is due."

Response Submitted by: Texas Mutual Insurance Company

Findings and Decision

<u>Authority</u>

This medical fee dispute is decided according to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and applicable rules of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC).

Statutes and Rules

- 1. 28 TAC §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes.
- 2. 28 TAC §134.203, effective March 1, 2008, sets out the fee guidelines for reimbursement of professional medical services provided in the Texas workers' compensation system.
- 3. 28 TAC §134.210, effective July 7, 2016, sets out the medical fee guideline for workers' compensation specific services in the Texas workers' compensation system.
- 4. 28 TAC §134.225, effective July 7, 2016, sets the reimbursement guidelines for FCEs.
- 5. 28 TAC §134.235, effective July 7, 2016, sets the reimbursement guideline for return to work/evaluation of medical care.

Denial Reasons

The insurance carrier reduced or denied the payment for the disputed services with the following claim adjustment codes:

- B12 Service not documented in patients' medical records
- 29 The time limit for filing has expired.

<u>Issues</u>

- 1. Is the Insurance Carrier's denial reason(s) supported?
- 2. Is the Requestor entitled to reimbursement?

Findings

 The requestor seeks reimbursement for CPT Code 97750-FC rendered on September 8, 2021. The insurance carrier denied/reduced the service in dispute with reduction codes B12 and 29, (description provided above.)

The insurance carrier states in pertinent part, "... Texas Mutual has no record of receiving a bill from this provider on or around the date of service. The documentation submitted in the DWC60 supports the bill was sent to OneCall."

Per §140.8, titled, *Procedures for Health Care Insurers to Pursue Reimbursement of Medical Benefits* under Labor Code §409.0091 (2)... A workers' compensation insurance carrier shall not be penalized, including not being held responsible for costs of obtaining the additional information if the workers' compensation insurance carrier denies payment in order to move to dispute resolution to obtain additional information to process the request. It is the health care insurer's obligation to furnish its authorized representatives with any information necessary for the resolution of a reimbursement request. The Division considers any medical billing information or documentation possessed by the health care insurer or one of its authorized representatives to be simultaneously possessed by the health care insurer and all of its authorized representatives. The DWC finds that the insurance carrier's denial reason is not supported. As a result, the requestor is entitled to reimbursement for the service in dispute.

CPT code 97750- is described as "Physical performance test or measurement (eg, musculoskeletal, functional capacity), with written report, each 15 minutes." The requestor appended modifier "FC" to code 97750.

28 TAC §134.210(b) states, "Payment policies relating to coding, billing, and reporting for workers' compensation specific codes, services, and programs are as follows: (2) Modifying circumstance shall be identified by use of the appropriate modifier following the appropriate Level I (CPT codes) and Level II HCPCS codes. Where HCPCS modifiers apply, insurance carriers shall treat them in accordance with Medicare and Texas Medicaid rules. Additionally, division-specific modifiers are identified in subsection (e) of this section..."

28 TAC §134.210(e) states, "The following division modifiers shall be used by health care providers billing professional medical services for correct coding, reporting, billing, and reimbursement of the procedure codes. (3) FC, functional capacity--This modifier shall be added to CPT code 97750 when a functional capacity evaluation is performed."

28 TAC §134.225 states, "The following applies to functional capacity evaluations (FCEs). A maximum of three FCEs for each compensable injury shall be billed and reimbursed. FCEs ordered by the division shall not count toward the three FCEs allowed for each compensable injury. FCEs shall be billed using CPT code 97750 with modifier 'FC.' FCEs shall be reimbursed in accordance with §134.203(c)(1) of this title. Reimbursement shall be for up to a maximum of four hours for the initial test or for a division ordered test; a maximum of two hours for an interim test; and a maximum of three hours for the discharge test unless it is the initial test. Documentation is required."

The DWC finds the respondent denial reasons are not supported, as a result, the requestor is entitled to reimbursement for the service in dispute.

2. 28 TAC §134.203(c)(1) states, "To determine the MAR for professional services, system participants shall apply the Medicare payment policies with minimal modifications. (1) For service categories of Evaluation & Management, General Medicine, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Radiology, Pathology, Anesthesia, and Surgery when performed in an office setting, the established conversion factor to be applied is \$52.83..."

On the disputed dates of service, the requestor billed CPT code 97550-FC (X16). The multiple procedure rule discounting applies to the disputed service.

Medicare Claims Processing Manual Chapter 5, 10.3.7-effective June 6, 2016, titled Multiple Procedure Payment Reductions for Outpatient Rehabilitation Services, states:

Full payment is made for the unit or procedure with the highest PE payment. For subsequent units and procedures with dates of service prior to April 1, 2013, furnished to the same patient on the same day, full payment is made for work and malpractice and 80 percent payment is made for the PE for services submitted on professional claims (any claim submitted using the ASC X12 837 professional claim format or the CMS-1500 paper claim form) and 75 percent payment is made for the PE for services submitted on institutional claims (ASC X12 837 institutional claim format or Form CMS-1450).

For subsequent units and procedures with dates of service on or after April 1, 2013, furnished to the same patient on the same day, full payment is made for work and malpractice and 50 percent payment is made for the PE for services submitted on either professional or institutional claims.

To determine which services will receive the MPPR, contractors shall rank services according to the applicable PE relative value units (RVU) and price the service with the highest PE RVU at 100% and apply the appropriate MPPR to the remaining services. When the highest PE RVU applies to more than one of the identified services, contractors shall additionally sort and rank these services according to highest total fee schedule amount, and price the service with the highest total fee schedule amount at 100% and apply the appropriate MPPR to the remaining services.

The MPPR Rate File that contains the payments for 2021 services is found at <u>https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Billing/TherapyServices/index.html</u>.

- MPPR rates are published by carrier and locality.
- Review of Box 32 on the CMS-1500 finds that the services were rendered in zip code 75227 which is located in Dallas, Texas; therefore, the Medicare locality is "Dallas, Texas."
- The carrier code for Texas is 4412 and the locality code for Dallas is 11.
- The Medicare participating amount for CPT code 97750 at this locality is \$35.06 for the first unit, and \$25.75 for subsequent units.
- The DWC conversion factor for 2021 is 61.17
- The Medicare conversion factor for 2021 is 34.8931.

To determine the MAR the following formula is used: (DWC Conversion Factor/Medicare Conversion Factor) X Medicare Payment = Maximum Allowable Reimbursement (MAR).

Using the above formula, the MAR is \$61.46 for the first unit, and \$45.14 x 15 units = 677.10 for the subsequent units, for a total of \$738.56. The respondent paid \$0.00. The difference between the MAR and amount paid is \$738.56; this amount is recommended for reimbursement.

The DWC finds that the requestor is entitled to reimbursement in the amount of \$738.56

Conclusion

The outcome of this medical fee dispute is based on the evidence presented by the requestor and the respondent at the time of adjudication. Though all evidence may not have been discussed, it was considered.

DWC finds the requester has established that reimbursement of \$738.56 is due.

Order

Under Texas Labor Code §§413.031 and 413.019, DWC has determined the requestor is entitled to reimbursement for the disputed services. It is ordered that the Respondent must remit to the Requestor \$738.56 plus applicable accrued interest within 30 days of receiving this order in accordance with 28 TAC §134.130.

Authorized Signature

Signature

Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer

March 3, 2022

Date

Your Right to Appeal

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision under 28 TAC §133.307, which applies to disputes filed on or after **June 1, 2012**.

A party seeking review must submit DWC Form-045M, *Request to Schedule, Reschedule, or Cancel a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee Dispute Decision (BRC-MFD)* and follow the instructions on the form. You can find the form at <u>www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html</u>. DWC must receive the request within **20 days** of when you receive this decision. You may fax, mail, or personally deliver your request to DWC using the contact information on the form or the field office handling the claim. If you have questions about DWC Form-045M, please call CompConnection at 1-800-252-7031, option 3 or email CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov.

The party seeking review of the MFDR decision must deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in the dispute at the same time the request is filed with DWC. **Please include a copy of the** *Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision* with any other required information listed in 28 TAC §141.1(d).

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 1-800-252-7031, opción 3 o correo electronico CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov.