PO Box 12050 | Austin, TX 78711 | 800-252-7031 | tdi.texas.gov/wc

# Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision

## **General Information**

**Requestor Name** 

SOUTH TEXAS
RADIOLOGY GROUP

**Respondent Name** 

STARR INDEMNITY & LIABILITY CO

**MFDR Tracking Number** 

M4-22-0789-01

Carrier's Austin Representative

Box Number 19

**DWC Date Received** 

December 23, 2021

## **Summary of Findings**

Dates of Service	Disputed Services	Amount in Dispute	Amount Due
May 11, 2021	Code 73630	\$14.05	\$0.00

## Requestor's Position

"Gallagher Bassett initially denied our bill for missing medical report. We mailed a request for reconsideration & attached the medical report. Gallagher Bassett then denied our bill again for timely filing. We mailed a request for reconsideration with proof of timely filing. Our request for reconsideration was processed & denied."

Amount in Dispute: \$14.05

## **Respondent's Position**

The Austin carrier representative for Star Indemnity & Liability Co is Flahive Ogden & Latson. Flahive Ogden & Latson was notified of this medical fee dispute on January 05, 2022. Rule §133.307(d)(1) states that if the division does not receive the response within 14 calendar days of the dispute notification, then the division may base its decision on the available information. As of today, no response has been received from the carrier or its representative. We therefore base this decision on the information available as authorized under §133.307(d)(1)."

### **Findings and Decision**

### <u>Authority</u>

This medical fee dispute is decided according to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and applicable rules of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC).

#### Statutes and Rules

- 1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes.
- 2. 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.20 sets out medical bill submission procedures for health care providers.
- 3. 28 Texas Administrative Code §102.4 establishes rules for non-Commission communications.
- 4. Texas Labor Code §408.027 sets out provisions related to payment of health care providers.
- 5. Texas Labor Code §408.0272 provides certain exceptions for untimely submission of a medical bill.

#### **Denial Reasons**

The insurance carrier denied the payment for the disputed services with the following claim adjustment codes:

- 29 The time limit for filing has expired
- P12 Worker's Compensation Jurisdictional fee schedule adjustment
- 5061 Medical records, reports or documentation is required

#### <u>Issues</u>

- 1. What is the timely filing deadline applicable to the medical bills for the disputed services?
- 2. Did the requestor forfeit the right to reimbursement for the services in dispute?

#### <u>Findings</u>

- The insurance carrier denied the disputed services with claim adjustment reason codes: 29 –
  "THE TIME LIMIT FOR FILING HAS EXPIRED.", P12 "WORKERS COMPENSATION
  JURISDICTIONAL FEE SCHEDULE ADJUSTMENT" AND 5061 "MEDICAL RECORDS, REPORTS
  OR DOCUMENTATION IS REQUIRED."
  - 28 Texas Administrative Code §133.20(b) requires that, except as provided in Labor Code §408.0272(b), (c) or (d), "a health care provider shall not submit a medical bill later than the 95th day after the date the services are provided."

Texas Labor Code §408.0272 provides certain exceptions to the 95-day time limit for bill submission:

Texas Labor Code §408.0272 (b) states "Notwithstanding Section 408.027, a health care

provider who fails to timely submit a claim for payment to the insurance carrier under Section 408.027(a) does not forfeit the provider's right to reimbursement for that claim for payment solely for failure to submit a timely claim if":

- (1) the provider submits proof satisfactory to the commissioner that the provider, within the period prescribed by Section 408.027(a), erroneously filed for reimbursement with:
- (A) an insurer that issues a policy of group accident and health insurance under which the injured employee is a covered insured;
- (B) a health maintenance organization that issues an evidence of coverage under which the injured employee is a covered enrollee; or
- (C) a workers' compensation insurance carrier other than the insurance carrier liable for the payment of benefits under this title; or
- (2) the commissioner determines that the failure resulted from a catastrophic event that substantially interfered with the normal business operations of the provider.

Documentation provided does not support that any of the exceptions described in Texas Labor Code §408.0272 apply to the services in this dispute. For that reason, the health care provider was required to submit the medical bill not later than the 95th day following the date the disputed services were provided.

- 2. Texas Labor Code §408.027(a) states that "Failure by the health care provider to timely submit a claim for payment constitutes a forfeiture of the provider's right to reimbursement for that claim for payment."
  - 28 Texas Administrative Code §102.4(h) provides that:

Unless the great weight of evidence indicates otherwise, written communications shall be deemed to have been sent on:

- (1) the date received, if sent by fax, personal delivery or electronic transmission or,
- (2) the date postmarked if sent by mail via United States Postal Service regular mail, or, if the postmark date is unavailable, the later of the signature date on the written communication or the date it was received minus five days. If the date received minus five days is a Sunday or legal holiday, the date deemed sent shall be the next previous day which is not a Sunday or legal holiday.

Review of the submitted information finds documentation does not support that a medical bill was submitted within 95 days from the date the services were provided. Consequently, the requestor has forfeited the right to reimbursement due to untimely submission of the medical bill, pursuant to Texas Labor Code §408.027(a).

#### Conclusion

The outcome of this medical fee dispute is based on the evidence presented by the requestor and the respondent at the time of adjudication. Though all evidence may not have been discussed, it was considered.

DWC finds the requester has not established that additional reimbursement is due.

#### Order

Under Texas Labor Code §§413.031 and 413.019, DWC has determined the requestor is not entitled to additional reimbursement for the disputed services.

## **Authorized Signature**

		March 8, 2022
Signature	Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer	Date

## **Your Right to Appeal**

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision under 28 TAC §133.307, which applies to disputes filed on or after **June 1, 2012**.

A party seeking review must submit DWC Form-045M, Request to Schedule, Reschedule, or Cancel a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee Dispute Decision (BRC-MFD) and follow the instructions on the form. You can find the form at <a href="www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html">www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html</a>. DWC must receive the request within **20 days** of when you receive this decision. You may fax, mail, or personally deliver your request to DWC using the contact information on the form or the field office handling the claim. If you have questions about DWC Form-045M, please call CompConnection at 1-800-252-7031, option 3 or email CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov.

The party seeking review of the MFDR decision must deliver a copy of the request to all other parties involved in the dispute at the same time the request is filed with DWC. **Please include a copy of the** *Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision* with any other required information listed in 28 TAC §141.1(d).

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 1-800-252-7031, opción 3 o correo electronico CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov.