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Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision 

General Information 
 

Requestor Name 
UT Health Quitman 

Respondent Name 
Twin City Fire Insurance Co 

MFDR Tracking Number 
M4-21-2209-01 

DWC Date Received 
July 30, 2021 

Carrier’s Austin Representative 
Box Number 47 
 

Summary of Findings 
 

Dates of 
Service Disputed Services 

Amount 
in 

Dispute 

Amount 
Due 

June 7, 2021 ER Visit & Labs $415.41 $0.00 
Total $415.41 $0.00 

 
Requestor's Position  

The requestor did not submit a position statement but did submit a copy of their reconsideration 
that states, “Underpaid/Denied APC.” 

Amount in Dispute: $415.41 

Respondent's Position  

Based on our medical audit of the documentation in response to the disputed charges…  As a 
result, we recommended an additional $415.41 to be paid to the provider. 

Response Submitted by:  The Hartford 
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Findings and Decision 
 

Authority 

This medical fee dispute is decided according to Texas Labor Code §413.031 and applicable rules 
of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC). 

Statutes and Rules 

1. 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.1 sets out reimbursement guidelines for workers 
compensation medical claims. 

2. 28 TAC §133.307 sets out the procedures for resolving medical fee disputes. 

Denial Reasons 

The insurance carrier reduced the payment for the disputed services with the following claim 
adjustment codes: 

• P12 – Workers’ Compensation Jurisdictional fee schedule adjustment 
• 97 –  Payment adjusted because the benefit for this service is included in the 

payment/allowance for another service/procedure that has already been adjudicated 
• 802 – Charge for this procedure exceeds the OPPS schedule allowance 
• 863 – Reimbursement is based on the applicable reimbursement fee schedule 

Issues 

1. What rule is applicable to reimbursement? 

Findings 

1. The requestor is seeking additional reimbursement of services rendered in a Critical Access 
Hospital. In their reconsideration they reference DWC Rule 134.403 and 134.404.   

These rules apply to acute inpatient hospital care and acute outpatient hospital care.  Review 
of the submitted medical bill finds the rendered services were performed at UT Health 
Quitman whose NPI (  indicates a Critical Access Hospital.  The referenced rules do 
not apply.  Explanation of the applicable rule and fee is discussed below. 

2. Under the division’s general reimbursement Rule at 28 TAC §134.1(e), payment for health care 
is calculated by applying a fee from an adopted Division rule or by applying a negotiated 
contract rate. In the absence of an applicable fee guideline or a negotiated contract, the 
payment is subject to the division’s general fair and reasonable requirements described in 28 
TAC 134.1 (f) found below. 

There is no fee guideline for services provided in a Critical Access Hospital. No evidence of a 
contract was submitted.  The DWC general fair and reasonable standard of payment applies to 
the disputed services.  

DWC Rule 28 TAC 134.1(f) required the health care provider to support their suggested 
reimbursement is: 
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• consistent with the criteria of Labor Code §413.011;

• by providing documentation of similar procedures provided in similar circumstances
received similar reimbursement; and

• their suggested reimbursement is based on nationally recognized published studies,
published Division medical dispute decisions, and/or values assigned for services
involving similar work and resource commitments, if available.

Review of the submitted reconsideration did not meet the criteria described above.  No 
additional reimbursement is recommended. 

Conclusion 

The outcome of this medical fee dispute is based on the evidence presented by the requestor 
and the respondent at the time of adjudication. Though all evidence may not have been 
discussed, it was considered. 

DWC finds the requester has not established that additional reimbursement is due. 

Order 

Under Texas Labor Code §§413.031 and 413.019, DWC has determined the requestor is [not] 
entitled to additional reimbursement for the disputed services.  

Authorized Signature 

 October  4, 2021 
Signature Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer  Date 

Your Right to Appeal 

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to seek review of this decision under 28 TAC 
§133.307, which applies to disputes filed on or after June 1, 2012.

A party seeking review must submit DWC Form-045M, Request to Schedule, Reschedule, or Cancel 
a Benefit Review Conference to Appeal a Medical Fee Dispute Decision (BRC-MFD) and follow the 
instructions on the form. You can find the form at www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html. DWC 
must receive the request within 20 days of when you receive this decision. You may fax, mail, or 
personally deliver your request to DWC using the contact information on the form or the field 
office handling the claim. If you have questions about DWC Form-045M, please call 
CompConnection at 1-800-252-7031, option 3 or email CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov. 

The party seeking review of the MFDR decision must deliver a copy of the request to all other 
parties involved in the dispute at the same time the request is filed with DWC. Please include a 
copy of the Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Findings and Decision with any other required 

https://www.tdi.texas.gov/forms/form20numeric.html
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information listed in 28 TAC §141.1(d). 

Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 
1-800-252-7031, opción 3 o correo electronico CompConnection@tdi.texas.gov. 
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