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Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision 

General Information 
 

Requestor Name 

JANNIE TANG 

Respondent Name 

ZURICH AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY 

MFDR Tracking Number 

M4-22-0142-01 

DWC Date Received 

September 23, 2021 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 

Box Number 19 

 

Summary of Findings 

Dates of Service Disputed Services 
Amount in 

Dispute 

Amount 

Due 

January 6, 2021 01620-QK-P3 $11.62 $0.00 

Total $11.62 $0.00 

 

Requestor's Position  

“Per EOB expected reimbursement was partially paid. Per the TX WC guidelines for anesthesia 

the calculation is: (Quantity Billed / Time Divisor) + basic unit x conversion factor. Please review 

and submit remaining balance due. 33 units/15=2.2 + 4+ 1(P3)=7.2 X 61.17=440.42 x 

50%=$220.21.” 

Amount in Dispute: $11.62 

Respondent's Position  

“The date of service was January 6, 2021. The anesthesia conversion factor at that time was 61.17. 

Physical status modifiers are not recognized by Medicare. The Q 12 modifier is allowed 50% of 

the fee schedule. The time units of33 units divided by 15 equals 2.2 plus a base unit of 4 equals 

6.2. Following that, 6.2 multiplied by the anesthesia conversion factor of 61. I 7 equals $379.25. 

That numbered multiplied by 50% equals $189.63 plus 10% HPSA equals $208.59.  

It is the carrier's position that the provider has been paid pursuant to the Medical Fee Guidelines 

and is not entitled to any additional reimbursement.” 

Response Submitted by:  Flahive, Ogden & Latson 
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Findings and Decision 

Authority 

This medical fee dispute is decided according to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and applicable rules 

of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC). 

Statutes and Rules 

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical 

fee disputes.  

2. 28 TAC §134.203 sets out the reimbursement guidelines for professional medical services.   

Denial Reasons 

The insurance carrier reduced or denied the payment for the disputed services with the following 

claim adjustment codes: 

• 144 – Incentive adjustment, e.g. preferred product/service.   

• P12 – workers’ compensation jurisdictional fee schedule adjustment. 

• W3 – In accordance with TDI-DWC Rule 134.804.  This bill has been identified a  

request for reconsideration or appeal. No allowance change. 

 

Issues 

1. Is the Insurance Carrier’s denial reason supported? 

2. Is  the Requestor entitled to additional reimbursement? 

Findings 

1. The requestor seeks an additional payment in the amount of $11.62 for CPT Code 01620-QK-

P3 rendered on January 6, 2021.      

The insurance carrier paid the requestor the amount of $208.59 based upon the fee schedule.  

The fee guideline for the disputed services is 28 TAC §134.203. 

• 28 TAC §134.203(a)(5) states “Medicare payment policies” when used in this section, 

shall mean reimbursement methodologies, models, and values or weights including 

its coding, billing, and reporting payment policies as set forth in the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) payment policies specific to Medicare.” 

• 28 TAC §134.203(b)(1) states “For coding, billing, reporting, and reimbursement of 

professional medical services, Texas workers’ compensation system participants shall 

apply the following: (1) Medicare payment policies, including its coding; billing; 

correct coding initiatives (CCI) edits; modifiers; bonus payments for health 

professional shortage areas (HPSAs) and physician scarcity areas (PSAs); and other 

payment policies in effect on the date a service is provided with any additions or 

exceptions in the rules.” 
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• 28 TAC §134.203(c)(1) states, “…To determine to MAR for professional services, system 

participants shall apply the Medicare payment policies with minimal modification…For 

service categories of Evaluation & Management, General Medicine, Physical Medicine 

and Rehabilitation, Radiology, Pathology, Anesthesia, and Surgery when performed in 

an office setting, the established conversion factor to be applied is 
$53.68…” 

The requestor billed the disputed anesthesiology service using the “QK” modifier that is 

described as “Medical direction of 2, 3 or 4 concurrent anesthesia procedures involving 

qualified individuals.” 

The requestor billed with modifier “P3” defined as “Severe systemic disease.”  Modifiers P1- P6 

are considered “Anesthesia Physical Status Modifiers”  The modifiers are informational only 

and do not affect payment.   

Per the CMS Manual Pub 100-04 Medicare Claims Processing Transmittal 2452, states, 

“Modifier QA and QY result in physician payment at 50% of the allowed amount.”  

2. To determine the MAR the following formula is used: (Time units + Base Units) X 

Conversion Factor = Allowance. 

The DWC reviewed the submitted anesthesia was started at 07:44 and ended at 08.17, for a 

total of 33 minutes.  

Per Medicare Claims Processing Manual, Chapter 12, Physicians/ Nonphysician Practitioners, 

Payment for Anesthesiology Services Section (50)(G), effective January 1, 2017 states, “Actual 

anesthesia time in minutes is reported on the claim. For anesthesia services furnished, the 

A/B MAC computes time units  by dividing reported anesthesia time by 15 minutes. Round 

the time unit to one decimal place.”  

Therefore, the  requestor has supported 33/15 = 2.2 

The base unit for CPT code 01620 is 4. 

The 2021 DWC Conversion Factor is $61.17. 

Using the above formula, the MAR for CPT 01620-QK-P3 is 2.2 + 4 = 6.2 X 61.17 = $379.25 X 

50% for   QK = $189.63.  

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) pays a 10 percent bonus when you 

deliver Medicare-covered services to patients in a geographic HPSA. The Requestor is in a 

HPSA area as a result is entitled to an additional 10% reimbursement. 

The MAR is $208.59, the insurance carrier paid $208.59. As a result, additional reimbursement 

cannot be recommended. 
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Conclusion 

The outcome of this medical fee dispute is based on the evidence presented by the requestor 

and the respondent at the time of adjudication. Though all evidence may not have been 

discussed, it was considered. 

The DWC finds the requester has not established that additional reimbursement of $11.62 is due. 

Order 

Under Texas Labor Code §§413.031 and 413.019, DWC has determined the requestor is not 

entitled to additional reimbursement for the disputed services. 

Authorized Signature 

 October 29, 2021 

Signature Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer  Date 

Your Right to Appeal 

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision under 28 TAC 

§133.307, which applies to disputes filed on or after June 1, 2012.

A party seeking review must submit DWC Form-045M, Request to Schedule, Reschedule, or Cancel 

a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee Dispute Decision (BRC-MFD) and follow the 

instructions on the form. You can find the form at www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html. DWC 

must receive the request within 20 days of when you receive this decision. You may fax, mail, or 

personally deliver your request to DWC using the contact information on the form or the field 

office handling the claim. If you have questions about DWC Form-045M, please call 

CompConnection at 1-800-252-7031, option 3 or email CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov. 

The party seeking review of the MFDR decision must deliver a copy of the request to all other 

parties involved in the dispute at the same time the request is filed with DWC. Please include a 

copy of the Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision with any other required 

information listed in 28 TAC §141.1(d). 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 

1-800-252-7031, opción 3 o correo electronico CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov.

https://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html

